Ar**hole customers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

siblers wrote: »
    Yeah, I felt awful for doing it to the kid but at the time I wouldn't have given a **** if the guy I was serving had seen it.

Wouldn't it be great if that kid was older and on this thread giving out now about the ""customer is always right" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    I dealt with it by not giving a fcuk.

I like everything about this. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Dartz

"Hellllloooo, is that [Company]? Well, yes, this is Mrs. O'Fakename. I'mjust ringing to let you that your man's fallen off my roof and broken his leg. Now, am I to understand that there'll be a delay in getting installation completed? If so, I'd expect a discount on your quotation to account for the delay this'll cause."

---- Someone who doesn't know how close I came to driving to her house and kicking her off the roof. Fortunately, the guy that went off the roof had already left in an ambulance. But she didn't give a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Love how I can't read half this thread because the only two occupants of my ignore list are both posting...

The customer is most definitely NOT always right.

You are correct madam.

http://notalwaysright.com/

Sometimes I have to stop reading this website because my palm gets stuck to my face over time.

EDIT: And like an earlier poster I'll remain content that none of my stories are thread worthy. Most of them are funny but I haven't boiled over with rage...yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

kneemos wrote: »
    You're paid to deal with customers.
    Do you want a medal for doing your job or something?
    Yes. Yes I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Overheal wrote: »
    Yes. Yes I do.

Here you go.

MadsL wrote: »
    In Belfast, they actually try to sell you something. In the UK it is marginally better, in Europe people actually say Good morning/Goodbye when entering/leaving shops and in the US the greeters are annoying as f*ck but the customer servic can be outstanding.
    I think it depends where you go. I did a lot of shopping this weekend and found all sorts, from great service to not being acknowledged whatsoever. Depends on the store and whose running it and who gives a damn. Makes me appreciate the direction I've been given at work, honestly.

And you still occassionally get pricks who think they're entitled to be abusive because "they pay your wages". Oh look out Im a platinum member card holder don't bow at my feet (yeah a guy said that). Or the lady who told someone over the phone "this guy is trying to give me a hard time" because she wasn't an authorized user on her family's phone account so i couldn't add a line for her. Or the way its apparently my fault that your Tax Exempt Card is expired. Or that your bank froze your credit card or that the super-popular item you wanted is sold out or that shucks you JUST MISSED OUT on buying a PC with Windows 7 on it 12 months ago.

kneemos wrote: »
    Hope you're not dealing with customers with that attitude.
    I hope you shop online?

Incidentally I've noticed that the % of arsehole customers seems to be stronger among customers that are only inside of a "smelly brick and mortar shop" because they are in need of some type of product that is either too expensive to ship or through emergency or procrastination it is now too late for them to get the item shipped.

COINCIDENCE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Overheal wrote: »
    I think it depends where you go.

As I posted before, clothes shopping in Dublin was just pathetic.

Contrast to Belfast, sit down, coffee offered, options brought to you, tailoring in house, dropped to my hotel and the sales guy organised a taxi and the sales guy paid for it himself. Thank you card in the mail afterwards.

Now admittedly I was revamping a wardrobe for a new job and dropped a tidy sum, but even in BT I would not have got anything near that service. I once brought down a pair of Boss jeans in BT to try with a Boss jacket downstairs. I asked for a different size on the jeans, and was told I'd have to go back upstairs get them myself. I got dressed and left. Telling a customer trying on clothes to get dressed, go upstairs and fetch the item themselves is an utter joke. If Dublin's flagship store can't get service right, best shop elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Uaru

The internet shoppers can be the worst. I've had people come in to find out how a product works, gone through the whole thing with them and then have had them tell me it's cheaper online and leave. A couple of these are regular enough customers too.

I have also had them try and return faulty items which they have purchased online and for them to be gobsmacked when I won't replace them. They think because it's the same manufacturer and still under warranty that we should replace it for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

You work minimum wage or a tad above it and you do your job well.

You explain to the arsehole customer why they can't have a refund, you even point to the policy sign on the wall.

Customer screams for a middle manager who wears a suit and earns feck all more then you who gives a full refund for the easy life.

The customer learns they get rewarded for being screaming for attention.

You look like a fool as you got bypassed :(

However if you had decided to give a refund to get rid of a arshole customer you'd be up in the office for a warning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

I work in a bar, and my biggest gripe is when someone gives out about the prices. I had one fella order 4 Guinness and a Heineken, when I told him the price (Around €22). He went mental.

