If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Child removed from Roma gypsies-This time in DUBLIN *Mod Warning Post #1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

dj jarvis wrote: »
    and you know this how ? please share with the class, how you know for sure they did not do everything that was needed before they made the decision to remove the children ?

you just keep ignoring the fact that the vast majority of commentators better placed than you or me have said that the cops done the right thing based on the info provided

but dont let that get in the way of your outrage - unfounded outrage until the FACTS are out.

Why has the minster given permission to the ombudsman to interview the guards individually? This does not normally happen, why now - is it because maybe the cops didn't do the right thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Tony EH wrote: »
    Except they weren't, they were following up on a claim made by a reporter you idiot.

And unless you know the exact details of the report made to the Gardai by said reporter, you're just spouting shite again.

Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Would this be an example of same race racism?:)

It's a new crime called inverted racism.
    Under the burgeoning PC umbrella you aren't allowed to even criticize yourself.
    In case it might cause offence.
    To yourself,that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Why has the minster given permission to the ombudsman to interview the guards individually? This does not normally happen, why now - is it because maybe the cops didn't do the right thing.

when the ombudsman is involved they do interview individually , and if they are so sure the cops done wrong , why interview them at all ?

guilty before proven innocent according to some on here , the very thing some were saying about the family of the child , is it not ?

double standards , using no real information

stay classy AH

Ace2007 wrote: »

"Conjecture Your Honour!
    Move to dismiss"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,873 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

dj jarvis wrote: »
    and you know this how ? please share with the class, how you know for sure they did not do everything that was needed before they made the decision to remove the children ?

you just keep ignoring the fact that the vast majority of commentators better placed than you or me have said that the cops done the right thing based on the info provided

but dont let that get in the way of your outrage - unfounded outrage until the FACTS are out.

dj Jarvis....you've been hammering away on this thread for the best part of 48 hours.....shouldn't you get some sleep in or some food at this stage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

"Conjecture Your Honour!
    Move to dismiss"!

Don't you mean objection

Judge overruled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,093 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

You cannot take 1 child and leave the others if there is an Immediate danger they would all be in danger that's just ludicrous to think there not .

If one child is suspected of not being a member of the family and this is the only one there are doubts about then why would they take the rest? As far as I am aware there were more children in the Greek case but only one was illegally sold to that family and only one was removed.
    Again we are only going on what was printed in the media. We don't know and should keep our powder dry.

If one child is suspected of not being a member of the family and this is the only one there are doubts about then why would they take the rest? As far as I am aware there were more children in the Greek case but only one was illegally sold to that family and only one was removed.
    Again we are only going on what was printed in the media. We don't know and should keep our powder dry.

That's the whole point it was racist profiling that's been said again and again in this thread 2 Roma family’s 2 kids blond hair blue eyes do you not see this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,093 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

That's the whole point it was racist profiling that's been said again and again in this thread 2 Roma family’s 2 kids blond hair blue eyes do you not see this ?

It may well be BUT I will wait for the inquiry.

I also heard an interesting interview on the radio this morning from a man who is attached to Interpol. He talked about child smuggling, children being sold into the sex trade, children being sold to childless families and scariest of all children being bought from very poor families to be used for the organ transplant market. Very scary stuff.
    It was on RTE Radio 1 this morning.

We really do not know what the garda and HSE suspected or what happened that day. As it turned out everything was fine and the child was returned thankfully BUT we were not put on the spot and again I will reserve judgement until I know what really happened.

Don't you mean objection

With the very, very greatest respect Your Honour.
    SIZE="1"]Legalese for, "What kind of blithering idiot are you judgie?"[/SIZE
    If I had wanted to say objection I would have said objection.

I also heard an interesting interview on the radio this morning from a man who is attached to Interpol. He talked about child smuggling, children being sold into the sex trade, children being sold to childless families and scariest of all children being bought from very poor families to be used for the organ transplant market. Very scary stuff.
    It was on RTE Radio 1 this morning

We really do not know what the garda and HSE suspected or what happened that day. As it turned out everything was fine and the child was returned thankfully BUT we were not put on the spot and again I will reserve judgement until I know what really happened.

Wow just wow .. then why did they return both children ? I'm glad your not a Gardai as not everyone else suspects the worst instantly. Sold for organs ? must have missed this hitting the media as being common practice. Sounds like uber scaremongering to me

Agreed!
    I don't go with all this racial profiling scutter.
    I am concerned with the effect this had on a terrified and bewildered little child.
    In future the main concentration should be on ways to avoid that.
    I'm sure it's not beyond the wit of man [or woman] to devise a scheme whereby this ****storm could have passed over the child's head without it even knowing it was going on.
    Surely the child's mother or big sister could have been brought along to accompany her.

ah here, get a grip people, the Gardai take kids under section 12, very very rarely.

and when they do take them, the majority are handed straight back to the parents the next day.
    its extremely hard for any state agency to keep children away from their parents.

so dont worry, do gooders, or whinging hearts, there is more than enough laws to put poor unfortunate kids back into ****e hole places to live with absolute assholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

bubblypop wrote: »
    ah here, get a grip people, the Gardai take kids under section 12, very very rarely.

and when they do take them, the majority are handed straight back to the parents the next day.
    its extremely hard for any state agency to keep children away from their parents.

so dont worry, do gooders, or whinging hearts, there is more than enough laws to put poor unfortunate kids back into ****e hole places to live with absolute assholes.

