If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Child removed from Roma gypsies-This time in DUBLIN *Mod Warning Post #1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,347 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

"incredible" pressure to act?

"incredible" pressure to act where a child is sitting at home watching her tv programmes, and some semi-illiterate posts an allegation on Facebook?

The risk to the child had to be (i) immediate and (ii) serious for the Gardai to have acted the way they did. Whether there is "incredible" pressure to respond to ludicrous facebook allegations matters not one iota.

Incredible pressure to act on information recieved and tip offs...

Really, it's like talking to fu*king two year olds.

: /

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Big statement to make, especially since all involved said it wasn't

Based on the same circumstances, i.e. a child being taken off their Irish parents because they don't share physical traits, it's not a big statement at all.

drumswan wrote: »
    So you are suggesting that there have been cases of non-white kids being removed from white Irish parents under suspicion of abduction this year then are you?

Can you read?

Really.

This is yet another post from that suggests that you simply cannot understand a simple sentence.

Where the fu*k did I say anything like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Tony EH wrote: »
    Can you read?

Really.

This is yet another post from that suggests that you simply cannot understand a simple sentence.

Where the fu*k did I say anything like that?

I can read perfectly well, I stated that the children were removed because they were Roma and that it wouldnt happen if they were white Irish. You said I couldnt possibly stand over a statement like that without knowledge of every case involving the act.

I asked you to clarify whether you thought there were in fact cases of white Irish having non-white kids taken from them under suspicion of abduction.

It make things very difficult if we have to explain everything to you in granular, point-by-point detail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Incredible pressure to act on information recieved and tip offs...

Really, it's like talking to fu*king two year olds.

: /

Look, you've been busily claiming that the Gardaí…
    HAVE to act on these cases. they cannot just do nothing.

This is just incorrect. If someone posts an allegation on Facebook, the Gardaí are under no compulsion to take it seriously.

You're now receding to some "'incredible' pressure" to act, which I suppose is an improvement, but still over the top.

I can read perfectly well, I stated that the children were removed because they were Roma and that it wouldnt happen if they were white Irish. You said I couldnt possibly stand over a statement like that without knowledge of every case involving the act.

I asked you to clarify whether you thought there were in fact cases of white Irish having non-white kids taken from them under suspicion of abduction.

It make things very difficult if we have to explain everything to you in granular, point-by-point detail.

Where did I make any such suggestion? I have no idea under what circumstances that section 12 of the CCA has been used over the years.

I said YOU are in no position to make ANY clams about ANY case, involving the use of section 12.

Which, by the way, has been used over 1200 times since 2010.

It's YOU who is making a definite statement here, based on nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,028 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Unless you have the details of every single case where section 12 has been used (there's been 100's this year alone, IIRC), you aren't in any position to state such nonsense.

have you heard of many irish parents being reported to the gardai because they had a different hair colour to their children? And then the gardai turning up at the house.

I'm amazed is that all it too was an anonymous facebook tip off about hair colour.

Where did I make any such suggestion?

I said YOU are in no position to make ANY clams about ANY case, involving the use of section 12.

Which, by the way, has been used over 1200 times since 2010.
    How many times to remove non-white kids from white Irish people under suspicion of abduction, based on the difference in appearance do you think?

Id say none. How many would you say Tony?

Look, you've been busily claiming that the Gardaí…

This is just incorrect. If someone posts an allegation on Facebook, the Gardaí are under no compulsion to take it seriously.

You're now receding to some "'incredible' pressure" to act, which I suppose is an improvement, but still over the top.

Who said it was JUST an allegation on Facebook?

As far as I know there was a reporter involved as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,584 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Grayson wrote: »
    have you heard of many irish parents being reported to the gardai because they had a different hair colour to their children? And then the gardai turning up at the house.

I'm amazed is that all it too was an anonymous facebook tip off about hair colour.

It wouldn't be so bad if the tip-off had being made directly to Gardai from the concerned party, but they instead chose to contact a two-bit journalist known for his sensationalist style and history of focussing on Roma gypsies in Ireland. The fact that he took it as gospel and informed Gardai is bad enough, let alone how Gardai decided to act on it.

Who said it was JUST an allegation on Facebook?

As far as I know there was a reporter involved as well.
    The allegation was made to a reporter via facebook. Why dont you do some research instead of just spouting gibberish on the internet.

http://itonlyencouragesthem.wordpress.com/2013/10/22/romachilddublin/

How many times to remove non-white kids from white Irish people under suspicion of abduction, based on the difference in appearance do you think?

Id say none. How many would you say Tony?

How would I know?

How would you know, unless you're privy to the details of all the cases? Do you have some factual information you'd like to share?

Or, is it just another waste of bandwitdh from you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

old hippy wrote: »
    The child was forceably removed from its rightful parents, causing trauma. If that's not kidnapping, I'll be damned.

I think the racism angle is pretty obvious. This would not have happened if they weren't Roma.
    The child was placed into the care of the HSE, while the Gardai corroborated the parents story.

There was no kidnapping involved.

...and you wonder why I'm laughing?

The only "racism" involved is by the person who made the claim.

The Gardai HAVE to act on these cases. they cannot just do nothing. The enforcement of section 12 of the CCA only came into effect when the parents could produce satisfactory documents and their information didn't co-incide with that of the Coombe hospital or the registry office.