"You must be the most expensive place in town. Absolutely shocking prices and you should do something about it."

I'm a part-time barman looking to earn a small living to get me through college, and this fella is telling me I should do something about the prices the owner sets. Fúck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

andyman wrote: »
    I work in a bar, and my biggest gripe is when someone gives out about the prices. I had one fella order 4 Guinness and a Heineken, when I told him the price (Around €22). He went mental.

"You must be the most expensive place in town. Absolutely shocking prices and you should do something about it."

I'm a part-time barman looking to earn a small living to get me through college, and this fella is telling me I should do something about the prices the owner sets. Fúck off.

I got that too.

I just agreed with him.

Yeh .. yeh.... shocking stuff ... jaysus .. times we live in.

People love when the barman agrees with them and listens to their shíte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

I used to work a field service job.
    Customer rang in Christmas Eve at nine pm.
    Tried to sort over the phone but your man couldn't follow me. Tried to push it off till next morning but he wouldn't have it. Cows needed milking and that was it. So I struck off on a fifty mile drive to find he'd made a stupid mistake setting up.
    Sitting in his yard at eleven pm on Christmas Eve and handed him a £50 bill and he blew a fuse!!
    Who did I think I was charging £50 for five minutes work, insisted he'd never pay it. Called me all the fluckers under the sun. So I left and refused to go back.
    My boss finally collected the money next time he was stuck - insisted on payment of everything paid before the other service man would enter the yard - I had refused to go out on the call. Feckin ass hole!

Mod

kneemos don't post in this thread again, and troll this forum again and you will not be posting in it for a while.

Everyone else - don't feed the trolls please!

Thank you - come again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

andyman wrote: »

I had a woman give me shit about the price of a drink last weekend.

"this is disgraceful"

"sure, no wonder the country is the way it is"

etc etc

I wouldn't mind but she kept coming up to the bar and ordering the same drink and giving out everytime as if she expected the price to go down since her last visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

I worked in a busy newsagents for years. Every single week I had an arsehole customer giving out to me about the VAT on magazines. Not giving out to me in the "isn't this VAT on magazines terrible, the Government are awful aren't they?" kind of way.

Nope, these arsehole customers would level the blame on my 20 year old shoulders. I was solely responsible for the VAT increasing the price on their magazines.

By the end of my time working there, I found it hard to even be polite to the arsehole types. Several times I pointed to the newsagents up the street and told them it was cheaper there. It wasn't.. mwuahahaha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

loveBBhate wrote: »
    All that homosexual talk, did he put anything in your mouth once you opened it?
    that has never occurred to me until you just said it, but i'm VERY happy to say that it didn't seem to occur to him either. either that or my memory has blocked out the traumatic event! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,702 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Where I work we used to have a retail store. I was in there one day, this fella late 20's came in, had a real swagger and bad attitude about him.

He asked me for some punched pockets I got them for him. He opened them and brought them up to counter. Asked me would I help him put some photos into them for him, I was busy but said sure.
    He went out to his car came back in with a huge box there must of been hundreds of photos, I said sorry Im too busy to do that many.

Customer: You just said you would you prick!

Me: Excuse me, a prick that will definitely help you calling me that. Please leave I am not serving you.

Customer: **** you im doing my work here and I'll deal with you then.
    Me: Whatever, finish and pay and get the **** out

He was already after filling a lot of pockets at this stage so I just said screw it let him do it and leave.

Customer: Im finished there's my ****ing money.

I got up put through his goods, slammed his change on the counter, he then picked it up and threw it at me.

Customer: Step outside with me you four eyed faggit, I'll batter ya.
    Me: I laughed and said ok lets go.

I walked down the end of the store, turned to lock the door and he was already running to his car.

Real hard man is was alrite.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

As I posted before, clothes shopping in Dublin was just pathetic.

Contrast to Belfast, sit down, coffee offered, options brought to you, tailoring in house, dropped to my hotel and the sales guy organised a taxi and the sales guy paid for it himself. Thank you card in the mail afterwards.

Now admittedly I was revamping a wardrobe for a new job and dropped a tidy sum, but even in BT I would not have got anything near that service. I once brought down a pair of Boss jeans in BT to try with a Boss jacket downstairs. I asked for a different size on the jeans, and was told I'd have to go back upstairs get them myself. I got dressed and left. Telling a customer trying on clothes to get dressed, go upstairs and fetch the item themselves is an utter joke. If Dublin's flagship store can't get service right, best shop elsewhere.

