Daily Express launches "crusade" against Romanians and Bulgarians

• 31-10-2013 05:32PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

According to their front page anyway. Whatever about the public debate to be had about the limits of immigration - did they not figure using the term "crusade"... with their logo being a picture of a knight in armor, *might* be a tad racisty?

What do ye think? Legitimate campaign or race baiting neanderthals like the English Defence League heads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

have they run out of Diana stories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

The Daily Express is the Daily Mail for Coffin Dodgers. Their front page headlines are always on one of the following topics:

Anti-Immigrant
    Your House value has gone up/Down
    Miracle Pill to cure Cancer/Heart Disease/Arthritus
    Pension Values to Soar/Crash
    EU Bashing
    Nauseatingly fawning Royal Family Pieces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

We should be doing the same.

Is that racist?? I don't think so, If you've nothing to contribute other than thieving and scamming, then fúck off.

Of course not all of them, but the ones that we know of should be on the first flight home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Aparrently it was the Roma's not paperazzi chasing the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Whatever sells papers. Best to ignore the trolls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Seems grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

wprathead wrote: »
    Aparrently it was the Roma's not paperazzi chasing the car

Have you seen the water problems in Dublin ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

0ph0rce0 wrote: »

Is that racist?? I don't think so, If you've nothing to contribute other than thieving and scamming, then fúck off.

Of course not all of them, but the ones that we know of should be on the first flight home.

Wut?

Last time I looked Ireland had laws on thieving and scamming. And the only Romanian I know is gainfully and legally employed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

I sure hope this thread increases its head height for all the high horses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

The Daily Ex-Princess ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

The article and attitude is racist/xenophobic by definition. There's no arguing that.

Whether racism and xenophobia are sometimes justified is another question. I'd generally think not, but that's a more subjective area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

The Daily Express is the Daily Mail for Coffin Dodgers. Their front page headlines are always on one of the following topics:

Anti-Immigrant
    Your House value has gone up/Down
    Miracle Pill to cure Cancer/Heart Disease/Arthritus
    Pension Values to Soar/Crash
    EU Bashing
    Nauseatingly fawning Royal Family Pieces
    You missed out on two
    Heatwave set to kill hundreds of older people
    Biggest storm in 200 years set to cause unprecedented damage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The Diana Express in outlandishly xenophobic headline shocker.

I'm shocked. And appalled.*

*Not really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

0ph0rce0 wrote: »

How many times do people need to be told the following?

Roma != Romanian

One more time:

Roma != Romanian

I take my racism seriously and if I'm going to broadcast my bigotry, the least I can do is be properly informed about which group I'm hating on this week.

There's no point in being a racist if I can't tell the various races and ethnicities apart - I'd just sound silly.

Poor Romanians. The Bulgarians do not want them either.
    The UK government does not think a lot of them either
    https://www.gov.uk/foreign-travel-advice/bulgaria
    And the Bulgarians had the cheek to attack the British forces during WW1
    http://www.1914-1918.net/salonika.htm
    And they dont forget the war too quickly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    According to their front page anyway. Whatever about the public debate to be had about the limits of immigration - did they not figure using the term "crusade"... with their logo being a picture of a knight in armor, *might* be a tad racisty?

What do ye think? Legitimate campaign or race baiting neanderthals like the English Defence League heads?

...a tad more than a tad, I'd say. Ye'd wonder if this is a move into Daily Mail territory - will the Daily Heil counter with a "purge" against Romanians and the like, or will they try a coup de main by going for the Ultimate Diana Story....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,185 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It's hardly worth their while going to Britain anyway, the vote to exit the EU will probably pass and they will have to leave then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

I'm right wing at the best of times but this is flat out intolerance, trying to appeal to the lowest common denominator. If they are trying to raise social issues at the very least they could try and not put it in such a discriminatory, insensitive tone. Idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

timmy4u2 wrote: »

That advisory is the same as they have for a lot of countries.

https://www.gov.uk/foreign-travel-advice/spain

I spent a week in Sofia earlier on this year and found it to be a nice place. The people were hardworking and it resembled Dublin in 1995 in many ways.

But they people I met did moan on about the roma and their organized crime, much the same as happens in western Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Disappointing lack of Romanian historical knowledge by the Express. Vlad III played an important role in the crusades against the Ottoman empire.

That advisory is the same as they have for a lot of countries.

https://www.gov.uk/foreign-travel-advice/spain

I spent a week in Sofia earlier on this year and found it to be a nice place. The people were hardworking and it resembled Dublin in 1995 in many ways.

But they people I met did moan on about the roma and their organized crime, much the same as happens in western Europe.
    I spend a lot of time in Bulgaria and they are terribly nice people, akin to Ireland 40 years ago.

To be honest the only scammers I found there were some British ex-pats involved in the Real Estate business, along with a few of their Irish friends.
    Some of the Roma community got involved in the Bulgarian Mafia and it spilled over when a Roma Mafia boss had the son of a Village mayor run over by a truck.
    That started the protests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,185 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Disappointing lack of Romanian historical knowledge by the Express. Vlad III played an important role in the crusades against the Ottoman empire.

He was just as brutal to his own people as any invader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

He was just as brutal to his own people as any invader.

He certainly was. Still considered a hero by many Romanians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

timmy4u2 wrote: »
    And the Bulgarians had the cheek to attack the British forces during WW1
    http://www.1914-1918.net/salonika.htm
    And they dont forget the war too quickly

Not to forget that Bulgaria joined the Axis in WW2 (admittedly, they were a bit of a Ringo)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It's hardly worth their while going to Britain anyway, the vote to exit the EU will probably pass and they will have to leave then.

Oh fcuk, guess where they'll all come to then! We're rightly fecked then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It's hard to believe that a major newspaper can be so openly racist.

Grayson wrote: »
    Its not being the paper that it is.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Grayson wrote: »

It's hard to believe, that people are buying such a rag :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Maybe one of our own papers could do a campaign.

"All Romanians and Bulgarians are welcome in Ireland"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Whether racism and xenophobia are sometimes justified is another question. I'd generally think not, but that's a more subjective area.

This is the hitter right here.

There is not one, not one single person reading this, who would lease a property to Roma, or who would not be more suspicious of Roma moving next door than they would be of a family of any other race. There will be hypocrites talking out of their holes in this thread who are uneasy with this fact about themselves.