Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

td5man wrote: »
    OMG so you dont think youre ladies are good looking. o_O

At 630 in the morning, not many do look good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

ya only got 2/3 of the balance, theyl all be small from now on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

arrabawn

45.00c/ltr

b/f 4.13
    p 3.76

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

delaval wrote: »
    500 kg + 1.3 tonne dm from meal, how do you get the rest of the dm into them?
    I don't fully understand your question but grazed grass, silage from rented farm and some maize grown on contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

You must be growing a good shot of grass. Do you know how many tonnes?

Apologies for delay, didn't spot the query until now. I don't measure but teagasc calculated 14 ton in 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

keep going wrote: »
    Do peopl realise that milk at 5 % b/f is using over 1.25 litres of quota compared to milk at 4% so they should really be taking 35 cent off late milk for superlevy and not 28.

How do you calculate this figure? My understanding of the regs is that 5% b'fat uses 1.09 litres compared to 4% b'fat ((5-4/0.01)*0.09%):confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

How do you calculate this figure? My understanding of the regs is that 5% b'fat uses 1.09 litres compared to 4% b'fat ((5-4/0.01)*0.09%):confused:

Reference is 3.67?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Speaking of butterfat, I always notice how high the butterfat figures do be on the farmers journal in the section with the four dairy farms.
    I think one was at 5.5% or maybe I need to look again.

any word on the country how far is it over lads, arrabawn is 1.25 over and climbing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

kevthegaff wrote: »
    any word on the country how far is it over lads, arrabawn is 1.25 over and climbing

Oifig Faisnéise
    Áras Talmhaíochta
    Sráid Chill Dara
    Baile Átha Cliath 2

Tel: (01) 607 2802
    Fax: (01) 662 1165

Press/Information Office
    Agriculture House
    Kildare Street
    Dublin 2

E-mail: info@agriculture.gov.ie
    PRESS RELEASE
    164/13​​ 18th October 2013
    MINISTER COVENEY SIGNALS THAT IRELAND HAS MOVED INTO AN OVER QUOTA POSITION AT END-SEPTEMBER
    The Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Simon Coveney TD, today announced that total volume of milk supplies up to the end of September 2013, taking into account the relevant butterfat adjustment, leave Ireland 0.42% over quota – the first time our supply has exceeded quota this year. This compares to a position at the same point last year when Ireland was 2.14% under quota.
    While the figures are not unexpected, given the very favourable milk production conditions that prevailed throughout the summer and early autumn, the Minister is anxious to remind farmers that "while we avoided a superlevy last year, largely due to the challenging weather conditions, the country did finish the 2011/12 milk quota year at 1.05% over quota and this cost the farmers who were responsible for this over supply some €16 million in super levy payment. The surge in milk production over the recent months is a reminder of the risk that the country could incur another milk super levy at the end of the current quota year and this could have very serious financial consequences for affected farmers".
    Minister Coveney has therefore stressed that against this background it remains critically important that individual milk producers continue to manage their enterprises having regard to the quota situation until the expiry of the milk quota regime on the 31st of March 2015. Milk producers should also note that the final 0.75% quota increase was applied on the 1st of April 2013 and that no further quota increases are planned for the final year of the quota regime.
    Minister Coveney said while he now accepted the policy of the Government and the sector was to expand in the period post 2015, the EU quota rules must be applied fully up to the expiry date.
    ENDS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

RobertKK wrote: »
    Speaking of butterfat, I always notice how high the butterfat figures do be on the farmers journal in the section with the four dairy farms.

Your right I often have a loom at them the moorepark one in particular .cows only doin about 13 Ltrs and fairly sure there's a bit of x breeding in them.13 Ltrs in my opinion is practically gone dry.rarely see the lactose figures though.at those yields they can't be too much over 4.2 if even.

RobertKK wrote: »

Your right I often have a loom at them the moorepark one in particular .cows only doin about 13 Ltrs and fairly sure there's a bit of x breeding in them.13 Ltrs in my opinion is practically gone dry.rarely see the lactose figures though.at those yields they can't be too much over 4.2 if even.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

mahoney_j wrote: »

4 litres of a drop here and I need to dry off, get off the stage!!!!