The child's well being was not under immediate danger which is the requirement for them to be allowed to take the child. Therefore the Gardai did in fact break the law and take a child from its parents for no legitimate reason. The fact it wouldn't have occurred with an Irish family is proof of the racist angle.

How would I know?
    Take an educated guess then. How many times do you think?

The allegation was made to a reporter via facebook. Why dont you do some research instead of just spouting gibberish on the internet.

http://itonlyencouragesthem.wordpress.com/2013/10/22/romachilddublin/

The reporter informed that Gardai.

Do you think the Gardai should have just ignored it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,599 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

It is not "basic policing", in the Western world, to remove a child from her family on foot of a facebook tip off. Don't talk crazy.
    a facebook tip off? please tell me that wasn't what caused that child to be removed.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

There are alternatives to "ignore" that do not include "removing the child".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

Based on the same circumstances, i.e. a child being taken off their Irish parents because they don't share physical traits, it's not a big statement at all.

I'd say your right. There's no denying that technicly. But I don't have a problem with that in itself. Becuase I get to say to anyone that says ''Those people are dodgy, did you hear of such & such''. No, hang on. That was looked at by our police. Have a sup of be-quiet.

Who dosnt see that as a positive thing? A big question mark was hanging over hundreds of thousands of people in europe and the Irish Guards delt with it in a day. Comfort the children and get out the fireworks I say.

a facebook tip off? please tell me that wasn't what caused that child to be removed.

Facebook tip-off to TV3 Journo -> Journo gets on to Gardaí.

Probably yeah. Do the Gardai respond to every poorly spelled rant from 'Hope Ur OK Hun' types on facebook? Maybe they should start chasing up all the urban myth chain letters the dopy aul ones send each other too?

Even if they did decide investigate, they could have, you know, followed the law.

Any guesses on the earlier question then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/roma-couple-take-dna-tests-to-prove-that-dublin-child-7-is-their-daughter-29687513.html

The following appeared on some tv3 journo's facebook page

"There is also little girl living in Roma house in Tallaght and she is blond and blue eyes. Her name is. . . and the address is . . . I am from . . . myself and its a big problem there missing kids. The Romas robbing them to get child benefit in Europe."

The journo rang the Guards, Guards call around. The child is watching tv but they seem to perceive an "immediate" and "serious" risk to her health and welfare, as per the legal requirements.

Nodin wrote: »
    There are alternatives to "ignore" that do not include "removing the child".

They didn't just arrive up on the doorstep and take the kid. :rolleyes:

They were there for over two hours. The parents couldn't offer the documents they were asked for at the time and their information didn't check out with the Coombe or the registry office when the Gardai contacted them. They then decided to put section 12 into effect.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/republic-of-ireland/roma-couple-take-dna-tests-to-prove-that-dublin-child-7-is-their-daughter-29687513.html

The following appeared on some tv3 journo's facebook page

"There is also little girl living in Roma house in Tallaght and she is blond and blue eyes. Her name is. . . and the address is . . . I am from . . . myself and its a big problem there missing kids. The Romas robbing them to get child benefit in Europe."

Paul Connolly is the Journo in question. Absolutely all comments have been wiped from his facebook page, including the amusing career advice he'd been getting on his "others comments" section (now closed/gone).

They didn't just arrive up on the doorstep and take the kid. :rolleyes:

They were there for over two hours. The parents could offer the documents they were asked for at the time and their information didn't check out with the Coombe or the registry office when the Gardai contacted them. They then decided to put section 12 into effect.

It takes court cases and some serious time to take kids into care normally. You think two hours is enough?

Probably yeah. Do the Gardai respond to every poorly spelled rant from 'Hope Ur OK Hun' types on facebook?

Except they weren't, they were following up on a claim made by a reporter you idiot.

And unless you know the exact details of the report made to the Gardai by said reporter, you're just spouting shite again.

I'd say your right. There's no denying that technicly. But I don't have a problem with that in itself. Becuase I get to say to anyone that says ''Those people are dodgy, did you hear of such & such''. No, hang on. That was looked at by our police. Have a sup of be-quiet.

Who dosnt see that as a positive thing? A big question mark was hanging over hundreds of thousands of people in europe and the Irish Guards delt with it in a day. Comfort the children and get out the fireworks I say.

I'd agree with you but my problem with the situation is that it was based off, IMO, a very flimsy initial ground for concern that just so happened to lead onto one or two legit questions. Most if not all reasonable grounds for concern for a child's safety are based on patterns of neglect or abuse. There were no such patterns in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,599 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Nodin wrote: »
    Facebook tip-off to TV3 Journo -> Journo gets on to Gardaí.
    sweet f//king jesus, i can bet you what sort of person made that tip off via facebook, shame they couldn't be arrested for wasting police time, you can't take most of whats written on facebook seriously

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Except they weren't, they were following up on a claim made by a reporter you idiot.
    You are getting angry at being repeatedly made to look silly now, maybe you should take an internet break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Just to throw something out there

The Gardai have apparently taken 400-700 kids from homes since 2011 according to various news reports,
    And yet boardies get upset over 2 ,

Gatling wrote: »
    Just to throw something out there

The Gardai have apparently taken 400-700 kids from homes since 2011 according to various news reports,
    And yet boardies get upset over 2 ,
    Nope, the problem is with the circumstances.