Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do you spend when you go out

• 20-10-2013 8:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

I usually have 6-8 pints before hitting the vodka. Usually around 80-100 quid all in after food and taxi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭tosspot15

20 quid at most. few pints, take away, walk home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

Enough so that together with a hangover I also have the regret of spending way more than I could afford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

100 - 120 average. Hoping to go out again towards the end of 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Anywhere from €10 to €80 depending on where I'm going and if taxis are needed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

20 locally, 100 if hitting a disco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

newmug wrote: »
    20 locally, 100 if hitting a disco.

A disco? Have i gone back to the 70s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Way too much :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Depends.

When I go out I go out to enjoy myself, if it costs a fiver or five grand then so be it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭creep

Pre Drinking - 6 cans of Heineken 10 euro
    Local Pub - 3 pints 12 euro
    Taxi - in 4 euro, taxi home 4 euro or 20 euro depends who I lose
    Nightclub - 5 euro in, 4 pints and usually one double vodka 30 euro
    Food - 10 euro

So roughly around 70 - 80 euro. Thats generally my routine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Not that much here. You can get piddled on very little or at least I can. 10 Euro usually or 20 if I'm hitting the harder stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Specialun wrote: »
    A disco? Have i gone back to the 70s

Never heard that before? You need to broaden your horizons a bit my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Prodgey

It's unreal when you don't drink, max I need to spend on a night is thirty at a push, that'd be if we were getting taxis. Most nights I come home with less than 15 quid spent.

newmug wrote: »
    Never heard that before? You need to broaden your horizons a bit my friend.

Do you live in the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

About 40 dollars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Definitely wouldn't spend anywhere near 100 euro anyway. My alcohol tolerance is quite low most of the time and I'd never get takeway afterwards either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Can vary, Could be as little as €30, could be up to €80-90.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

from predrinking to bed... 120 usually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Go out ?

If I go "into town" it costs me a fortune, taxi is €30!

I'm gonna give a few weeks off the booze a go so I can drive and not spend a fortune on alcohol. I've a big night out in two weeks and I'm going to see how I get on without drinking, if I can bear listening to drunken people talk shyte I may make it a long term thing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Depends who I'm out with :P

If it involves food and getting a taxi by myself, it's anything up to €50 (the taxi alone costs over €20); if it involves sharing a taxi or staying with a friend, it could be less than €20. I don't drink though, so it depends how many Lucozades I get through at €3 or €3.50 each :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

I used to go out by myself for a few pints with the hope of meeting someone i could talk to (i have no friends) but no one ever talks to me so i stopped. I used to spend about 40 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Depends on how much the hooker wants to get paid for teabagging me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

Used to be €100-120, but I gave up drink a few months ago, so now maybe €30-40! I realized I can have just as much of a good night sober, I don't have the horrible hangover the next day and I have more money to spend on things I want!
    Mature beyond my years!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I dont drink that much but when I do go out I wouldn't count how much its costing me. No point in worrying about that sort of stuff until "the fear" kicks in the next morning and you take a look at your wallet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

Normally spend about 50 quid in the pub then I have to get food after so I head to KFC cos I love fried chicken and theirs is finger licking good then I gotta get a taxi home so about €70-80 altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

80-100. The odd time I can get away with only spending 60. Alot depends on the gang I'm out with. If we start doing shots, sometimes the card needs to be taken out :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

6 pints. 20 smokes. Jamaican curry with rice and peas to take home and a taxi.

26 euro.

Grandeeod wrote: »
    6 pints. 20 smokes. Jamaican curry with rice and peas to take home and a taxi.

26 euro.

Is it 6 pints of water? Sounds cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭username_x

Between predrinks, cigarettes, food and taxis home about 70-80 quid. That's a midweek student night.

Weekends depend on where I go. Heading out on Friday so I'll know then I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Specialun wrote: »
    Is it 6 pints of water? Sounds cheap

Canary Islands.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Well with college:

Pre-Drinking - €10-15 (can usually be enough to get ya locked for the night if you shop around and get the good deals.)
    Taxis - €6-8 per night spent on taxis.
    Nightclub - €5 in. And no need to buy drinks if you get the pre drinking-right!
    Chipper (optional) - €5.

So at most I'd spend €35 and at the least €15-20.

