If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

jersey101 wrote: »
    Off to the auction of the next door neighbours farm now. Should be interesting.

If people are standing back from bidding throw one on. You never know you may end up in the negocitions.
    Other wise best of luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

nashmach wrote: »
    Ah one of the neighbours upping the numbers.

Just keep waving your hand Jersey.

Lot of housing there for the land being sold.

50ac with a shed for 80 cows. Would make a nice out farm but sadly no funds to purchase

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Off to the auction of the next door neighbours farm now. Should be interesting.

Did u bring your check book!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

50ac with a shed for 80 cows. Would make a nice out farm but sadly no funds to purchase
    whats the guide price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Another lot down the road wasn't it.

Sure a breeze at 450k :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

hugo29 wrote: »
    what form is that, i got no letter but I can register all my detail on ICBF,

i rang dept there, you wont get a letter unless you applied online, i signed some form back in may so she said i wouldnt receive any letter..go figure :rolleyes:

whelan1 wrote: »
    whats the guide price?

i reckon it'll go beyond the 10k its good lad. All reseeded and fenced and watered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

hugo29 wrote: »
    what form is that, i got no letter but I can register all my detail on ICBF,

Permission for department to give my details to icbf (even though I'm in herdplus)
    were you in the scws?
    I think those that were in it go through automatically

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

just saw Vanders post there. That explains it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Permission for department to give my details to icbf (even though I'm in herdplus)
    were you in the scws?
    I think those that were in it go through automatically

I saw a tab on the Agfood web site a few weeks ago.
    Look in Beef Data Program.
    You can tick a box there now, giving the dept, permission to pass deatails to ICBF. I ticked the box.
    However I also got the letter in the mail this week, asking me to do the same on paper. WTF:confused:

Land didnt sell. Only got 7 an acre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Land didnt sell. Only got 5 an acre

Jesus jersey. .. you should have thrown 6500 An acre at them and worry the finance later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Land didnt sell. Only got 7 an acre

Did you bid?

delaval wrote: »
    Did you bid?

no one did. Your mans father pushed it up to that. I thought it was a bad cookie when i seen that

Jesus jersey. .. you should have thrown 6500 An acre at them and worry the finance later.
    ha if only. If i did buy it id be lookin for 80 cows in the spring to pay for it and keep my head above water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

no one did. Your mans father pushed it up to that. I thought it was a bad cookie when i seen that

The oul boy always quotes a contractor around here who bought a D8 or similar back in the seventies got bank finance to buy it. He went to a farm auction a couple of weeks later and the farm was being sold for less than the bulldozer cost him. He bid on the farm and ended up writing a cheque out for it. Trotted into the bank the following mornng to tell them they had a cheque for X coming and a sale agreement signed. He got the cash. Oul boy said something to him along the lines of "balls of steel" yer man replied f' em they gave me the cash for that yoke and it'll be a ball of scrap in a few years they could give me the money for the land it'll always be there and worth something.

Your moment may have passed Jersey, though if it was a forced sale you're better off out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

ha if only. If i did buy it id be lookin for 80 cows in the spring to pay for it and keep my head above water.

Yes you've got to think about the cost associated with setting it up, like stocking, fencing, water etc. These costs can't be ignored because on that size parcel of land they would be a significant amount.

Muckit wrote: »
    Yes you've got to think about the cost associated with setting it up, like stocking, fencing, water etc. These costs can't be ignored because on that size parcel of land they would be a significant amount.

oh dont talk to me about that stuff i know full well all about it ha. Were turning a tillage farm into a dairy one at the mo. Ten years at it. That farm is fully set uo. Put your stock on and spread your fert and your done

The oul boy always quotes a contractor around here who bought a D8 or similar back in the seventies got bank finance to buy it. He went to a farm auction a couple of weeks later and the farm was being sold for less than the bulldozer cost him. He bid on the farm and ended up writing a cheque out for it. Trotted into the bank the following mornng to tell them they had a cheque for X coming and a sale agreement signed. He got the cash. Oul boy said something to him along the lines of "balls of steel" yer man replied f' em they gave me the cash for that yoke and it'll be a ball of scrap in a few years they could give me the money for the land it'll always be there and worth something.

Your moment may have passed Jersey, though if it was a forced sale you're better off out of it.

Its still for sale. If i win the lotto il let ye know :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Could you not have a word with bob :-)

td5man wrote: »
    Could you not have a word with bob :-)[/

Would he buy it for me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Maybe if you were female and a DD.:p

Really does make you wonder about the prices quoted in the IFJ at times....

But as freedominacup says, sounds like a bit of history there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Not for you, for himself when he courts your sisters.

I was doin a bitta thinkin there. Sure i could drop a 12 unit parlour in it and milk 80 cows in me own right. Theres more room for expansion up there. Theres 200 acres surrounding it and your man is gettin on and his sons are all grown up and have no interest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Now your motoring jersey. Think big! That lotto money will come in......

ha your driving me wild now thinkin about it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

nashmach wrote: »
    Really does make you wonder about the prices quoted in the IFJ at times....

But as freedominacup says, sounds like a bit of history there.

The lamb prices given by the factories for quoting on the journal are really only the base price for all the groups out there and ordinary farmers shouldn't be going by them......think most farmers know that by now.
    Last weeks quote was 4.35 and a farmer wrote on twitter that he got 4.55 plus QA from Kildare....same with the cattle only IFJ report the quotes but they also report what IFA say has been paid.

rancher wrote: »
    The lamb prices given by the factories for quoting on the journal are really only the base price for all the groups out there and ordinary farmers shouldn't be going by them......think most farmers know that by now.
    Last weeks quote was 4.35 and a farmer wrote on twitter that he got 4.55 plus QA from Kildare....same with the cattle only IFJ report the quotes but they also report what IFA say has been paid.

I was referring to the property prices more so rancher.

Some weeks you would swear it was the IAVI wrote the articles :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,981 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I was doin a bitta thinkin there. Sure i could drop a 12 unit parlour in it and milk 80 cows in me own right. Theres more room for expansion up there. Theres 200 acres surrounding it and your man is gettin on and his sons are all grown up and have no interest

Sons all grown up and no interest...mmmmm I betcha they've more interest than you'd think ,in what it's worth though!!