If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Child removed from Roma gypsies-This time in DUBLIN *Mod Warning Post #1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,127 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

donalh087 wrote: »
    The threat must be "immediate and serious" to the child. A flight risk doesn't count.

There was no history of violence. There was no reason to take this child (these children).

This is a clumsy kneejerk reaction to the Maddy McCann TV programme.

We don't know that and we are all guessing.
    The Garda's side of this has not been made public, just media and forum opinions. We don't know what took place or what conversations were had.

dj jarvis wrote: »
    in this situation , not all children in Ireland are in this situation , so that would be silly
    Again, what is "this situation"? I had to get a new birth cert when I was 16 for a passport, mam reckoned the original was probably lost when I was about 6, my sister's when she was 2. I looked almost albino while my parents were both dark, very dodgy!
    Ace2007 wrote: »
    hypothetical situation, there are many irish families who have adopted legally children from abroad, suppose now that family goes to Kerry for a weekend, and the guards get a call from a journalist who says he sees this child with a man and woman that don't look like the parents. Will the guards take the child off them until they produce documents, (assuming the documents would be back in Dublin), or is this different?
    I'm wondering if there's advice on the Irish embassies' website about making sure you have all the documents ready for traveling here. Maybe suggest getting the bloods dropped in at the start of their holiday so they don't have to get a late flight home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

And what if the suspects do a runner with the kid in the meantime?

Police work 101 or do you watch any cop shows or what?

You are definitely taking the mickey now.

ha brilliant :D

We don't know that and we are all guessing.

Why is the kid back then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,031 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

I would presume that every case like that would be taken on its own merits.

Exactly you'll treat an Irish person differently to a Roma family - thank you for clearing that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,127 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

gandalf wrote: »
    The real question is will whoever in the HSE who made the decision to take the child from their parents without checking the records properly of the hospital that she was born in face sanction for a pretty major cock-up.

If I rang the airport to book a 7 a.m. flight to Madrid and they told me there was no 7 a.m. flight would I be responsible for the mistake if there was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭emo72

Because they're all the same, is that it?

yes of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

You don't understand how evidence and proof work do you?

i do , thanks

Exactly you'll treat an Irish person differently to a Roma family - thank you for clearing that up.

Bull**** jump there. Do not accuse me of racism please as i'm not a racist.
    Says more about you that you have.

Again, what is "this situation"? I had to get a new birth cert when I was 16 for a passport, mam reckoned the original was probably lost when I was about 6, my sister's when she was 2. I looked almost albino while my parents were both dark, very dodgy!

I'm wondering if there's advice on the Irish embassies' website about making sure you have all the documents ready for traveling here. Maybe suggest getting the bloods dropped in at the start of their holiday so they don't have to get a late flight home.

yes , this situation , kinda different to other situations , but maybe similar

Why is the kid back then?

Answered already. They sorted out the problem and realised that all was above board. Hindsight now.

Bull**** jump there. Do not accuse me of racism please as i'm not a racist.
    Says more about you that you have.

Who said anything about racism?
    I wasn't implying that at all - so sorry if you took it up that way.
    You don't have to be a racist, to not like Roma's as some people just lump them into the same category of people who steal.

Sure the child was white with blue eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,617 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

If I rang the airport to book a 7 a.m. flight to Madrid and they told me there was no 7 a.m. flight would I be responsible for the mistake if there was?

I really hope that's not how our Gardai work. Not bothering to corroborate information that lead to the removal of a young child from her family. Shoddy police work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

you have proof of this absence of evidence at the time do you , please share

There was no wrongdoing so therefor there was no proof of any wrongdoing.

Only a baseless complaint, which basic police work, ie checking the records that the parents pointed towards would have dispelled.

Missing the records amounts to incompetence. They were there to be discovered and should have been.

I think the child involved deserved at least the most basic investigation before being separate from their parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

it might turn out that way

but how is that the fault of the 2 attending garda ?
    they were obliged to go , they then found some errors in the paper work , they had to act. maybe a family memeber should have gone with her , but if it was a kidnapping case , the adult could have tried to interfere with a witness , so they might not be allowed anyway

they acted in the best interests of the child as they saw it at the time
    and i agree
    read post 772 , i address that clearly
    You don't address the possibility of ensuring the safety of the child by something short of taking it into custody at all in that post (above).

