Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

This is the job!
    01 Galant Sport, 1 owner, tax till the new year, nct till march

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mitsubsihi-galant-sport-2-0-nct-03-14/5892813

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭delthedriver

colm_mcm wrote: »
    This is the job!
    01 Galant Sport, 1 owner, tax till the new year, nct till march

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mitsubsihi-galant-sport-2-0-nct-03-14/5892813

Nice car .:) MN Reg meh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Be jaypers somone has a horn for the auld Galants tonight :pac:

dgt wrote: »
    Be jaypers somone has a horn for the auld Galants tonight :pac:

I was born at the wrong time, they were too new when I wanted one and now I'm the right age they're too old and the world has moved on :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

I love the old model. Great looking car even by todays standards to my eyes.

1296134211_161459273_2-Mitsubishi-Galant-Super-Saloon-1995-Quezon-City.jpg

Yep, there's a distinct lineage visually with them as far back as 1989, they've evolved subtly each generation from then.
    The current Lancer continues this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Nice car .:) MN Reg meh!

Ah come on it hasn't gotten to 140k without being looked after a bit. Not all cars from up there are rallied to ****e either.
    The fact that its the same owner for the last 5 and a half years suggests that it wasn't owned by some young lad.

I was born at the wrong time, they were too new when I wanted one and now I'm the right age they're too old and the world has moved on :(

Shame Mitsubishi lost their way in the car market, with the exception of the Lancer EVO's

The Galant was one of their finest cars during the '90s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Breine

Jap import?

Done a bit of research and the only maxima model with the 2 litre V6 engine is the A33 model, either that or its an Aus inport - Highly unlikely though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,578 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Breine wrote: »
    Jap import?

Done a bit of research and the only maxima model with the 2 litre V6 engine is the A33 model, either that or its an Aus inport - Highly unlikely though

Eh? Afaik about 95% of Maximas driving here are the 2l V6. There's also a few 3l V6 but I'd say many of them have gone the last few years. Exported / parted / scrapped / parked up, etc. The tax system is very unkind to cheap old big engined cars :(

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Nah thats a genuine Irish version, Jap model would have been an auto at the very least and I believe they aren't called Maxima in Japan. Open to correction though.
    Plus if I squint enough at the speedo it looks to be in MPH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Btw, has anyone else noticed the changes on DD? Now when I log on to do a search I need to have the sort by filter either on price or year.
    Bloody annoying when I want just a random selection of cars at random prices/years.
    If I pop in max 3000e and min year 2002 I just get either a list of cars starting at 3k and working their way down or vice-versa. Dont know why they tampered with it :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

unkel wrote: »
    Eh? Afaik about 95% of Maximas driving here are the 2l V6. There's also a few 3l V6 but I'd say many of them have gone the last few years. Exported / parted / scrapped / parked up, etc. The tax system is very unkind to cheap old big engined cars :(

In fairness its the main reason why these cars are so cheap. Have a fairer tax system and your going to have to shell out more cash for a bigger engined car.

We can't win unfortunately.

Seems very cheap
    NCT until march
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/integra-for-sale/5797005

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭subway

Should probably wrap this thread up, Renault have a new site that shows how much these cars truly cost to run...

Head over to http://www.carculator.ie and put in a reg.

subway wrote: »
    Should probably wrap this thread up, Renault have a new site that shows how much these cars truly cost to run...

My bomb proof ultra reliable bangernomics Saab 9-5 costs €3,337 per year to run. A brand new Megane costs €688 per year to run. Eh yeah, sure, Renault :rolleyes:

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

My bomb proof ultra reliable bangernomics Saab 9-5 costs €3,337 per year to run. A brand new Megane costs €688 per year to run. Eh yeah, sure, Renault :rolleyes:

Is that including rolling up and down hills or something - or running the car on water?

Scortho wrote: »
    In fairness its the main reason why these cars are so cheap. Have a fairer tax system and your going to have to shell out more cash for a bigger engined car.

Generally true. But not for a car like a Maxima 3l V6. These kind of cars are not just cheap, they are worthless now. Even if you sold them at scrap value, nobody is going to tax them.

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Generally true. But not for a car like a Maxima 3l V6. These kind of cars are not just cheap, they are worthless now. Even if you sold them at scrap value, nobody is going to tax them.

You'll always find mad eejits out there though (lots of whom post in this forum, myself included) that will pay the vaseline inducing top rates of cc tax to drive legally the cars we like :)

Absolutely not, why close down Bangernomics?:P

Carculator.ie has been around for quite awhile now.

I think it is a tool to promote Renault Sales .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,874 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

That site is horsesh1t, apparently my S60 costs €155 a year to NCT??