They didn't even do this for the boy in athlone

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    dj Jarvis....you've been hammering away on this thread for the best part of 48 hours.....shouldn't you get some sleep in or some food at this stage?

nice one , i was hoping someone would offer :D

ill have a steak sandwich and you can then rub my belly and tuck me in - sweet

(ill let you in on a little secret - im not actually on for the full 48 hrs ;) , sshhhh dont tell anyone )

Agreed!
    I don't go with all this racial profiling scutter.
    I am concerned with the effect this had on a terrified and bewildered little child.
    In future the main concentration should be on ways to avoid that.
    I'm sure it's not beyond the wit of man [or woman] to devise a scheme whereby this ****storm could have passed over the child's head without it even knowing it was going on.
    Surely the child's mother or big sister could have been brought along to accompany her.

the cops were not sure they were actually related at the time , so it would have been bad policing to keep a alleged suspect with an alleged victim , it just never happens that way - that is why they removed the child . as far as i can make out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭BabyGorilla

If Romas or Maddy are never mentioned again in my lifetime Ill be quite happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭droidus

Funny you should say that as there's been very little mention of the 502 Roma orphans sold for organs and prostitution to traffickers by the Greek state in 2003. Only 4 of the children were ever found. You'd think that might be pertinent given the amount of focus on abduction in connection with Greek Roma.

http://www.2ndcouncilhouse.co.uk/blog/2013/10/19/children-racism-and-the-greek-state/

Fact is, Roma are FAR more likely to be victims of trafficking than perpetrators.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Tony EH wrote: »
    In cases of child welfare,blatant institutional racist opportunity they are under incredible pressure to act.

Our country has a pretty bad reputation where the abuse of children blatant institutional racism and the subsequent lack of action is concerned.

FYP Tony.

I would love to see how this would be reported in Iran if they're the exact opposite of us as we're led to believe. Would be all over the front page of every news site at first then 2 days later the return would be buried below a couple of scrolls.

Way to stay on topic :rolleyes:

Wow just wow .. then why did they return both children ? I'm glad your not a Gardai as not everyone else suspects the worst instantly. Sold for organs ? must have missed this hitting the media as being common practice. Sounds like uber scaremongering to me

Not scaremongering at all. It is very true and you should check out the RTE web cast of Morning Ireland and listen. It seems to be quite common unfortunately.

droidus wrote: »
    Funny you should say that as there's been very little mention of the 502 Roma orphans sold for organs and prostitution to traffickers by the Greek state in 2003. Only 4 of the children were ever found. You'd think that might be pertinent given the amount of focus on abduction in connection with Greek Roma.

http://www.2ndcouncilhouse.co.uk/blog/2013/10/19/children-racism-and-the-greek-state/

Fact is, Roma are FAR more likely to be victims of trafficking than perpetrators.

I never heard about this practice until this morning. very shocking. We should all look out for our children and grandchildren. We don't know what is in store for them. Imagine a child being kidnapped for her/his organs.

Not scaremongering at all. It is very true and you should check out the RTE web cast of Morning Ireland and listen. It seems to be quite common unfortunately.

So there are organ harvesters in Ireland now ... I think not stop scaremongering. Next you will say don't go out drinking as you may wakeup in a bath of ice with a note saying call an ambulance ... this had nothing to do with what happened here. This is blatant scaremongering and media hype. Did Rte get there information from the Daily mail on this ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5 gas meter

The gaurds were set up for this one & they fell for it hook line & sinker! That's why the birth cert mysteriously disappeared & why the birth date & maternity hospital was forgotten. The guards should have seen it coming. That's a load of compo owed!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5 gas meter

IMO. This was well planned. The media received the tip-off via email claiming the Roma were stealing children for child benefit (it all escalated from here). in recent weeks prior the Greece roma child created panic about “fair-skinned” children been kidnapped . The roma family in Tallaght was "known" to the guards prior to the tip off.

Similarities between the two cases tells a lot in different parts of Ireland. But the biggest similarity been the compensation.

Am Im been racist? or am I telling it straight ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

gas meter wrote: »
    IMO. This was well planned. The media received the tip-off via email claiming the Roma were stealing children for child benefit (it all escalated from here). in recent weeks prior the Greece roma child created panic about “fair-skinned” children been kidnapped . The roma family in Tallaght was "known" to the guards prior to the tip off.

Similarities between the two cases tells a lot in different parts of Ireland. But the biggest similarity been the compensation.

Am Im been racist? or am I telling it straight ?

Yes, you are imo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

The house next to us is filled with a Roma family thanks to the council. It's hard to know how many of them are in the and I think different families move in and out every few weeks. I am and have been scared of letting my child out in the back garden since they moved in and I don't care admitting that. I hate feeling like this but my gut, since way before any if this started, is that he is not safe out there even though it's enclosed. Dunno why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,026 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

CaraMay wrote: »
    The house next to us is filled with a Roma family thanks to the council. It's hard to know how many of them are in the and I think different families move in and out every few weeks. I am and have been scared of letting my child out in the back garden since they moved in and I don't care admitting that. I hate feeling like this but my gut, since way before any if this started, is that he is not safe out there even though it's enclosed. Dunno why

I don't know why either. You've given no indication that the Roma are dangerous. Must be racism. Unless they've done something that's actually dangerous.

Edit: that's actually a bit harsh. people are notoriously bad at judging danger. That's why terrorism gets more money than heart disease or cancer in the US. People are probably far worse at judging danger when their children are involved. It's the reason people are terrified of paedophiles in the neighbourhood that are snatching children when the sample fact is that you as a parent are statistically more of a danger as are all your friends and relatives.

Still, you've given no indication that the roma are dangerous. The only reason for this bad feeling is that they're roma. That's based on some underlying prejudice.