Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why would you send your kids off to these teenage discos?

• 25-10-2013 11:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Tonight outside the Wezz disco; let me set the scene: streams of fake tan and Smirnoff spilling into the gutter; school girls, tarted up like Katie Price on a hen night and shrieking at young lads, Justin Bieber on benefits types.

In the orange glow of a streetlight, two mortified sweethearts gave their particulars to a big country Guard. An expressionless mother, clutching her keys, waited patiently by her car. A constant row of cars dispatched shrill, scarcely dressed teens in miniskirts. Many drunk.

The notoriety of this disco is well known. The Gardaí had a visible presence there tonight, yet none of the parents seemed bothered.

For the record, the accents were a broad mix. Working class, D4, whatever.

What kind of parent, knowing the reputation of this place, sends away their teenager, then drives home in time for the late late?

I'm sure this was happening all over the country tonight, in other towns, in other discos. How can parents not be alive to the dangers of exposing their kids to this sort of lifestyle? Am I being a prude? Is this irresponsible parenting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It was the same when I was in my teens and I'm 44 now. The world didn't end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

You are being prudish. We all did it. This is what we do

Up Ireland and fcuk the begrudgers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Teenagers in drinking, wearing stupid fucking clothes and banging each other shocker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

Tonight outside the Wezz disco; let me set the scene: streams of fake tan and Smirnoff spilling into the gutter; school girls, tarted up like Katie Price on a hen night and shrieking at young lads, Justin Bieber on benefits types.

In the orange glow of a streetlight, two mortified sweethearts gave their particulars to a big country Guard. An expressionless mother, clutching her keys, waited patiently by her car. A constant row of cars dispatched shrill, scarcely dressed teens in miniskirts. Many drunk.

The notoriety of this disco is well known. The Gardaí had a visible presence there tonight, yet none of the parents seemed bothered.

For the record, the accents were a broad mix. Working class, D4, whatever.

What kind of parent, knowing the reputation of this place, sends away their teenager, then drives home in time for the late late?

I'm sure this was happening all over the country tonight, in other towns, in other discos. How can parents not be alive to the dangers of exposing their kids to this sort of lifestyle? Am I being a prude? Is this irresponsible parenting?

Whats a Justin Beiber on benefits types?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

Calm down Deirdre :)

• Why are you hanging around outside the Wezz? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

How else will they learn the art of fingering?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

At my first disco I drank a 3 litre bottle of cider under a bridge, puked on a girl's boobs on the dancefloor and fell asleep in a shuck on the way home and ruined my Daffy Duck tie.

That was more than twenty years ago, we were just as bad when we were kids. Worse maybe.

Nodin wrote: »

Did they have fake tan back then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

local gaa disco is tonight, loads of jailbait around in teeny skirts,

to be honest most of us went to these in our youth-full days, i know i did and i turned out ok.....ish.....

.....i may not be the best example here :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

I wish I was that age again! Havnt fingered a 15 yr old in ages!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Doh! So the parents can act like teenagers silly.

Did they have fake tan back then?

...no, however some compensated by plastering their faces with orangey foundation. It was a look I despised, so ye can imagine what I thought when the tango tan arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

You're more likely to damage your kids by locking them up and 'protecting' them from it.

At my first disco I drank a 3 litre bottle of cider under a bridge, puked on a girl's boobs on the dancefloor and fell asleep in a shuck on the way home and ruined my Daffy Duck tie.

That was more than twenty years ago, we were just as bad when we were kids. Worse maybe.

The three litre dispenser of Merrydown, by any chance?

Why are you hanging around outside the Wezz? :confused:

OP. thiss seems like a very important question you must answer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭creep

There 15 or 16 not babies. Everyone did it. I was getting stinky fingers at that age.

How else will they learn to finger bang??

Haha that reminds me, I was at a teenage disco a few years ago and had my lady up against the wall, shifting the face of her for about 20 minutes as is done at these outings whilst 'finger banging' her. For whatever reason I turned my head and looked behind me to find a bouncer staring at me, it was only when I clocked him too that he decided to tell me "ya can't be at that in here". Dirty pervert, I can only imagine how long he was watching us for.

loveBBhate wrote: »
    Haha that reminds me, I was at a teenage disco a few years ago and had my lady up against the wall, shifting the face of her for about 20 minutes as is done at these outings whilst 'finger banging' her. For whatever reason I turned my head and looked behind me to find a bouncer staring at me, it was only when I clicked him too that he decided to tell me "ya can't be at that in here". Dirty pervert, I can only imagine how long he was watching us for.

