BBC reporting shots fired at LAX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

mcgarrett wrote: »
    Always wondered how statistics on prevention are compiled ?

Like how many deaths do speed cameras prevent if people know where they are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 375 ✭✭mcgarrett

MadsL wrote: »

They are detections, I was referring to statistics for prevention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Pro TSA answer: All of 'em?

Not this?

Richard Reid—December 2001. A British citizen and self-professed follower of Osama bin Laden who trained in Afghanistan, Richard Reid hid explosives inside his shoes before boarding a flight from Paris to Miami on which he attempted to light the fuse with a match. Reid was caught in the act and apprehended aboard the plane by passengers and flight attendants. FBI officials took Reid into custody after the plane made an emergency landing at Boston’s Logan International Airport.

Lol, dunno whether to laugh or cry :eek:

Just make sure that you don't cry more than 100ml whilst flying.

LA Times saying officials now believe suspect did not work for TSA

12:17 p.m.: A federal law enforcement official said that the gunman was a ticketed passenger entering the airport. Officials don’t believe the gunman has ever worked for TSA. Law enforcement sources had earlier told The Times the gunman was a TSA employee.

http://www.latimes.com/local/lanow/la-me-ln-live-lax-shooting-tsa-agent-alleged-gunman-shot-20131101,0,3517669.story#axzz2jPsB8c00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Not this?

Richard Reid—...on which he attempted to light the fuse with a match...

Ah, but he boarded in Paris and wouldn't have been frisked by the TSA.

Funnily enough, lighters are allowed on now - for a while they were confiscated.

I'm not pro-TSA, by the way, and I think their measures are often counter-productive.

Jake1 wrote: »
    LA Times saying officials now believe suspect did not work for TSA

12:17 p.m.: A federal law enforcement official said that the gunman was a ticketed passenger entering the airport. Officials don’t believe the gunman has ever worked for TSA. Law enforcement sources had earlier told The Times the gunman was a TSA employee.

http://www.latimes.com/local/lanow/la-me-ln-live-lax-shooting-tsa-agent-alleged-gunman-shot-20131101,0,3517669.story#axzz2jPsB8c00

Oh God, we don't care who he was!! Stop making anti-heroes of these idiots.

A guy shot someone. Happens every day in the US - can we stop splashing the faces of these people all over the news along with the bodycount. :mad: US Media refuses to learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

I think what we can all expect now from this is some more and more airport security and metal detectors before you even enter the airport.

Probably more military presence in the airports also.

Thanks gunman for that. Good work asshole.

I doubt it cf. The only security measures that were put in place were as a result of manufactured and hoax threats like scanners for that alleged underwear bomber (pfft!) and farcical toothpaste restrictions because of some bogus somebody mixing bleach and p1ss in the jacks.

This was a real incident and as usual the Americans are powerless to prevent it because they refuse to think logically and examine the root cause of the problem. There are shootings at shopping malls and schools all the time. You don't pass through a metal detector on your way into Sears. They do put metal detectors in some schools but they are the ghetto schools.
    They come up with pathetic measures like arming teachers in the light of the Newtown massacre or that theatre shooting but it's all just unviable rubbish and just falls through the cracks.

A guy shot someone. Happens every day in the US - can we stop splashing the faces of these people all over the news along with the bodycount. :mad: US Media refuses to learn.

keep your bloody hair on, I was giving an update.:mad: FFS

and there was no FACE being splashed when I put that link up, if there is a link to his face now, not my damn problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Hey be fair his cheerleaders might be interested! I mean he at least made one persons day!
    A TSA got shot.

Oh boo hoo.

Me? wrote: »
    I have traveled in and out and around the US on numerous occasions and never once had an issue with security.I always found them professional and courteous. I think it's a small price to pay for the reduction in the chance of being blown up on a airplane.

Excuse me but billions each year to fund an incompetent and bloated bureaucracy that has not thwarted a single terrorist plot and is tasked with preventing something that is less likely to happen than you being killed by a comet is not exactly a "small price to pay".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

MonaPizza wrote: »
    I doubt it cf. The only security measures that were put in place were as a result of manufactured and hoax threats like scanners for that alleged underwear bomber (pfft!) and farcical toothpaste restrictions because of some bogus somebody mixing bleach and p1ss in the jacks.

This was a real incident and as usual the Americans are powerless to prevent it because they refuse to think logically and examine the root cause of the problem. There are shootings at shopping malls and schools all the time. You don't pass through a metal detector on your way into Sears. They do put metal detectors in some schools but they are the ghetto schools.
    They come up with pathetic measures like arming teachers in the light of the Newtown massacre or that theatre shooting but it's all just unviable rubbish and just falls through the cracks.

