How much do you spend when you go out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Well with college:

Pre-Drinking - €10-15 (can usually be enough to get ya locked for the night if you shop around and get the good deals.)
    Taxis - €6-8 per night spent on taxis.
    Nightclub - €5 in. And no need to buy drinks if you get the pre drinking-right!
    Chipper (optional) - €5.

So at most I'd spend €35 and at the least €15-20.

So I could afford to go out twice a week most weeks in college :)

All hail pre-drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

If it's just a few pints with the lads about 30 or 40 quid...

Nights out with the Mrs generally involve restaurant taxis etc...around 150....we only go out once a month thank Jesus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

Between 80-120, Id say the average for women would be lower than for men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Anyone who spends more than €34.96 would want their head examined.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

On Average:
    Drink 60euro
    Food 10euro
    taxi 10euro
    ROHYPNOL 5euro

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Oh doesn't drink, and we take advantage of special offers. so average night out including dinner would be max. €60 including a few glasses of wine for me.

We splashed out for our anniversary and dinner was over a hundred euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I usually spend about €10 as I drive so no taxi needed and I don't drink alcohol so i only have around 3 soft drinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Usually €50-€90. Last week I tried to be tight and bought a bottle of whiskey for €15, that's all I spent, but fvck me that wasn't the smartest move either and let to a lot more regret the morning after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Went out last night and spent a whopper amount...

Had a bottle of wine at home already
    Used my bus ticket to get into town
    Free into Doyles
    Two drinks: €10.50
    McD's burger: €1.50
    Lift home

€12.00 cheapest night I've ever had :pac:

At MOST I'd spend:
    Predrinks: €12ish
    Bus: €2.80
    Entrance: €5
    Drinks: €20
    McDonalds: €5
    Nightlink: €6
    So the most I'd spend in total: €50.80

But normally I get away with no door charge, a bus ticket and 2 drinks max in the place :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭TheSetMiner

I usually have 6/8 cans at a mates house, walk to the club, bout 2 euro in midweek sometimes free.. get food afterwards rarely and walk home in the end... Most id buy is one or two drinks in the club also, sometimes none... so i have pulled miracle 6 euro nights out of the bag but have also gone over 20 on occasion. haters gonna hate the stinge but its a numbers game for me... the less i spend per night, the more nights i can go out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I usually have 6/8 cans at a mates house, walk to the club, bout 2 euro in midweek sometimes free.. get food afterwards rarely and walk home in the end... Most id buy is one or two drinks in the club also, sometimes none... so i have pulled miracle 6 euro nights out of the bag but have also gone over 20 on occasion. haters gonna hate the stinge but its a numbers game for me... the less i spend per night, the more nights i can go out

What club you going to that's only 2 quid in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

About €20 tops out and about, several cans/bottles before I leave the house though and sometimes I bring my trusty hip flask filled up with jager :)

Probably about €40 in total for a night!

Very little compared to most people I know. About €30. Sometimes less.

I drink slowly. Don't get chipper food. Or taxis. Or go to nightclubs..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Went out last night and spent a whopper amount...

Had a bottle of wine at home already
    Used my bus ticket to get into town
    Free into Doyles
    Two drinks: €10.50
    McD's burger: €1.50
    Lift home

€12.00 cheapest night I've ever had :pac:

At MOST I'd spend:
    Predrinks: €12ish
    Bus: €2.80
    Entrance: €5
    Drinks: €20
    McDonalds: €5
    Nightlink: €6
    So the most I'd spend in total: €50.80

But normally I get away with no door charge, a bus ticket and 2 drinks max in the place :D
    Only 2 drinks? I could never drink that little. If I've feck all money all of it goes on drink so I don't eat and I walk home. Those would be most nights out in fairness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭TheSetMiner

What club you going to that's only 2 quid in?

All the locals midweek - with a stamp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I don't always do exactly the same thing, go to the same place or drink the same amount every time I go out so it's kind of a pointless question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭Felexicon

What the fook are predrinks?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm in my early forties and we would never go out on a boozy night, it's dinner then home for a few drinks, or dinner and the cinema etc, so my comparison may not be right.

The odd time I do go out for work/hobbies, I'd spend about forty, and he comes in and drives me home so no taxi :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    Only 2 drinks? I could never drink that little. If I've feck all money all of it goes on drink so I don't eat and I walk home. Those would be most nights out in fairness!

Yeah! I'm already plastered from the wine, there's no need to go overboard and be vomming in the bathroon :D
    I normally only buy them to have something in my hand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Felexicon wrote: »

Stinge fuel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Felexicon wrote: »

Drinking drink from the offo before you go out so you don't have to buy as much over priced drink in a club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,286 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Out twice this week.

First night, two pubs, four beers, spent 4.50 + 3.20+3.20+3.20 = 14.10.

Second night, three different pubs, four pints, spent 16.20.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 lucozade13

Between €50 and €70

Roughly, it is something like ...
    5 Pints in pub = about €22
    Pay into nightclub = €10
    3 Drinks in nightclub = €13
    Jacket left in - €2
    Sometimes get a burger and/or chips - €6/€7
    Taxi home - €12
    = approx €66

That would be for a Saturday night and if I was feeling tight I would avoid the chipper and a pint or two in the pub, knocking off another €15 or so, so around €50.

Rare that I've ever spent more than €80 on a night out and if I did I felt a serious wallet-hangover the next day!
    I'm almost certain I've never spent €100 on 1 night out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

bout 50ish, usually find change all over the floor in the morning and if I've been especially good a five euro note in a back pocket somewhere. I live "in town" and rarely need a taxi and if I do it's minimal fare so roughly a fiver to get from club to bed. I drink stupidly priced vodka/rum mixers though but try to do two for tenner jobbies when they're on offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

€127.64
    Thats last nights cost......not too bad actually haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Night out in Dundalk is typically in the €70-€80 range. Don't do this pre-drink lark, straight to the pub. Usually guts of 5 pints and 6 shorts, plus taxi and food.

Spin down to Dublin costs me €40 alone in petrol to stay in a mates, plus €100 minimum. Those nights out are a killer.
    Can certainly understand the drinking before in cities, prices are off the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,852 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

if myself and herself go out , it can run into $200 with just beers, food, taxis. If shots/cocktails are involved it would be another 100

Taxes and tipping is a balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,102 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Specialun wrote: »
    Do you live in the country?

Is the country anywhere outside of the metropolis you call Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

4 Course meal + half bottle of wine, then 5 pints.
    €25. In Spain.
    We're being ripped off here.
    10 Cent extra on drinks after the budget.
    So 5 pints tonight €25.
    Wish I could say "Never again."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

90 quid atleast usually...

I regularly spend more so 90 would be a relatively cheap night, always regret it the next day!