That happened to me at the last AH beers.

:P

The three litre dispenser of Merrydown, by any chance?
    Fcuk off, I'm not that old!:p:pac:

Good ole Diamond White, none of your cheap muck for me.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

creep wrote: »
    There 15 or 16 not babies. Everyone did it. I was getting stinky fingers at that age.
    ardinn wrote: »

This thread is really proving invaluable in releasing everybody's inner poet.

anncoates wrote: »
    This thread is really proving eigenvalue in releasing everybody's inner poet.

...just goes to show the romantic spirit is alive and well.

That happened to me at the last AH beers.

Did u have an itchy nose for the rest of the night too?

Sniffffffffffffffffffffffff :P

Awh god I shouldn't have said that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Little Saints and Angels tell parents going to so and so's house etc,

Instead they all head to park/alley/home of kid where parents are less strict or away/or older persons house.

Consume an heroic amount of booze in no time and change into another outfit.

Same thing every year, most of us did it at some stage.

Plus you can't just say no the kids will be outcasts after missing all the craic

A Daffy Duck tie? You fcuking PIMP! No wonder you were releasing your bodily fluid on a fresh set of titties.

Nice :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

It's fckin disgraceful! You should hang your head in shame...a daffy duck tie?! You're sick man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

ardinn wrote: »
    ur cool nd badass

Never understood the fingering obsession. It's sore for the teenage girl and just awkward and fumbly for the teenage guy. Fashionable to pretend to be really into it with someone you don't even fancy when a kid though.

I remember going to Wezz, only went once. Believe it or not I wasn't into the whole thing, thought it was full of kids, I was about 15/16, everyone there looked around 13, huge difference at that age!

Drank a naggin, with a Halls soother in my mouth for flavour :o My friend drank a naggin and ended up puking in the toilet, the bouncers just told her to go to the shop across the road, grab a coffee and she could go back in.

loveBBhate wrote: »
    A Daffy Duck tie? You fcuking PIMP! No wonder you were releasing your bodily fluid on a fresh set of titties.

Nice :)
    It was very like this one, but there was no rubber duckies on it, it was just a few Daffys. I was one suave youngfella in those days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Why are you hanging around outside the Wezz? :confused:
    I was in Mao, i was waiting for some food! I am not a pervert your honour
    Whats a Justin Beiber on benefits types?
    Bieber drinking a can in a tracksuit outside the wezz, because he can't get in.

ur cool nd badass

Never understood the fingering obsession. It's sore for the teenage girl and just awkward and fumbly for the teenage guy. Fashionable to pretend to be really into it though.

I went to the laughter lounge a few months ago, the comedian was asking if there were any new couples in the audience, of course me and my boyfriend were together about 3 months. He started asking do guys still finger girls, is it still a thing! I don't get embarrassed easily when it comes to sex, but I just sat there blushing for 15 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

ur cool nd badass

Never understood the fingering obsession. It's sore for the teenage girl and just awkward and fumbly for the teenage guy. Fashionable to pretend to be really into it though.

Your the cool one - outing me like that - oh my god i'm so morto!

never be able to show my face here again!!!

You sure showed me!!!

Owww - my pride!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

I went to the laughter lounge a few months ago, the comedian was asking if there were any new couples in the audience, of course me and my boyfriend were together about 3 months. He started asking do guys still finger girls, is it still a thing! I don't get embarrassed easily when it comes to sex, but I just sat there blushing for 15 minutes.

Well, it was bad form of your boyfriend to be fingering you during his routine in fairness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭TheHighest92

Justin wasn't around then though

It was very like this one, but there was no rubber duckies on it, it was just a few Daffys. I was one suave youngfella in those days.

Swit Swoo ;) XxOo wb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Its easier than toeing them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

danniemcq wrote: »
    Its easier than toeing them

or fisting them

EmptyTree wrote: »
    You're more likely to damage your kids by locking them up and 'protecting' them from it.
    Who says though?

