why would you send your kids off to these teenage discos?

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

caustic 1 wrote: »
    rang me at 3.10 to say one of the girls had too much to drink (staying at a friends house, which I disagree with as I like to see how they come home) and he was seeing her home with the others and having pizza at house. I collected him at 4.30, I know was late but at same time I was glad he was looking out for friends and not just leaving them.

Sounds like someone got the ride. Give him a high five from me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Tonight outside the Wezz disco; let me set the scene: streams of fake tan and Smirnoff spilling into the gutter; school girls, tarted up like Katie Price on a hen night and shrieking at young lads, Justin Bieber on benefits types.

In the orange glow of a streetlight, two mortified sweethearts gave their particulars to a big country Guard. An expressionless mother, clutching her keys, waited patiently by her car. A constant row of cars dispatched shrill, scarcely dressed teens in miniskirts. Many drunk.

The notoriety of this disco is well known. The Gardaí had a visible presence there tonight, yet none of the parents seemed bothered.

For the record, the accents were a broad mix. Working class, D4, whatever.

What kind of parent, knowing the reputation of this place, sends away their teenager, then drives home in time for the late late?

I'm sure this was happening all over the country tonight, in other towns, in other discos. How can parents not be alive to the dangers of exposing their kids to this sort of lifestyle? Am I being a prude? Is this irresponsible parenting?

Admit it. You did get a little thrill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,864 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

I am one of those parents who dropped their children off to outings last night, 15 yr old to a disco in another town with his pals starting at 9 over at 12.30. He is well aware how he is expected to behave and the consequences if he doesn't. Another parent did the return route and he was home around 1 in the same state he left buoyant after a good night out. The other child 17 I left to a birthday party in a house where yes there was alcohol. He was to be home around 3 rang me at 3.10 to say one of the girls had too much to drink (staying at a friends house, which I disagree with as I like to see how they come home) and he was seeing her home with the others and having pizza at house. I collected him at 4.30, I know was late but at same time I was glad he was looking out for friends and not just leaving them. Both are still in bed both had good nights and I have no regrets about letting them out. They know how to behave and I won't lock them up just because it's what society believes it's how all teenagers behave.

You collected him at 4:30am!!! Is this what's expected of me in the future when my kids are teenagers? Boarding school has it's benefits you know.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

At my first disco I drank a 3 litre bottle of cider under a bridge, puked on a girl's boobs on the dancefloor and fell asleep in a shuck on the way home and ruined my Daffy Duck tie.

That was more than twenty years ago, we were just as bad when we were kids. Worse maybe.

Fortunately though, our generation didn't face the prospect of someone creating a viral you tube clip of our exploits and thus ensuring our public humiliation. That's the one aspect of growing up today that I really don't envy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

[QUOTEYou collected him at 4:30am!!! Is this what's expected of me in the future when my kids are teenagers? Boarding school has it's benefits you know.....QUOTE]

I don't know if it's expected I just don't mind dropping and collecting as it is not every weekend only now and again. Perhaps if it were more often I wouldn't like it too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

don't be jealous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Because it's fun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

These "dishcos" are a rite of passage OP, stop trying to stop Fintan from getting his hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Sounds like someone got the ride. Give him a high five from me.

I am not naive enough to think that doesn't happen I only hope with all the contraceptives available these days they use them. The biggest majority of teens are not stupid, just not listened to I think. I try to listen most of the time, it's not easy for them or parents to get the balance right but I think if there is respect from both sides then it is half the battle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I am not naive enough to think that doesn't happen I only hope with all the contraceptives available these days they use them. The biggest majority of teens are not stupid, just not listened to I think. I try to listen most of the time, it's not easy for them or parents to get the balance right but I think if there is respect from both sides then it is half the battle.

Ah I was just cracking stupid jokes. You genuinely sound like you have a really good attitude for a parent imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

When I was 15, I thought it was great fun to wear terrible make-up and really slutty clothes. Then I grew up. I think I turned out OK. I *think*.

Re: the trashy clothes. Certainly in my case, it took a while for me to figure out how to deal with my burgeoning sexuality, and I'm sure a lot of women can also identify with that. Our early attempts are dressing to match that tend to be a bit heavy-handed, but we learn to refine it later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

I am one of those parents who dropped their children off to outings last night, 15 yr old to a disco in another town with his pals starting at 9 over at 12.30. He is well aware how he is expected to behave and the consequences if he doesn't. Another parent did the return route and he was home around 1 in the same state he left buoyant after a good night out. The other child 17 I left to a birthday party in a house where yes there was alcohol. He was to be home around 3 rang me at 3.10 to say one of the girls had too much to drink (staying at a friends house, which I disagree with as I like to see how they come home) and he was seeing her home with the others and having pizza at house. I collected him at 4.30, I know was late but at same time I was glad he was looking out for friends and not just leaving them. Both are still in bed both had good nights and I have no regrets about letting them out. They know how to behave and I won't lock them up just because it's what society believes it's how all teenagers behave.

I think you did the best a parent could do. Growing up, my mother was super strict and never let me go to these(or be out after 8pm) even when all my friends were going to these or other house parties. It only made me sneak out and do extra bad stuff as a way of rebelling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

When I was 15, I thought it was great fun to wear terrible make-up and really slutty clothes. Then I grew up. I think I turned out OK. I *think*.

