Mel Gibson

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

Thanks, but I'm afraid that rendition of my username is inaccurate. :P

DEM VEINS.

Damn autocorrect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭buckwheat

Timmyctc wrote: »
    I just 'got' your username OP

Sorry to hear that

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Keno wrote: »
    Lethal Weapon 5 was the best Lethal Weapon movie.

Part six just came out this week (on it's always sunny). Even better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Mel is a great actor, and I love his films. If he wants to beat his wife and slag the Jews in his free time that's his business.

Like another person said, if he slagged anyone else but Jews we would have Lethal Weapon 7 by now :O

I really hope you don't actual mean that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

hefferboi wrote: »
    He's my cousin. Fight me..
    hefferboi wrote: »
    He's my cousin. Fight me..

Ah, so he's your first cousin and your second cousin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Corkfeen wrote: »

Should one judge the art or the artist?

I enjoy the work of Richard Wagner and Roman Polanski...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

He has a nice gaff up in Killiney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Sinfonia wrote: »

just torrent their work. Moral high ground win. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I am rather partial to the works of Gary Glitter

Yes! I DO want to be in your gang!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I enjoy plenty of Mel Gibson films but that poster was effectively discounting wife beating as if it was a hobby. If it was merely saying what you said,I'd agree wholeheartedly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 rock_dinasaur

Loves Ireland.

Just saw a load of fcukin celebrity arseholes slag him off on E or mtv or some other sh1te.

Mel"s alright.

he may be mental but he,s an incredibly underated film maker

appocolypto is an astonishing movie , didn't get the recognition it deserved due to mel,s well publicised troubles with the law at the time

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 rock_dinasaur

shamrock55 wrote: »
    The one crowd you dont piss off in the states are the jews,poor mel hasnt been the same since,id like nothing more than to see him bounce back, he could do no wrong for a while,can do no right now it seems

well you don't badmouth them if you work in Hollywood anyway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 Tribb

His best work was apocalypto, love that movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Jasus that's the first time I've heard those calls. Ah well he could still ride me sideways if I was a woman or gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Let's get back to loving Mel !

Apocalypto is indeed a fab film!

I have to say, one of my fav Mel moments is when he kills yer man in the Patriot with the power of 'Murica :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Wattle wrote: »
    youtube vid

Gallipoli was great, and Mad Max. In general I like his films, but what a nutter. He doesn't deserve to work again.

I always laugh when I see one of his movie posters or DVD covers, because he's holding a gun and looking serious 80% of the time. He must have a very small dick.

Gallipoli was great, and Mad Max. In general I like his films, but what a nutter. He doesn't deserve to work again.

I always laugh when I see one of his movie posters or DVD covers, because he's holding a gun and looking serious 80% of the time. He must have a very small dick.

So...you assume that Bruce Willis, Vin Diesel, Matt Damon and 90% of male film stars have small dicks? :rolleyes: Brilliant logic sir. They MUST be overcompensating, mmhmm, not like the people that make these kind of statements, no sir.

As I've said many timesbefore about a number of artists, judge the art, not the artist. Gibson is an incrediblytalented filmmaker as well as being one of those actors who can make a piece of crap worth watching. He was the only good thing about Machete Kills and looking through his filmography there's very few duds there. I genuinely don't care all that much what he has said or done about/to other people and it's never stopped me enjoying any of his work.

I also have huge respect for him as a filmmaker. He's not afraid to put his money where his mouth is and finance his own films. You hear people like Clint Eastwood (who incidently is also a horrible human being who routinely kicked the crap out of women) talk about how they can't make the films they want as no one will finance them. While Clint complains, Gibson shut up and finances the films himself. Which, no matter your opinion of him you have to respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

So...you assume that Bruce Willis, Vin Diesel, Matt Damon and 90% of male film stars have small dicks? :rolleyes: Brilliant logic sir. They MUST be overcompensating, mmhmm, not like the people that make these kind of statements, no sir.

No, just Mel Gibson. Those other guys are not fondling their lethal weapons half as often as Mel. Google 'Mel Gibson DVD cover'. There are even a couple of swords in there as well.

But that's just silly, he's not the only one that does it! :confused: I dunno why you wanna pick him out of the crowd when many others are also guilty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

As I've said many timesbefore about a number of artists, judge the art, not the artist. Gibson is an incrediblytalented filmmaker as well as being one of those actors who can make a piece of crap worth watching. He was the only good thing about Machete Kills and looking through his filmography there's very few duds there. I genuinely don't care all that much what he has said or done about/to other people and it's never stopped me enjoying any of his work.

I also have huge respect for him as a filmmaker. He's not afraid to put his money where his mouth is and finance his own films. You hear people like Clint Eastwood (who incidently is also a horrible human being who routinely kicked the crap out of women) talk about how they can't make the films they want as no one will finance them. While Clint complains, Gibson shut up and finances the films himself. Which, no matter your opinion of him you have to respect.
    Yeh I like the works of loads of artists who are complete arseholes, but in the case of the extremes of violence, crazed verbal abuse and racial hatred I don't think it's right to just gloss over it and pretend it's not happening (or even defend it, easily forgive it). One can acknowledge same and still admire the person's artistic output.

I always find it odd that Gibson and Danny Glover remain good friends. You'd assume that if he really was this horrible racist then his nonwhite friends would have nothing to do with him. As for the verbal abuse, well so far as nasty as it'sbeen all we have heard is one side. For all we know there was equally as horrible comments being thrown at him. Its still no excuse but when you consider that Joe Estevez is one of the people releasing audio you have to wonder what he left out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

We Were Soldiers is seriously underrated film. It's a pity what happened to Mel, but it's not as if he's unable to get the help he needs to deal with his issues. ffs, he's in a far better position to do so than most people.

