Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Boards.ie monitored by the CIA, KGB, Mossad, MI5 et al?

• 29-10-2013 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭

It seems unlikely but can it be ruled out completely?

Any spooks on here that would give us the skinny on it? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Yeah. Behave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Well dont most agencies search keywords and phrases? :P
    Like what google or any other search engine already does. So yeah the CIA are watching you, op.

... so for gods sake put some pants on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Hitchens wrote: »

Bomb, President, Plot.

I'd say so yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

GCHQ are anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Yeah they're called mods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Given the recent WikiLeaks stuff, I would say it is one of the few places where confidentiality is absolutely assured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭BabyGorilla

Well the word blast has come up quite a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Yeah it is definitely. But all of them are being monitored by dr.bollocko. Freaks the f*ck out me just thinking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

No

<_<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

It's a well known fact that all moderators legally have to report "certain" types of posts to the Man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

No no no, the US government is not at all monitoring your internet usage, please continue as normally Mr. Murphy (32) Ballymack, Co Laois.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Reminds me of this
    <Stormrider> I should bomb something
    <Stormrider> ...and it's off the cuff remarks like that that are the reason I don't log chats
    <Stormrider> Just in case the FBI ever needs anything on me
    <Elzie_Ann> I'm sure they can just get it from someone who DOES log chats.
    *** FBI has joined #gamecubecafe
    <FBI> We saw it anyway.
    http://bash.org/?88575

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Well everything on the internet is monitored. Or at least can be monitored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I like the USA!

USA number 1

USA the best country in the world all other countries not good only USA.

USA USA USA!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

they'd probably tip off our own Intelligence Service (so secretive it has no name officially:)) if we criticise Enda & Co! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I love America. Honest. Someone else posted all that crap on my account..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

The smartphone code bit raises an eyebrow ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

I like the USA!

USA number 1

USA USA USA!.

You're going to be in a world of trouble with the Chinese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    You're going to be in a world of trouble with the Chinese.

I love the number 69 and 123 the chicken fried rice also good too. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Yes. It was mentioned in Wikileaks before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

I think the FBI, CIA, NSA et al are more interested in terrorists than whiny old biddys whose highlight of their day is to go online and complain about Joe Duffy and Ryan Tubridy or as I like to call them Dufridy:)

Summary: Are you freaking serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

people have remarked about a load of posters who have "closed accounts".

Maybe it was more than their accounts that were closed.

Just sayin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

cml387 wrote: »
    people have remarked about a load of posters who have "closed accounts".

Maybe it was more than their accounts that were closed.

Just sayin'

I heard they all went to Belize!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

CFlat wrote: »
    I think the FBI, CIA, NSA et al are more interested in terrorists than whiny old biddys whose highlight of their day is to go online and complain about Joe Duffy and Ryan Tubridy or as I like to call them Dufridy:)

Summary: Are you freaking serious?

Dufridy is a mossad agent. Don't you read the CT forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I like the USA!

USA number 1

USA USA USA!.

Fuuuuuuuck Yeah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I'd be willing to bet there's a Gard somwhere, whos job it is to peruse Boards and Facebuk full-time, let alone the MI5s, MI6s, De Yonks and all the other paranoid, sneaky little devils out there. I've often surmised that anti-virus software companies do so well as they receive ample government support for their endeavours. Mainly because they're sneaky little viruses in themselves. Mobile phones are also a godsend for "The Man", Facebook a wet dream and e-mail almost too good to be true. Their job is just too easy these days. Sure everyone blurts everything out electronically. In one form or another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Bomb, President, Plot.

I'd say so yeah.

just bumping your comment so its TWICE as likely to be noticed :p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,572 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Hitchens wrote: »

WTF ?

all the public content is public , anyone on the planet can monitor it .

add the term site:boards.ie to look at stuff on a well known site

under Irish law all ISP's must keep a record of IP traffic (and for longer than the EU asked them for) so yeah unless you using proxies and tor n' stuff they know if you are connecting to boards. And even if you are they know because they have loads of exit nodes

All phone calls on the Eircom-BT microwave link were intercepted by a tower built on BNFL land by parties who wished to remain nameless. http://www.lamont.me.uk/capenhurst/original.html

'cept most Irish ISP's belong to countries that are involved in Echelon, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ECHELON, means they also get traffic on the cables too

all Irish ISP's use comms equipment that is suspect
    Cisco don't hide the fact that their equipment is setup for "lawful intercept"
    http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk583/tk799/tsd_technology_support_protocol_home.html and there are other backdoors

You missed China where a lot of comms gear is made. Huawei gear is more or less banned for backbone use in many countries. India are developing their own silicon valley just to get comms equipment they can trust.

Learn Befords law and hide in the noise. Changing your behaviour will trigger red flags all over the gaff and then a human will have to look at the automated intercepts.

However I can confirm the KGB are not monitoring us. Mainly because they are now the FSB :pac:
    Then again they probably use the old trick of letting the western agencies expend resources gathering the data and then beg/borrow/steal the executive summary instead.