Was the place you went the size of BT? doubt it, you'd get better service in smaller shops or tailors but huge department stores are simply too busy to be serving people coffee and falling over them, every other customer would be left there all day. Don't BT have personal shoppers? or had at one point, would have probably done the same for you.

working in retail is tough, dealing with customers is only part of it , you have tons of other stuff to do as well from stocking to buying to merchandising to changing prices to rearranging entire sections and displays and ordering stuff in, I'd be doing all that stuff daily when I worked in HMV, they pile the work on top of you and then expect you to serve people as well and be really good at it, which we were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Pokiedots

Oh how I used to hate the "I pay your wages" line when I was in bar work, there was one man in particular who used to love sneering it at staff. One day when he was pissed and I was tired out he trots- I pay your wages, quick as could be I retorted " In fact you dont, I will be paid if you are here or not, but I do agree I should be paid more when dealing with you, we have a tip jar on the counter feel free to make a contribution" my manager was standing behind me and he just moved the jar in front of the guy who walked off not sure what to say.

krudler wrote: »
    Was the place you went the size of BT? doubt it, you'd get better service in smaller shops or tailors but huge department stores are simply too busy to be serving people coffee and falling over them, every other customer would be left there all day. Don't BT have personal shoppers? or had at one point, would have probably done the same for you.

working in retail is tough, dealing with customers is only part of it , you have tons of other stuff to do as well from stocking to buying to merchandising to changing prices to rearranging entire sections and displays and ordering stuff in, I'd be doing all that stuff daily when I worked in HMV, they pile the work on top of you and then expect you to serve people as well and be really good at it, which we were.
    He just didn't tip enough :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,080 ✭✭✭✭josip

I used to work in a chipper in a country town for a couple of years. Most of our customers were great entertainment. Kids coming up big-eyed and small voiced with their own money asking for a bag of chips or a sausage were lovely to deal wth.

But, it was the only chipper during the week after the pubs closed and at the weekends after the nightclub closed.
    And we had a seating area out the front.
    So in my 2 years I had to deal with.
    • Vomit and human detrius: weekly.
    • Food being thrown at us over the counter: at least once a month.
    • Being threatened by disgruntled customers that they'd wait for us until we'd finished and "get us" on the way home at 4am: once a fortnight.
    • Getting jumped on and headlocked by a customer who took exception to me sweeping the floor before he'd finished eating.
    • Being under siege for 10 minutes one Sunday afternoon, locked in behind the counter, while a family of 3 brothers tried to break down the staff door to get in at us. This, because we wouldn't serve one of the brothers who was barred. The 3 of us on at the time, were brandishing grill cleaners and baseball bats behind the counter to stop them jumping over it.
    • Ringing the guards for 25 minutes to come and deal with a customer who was sitting patiently with a pair of kitchen carving knives waiting for "Tony" at midnight on a Monday. He left before the guards could make it the 2 minute drive over from the station.
    • Having to convince the town psychopath who came in with bleeding forearms that we really couldn't give him a knife to do the job properly. He was actually understanding about it, so he politely left after 5 minutes, walked across the road, and jumped in the river.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭Gandalph

I know this sounds odd but I generally get a high off dealing with a**hole customers. I absolutely love keeping a cool and professional head when someone else loses the plot and it frustrates them even more that they can't get an aggravated response out of you.

Although it does get to me if I see an angry customer taking something out on an innocent employee. Seen this one guy come into McDonalds and toss his cheeseburger at the cashier along with the screams of "I ASKED FOR EXTRA PICKLES YOU F**KING PIECE OF S**T", then he followed it up how he was going to wait outside McDonalds that night with his gang member mates for the guy at the cashier. Was awful scary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I worked in retail for years so yeah, I dealt with many many many ars%hole customers. As tempting as it is to be an ars%hole back to them, I found that being courteous and professional to an obnoxious level annoyed them more than anything else. They want to complain about you but have nothing to complain about, it confuses and frustrates them;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Gandalph wrote: »
    I know this sounds odd but I generally get a high off dealing with a**hole customers. I absolutely love keeping a cool and professional head when someone else loses the plot and it frustrates them even more that they can't get an aggravated response out of you.

Kill 'em with kindness, works every time. I treat angry customers like kids, just let them rant and vent and then they'll eventually tire themselves out, cool down and be easier to deal with, bouncing off each other with angry retorts or interrupting each other is pointless, gets you nowhere.