I stand over what I said especially from now on and when cows are housed.if they're averaging 13 Ltrs then the herd is proably milking from between 7 or 8 Ltrs up to 18 or 20 max.the response to extra feeding wouldn't be worth it.also pay yourself to milk twice a day,esb .detrrgents teat dips deductions for low lactose etc.even at current prices the margin over what it would cost to produce a litre for me wouldn't make it worthwhile unless you had some winter calvers or a large herd to dilute costs someway.my herd average still over 20 Ltrs and will be milked till late November when they will be averaging 16 to 17 Ltrs.i would milk for 2 weeks in December if quota wasn't an issue but I bed a break as do the cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

I stand over what I said especially from now on and when cows are housed.if they're averaging 13 Ltrs then the herd is proably milking from between 7 or 8 Ltrs up to 18 or 20 max.the response to extra feeding wouldn't be worth it.also pay yourself to milk twice a day,esb .detrrgents teat dips deductions for low lactose etc.even at current prices the margin over what it would cost to produce a litre for me wouldn't make it worthwhile unless you had some winter calvers or a large herd to dilute costs someway.my herd average still over 20 Ltrs and will be milked till late November when they will be averaging 16 to 17 Ltrs.i would milk for 2 weeks in December if quota wasn't an issue but I bed a break as do the cows

Averaging 15 here at moment. Due last milk recording this week and will start pulling out anything under 10lt from next week. Quota shouldn't be an issue 5% at most will be over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I'm at nothing here 17 litres will dry next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Mahoney tell him your sorry so we can all go home.

17 Ltrs ok but I'm talking bout herds averaging 12 or 13 Ltrs.if you dry off next week send me ur quota!!your also winter milk from what I gather so if you pull out your autumn calvers at a guess I'd reckon your herd average would be 14 or 15 Ltrs ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

protein 3.90 butterfat 4.75 . wexford creamery . 45.9 cent

mf240 wrote: »

If I genuinely tougt I was wrong I would!!its not about right or wrong but why stay milking on low yielding cows for reasons I outlined earlier if they is only a very small margin to be got for your efforts.delaval quite possibly and proably dose nAke a decent margin due to big nos and autumn calvers to dilute costs

when are ye bringing in the cows lads, im getting a bit tight here myself

mf240 wrote: »

If I genuinely tougt I was wrong I would!!its not about right or wrong but why stay milking on low yielding cows for reasons I outlined earlier if they is only a very small margin to be got for your efforts.delaval quite possibly and proably dose nAke a decent margin due to big nos and autumn calvers to dilute costs

17 Ltrs ok but I'm talking bout herds averaging 12 or 13 Ltrs.if you dry off next week send me ur quota!!your also winter milk from what I gather so if you pull out your autumn calvers at a guess I'd reckon your herd average would be 14 or 15 Ltrs ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

we only averaged 15l last winter due to crap silage and we still made good money. We had the solids to back it up though got 54c/l. Just because the yeild isnt there doesnt mean your not making money

You're in wintermilk also though Jersey, strip out any of the autumn/late spring ladies and that figure will drop. Mahoney has a point though, for anyone in spring milk, do a quick calculation of what you're paying yourself per hour, and if it aint worth turning on the machine then dry them off, simple as is. One of the lads over on forum4farming.com worked out at the end of the day, milking in december last year only paid him 3quid per hour!

But 54c/l was exceptional ha, the crap silage last year left me with a dec fat of 3.6, and protein 3.05!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Timmaay wrote: »
    . One of the lads over on forum4farming.com worked out at the end of the day, milking in december last year only paid him 3quid per hour!

3 euros more than you get sat inside listening to the mrs talking sh1te.

ha, don't have that problem, yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

You're in wintermilk also though Jersey, strip out any of the autumn/late spring ladies and that figure will drop. Mahoney has a point though, for anyone in spring milk, do a quick calculation of what you're paying yourself per hour, and if it aint worth turning on the machine then dry them off, simple as is. One of the lads over on forum4farming.com worked out at the end of the day, milking in december last year only paid him 3quid per hour!

But 54c/l was exceptional ha, the crap silage last year left me with a dec fat of 3.6, and protein 3.05!

we were putting nuts in the diet feeder :o never want to have to do that before. The cost was unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Only doing 14 litres here, its costing 1.20 a cow per day to milk them including 3 kgs meal, and all parlour running costs at current solids cows are producing 6.50 worth of milk our a profit of say a 5 euro a day give our take therez noting wrong with that in my books.

Finally someone sees where I'm comming from!!agree with you Jersey it ain't about volume but it is about having a good volume as well as high solids but as Tim pointed out that high priced was proably due to your winter bonuses.also what did it cost u to produce a litre of that milk on the back of that crap silage with the extra high protein meal that had to be put in ???.also did cow condition suffer and then as a consequence emptys repeats etc??.i ain't having a pop at anyone her either just trying to argue a point