Roll the clock back. Every wonder why the Royal Mail got a monopoly back in 1653 ? The MO is still the same. Why try to block comms when you can eavesdrop instead.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Royal_Mail#History
    In July 1655 the Post Office was put under the direct government control of John Thurloe, a Secretary of State, and best known to history as Cromwell's spymaster general. Previous English governments had tried to prevent conspirators communicating, Thurloe preferred to deliver their post having surreptitiously read it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Anyone who thinks that boards.ie isn't still and hasn't been monitored by at least the American intelligence agencies, is an idiot.
    Especially after infodox was arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

My cover has been blown. Abort, ABORT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

People should speak out more about people "monitoring" people generally. F@cebook, smart phones, forums, phone calls, etc.

Seems a good gulp of people are being brainwashed into believing this is a good thing. I ask myself what kind of person would work for an organisation whos business is the creation of fear, paranoia and hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Them all, if you aren't getting monitored something is wrong!

Seriously, God knows who has used the site and security forces were interested in them for genuine reasons. Terms and names I'm sure got mentioned that software programmes spotted.

The odd Israeli sympathiser I'm sure has targeted the site, they are everywhere, and it's a commonly known tactic when any anti-Israeli topics get mentioned.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I'd imagine the site probably has somebody sitting behind a desk in Washington/London/Tel Aviv/Moscow/Dublin/well you get it... who earns their bread by keeping an eye on it.

Didn't it get an honourable mention in the US Secret Service briefing paper before young Barrack of Offaly paid us a visit a few years ago?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭FurQyou

It's totally possible, plausible and likely even but in fairness though you wonder what the point would be.

Would have to be a bit of a dumb fcuk to be posting anything illegal or of interest to the authorities on a public message board linked to your ip address!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

My God, if it is, I really feel for whatever poor unfortunate gobsh!te has to read through it all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

My God, if it is, I really feel for whatever poor unfortunate gobsh!te has to read through it all :D

Ha yeah, imagine the poor guy in the Pentagon face palming himself

"****ing hell, not another Dole thread"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Imagine Mossad spying on this they'd have a field day!

Mods apart from banning a person but they what you thought were serious threats would you have to report it to head office or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

My old man doesnt use gmail because he says doesnt want Americans reading his emails, so he uses Eircom instead... That'll learn 'em! :D

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

The Americans would keep tabs on us I guess but the British are currently and have been monitoring the Irish on a grand scale. They obviously have been monitoring the Irish government/Gardai/military and civilians because of the north.

Our own government have been bugging journalists phones for at least 40 years, so if our own government have no problem with doing it to us why would any other government.

Do you think they would have left Eamon Gilmore meet the Queen just off the plane if they hadn't done extensive research and background checks on him, which obviously would include electronic surveillance.

I just think the few hardliners left in the IRA aren't going to be logging into Facebook and proclaiming, 'off to plant a bomb', it's going to be so big, lollers!!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

13-1+α+
    γ
    Δ...................///////
    ###

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Is anyone else wondering just what the Sam Hill all the fuss is about? Is it people my age, who grew up with James Bond, who consider all this stuff perfectly normal and exactly what one would expect foreign diplomats/agents to be up to? Is it just the Generation Y-ers who are all "Like, oh-my-God big sh!t! BIIIIIIG sh!t!" over this?

So the Western governments think the Chinese and Russians are assholes, the main NATO powers are bickering, everyone is worried about the Pakinstanis nuclear weapons, and the Americans are considering how to snaffle North Korea from the Chinese when Kim Jong's spaceship arrives to beam him up. What else is new.

For example, apparently Muammar Ghaddafi was "accompanied everywhere by a "voluptuous blonde" Ukrainian nurse". How is this news? In a more civilised age Sean Connery would head out to Libya, bonk said nurse, give the good Colonel a little lead injection, then get pissed on vodka martinis while tearing across the Med on his speedboat. All in a good days work.

What do people think these people do all day - lounge around drinking wine and congratulating each other on their wonderful economic policy? I demand occasional shenanigans, dammit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I monitor you all for my own personal files.

It's very easy.

Oh and..... you really shouldn't be looking at those websites while on the phone to your mother. You know who you are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

It's probably monitored for key words but I doubt difference they're all that interested in all the "Yore Ma" posts.

TBH with our shambolic government and the amount of oil off our coast I'm surprised we haven't been "liberated" already regardless....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

I would be watchful of that new poster Irene, didn't she say she say her store is called Flowers by Irene...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Yeah, I can see the NSA, CIA, etc, wanting to read Father Ted quotes, hear about our hangovers, what we got from Supermacs last weekend (or if we got peed on).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

[-0-] wrote: »
    Yeah, I can see the NSA, CIA, etc, wanting to read Father Ted quotes, hear about our hangovers, what we got from Supermacs last weekend (or if we got peed on).

But they do all the same. Paranoid freaks do that kind of thing. A one million square foot intelligence centre. An army of drones operated by nameless contractors. A secret organisation that holds more Power than its government.

Be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

The nuns are dirty .. the chickens have been tainted.

Meet at the hawk shelter.

****throws burner phone in bin and disappears into the crowd****

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

K-9 wrote: »
    Them all, if you aren't getting monitored something is wrong!

Seriously, God knows who has used the site and security forces were interested in them for genuine reasons. Terms and names I'm sure got mentioned that software programmes spotted.

The odd Israeli sympathiser I'm sure has targeted the site, they are everywhere, and it's a commonly known tactic when any anti-Israeli topics get mentioned.

It's also a common tactic amongst them to label any critiscims of the Israeli Govt or IDF as anti-Israeli. I've criticised the Zimbabwean Govt/Zanu PF but I'm not anti-Zimbabwean :D