It makes me laugh when people come on the phone with an attitude expecting a fight then you just act nice and polite and sort the issue out straight away and then they're all apologies, unfortunately its the assholes you remember not the regular nice people, of which there are plenty.

Lunatics are fun though, the ones who don't want anything you can actually do and just entertain you through their sheer craziness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

What does that have to do with the topic? Sure, I'll bet there are plenty of cases of customers who were provoked by bad service. Bad service is common in Ireland for a variety of complex reasons. Is that what we're talking about though? We're ostensibly talking about unprovoked assholery. If you detect some justification for customer assholery in an anecdote contained herein, please by all means air your opinion on the service shortcomings evident in said anecdote.
    Then, equally, explain to me how your low pay comment justifies itself. Just because retail is badly paid does not in my view excuse the fact that 15-30% of the time in my experience Irish retail customers are treated as an inconvenience, before they have even opened their mouths.

Explain that or cut the condescension.

Never did I suggest that poor pay was a justification for bad service. What's to explain?

Can't relate to your 15-30% experience as it wouldn't match my own at all, but frankly it's off-topic. Go start an asshole retail worker thread if you feel like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

Used to work in a coffee shop where you get your food, pay at the counter and sit down. A man got food and coffee, sat down and came up 20 minutes later with a full cup of coffee saying "This is cold". I apologised and said I'd give him a new one.

"Ok but it's really not acceptable to serve cold coffee"

"Sir, I'll drop you down a fresh cup. It's never a problem to order a coffee and ask us to drop it down when you've finished your food, just so as you know if you're ever in again"

This guy was at least 6 foot 3, came in behind the counter and spoke right into my face "First of all it was cold when you gave it to me [no it f*cking wasn't, I couldn't make cold coffee with boiling water if I tried ffs] and second of all you should have offered me that option as I was paying"

I've had ten minute arguments with someone over 20 cent price rises, people insisting on only paying for half a sandwich because their plate was cleared when they left for 20 minutes, a woman sitting down and phoning people to loudly tell them that she hated the service and was never coming back all while trying to make eye contact so we got the point (we did, danced for joy in between laughing at what a petty bitch she was), people saying it was great to see a place that didn't hire Polish people, shout at me for not taking payment by card (there was an ATM literally ten feet from the door) or not having chips on the menu....

I seriously can't believe that people actually care enough about the stupid sh*t they're giving out about to be that rude, I think they're deliberately or subconsciously taking stuff out on people that they know full well aren't able to talk back, very much doubt they'd be that much up in arms if someone walked across them on the street like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Siosleis

Years ago I had a part time job in Quinnsworth to get me through college, and for extra hours I would work weekends instead of going home. Usually Friday evenings would be manic with trolleys full of the weekly shop queuing at the tills.
    This particular Friday I had a long queue waiting at my till and I was getting through them as fast as I could ( this was also back in the time where the till operater would pack the customers bag as well). I spotted a woman in the queue hopping from one leg to the next and looking at her watch with a face like thunder.
    Just as she was about to be served the sign flashed in my till to send the money to the office so that delayed things for about.. Ooh.. twenty seconds..
    Your one fired her items at me and barked at me to hurry up.I put them through but 3 bottles of juice wouldnt scan because they had no barcodes. I told her I would have to run down to the floor to get ones that would scan.
    Well.She exploded in my face with vitriol, called me every name under the sun and said to leave them as I was as f***ing slow anyways and threw a twenty pound note at me.I got her change, slammed the till as hard as I could(so hard that the girl on the till next to me turned around in surprise) and gave a gritted teeth smile.
    Wagon flounced off and I was as red as a tomato with embarrassment and rage. My hands were shaking as I put the next lot of shopping through.The man whom I was serving leant over and said to me "don't let it get to you love"
    That made me feel a bit vindicated. B#*ch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭michellie

There is no need to be so rude to people working in the public!

I don't leave people speak to me in a rude way, Ive been abused and screamed at several times. Had to call the guards twice in work in the last 3 years.

I can't hold myself back though if I see someone being a asshole, I have to say something. I was on the train to Dublin once and it was packed full and there was no seats left and this one woman was loudly telling the whole train about how much of a disgrace it was and giving out nuts to the poor security guy. As if it was his bloody fault that the train was overbooked!!! I gave a shout to her that it's not his fault he just does the security and to lay off him. She shut up then and didn't say a word again.

The security guy gave me a smile with a face of relief. Poor fecker.