Anytime something like this happens, the governments answer is more policing, more checks, more yadda yadda yadda. And the media is not helping with all the attention it gives these assholes.

A lot of urban schools have metal detectors because the kids attending the schools hold guns, particularly in NY and Chicago. These crazy lone gunman shootings tend to happen in peaceful suburban settings if you notice.

My six year old currently has to practise a number of lockdowns, one for earthquakes, another for tornadoes, fire drills, and yes one for lone gunman shootings. This is utterly ridiculous and you know why? Because it validates the crazy gunman's reaction as an expected normality and these same kids growing up learning the security measures are also watching and learning where all the holes in the drills are, the reactions and the strategies and are ironically teaching them how to do it one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Security must have been LAX.

LAX means Salmon in swedish:)

Jake1 wrote: »
    keep your bloody hair on, I was giving an update.:mad: FFS

and there was no FACE being splashed when I put that link up, if there is a link to his face now, not my damn problem.

Sorry - should have been clearly my ire was not at you but at the jump the gun (heh) media reporting and the desperate clamour of "who was this guy".

I for one would love to make the publication of these guys' names and faces illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

crockholm wrote: »

And grav means gravel, apparently

crockholm wrote: »

You mean LOX? ;) This here's 'merica.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

And grav means gravel, apparently

I think it means grave*,which is also pertinent to this subject

*Or dig,e.g.-gravmaskin-digger

I for one would love to make the publication of these guys' names and faces illegal.

Actually my suggestin earlier in the year was that we should use the hurricane naming system for them.

Shooter Ethel, and so on. But rethinking, we should use flower names. Shooter Daisy, Shooter Marigold.

Ah, but he boarded in Paris and wouldn't have been frisked by the TSA.

Funnily enough, lighters are allowed on now - for a while they were confiscated.

I'm not pro-TSA, by the way, and I think their measures are often counter-productive.

Because the measures that are in place to prevent this are as ineffective as those to detect drugs. 9 out of 10 drug shipments get through. There are only so many sniffer dogs for drugs and bombs and they only go through a portion of the luggage. The fact is that there ARE no terrorists. There IS no threat. And if there were they would be busy planting their fictional bombs in crowded stadiums or targeting those floating cities called cruise ships or simply derailing a train speeding over a bridge. That would probably be doable with some gunpowder and a match 5 minutes before the train arrived.
    Wouldn't it be so much easier to plant a bomb under a railway bridge that was timed to go off a day or two later and then just leave the country than go through all hassle of trying to get the thing on a plane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Because the measures that are in place to prevent this are as ineffective as those to detect drugs. 9 out of 10 drug shipments get through. There are only so many sniffer dogs for drugs and bombs and they only go through a portion of the luggage. The fact is that there ARE no terrorists. There IS no threat. And if there were they would be busy planting their fictional bombs in crowded stadiums or targeting those floating cities called cruise ships or simply derailing a train speeding over a bridge. That would probably be doable with some gunpowder and a match 5 minutes before the train arrived.
    Wouldn't it be so much easier to plant a bomb under a railway bridge that was timed to go off a day or two later and then just leave the country than go through all hassle of trying to get the thing on a plane?

Why don't you just go and join Al-Qaeda, you appear to have thought the whole thing through.

Well, there are some valid points there MonaPizza.
    The fact is that there ARE no terrorists. There IS no threat.

That's not one of them.

It might be exaggerated, but baddies do exist.

Why don't you just go and join Al-Qaeda, you appear to have thought the whole thing through.

Do they even exist?

Has there ever been one claim of responsibly in a letter or telephone call from "Al Qaeda"? Has the ever been a communique, similar to "P, O'Neill from Oglaigh na hEirean" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Do they even exist?

Has there ever been one claim of responsibly in a letter or telephone call from "Al Qaeda"? Has the ever been a communique, similar to "P, O'Neill from Oglaigh na hEirean" ?

Yes - they have a Dublin branch just off Westmoreland Street.

If you have a criminal record then you cannot join.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Yes - they have a Dublin branch just off Westmoreland Street.

If you have a criminal record then you cannot join.

I heard they have good pension scheme though?, something bout virgins?

Well, there are some valid points there MonaPizza.

That's not one of them.

It might be exaggerated, but baddies do exist.

Baddies do exist like muggers and murderers and rapists. Terrorists exist too but like I mentioned before the threat from them is lesser than the threat from falling sky debris.

Ah Jesus lads, trying to become a US citizen over here, knock it off with the AQ banter.

Just a few good 'ol boys tryin' to establish the facts of the LAX thung, officer.

We seemed to have strayed off a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Yis wouldn't know who killed Kennedy would yas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Me?

wazky wrote: »
    Yis wouldn't know who killed Kennedy would yas?

That's a negative.