I'd love to see him make a comeback. Mad Max 4 is due to be released next year and Gibson only has a tiny cameo role in it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I always find it odd that Gibson and Danny Glover remain good friends. You'd assume that if he really was this horrible racist then his nonwhite friends would have nothing to do with him.
    Still though, extreme anti-semitism makes a person racist. I love how a few folks imply it's all just the Jews being pissed off with him that's causing a drop in his popularity, as opposed to, you know, the man's actual behaviour himself. There's some shocking anti-semitism/anti semitism apologism out there (and I'm very anti Israeli occupation of Palestine btw).
    He was also going on about hoping a bunch of n***ers would rape that woman too, so I do wonder whether Danny Glover actually still is good friends with him.
    As for the verbal abuse, well so far as nasty as it'sbeen all we have heard is one side. For all we know there was equally as horrible comments being thrown at him. Its still no excuse but when you consider that Joe Estevez is one of the people releasing audio you have to wonder what he left out.
    Ah now, the stuff he says to that woman is scary, very intimidating and to be taken seriously as something that could lead to violence - and the manner in which he says it, deranged. I think there's enough to go on, really.

That said, I would say he is very unwell - and that his anger is a manifestation of this. Jodie Foster, a liberal feminist, is friends with him, bizarrely (well was up to recently anyway) and directed a film with him in it called The Beaver (childish giggle at the title) about a man struggling to cope with mental illness. It's deemed autobiographical and is supposed to be very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Ah Mel Gibson. A walking, talking example of why adults shouldn't do religion.

Decent enough actor and movie maker. But it's hard not to judge him on his idiotic ramblings. Maybe he was just playing himself in lethal weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭SweepTheLeg

Corkfeen wrote: »

Why not? He could be a child killer for all I care. Doesn't stop him being an Oscar winning Director, and Braveheart being an amazing film.

Still though, extreme anti-semitism makes a person racist. I love how a few folks imply it's all just the Jews being pissed off with him that's causing a drop in his popularity, as opposed to, you know, the man's actual behaviour himself. There's some shocking anti-semitism/anti semitism apologism out there (and I'm very anti Israeli occupation of Palestine btw).
    He was also going on about hoping a bunch of n***ers would rape that woman too, so I do wonder whether Danny Glover actually still is good friends with him.

When the first tape came out and all the other crap, Glover responded when asked about his friendship with Gibson with, “I love Mel. That’s my friend.” He also spoke about how he had talked to Gibson during the whole furor and how they are eager to work together again.

I don't think that Gibson's popularity has dropped all the much. Granted he gets dragged through the mud and some people won't work with him but he got nothing but great reviews for his role in Get the Gringo and it did extremely well on VOD and in theaters around the world and every review talked about how charismatic and bloody good Gibson was. If Lethal Weapon 5 goes ahead you can almost guarantee that it'll be a hit, especially if the rumors that Shane Black has submitted a script are true.

As for the Jews and those who run Hollywood being annoyed with Gibson, well let's be honest. If a studio head thought that he could make a quick buck by hiring a known pedophile to direct a film about how much fun rape is, then they probably would go right ahead and do it. The fact that Victor Salva, the director of Jeepers Creepers has a career tells you all you need to know about the film industry and how it views the elements of society that are generally despised.
    Ah now, the stuff he says to that woman is scary, very intimidating and to be taken seriously as something that could lead to violence - and the manner in which he says it, deranged. I think there's enough to go on, really.

The problem with all the tapes released is that it's one sided. We have no idea just what the other person said or did. Was Gibson responding in kind to abuse being hurled at him. I'm not defending Gibson but at the same time would like to hear all of the conversations and not just the bits that make him out to be as big a monster as possible.

The whole Joe Eszterhas thing stinks of Eszterhas being petty and trying to get his own back. It seems strange to me that a man would endure so much hate and abuse and yet, continue to work with such a monster. Notice that it was only after Warner Bros. passed on Eszterhas script and Gibson decided not to finance it himself, that Joe took to recording conversations. The feud between Gibson and Eszterhas has done wonders for Eszterhas who spent the best part of the last decade doing nothing and whose script about the Maccabee's was referred to as having "no feeling" and lacking a "sense of triumph". In fact the response from everyone who read it was that it wasn't any good.
    That said, I would say he is very unwell - and that his anger is a manifestation of this. Jodie Foster, a liberal feminist, is friends with him, bizarrely (well was up to recently anyway) and directed a film with him in it called The Beaver (childish giggle at the title) about a man struggling to cope with mental illness. It's deemed autobiographical and is supposed to be very good.

The whole, The Beaver is autobiographical is nonsense. It's a pretty standard, middle of the road Hollywood film about mental illness that hasn't anything original or interesting to say. It's exactly the kind of film that you would love to see Gibson himself direct as he's not afraid to do something outside the box whereas Foster plays it all so safe and familiar that you find yourself bored.

The problem with all the tapes released is that it's one sided. We have no idea just what the other person said or did. Was Gibson responding in kind to abuse being hurled at him.

Say what you will about the man but Gibson's impression of Clint Eastwood may very well be one of the greatest things ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Say what you will about the man but Gibson's impression of Clint Eastwood may very well be one of the greatest things ever.

when did eastwood ever sound like mickey mouse?