Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

i have a Fetac Cert from a 1 year intensive CAD course, got an overall distinction... not one bit of CAD do i remember :P Revit is class. have you done much modeling in it yet?

Same as meself so! but I do remember it :pac:

Yeah we modeled a 2 storey house so far, and we have to do up a structural version of it using ehhh......pile foundations :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Isn't it?? It's like saying to an artist you only paint watercolors when i want oils, it's the same thing!!!

Wait what did i say?! I can't remember! Crap! :o

Basically we would be a right pair of aul wans ranting and raving. You were sober at the time or appeared to be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Stheno wrote: »
    Basically we would be a right pair of aul wans ranting and raving. You were sober at the time or appeared to be

Ohhhh yes I remember now, I was, but all paint fumes from later that day got to me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Same as meself so! but I do remember it :pac:

Yeah we modeled a 2 storey house so far, and we have to do up a structural version of it using ehhh......pile foundations :)

pretty much what i'm doing at the moment.

Revit is grand once you set stuff up correctly from the outset. its when you're half way through and the levels or something are wrong that it ****s your **** up. been working on this bad boy all week. concrete column and beam from the pilecaps upwards, all floors are precast slabs etc. not thermally correct but thats not the point.

cant get the render to take over the column and beamwork either, they keep showing through which makes the drawing look rather ****e.

9t018p.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,725 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Some of my CAD drawings are on the walls in DIT.

Wasn't a surprise then when I went to become a CAD tech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Quazzie wrote: »
    Some of my CAD drawings are on the walls in DIT.

Wasn't a surprise then when I went to become a CAD tech.

are you still working in that area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,725 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

are you still working in that area?

Yea, I do CAD (all 2d) and CNC programming for a CNC plasma cutting machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

dgt wrote: »
    The creme de la creme: Reversing a trailer into a long narrow yard :cool:

Through a gate 3 inches bigger than the trailer........real man stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

pred racer wrote: »

From my farming conrtacting days of going through gates a foot smaller and not caring :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    From my farming conrtacting days of going through gates a foot smaller and not caring :)

Yep, there is only one winner where farm machinery is concerned and it aint the gate:p

My first job when I started working on a neighbours farm (at 13) was putting away all the machinery in the evening!

All the trailers needed to be reversed into cubicle sheds which had less than 6" clearance.
    And I couldnt go home until it was finished, so it doesnt take long until you're horsing them in at full pelt:D

Yep, there is only one winner where farm machinery is concerned and it aint the gate:p

My first job when I started working on a neighbours farm (at 13) was putting away all the machinery in the evening!

All the trailers needed to be reversed into cubicle sheds which had less than 6" clearance.
    And I couldnt go home until it was finished, so it doesnt take long until you're horsing them in at full pelt:D

All I done was summer work while in school, Mowing, wrapping and baling. That got monotonous!
    The boss said if you can't get into a gate make it fit. If you can't make it fit go home :)

We always managed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

pretty much what i'm doing at the moment.

Revit is grand once you set stuff up correctly from the outset. its when you're half way through and the levels or something are wrong that it ****s your **** up. been working on this bad boy all week. concrete column and beam from the pilecaps upwards, all floors are precast slabs etc. not thermally correct but thats not the point.

cant get the render to take over the column and beamwork either, they keep showing through which makes the drawing look rather ****e.

I'm no specialist but is the perspective not a bit skewways on the building? I imagine it's the software's method of rendering the image as a set of mathematics rather than a 3D image.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Then parallel parking :cool:

dgt wrote: »
    Then parallel parking :cool:

Thats tricky with a trailer, I prefer to go with the nose and arse out approach:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

Hey guys, going to make this short. I'm closing my account because I'm spending too much time lurking here, while I have college work and other work to do.

My favorite part of this forum was the bangernomics thread, which a lot of you may have noticed. I always liked posting there, some peoples opinions didn't gel with mine all the time but I really believe that what I posted there was stuff that would be a good buy that would keep people on the road, especially during these tough times.