You'll always find mad eejits out there though (lots of whom post in this forum, myself included) that will pay the vaseline inducing top rates of cc tax to drive legally the cars we like :)

Done it many years myself, will do it again in a heartbeat should finances improve a bit. Big engined older performance cars are cheaper to buy here than anywhere else in the world :D

Nobody, bar maybe the odd pensioner will pay €1,494 tax on a worthless 3l 170BHP Maxima though...

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Lol - 99 Corolla diesel outside is costing 4,200 to run - while the new Renault is supposed to be only costing 1500 to run - lol.

Love the way they completely ignore the fact that on the old Corolla depreciation is very little (trade in value was quoted by a Ford salesman as 1,000 euros 4 years ago :D)

Oh and yes - whats a new Megane 1.5 diesel going to cost first day - oh what say 19 grand (I note they don't give you the price of the thing when giving the much lower price to run :rolleyes:).

So all going well - if the Renault figures are correct (they aren't - the beast outside isn't costing anything like 570 for mechanical repairs - and it doesn't need new tyres every 12 months) theres a 2,700 difference between the two cars.

Depreciation however on the new Renault will be more then that I would say - and then id say it would take 7 years in the new Renault to make up the difference back if the new Renault costs 19,000.

All of this excludes the fact that the very most the Renault warranty will be is 5 years (they mightn't even do that anymore - I don't know) - so you could still have repair bills in years 6 and 7.

In short - storm in a teacup - keep the bangers rolling is what I say :D:D:D

apparently my S60 costs €155 a year to NCT??

Yeah my Saab too. Must be one €55 test and on average 3.571428571 €28 retests :rolleyes:

My ads on adverts.ie:

Old diesel wrote: »
    All of this excludes the fact that the very most the Renault warranty will be is 5 years (they mightn't even do that anymore - I don't know) - so you could still have repair bills in years 6 and 7.

And don't forget that warranty never covers any wear items. So timing belt (one of the most expensive routine maintenance jobs) will still have to be paid for, any wear / faults on any suspension parts, batteries, etc.

My ads on adverts.ie:

And don't forget that warranty never covers any wear items. So timing belt (one of the most expensive routine maintenance jobs) will still have to be paid for, any wear / faults on any suspension parts, batteries, etc.

Exactly - the Renault will still need new tyres and breaks and other bits.

and the depreciation - id certainly say the depreciation on these Renaults per year - on its own - would be more then the cost to run that they quote.

Also most people would need a loan to buy a 19 grand car - certainly would if the car they were driving now was 10 years old or more - so theres interest to be taken into account there as well (that's assuming the bank will even give you a loan).

Corolla outside isn't amazingly brilliant on fuel for a diesel but f:mad::mad:k it - its not that bad either to make it financially worthwhile to upgrade to a new Renault on the basis of it doing 60 mpg or whatever.

And for the craic, here is the total cost of ownership of my Saab over 2 years. Yes, Renault, that includes everything. I did a low mileage, a bit under 10k km per year.

Depreciation 100
    Insurance 850
    Tax 1420
    Petrol 2700
    Repairs / parts / maintenance 190
    Tyres 340
    NCT 138
    Opportunity costs* 60

That's €2,899 per year

The second you drive that new Megane out of the forecourt, you've spent more than that, Renault. Please don't insult our intelligence.

* I paid €1350 for the car. If I had put the money on deposit earning interest, I would have made about €60 after tax

My ads on adverts.ie:

And for the craic, here is the total cost of ownership of my Saab over 2 years. Yes, Renault, that includes everything. I did a low mileage, a bit under 10k km per year.

Depreciation 100
    Insurance 850
    Tax 1420
    Petrol 2700
    Repairs / parts / maintenance 190
    Tyres 340
    NCT 138
    Opportunity costs* 60

That's €2,899 per year

The second you drive that new Megane out of the forecourt, you've spent more than that, Renault. Please don't insult our intelligence.

* I paid €1350 for the car. If I had put the money on deposit earning interest, I would have made about €60 after tax

Yours is a 9 5 yes (or am I thinking of someone else on another forum maybe) - if so that's impressive for such a big car - imo at least.

Even if she was only a 9 3 - it would still be pretty good I think.

Think the Saab with leather and toys would be a nicer place to be sat in then a boring Megane with that jet black interior they all come with (the meganes) - and I think at some point the mk 1 9 5 earned a 4 star N cap rating - don't think the earlier 9 5s were 4 star though - they upgraded them at some point iirc.

So the safety argument in favour of the new car can also be dismissed my lord.

Think the defence may have rested its case your honour :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭mondymike

Apparently my 05 1800 petrol mondeo costs 1200 a year to service? 400e on tyres, each yr????? Ok?