Burton: Garda checkpoints on estates to weed out welfare cheats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

mfceiling wrote: »
    I have no name just a number plate to report...

Doubt very much that joan's people will go in to halting sites looking for welfare fraud.

So you don't know the person but you know they work and sign on and all this because they park next to you every day for years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

No they do not.

You simply ask "Am I under arrest?" They will say "no". You simply leave.

Yeah ok please video yourself doing that and post it up for us to see (laugh at).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

A really stupid idea and it won't work.
    Try again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

"anything you say may be taken down, suitably altered, and used in evidence against you" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I certainly would and that evidence would be then used at the civil case for false imprisonment.

I have used that line a few times with some jackboots of the state. Each time they backed down.

Oh god going to buy some tinfoil this thread is turning a little love/hate for my liking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I certainly would and that evidence would be then used at the civil case for false imprisonment.

I have used that line a few times with some jackboots of the state. Each time they backed down.

Oh god going to buy some tinfoil this thread is turning a little love/hate for my liking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,979 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

bumper234 wrote: »
    So it's ok in your book to tar them all with the same brush? Do you know many travelers? I know 4 brothers who work construction a few years ago, paid their taxes just like everyone else. Now they all have qualifications in IT yet they can't get an interview as soon as people hear their accents its a no no. But hey they are travelers and therefore must be sponging off the state right.

Couldn't they take elocution lessons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

And they have EVERY right to delay you until you do.

Would you link to the legislation that gives them the power of indefinite detention untill you answer questions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

It's worrying how many people in this thread don't seem to care about having their basic right to go somewhere without being stopped and questioned taken away, but I suppose most of them don't live on an estate so they don't care what's enforced on them. Another case of the rich telling the middle class to blame the poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

HighClass wrote: »
    It's worrying how many people in this thread don't seem to care about having their basic right to go somewhere without being stopped and questioned taken away, but I suppose most of them don't live on an estate so they don't care what's enforced on them. Another case of the rich telling the middle class to blame the poor.

I know dude it's wrong. Personal freedoms and all that.

See the guards are just going to stop everyone at the checkpoint. Doesnt matter if you are on your way to work, dropping off little johnny to school or going to the doctors. You're gonna get stopped either way.

And if all these supporters were getting stopped regularly they'd get such a pain in their hole and suddenly change their view. There is alot of sh*t-talk on here anyways. Some people think 99.9% of people on the dole have 40 hour jobs on the side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 munwin

It won't happen at all. Wait and see. Its just scare mongering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

A really stupid idea and it won't work.
    Try again.
    I thought they were just extending an existing practice because they've had success with it.

munwin wrote: »
    It won't happen at all. Wait and see. Its just scare mongering.

It already happens with DSP and Revenue staff and has proved a success. Adding Garda powers to the mix should make it even more successful.

Up until June, the SIU launched 24 multi-agency vehicle checkpoints, in which 37 dole cheats were caught saving €250,000.

At a checkpoint targeting HGV drivers in the Mid-West, three drivers were caught working and signing on. One had been on invalidity pension since 2009 and was getting paid for spouse and children at €420 weekly, while another was on jobseekers benefit while driving for a haulage company in Co Meath. Their employers were also contacted by Revenue. Welfare fraud investigators have delivered a number of recent successes at airports in the courts, including:

* In Monaghan Circuit Court in June, a Latvian man was convicted of flying into Ireland twice a month to collect two separate payments, even though he had not been living here for almost two years;

* In March, a man who claimed social welfare while living in Poland was fined €1,500 at Tralee District Court. All monies owed were paid back;

* In Fermoy District Court, a Zimbabwean was given a 10-month suspended sentence and required to leave the jurisdiction before paying back over €4,000;

* In April, an Irishwoman received a three-year suspended term after it was revealed she flew from London once a month for four years to claim €43,000 in jobseekers allowance.
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2013/1017/world/pursuit-of-dole-cheats-reinforced-by-arrest-powers-246576.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Phoebas wrote: »
    It already happens with DSP and Revenue staff and has proved a success. Adding Garda powers to the mix should make it even more successful.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2013/1017/world/pursuit-of-dole-cheats-reinforced-by-arrest-powers-246576.html

That's great but how many of them were detected on checkpoints?
    There have been checkpoints going on in the border area of North Louth for years and very few if any detections have been made yet i have no doubt that this is one of the worst areas in Ireland for dole fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,254 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

So you don't know the person but you know they work and sign on and all this because they park next to you every day for years?