I would say it is not 'protecting' your children to endorse their socializing in some notorious disco where 14 year olds are routinely getting drunk, fingered, or worse, and coming to the attention of the Gardaí, who clearly have to keep an eye on the place, while you go home and hope nothing bad happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

That maybe the case where you're from but when I was going to the same type discos (and I'm only a few years younger than you) the guards didn't have to bring in extra manpower to police the streets before, during and after them. In fact I rarely seen guards anywhere near them. Nowadays there is a full police presence around the very same nightclubs I went to at that age, there is more trouble and more stupidly drunk teenagers falling about the place, fighting, causing trouble, vandalising and being arrested than ever before.

Who says though?

I would say it is not 'protecting' your children to endorse their socializing in some notorious disco where 14 year olds are routinely getting drunk, fingered, or worse, and coming to the attention of the Gardaí, who clearly have to keep an eye on the place, while you go home and hope nothing bad happens.
    Teenagers are like bull-calves. You can train them, condition them, tether them, nurture them, mollycoddle them until the cows come home.

But the first time you let them into a field on their own, no matter what age they are, they are going to go fcuking mental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

The Wezz, pffff :rolleyes:

Now, "The Apartments".....

:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Who says though?

I would say it is not 'protecting' your children to endorse their socializing in some notorious disco where 14 year olds are routinely getting drunk, fingered, or worse, and coming to the attention of the Gardaí, who clearly have to keep an eye on the place, while you go home and wait for your kid to call you.

Cody teenage discos are almost a rite of passage at this stage. If it wasn't a teenage disco they'd be up to some other silly shìt. Most teenagers outgrow the phenomenon unscathed, and those that don't would probably have been fcuked up anyway doing some other silly shìt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

Who says though?

Because if you don't send them they'll turn into crystal swing or something equally wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

Sitec wrote: »
    Is that Miley?

I presume you dont mean Miley Cyrus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Who says though?

If all their pals are going, they'll resent not being allowed go. Plus, not all young teenagers are going to get really pissed and engage in sexual activity with randomers. I'd say most don't, despite the "We all" myths. So there should be some trust in them.
    I can understand parents being concerned though - it's how any parent would feel, it's not "prudish" not to like the idea of your 13/14-year-old kid getting up to such stuff.

I was 16 when I was doing that stuff and some of it was totally to go along with the crowd, but I am unscathed. :)

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Cody teenage discos are almost a rite of passage at this stage. If it wasn't a teenage disco they'd be up to some other silly shìt. Most teenagers outgrow the phenomenon unscathed, and those that don't would probably have been fcuked up anyway doing some other silly shìt.

I was 16 when I was doing that stuff and some of it was totally to go along with the crowd, but I am unscathed. :)

fair points. I didn't do that stuff when I was 16 but I still think I was able to go off and enjoy pubs and even going on the lash when I got a few years older.

I'm all for letting kids have a few drinks at home, and it's a great credit to those kids who do manage to go out and not end up like the kids we all notice. But it's a big gamble to take. I've had friends who came from normal, stable homes and went off the rails when they fell in with the wrong people. I'm sure we all know people like that. Why would parents risk it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Teenagers will always go a little bit mad when they go to let their hair down, tis one of the facts of life like a mother going spare when you don't ring them after a few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

My children will be locked in until they are 21. Then they will be allowed to go to the local shop to buy milk each day. That is it. We won't be raising any harlotans around here.

This is a local town... For local people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

fair points. I didn't do that stuff when I was 16 but I still think I was able to go off and enjoy pubs and even going on the lash when I got a few years older.

I'm all for letting kids have a few drinks at home, and it's a great credit to those kids who do manage to go out and not end up like the kids we all notice. But it's a big gamble to take. I've had friends who came from normal, stable homes and went off the rails when they fell in with the wrong people. I'm sure we all know people like that. Why would parents risk it?

Because Cody as FF points out - at some point you have to trust your children, or show them that you trust them, you've done your best to guide them this far in life and you have to let them off the leash a little, let them learn to make some mistakes and hope that you'll have instilled in them the tools to be able to cope with the consequences of their actions.

Of course we all know people who went a bit off the rails, but those people are a very small minority, magnified of course by the media, we've all heard those scaremongering stories too...

And then there are the parents who just don't give a shìte what their kids get up to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Also there is anecdotal evidence of people going completely bananas once they fly the nest after their parents keeping them under virtual lock and key in their teenage years.