Is Boards.ie monitored by the CIA, KGB, Mossad, MI5 et al?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Anyone who thinks that boards.ie isn't still and hasn't been monitored by at least the American intelligence agencies, is an idiot.
    Especially after infodox was arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

My cover has been blown. Abort, ABORT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

People should speak out more about people "monitoring" people generally. F@cebook, smart phones, forums, phone calls, etc.

Seems a good gulp of people are being brainwashed into believing this is a good thing. I ask myself what kind of person would work for an organisation whos business is the creation of fear, paranoia and hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Them all, if you aren't getting monitored something is wrong!

Seriously, God knows who has used the site and security forces were interested in them for genuine reasons. Terms and names I'm sure got mentioned that software programmes spotted.

The odd Israeli sympathiser I'm sure has targeted the site, they are everywhere, and it's a commonly known tactic when any anti-Israeli topics get mentioned.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I'd imagine the site probably has somebody sitting behind a desk in Washington/London/Tel Aviv/Moscow/Dublin/well you get it... who earns their bread by keeping an eye on it.

Didn't it get an honourable mention in the US Secret Service briefing paper before young Barrack of Offaly paid us a visit a few years ago?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭FurQyou

It's totally possible, plausible and likely even but in fairness though you wonder what the point would be.

Would have to be a bit of a dumb fcuk to be posting anything illegal or of interest to the authorities on a public message board linked to your ip address!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

My God, if it is, I really feel for whatever poor unfortunate gobsh!te has to read through it all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

My God, if it is, I really feel for whatever poor unfortunate gobsh!te has to read through it all :D

Ha yeah, imagine the poor guy in the Pentagon face palming himself

"****ing hell, not another Dole thread"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Imagine Mossad spying on this they'd have a field day!

Mods apart from banning a person but they what you thought were serious threats would you have to report it to head office or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,001 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

My old man doesnt use gmail because he says doesnt want Americans reading his emails, so he uses Eircom instead... That'll learn 'em! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

The Americans would keep tabs on us I guess but the British are currently and have been monitoring the Irish on a grand scale. They obviously have been monitoring the Irish government/Gardai/military and civilians because of the north.

Our own government have been bugging journalists phones for at least 40 years, so if our own government have no problem with doing it to us why would any other government.

Do you think they would have left Eamon Gilmore meet the Queen just off the plane if they hadn't done extensive research and background checks on him, which obviously would include electronic surveillance.

I just think the few hardliners left in the IRA aren't going to be logging into Facebook and proclaiming, 'off to plant a bomb', it's going to be so big, lollers!!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

13-1+α+
    γ
    Δ...................///////
    ###

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Is anyone else wondering just what the Sam Hill all the fuss is about? Is it people my age, who grew up with James Bond, who consider all this stuff perfectly normal and exactly what one would expect foreign diplomats/agents to be up to? Is it just the Generation Y-ers who are all "Like, oh-my-God big sh!t! BIIIIIIG sh!t!" over this?

So the Western governments think the Chinese and Russians are assholes, the main NATO powers are bickering, everyone is worried about the Pakinstanis nuclear weapons, and the Americans are considering how to snaffle North Korea from the Chinese when Kim Jong's spaceship arrives to beam him up. What else is new.

For example, apparently Muammar Ghaddafi was "accompanied everywhere by a "voluptuous blonde" Ukrainian nurse". How is this news? In a more civilised age Sean Connery would head out to Libya, bonk said nurse, give the good Colonel a little lead injection, then get pissed on vodka martinis while tearing across the Med on his speedboat. All in a good days work.

What do people think these people do all day - lounge around drinking wine and congratulating each other on their wonderful economic policy? I demand occasional shenanigans, dammit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I monitor you all for my own personal files.

It's very easy.

Oh and..... you really shouldn't be looking at those websites while on the phone to your mother. You know who you are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

It's probably monitored for key words but I doubt difference they're all that interested in all the "Yore Ma" posts.

TBH with our shambolic government and the amount of oil off our coast I'm surprised we haven't been "liberated" already regardless....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

I would be watchful of that new poster Irene, didn't she say she say her store is called Flowers by Irene...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Yeah, I can see the NSA, CIA, etc, wanting to read Father Ted quotes, hear about our hangovers, what we got from Supermacs last weekend (or if we got peed on).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

[-0-] wrote: »
    Yeah, I can see the NSA, CIA, etc, wanting to read Father Ted quotes, hear about our hangovers, what we got from Supermacs last weekend (or if we got peed on).

But they do all the same. Paranoid freaks do that kind of thing. A one million square foot intelligence centre. An army of drones operated by nameless contractors. A secret organisation that holds more Power than its government.

Be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

The nuns are dirty .. the chickens have been tainted.

Meet at the hawk shelter.

****throws burner phone in bin and disappears into the crowd****

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

K-9 wrote: »
    Them all, if you aren't getting monitored something is wrong!

Seriously, God knows who has used the site and security forces were interested in them for genuine reasons. Terms and names I'm sure got mentioned that software programmes spotted.

The odd Israeli sympathiser I'm sure has targeted the site, they are everywhere, and it's a commonly known tactic when any anti-Israeli topics get mentioned.

It's also a common tactic amongst them to label any critiscims of the Israeli Govt or IDF as anti-Israeli. I've criticised the Zimbabwean Govt/Zanu PF but I'm not anti-Zimbabwean :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Sigourney

MonaPizza wrote: »
    13-1+α+
    γ
    Δ...................///////
    ###

Ah here, leave it bleedin out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Hitchens wrote: »
    It seems unlikely but can it be ruled out completely?

Any spooks on here that would give us the skinny on it? :)

Of course we don't monitor you. We have enough to do here in Langley without going through all your e mails and purchases in Arnotts last Saturday

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Let's put it this way, if you visit the American Embassy in the park you don't have to fill in any forms.

All they want is your name and date of birth.