I know he doesn't work - he's told me himself that he doesn't work. As cool as you like one morning at the school...

Him "are you not working today?"

Me "heading now, when i leave the young one in - what about yourself?"

Him "working is for fools" (laughs)

That's great but how many of them were detected on checkpoints?
    37 according to the article.

I expect these types of operations are part direct enforcement and part deterrent. Just like highly visible checkpoints deter drink driving, I guess these are aimed at deterring welfare fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

37 according to the article.

I expect these types of operations are part direct enforcement and part deterrent. Just like highly visible checkpoints deter drink driving, I guess these are aimed at deterring welfare fraud.

Where money is concerned there are few deterrents unfortunately.
    37 in about 10 years is also wasting money.
    Also the diesel launderers in the border areas are plying their trade and dumping toxic waste with impunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

Yawns wrote: »
    Afaik you'll only be required to give your name etc to a guard and unless he has suspicions that you committed an offence, he cannot detain you. You don't need to talk with the social worker at all. If you are claiming tho and they find out, they can suspend your claim if they suspect you are going to work and call you in for interviews etc in the office. Failure to attend interviews can lead to claims being closed.

You don't need to talk to a Guard either. He can ask you for your name and address, in fact he can ask you any question he likes, but unless he has a legitimate suspicion you've committed an offence, you don't have to answer him

Where money is concerned there are few deterrents unfortunately.
    37 in about 10 years is also wasting money.
    24 checkpoints with a saving of €250k - that's just over €10k per checkpoint. I presume each checkpoint costs three or four people a day to operate.

Why is that a waste of money?

24 checkpoints with a saving of €250k - that's just over €10k per checkpoint. I presume each checkpoint costs three or four people a day to operate.

Why is that a waste of money?

If true then that would be great.
    Pity they couldn't nick a few diesel launderers / waste dumpers while their at it though. I'm very suspicious as to the reason they are drawing blanks in that area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

HighClass wrote: »

Well I'm sure they do envisage an estate, just not on an industrial or housing one.

Downton Abbey or To the Manor Born is what they picture when they imagine estates.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭skafish

MajorMax wrote: »
    You don't need to talk to a Guard either. He can ask you for your name and address, in fact he can ask you any question he likes, but unless he has a legitimate suspicion you've committed an offence, you don't have to answer him

Wrong. At any stage, a Guard can ask you for your name and address. If you refuse to answer, the Guard can detain you without a warrant or court order for up to 48 hours or until your identity is established.
    The can also ask the driver of any vehicle to produce their license on the spot. If the driver doesn't, the vehicle can be impounded and the driver detained until their identity is established, along with proof that their have a license to drive said vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I wouldnt just say moralistic, fred.
    I would also add some twisted hatred for people on the dole. But hypocrissy when we dig deeper.

It doesnt matter if someone is working or on the social welfare. Either party would gladly do a nixer to earn some extra money. Thats the messed up thing about this issue.... it's all shite :pac: It's all moaning about what someone else is getting, which you are not getting, there for is wrong :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭roughneck

i dont think their out to catch the lads or girls doin nixers ,their after the ful time crew driving big cars ,living in big houses and staring on channel 4 everyweek ,god bless ya boss .

Little bit of harassment hurt nobody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

roughneck wrote: »
    i dont think their out to catch the lads or girls doin nixers ,their after the ful time crew driving big cars ,living in big houses and staring on channel 4 everyweek ,god bless ya boss .

They are out to catch anyone who is defrauding the state, anyone driving commercial transport is liable to be stopped and asked name address and if need be SW officials shall be called over and they will be then asked for Prsi number for further checks,as far as I know they don't stop private cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

skafish wrote: »
    Wrong. At any stage, a Guard can ask you for your name and address. If you refuse to answer, the Guard can detain you without a warrant or court order for up to 48 hours or until your identity is established.
    The can also ask the driver of any vehicle to produce their license on the spot. If the driver doesn't, the vehicle can be impounded and the driver detained until their identity is established, along with proof that their have a license to drive said vehicle.

You need to educate yourself about your rights, someday you might have need of them.

http://www.iccl.ie/being-stopped-by-a-garda-2.html