So I could afford to go out twice a week most weeks in college :)

All hail pre-drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

If it's just a few pints with the lads about 30 or 40 quid...

Nights out with the Mrs generally involve restaurant taxis etc...around 150....we only go out once a month thank Jesus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

Between 80-120, Id say the average for women would be lower than for men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Anyone who spends more than €34.96 would want their head examined.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

On Average:
    Drink 60euro
    Food 10euro
    taxi 10euro
    ROHYPNOL 5euro

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Oh doesn't drink, and we take advantage of special offers. so average night out including dinner would be max. €60 including a few glasses of wine for me.

We splashed out for our anniversary and dinner was over a hundred euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I usually spend about €10 as I drive so no taxi needed and I don't drink alcohol so i only have around 3 soft drinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Usually €50-€90. Last week I tried to be tight and bought a bottle of whiskey for €15, that's all I spent, but fvck me that wasn't the smartest move either and let to a lot more regret the morning after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Went out last night and spent a whopper amount...

Had a bottle of wine at home already
    Used my bus ticket to get into town
    Free into Doyles
    Two drinks: €10.50
    McD's burger: €1.50
    Lift home

€12.00 cheapest night I've ever had :pac:

At MOST I'd spend:
    Predrinks: €12ish
    Bus: €2.80
    Entrance: €5
    Drinks: €20
    McDonalds: €5
    Nightlink: €6
    So the most I'd spend in total: €50.80

But normally I get away with no door charge, a bus ticket and 2 drinks max in the place :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭TheSetMiner

I usually have 6/8 cans at a mates house, walk to the club, bout 2 euro in midweek sometimes free.. get food afterwards rarely and walk home in the end... Most id buy is one or two drinks in the club also, sometimes none... so i have pulled miracle 6 euro nights out of the bag but have also gone over 20 on occasion. haters gonna hate the stinge but its a numbers game for me... the less i spend per night, the more nights i can go out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I usually have 6/8 cans at a mates house, walk to the club, bout 2 euro in midweek sometimes free.. get food afterwards rarely and walk home in the end... Most id buy is one or two drinks in the club also, sometimes none... so i have pulled miracle 6 euro nights out of the bag but have also gone over 20 on occasion. haters gonna hate the stinge but its a numbers game for me... the less i spend per night, the more nights i can go out

What club you going to that's only 2 quid in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

About €20 tops out and about, several cans/bottles before I leave the house though and sometimes I bring my trusty hip flask filled up with jager :)

Probably about €40 in total for a night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Very little compared to most people I know. About €30. Sometimes less.

I drink slowly. Don't get chipper food. Or taxis. Or go to nightclubs..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Went out last night and spent a whopper amount...

Had a bottle of wine at home already
    Used my bus ticket to get into town
    Free into Doyles
    Two drinks: €10.50
    McD's burger: €1.50
    Lift home

€12.00 cheapest night I've ever had :pac:

At MOST I'd spend:
    Predrinks: €12ish
    Bus: €2.80
    Entrance: €5
    Drinks: €20
    McDonalds: €5
    Nightlink: €6
    So the most I'd spend in total: €50.80

But normally I get away with no door charge, a bus ticket and 2 drinks max in the place :D
    Only 2 drinks? I could never drink that little. If I've feck all money all of it goes on drink so I don't eat and I walk home. Those would be most nights out in fairness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭TheSetMiner

What club you going to that's only 2 quid in?

All the locals midweek - with a stamp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I don't always do exactly the same thing, go to the same place or drink the same amount every time I go out so it's kind of a pointless question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Felexicon

What the fook are predrinks?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm in my early forties and we would never go out on a boozy night, it's dinner then home for a few drinks, or dinner and the cinema etc, so my comparison may not be right.

The odd time I do go out for work/hobbies, I'd spend about forty, and he comes in and drives me home so no taxi :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    Only 2 drinks? I could never drink that little. If I've feck all money all of it goes on drink so I don't eat and I walk home. Those would be most nights out in fairness!

Yeah! I'm already plastered from the wine, there's no need to go overboard and be vomming in the bathroon :D
    I normally only buy them to have something in my hand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Felexicon wrote: »
    What the fook are predrinks?

Stinge fuel.