I hope that you all continue to be as helpful as you are now and that the discussion really holds up to a standard that posters such as all the mods, Cino, dgt, RoverJames, 166man, CianRyan, Clevelandhotpocket, toyotafanboi, toastedpickles and so many more that I cannot remember off the top of my head keep it to.

Thanks for putting up with my disjointed posting style, I really learned a lot and tried to be helpful in my posts when possible. :) I'll try to make it to a meet someday. I'll probably open another account in the summer or when I have some more free time on my hands.

Take care and watch out for each other, keep a set of jump leads and a petrol can in the boot and enjoy the ride!

Your humble cog in the machine,

-Barura

barura wrote: »
    Hey guys, going to make this short. I'm closing my account because I'm spending too much time lurking here, while I have college work and other work to do.

My favorite part of this forum was the bangernomics thread, which a lot of you may have noticed. I always liked posting there, some peoples opinions didn't gel with mine all the time but I really believe that what I posted there was stuff that would be a good buy that would keep people on the road, especially during these tough times.

I hope that you all continue to be as helpful as you are now and that the discussion really holds up to a standard that posters such as all the mods, Cino, dgt, RoverJames, 166man, CianRyan, Clevelandhotpocket, toyotafanboi, toastedpickles and so many more that I cannot remember off the top of my head keep it to.

Thanks for putting up with my disjointed posting style, I really learned a lot and tried to be helpful in my posts when possible. :) I'll try to make it to a meet someday. I'll probably open another account in the summer or when I have some more free time on my hands.

Take care and watch out for each other, keep a set of jump leads and a petrol can in the boot and enjoy the ride!

Your humble cog in the machine,

-Barura

Bon courage dude!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Good luck with your exams. Probably a sensible decision if its hard to keep away.

Best of luck man, good luck with the exams also. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I was at George Dalton's this morning getting the focus injector looked at. Turned out to be very minor. But better be safe than sorry. George himself is a really nice guy and I can see why he is so highly recommended. Ill certainly be back to him again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

yeah closing an account will stop you from viewing a public forum in which you lurk anyway....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Does anyone here have a Freelander?

A friend bought a 2003 TD4 and the alarm rings occasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Bpmull wrote: »
    I was at George Dalton's this morning getting the focus injector looked at. Turned out to be very minor. But better be safe than sorry. George himself is a really nice guy and I can see why he is so highly recommended. Ill certainly be back to him again :)

I'm going to him as soon as I can to get the last big job done on the car :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I'm going to him as soon as I can to get the last big job done on the car :D

The second turbo? Do you not enjoy the rattle by now :pac:

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    The second turbo? Do you not enjoy the rattle by now :pac:

Can't really hear it but I can feel the lag :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Anyone going to Avenged Sevenfold/Five Finger Death Punch/Device in December??

I was attending this gig but unfortunately I'm going to be living in Holland so had to sell the tickets :( Would be a cracker of a concert

PS: nearly got blown off the motorway due to cross winds and a lorry trying to overtake me, He never got to finish his overtake :D

Can't really hear it but I can feel the lag :(

Ah that sucks :( You'll be delighted with yourself when you get it done :)

Can I drive it when it's done :pac::pac::pac:

Autosport wrote: »
    I was attending this gig but unfortunately I'm going to be living in Holland so had to sell the tickets :( Would be a cracker of a concert

Why the feck are you moving there??
    Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Ah that sucks :( You'll be delighted with yourself when you get it done :)

Can I drive it when it's done :pac::pac::pac:

It'll be like the car got a second remap!

Ehmmmm......no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Why the feck are you moving there??

It'll be like the car got a second remap!

Ehmmmm......no.

Moving for 3 months and maybe permanently, man I love my job :D

Ehmmmm......no.

Ahhh go on. I'll give you a bag of chip sticks:D:D

I don't blame you!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

yeah closing an account will stop you from viewing a public forum in which you lurk anyway....

Considering you haven't met him in real life, how would you know what he does or doesn't do? Just because someone says something out of the ordinary doesn't mean it's completely unappeasable to attain.

But what would I know, I'm only a poster with a foul mouth :rolleyes:

Farewell Barura, we'll miss you here :)