Re: the trashy clothes. Certainly in my case, it took a while for me to figure out how to deal with my burgeoning sexuality, and I'm sure a lot of women can also identify with that. Our early attempts are dressing to match that tend to be a bit heavy-handed, but we learn to refine it later on.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...actually, the completely OTT clothes are a handy way of spotting teens. That, and the whole "Mental With The Make Up Box" thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

that's a fashion thing too, so it depends on your age when that look is popular. My underage disco years were during Madchester/Trance/Grunge, so I mostly dressed like a lumberjack with boobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Czarcasm wrote: »
    :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

P_1 wrote: »
    Also there is anecdotal evidence of people going completely bananas once they fly the nest after their parents keeping them under virtual lock and key in their teenage years.

Tbh, I know more cases of this than of teens who went off the rails because parents gave them plenty of freedom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 foreteen

danniemcq wrote: »
    Little Saints and Angels tell parents going to so and so's house etc,

Instead they all head to park/alley/home of kid where parents are less strict or away/or older persons house.

Consume an heroic amount of booze in no time and change into another outfit.

Same thing every year, most of us did it at some stage.

Plus you can't just say no the kids will be outcasts after missing all the craic
    When I go to a friends house my mum gets their landline phone number. She will always ring up and want to speak to me at some stage. The same often happens when there us a friend at my house. I can't get away with a thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

foreteen wrote: »
    When I go to a friends house my mum gets their landline phone number. She will always ring up and want to speak to me at some stage. The same often happens when there us a friend at my house. I can't get away with a thing.

Thinly veiled 'my Mum loves me' post.

Well done to you both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

When I was 15, I was fingering blasting like pro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

....and to lower the mood - remember that life is short and brutally harsh betimes. One should seize the time one has, while you're capable.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,061 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

But Donnybrook Garda station closes early these days, you would never usually see Gardai in Donnybrook that late. The Gardai didn't seem to be out for a walk, and they weren't stopping traffic either. I saw them taking the details of two kids, and one of the mothers had clearly been called.
    Gardai are constantly going through there in the evening, I pass through there on the way home from work 5 nights a week, the station being closed seems to make no difference,
    I can't imagine driving up, seeing that, then seeing the young lads with cans down around Anglesea Road bridge, and dropping off my teenage kids regardless.
    I see that around Dublin all the time, disco or not, so long as it's not my child I don't give a fiddlers
    ]Or take them somewhere that doesn't attract bad kids, that doesn't need a Garda presence, that doesn't leave a village waking up to vomit, cans and spirit bottles that might be more expected outside Coppers. This is a teenage disco, it's wrong to give kids the impression that this kind of drinking is ok, or that seeing it is an inevitable fact of life they have to put up with if they want to enjoy themselves.
    You'd be surprised how intelligent some of those teenagers are, they see there mates getting messed up and they think, there is the line, better not get to close. If a majority did not have that restraint then the cities would be littered with the bodies of the young and stupid.
    I'm not an expert on teenage discos in Dublin! I'm pretty sure teenage discos happen all the time, they just don't tend to be noticeable.
    Plenty of them with a reputation, every county has at least one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Stanley Devastating

I went to the laughter lounge a few months ago, the comedian was asking if there were any new couples in the audience, of course me and my boyfriend were together about 3 months. He started asking do guys still finger girls, is it still a thing! I don't get embarrassed easily when it comes to sex, but I just sat there blushing for 15 minutes.

I was at that gig too. You and that other couple got a real roasting from him...no pun intended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 629 ✭✭✭blinkey 101

ardinn wrote: »
    I wish I was that age again! Havnt fingered a 15 yr old in ages!!!

ages as it a month ages :eek:?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 foreteen

oldyouth wrote: »
    Thinly veiled 'my Mum loves me' post.

Well done to you both

She makes sure I don't sneak off to somewhere she doesn't know about. Shy never lets me go anywhere. I hate her and her silly rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

I studied 20th century Irish history in college. One of my large essays was on a moral panic about dance halls in the 1930s and a rise of promiscuity that led to an investigative committee. They even brought in a famously righteous barrister to head it up - a legal Joe Duffy of the day, if you will.

Some of the posts in this thread read like the many submissions to the committee from concerned Legion of Mary types that I went through. They ended up wanting to ban dance halls and virtually every other type of entertainment enjoyed by young 'uns. They didn't get their way, and society didn't collapse.

Ironically, they blithely ignored a submission from General Eoin O'Duffy (yes, he of future blueshirts fame) who warned about a virtual epidemic of child abuse in the country, backed up with impressive data and analysis for the time.

There are bigger fish to fry than kids experimenting sexually with each other.

The best thing a parent can do is get their kids to respect the opposite sex, and not entirely define their self worth in terms of attractiveness during their teens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 jacinta MacnamRA

Sure when I went to my first disco, I kissed two boys (wasn't I so bold) and I married the 2nd one and we have 6 kids and 4 grandchildren and they come over for bridge and sambos, we have a grand auld time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

It's all grand and we all did it and the world didn't end until......they got disease, their mates put them on facebook twitter instagram twitter snapchat and they DEMANDED that someone else solve the problem caused by themselves. If you drop your kids semi naked at events like this and approve of them getting pissed...fine but you can **** right off when you and they have problems afterwards. Fair enough.