Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

i still remember testing my oh jaysus handle with 166man at the wheel of the glanza... what an excellent meet that was.

sorry for the

You let 166man drive your glanza????????? :eek:

I've just remembered something I've to check out. I put my car through an auto carwash the other day and now the aerial stalk is fooked.

Where can I procure another, apart from main stealer, breakers or someone breaking? Are they standard or special?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

i still remember testing your "oh jaysus" handle heading downhill towards the corner after the carpark when you took me for a spin! and testing my oh jaysus handle with 166man at the wheel of the glanza... what an excellent meet that was.

sorry for the

That was just the best meet :D:D

Do you remember DGT's responsible driving when he was leaving:D:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Ah this was silly cornering speeds through Enniscorthy town centre. Really silly stuff. It'll be well run in for the next owner anyway.

Ah big difference there. I don't mind pushing it on on an open road but through town is looking for trouble.

Pity it's been treated like crap so early in its life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Stheno wrote: »
    You let 166man drive your glanza????????? :eek:

I've just remembered something I've to check out. I put my car through an auto carwash the other day and now the aerial stalk is fooked.

Where can I procure another, apart from main stealer, breakers or someone breaking? Are they standard or special?

sure did :) i think he was surprised. he also let me redden his alfa!

fp2n9u.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Lads, sort out those limiters, could not be easier on a 90's Jap! :p

@YB: far back as the post is, I'm from Dublin so it'd be a long oul spin out and I'm no Supergurrier! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

That was the first meet I ever went to, and I'm glad I did, it was epic

Glendaslough again sometime??

sure did :) i think he was surprised. he also let me redden his alfa!

fp2n9u.jpg

Notice that you can't see my Levin in that pic, Just streaking ahead of the lot of you!

While you may have all driven the crap out of the cars and had great craic I'm not sure if posting *exactly* what you did is a good idea for yourselves, boards or future meets.

Not trying to be a spoil sport just saying..,,,

ba_barabus wrote: »
    While you may have all driven the crap out of the cars and had great craic I'm not sure if posting *exactly* what you did is a good idea for yourselves, boards or future meets.

it wasn't in any regard boy racer. and was in the wicklow mountains late at night... after we left the official boards meet :)

That was the first meet I ever went to, and I'm glad I did, it was epic

Glendaslough again sometime??

Yes! But wait 'till I'm driving something with better brakes... Or let Dead_Zebra drive behind me this time. :p

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Notice that you can't see my Levin in that pic, Just streaking ahead of the lot of you!

convoy in bhp order, i love it!

it wasn't in any regard boy racer. and was in the wicklow mountains late at night... after we left the official boards meet :)
    That's all fine, I couldn't really care as I've done a lot worse but just saying it might upset some users.

Feel free to tell me to piss off and mind my own business :)

In other news my Vectra started, although the battery is definitely knackered.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Yes! But wait 'till I'm driving something with better brakes... Or let Dead_Zebra drive behind me this time. :p

Or drive right :pac: I want to show up to the next meet hopefully with this e class so I understand where you're coming from
    convoy in bhp order, i love it!

Then technically I should've been last :confused: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

They were marvelling at my fabulous functioning handbrake which I'd left on when I took off when we were leaving. Oopsie! :o

Post edited ;)

I was streaking ahead at 80km/h, everyone else was doing 79.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Ah big difference there. I don't mind pushing it on on an open road but through town is looking for trouble.

Pity it's been treated like crap so early in its life.

On the plus side it seemed well able for road anyway!

Looks a lot better in the flesh than the photos anyway.

On the plus side it seemed well able for road anyway!

Looks a lot better in the flesh than the photos anyway.

I spotted one in Dublin and a couple in Aberdeen during the week. Dark colours suit it best. Looks well though, although a little unremarkable.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

In other news my Vectra started, although the battery is definitely knackered.

You've tomorrow to get a new one, believe me it will be a relief.

Until you discover something is draining the battery power :D

Or drive right :pac: I want to show up to the next meet hopefully with this e class so I understand where you're coming from

Hey now, we drove for a good 30 minutes are 75-80k with no issues, I thought he was going to take off after getting by a slow car but little did I know there was a small bump on the road which he decided to brake for, I stopped in time... And in a cloud of smoke. :o

Quite embarrassing, must have looked worse for the lads coming around the corner and not seeing why had happened. :p

That was a great day, some drive out, probably one of the best times I've had in my car.

Hey now, we drove for a good 30 minutes are 75-80k with no issues, I thought he was going to take off after getting by a slow car but little did I know there was a small bump on the road which he decided to brake for, I stopped in time... And in a cloud of smoke. :o

Quite embarrassing, must have looked worse for the lads coming around the corner and not seeing why had happened. :p

That was a great day, some drive out, probably one of the best times I've had in my car.

Haha I kid i kid I've had a few hairy moments myself, yeah it was a deadly day out, it was (and excuse the soppyness) the first time I genuinely felt a part of something :)

AWWWW :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Unless the rear of your car came off the ground, I've seen worse!

Brake bias in an ITR is shocking altogether :pac:

Awwwee. :pac:
    Ah yeah, there was a great vibe at that meet. Can't wait 'till next summer so I can attained another in shorts. :D

Awwwee. :pac:
    Ah yeah, there was a great vibe at that meet. Can't wait 'till next summer so I can attained another in shorts. :D

Top hat and tux for me! :pac:

It looked worse to me I think!:pac:

Small bump! you could leave your whole subframe behind on that thing if you aren't careful!

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    It looked worse to me I think!:pac:

Small bump! you could leave your whole subframe behind on that thing if you aren't careful!

I'll have to put it to the test, keep in mind the Almera was in full on expedition mode, it had the clearance of a Range Rover.
    Sorry about that. :o
    I'm used to taking that stretch fairly flat out.

Watching DGT crawl behind us after Sally Gap was priceless, we had about ten minutes to spare waiting for the pair to catch up. :p
    Unless the rear of your car came off the ground, I've seen worse!

Brake bias in an ITR is shocking altogether :pac:

Implying my brakes had a setting between gradual stop and skid. :pac:
    Absolutely shocking tyres on it, top shelf stuff from now on!

Stheno wrote: »
    You've tomorrow to get a new one, believe me it will be a relief.

Until you discover something is draining the battery power :D

Don't even joke :o

I'll have to put it to the test, keep in mind the Almera was in full on expedition mode, it had the clearance of a Range Rover.
    Sorry about that. :o
    I'm used to taking that stretch fairly flat out.

Watching DGT crawl behind us after Sally Gap was priceless, we had about ten minutes to spare waiting for the pair to catch up. :p

Implying my brakes had a setting between gradual stop and skid. :pac:
    Absolutely shocking tyres on it, top shelf stuff from now on!

Ah you're grand, no harm was done at the end of the day :)

Yep, you got your revenge with your door in the car park anyway. ;) haha

Oh sh!t yeah I remember that now! Sorry :o

And you reversed into that little wooden post :pac::P

Don't even joke :o

It has happened to me, evil car won't start after being left alone for about seven days.