Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭limo_100

just do it wrote: »
    Nice straight cow. The continental out of a black whitehead seems to be a consistent good cross. That bull's daughter CD is 1.5%. She should be able to spit an elephant out!

he just had to put the ropes on her to get the shoulder out and the hips but she probably would have managed id say. she was on bare ground before she calved and was fairly empty after calving but shes picking up condition fairly quickly. I have no white heads any more but i mite get 1 or 2 cause they make great maternal dams. I use to cross her mother with a simmental every second year looking for a heifer but unfortunately she only ever had to that cow and a good brown Simmental i'll put up a picture of her and her calf toworrow she has a great ADX bull calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

td5man wrote: »
    Anyone know what this is?
    Its a Friesian weanling heifer before anyone says that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

A bad dose of piles. Take her off the guinness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

hardly a savage lump of a wart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

hardly a savage lump of a wart
    not sure, had a cow that was covered in warts was wonder ing if this is her calf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

not sure, had a cow that was covered in warts was wonder ing if this is her calf
    the damn things grow fast tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Looks like a tumour to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

Looks like a fungus/wart u will come out some morning and it will have fallen off .... If u can slide ur hand under it there should be a "root" some times u can tie a string around the root to knock off blood supply .....that's my 2 cents anyway, I'm probably wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

Looks like a fungus/wart u will come out some morning and it will have fallen off .... If u can slide ur hand under it there should be a "root" some times u can tie a string around the root to knock off blood supply .....that's my 2 cents anyway, I'm probably wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

Tumor on the Vulva maybe but from what I recall of those they tend to be protruding from the inside to the outside if you know what I mean, Can you lift the tail?
    I recal previously readin Hereford and Freisian are more affected by eye and skin cancers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭adne

A reluctant first time mammy. Hoping she takes to him when sickness goes off her

adne wrote: »
    A reluctant first time mammy. Hoping she takes to him when sickness goes off her

id say she will later on. nice lump of a cow a charolias cow is it or is it blonde?? wats the calf by?

limo_100 wrote: »
    id say she will later on. nice lump of a cow a charolias cow is it or is it blonde?? wats the calf by?

Chx first calver and ozs bull calf. Calved herself. Only let him suck when i put her up crush

wen you go out in the morning she be licking him. I have had a few OZS calves very happy with them. Mind you i was the lucky one i got all heifers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Could take a couple of days. Hopefully the penny will drop and she realises she's a mammy!
    Is she inclined to just ignore the calf or actively attack it?

Bizzum wrote: »
    Could take a couple of days. Hopefully the penny will drop and she realises she's a mammy!
    Is she inclined to just ignore the calf or actively attack it?

She keeps nailing him. Getting milk n to him by putting her up the crush

limo_100 wrote: »
    wen you go out in the morning she be licking him. I have had a few OZS calves very happy with them. Mind you i was the lucky one i got all heifers.

No such luck yet. The b#tch still refusing to be a mammy.

She keeps nailing him. Getting milk n to him by putting her up the crush

I always get them in a small pen and have the calf in the corner of the pen safe behind a gate .
    That way she can't feck off and leave him and she is always with him .
    Are you milking and bottling him or is he sucking???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Throw some bran or meal on the calf. That'll get her licking him at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

the danger is the calf will lose confidence if he keeps getting a belt every time he goes to the bar for a drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

its a pain in the h0le but sure it happens to everyone every so often, you will just have to stand with her be it in the crush and then a pen till it finally clicks, i find if you get cows into a routine where by she gets a bit of meal while calf is sucking it helps too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

No such luck yet. The b#tch still refusing to be a mammy.

Had one like that in spring. It was two days before she finally accepted him. I kept them in half of the creep pen and after she calmed down she was grand. When you say nailing him do you mean even when he's not sucking? If so what Rich2012 suggested should work.

its a pain in the h0le but sure it happens to everyone every so often, you will just have to stand with her be it in the crush and then a pen till it finally clicks, i find if you get cows into a routine where by she gets a bit of meal while calf is sucking it helps too

Some things take time alright. I had twin LM calves bull and heifer, from GWO at the beginning of September and the bull calf couldn't stand up at all. Here is a pic of what I had to do to get him sucking.

277113.JPG

I had to prop him up on an old drum and balance him on it until he sucked enough for the first three days before he was strong enough to stand on his own. It was worth all the hassle because this was them about 3 weeks later.

277114.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

towzer2010 wrote: »
    Some things take time alright. I had twin LM calves bull and heifer, from GWO at the beginning of September and the bull calf couldn't stand up at all. Here is a pic of what I had to do to get him sucking.

I had to prop him up on an old drum and balance him on it until he sucked enough for the first three days before he was strong enough to stand on his own. It was worth all the hassle because this was them about 3 weeks later.

massive cow there towzer, simm is she?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Had one like that in spring. It was two days before she finally accepted him. I kept them in half of the creep pen and after she calmed down she was grand. When you say nailing him do you mean even when he's not sucking? If so what Rich2012 suggested should work.

Lads I know nothing about sucklers but the uncle has a pen with a 3/4 gate in it close to a corner. When cow is penned by the gate her udder is still available to the calf. a bit of meal to take her mind off what's going on I think helps also.

massive cow there towzer, simm is she?

Yes she's a HKG Sim out of a sim and she was out of a bf cow. Brilliant cow to breed. I wish I had 30 more like her.

I find this fierce handy for a heifer that rejects a calf .
    Its originally for cows that are calving and need to be jacked .
    Its no major problem if they drop down onto the ground when the pressure comes on .

Its a cow bail secured into a steel frame .
    The frame is on hinges so it can be folded away when not in use ..

The bail can swivel so allows the cow movement if she goes down at an awkward angle .

The tubular gate can be taken on and off quickly by sliding the sleeve up or down .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Great job!!

Interested to know how that headgate works, what does it look like when opened, have you a pic? Never seen one like that before...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭eire23

DSCF1832_zps8a639f79.jpg
    The boys lining up for the ladies! letting them out next week all going well

Supervision is enough tonite