All you do is engage in further baseless speculation.

Who said anything about racism?

Should the child was white with blue eyes

You accused me. i expect an apology too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,585 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Answered already. They sorted out the problem and realised that all was above board. Hindsight now.

Fcukin jeniuses they are

Any word on that murdered Garda yet.. or are all resources being pumped into tackling welfare cheats and hysterical media based justice-porn fanatics?

You accused me. i expect an apology too.

No I didn't - report my post if you think that

namloc1980 wrote: »
    I really hope that's not how our Gardai work. Not bothering to corroborate information that lead to the removal of a young child from her family. Shoddy police work.

Would you drive out to the airport and check for yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Fussgangerzone

i do , thanks

So you understand that in law, we prove that there is evidence, not that there isn't evidence.

In this case, there is no demonstrable evidence. If you feel otherwise, it's up to you to prove it, not me. Ya dig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

emo72 wrote: »
    for anyone that bothered to watch the bbc documentary about them, what did yous think of the father who was lamenting the fact that he sold his 13 yo daughter for 900 euro, and another wedding was happening where a daughter had been sold for 9000 euro.

i thought he regretted selling his daughter, but no he was more upset that the wedding he was observing that the child went for 9k.

heres the sickening bit. the men at the wedding were overjoyed that the 13 yo bride was discovered to be a virgin:(

No, But it's a beautiful culture !!

We are RACISTS and Xenophobe's if we criticize this ... Lovely lovely people they are ....

Fcukin jeniuses they are

Any word on that murdered Garda yet.. or are all resources being pumped into tackling welfare cheats and hysterical media based justice-porn?

What kind of rubbish are you talking now. Worse than your usual bull.

RustyNut wrote: »
    There was no wrongdoing so therefor there was no proof of any wrongdoing.

Only a baseless complaint, which basic police work, ie checking the records that the parents pointed towards would have dispelled.

Missing the records amounts to incompetence. They were there to be discovered and should have been.

I think the child involved deserved at least the most basic investigation before being separate from their parents.

you dont know , that at the time , when the documents did not match up , they garda thought that is a wrong doing , possible child trafficking , they had to investigate , they did , and it turns out they were ok , the child was not kidnapped , but either you or me know , so i dont understand how you are so sure no "wrong doing" was seen by the garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,617 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Would you drive out to the airport and check for yourself?

I'd probably go online personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Balaclava1991

More with the hyperbole that there was an attempted escape by the parents!!!

There is no proof of this at all

Are you being serious?

An almost identical case of potential child abduction - a blonde kid with dark hair and dark eyed Roma who can't provide the documents to prove the kid is who they it is.

There was a case there a few years ago a couple asked for themselves and their kids to be fitted for coffins. The Gardaí called to the house and the parents said it was only a joke. The parents killed themselves and the kids as soon as the Gardaí left.
    There was another case a few years ago where a guy abducted his daughter and did a runner. When the Gardaí caught up with him he blew her face off with a shotgun and then took his own life.

Are you seriously trying to tell me that the Gardaí are not going to take a child into care if they suspect a case of child abduction or that a kid could come to harm????

Seriously now?

So you understand that in law, we prove that there is evidence, not that there isn't evidence.

In this case, there is no demonstrable evidence. If you feel otherwise, it's up to you to prove it, not me. Ya dig?

documents not matching up at the time is reason enough to think something is not as it should be , she could have been kidnapped until proven otherwise. simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

I might let you off but I would expect a professional investigator to at least double check the website not just take the word of the cleaner that answered the phone.

namloc1980 wrote: »
    I'd probably go online personally.

Online or not you would have got the same answer.

RustyNut wrote: »
    I might let you off but I would expect a professional investigator to at least double check the website not just take the word of the cleaner that answered the phone.

How do you know a cleaner answered the phone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

listermint wrote: »
    No they couldn't, because this is not how it's done through procedure.

I'm intrigued.
    Can you point to the procedure that prevents the authorities from ensuring a child's safety short of protective custody?