Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gameweek 8 Transfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭itsnotmyfault

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    If an omen like that pops up, I suggest you just roll with it.

Just so long as when it all goes pear shaped you don't look back in anger.

Ok, enough already:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭jma

John83 wrote: »
    I've allowed Oscar rise in price way too much because other transfers took priority for one reason or another. Now I'm looking at pulling the trigger to get him in for Lampard. I can't afford Lampard not with the doubts over Brady and Ozil. Midfield looking very bare at the moment.

Do ye reckon both Lampard and Oscar have the same chances of starting this weekend? Lampard didn't play as much over the international period.

I don't think Lampard is even in form. I'd get rid of him regardless. Plus, he's due to drop in price. There doesn't seem to be too much doubt about Özil either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 220 ✭✭L.A.D

Can I get your thoughts guys?

This team has got me to 2nd place in the majority of my leagues - Not played my Wild card yet either.

Think the reason Ive done so well is I've been 100% spot on with captains every week.

Im just wondering if you think there's any need to play my WC or should I sit on it?

Planned on keeping it, bagging a transfer this week and having 2 next week?

team1_zpsb7652d1a.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,470 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

L.A.D wrote: »

This team has got me to 2nd place in the majority of my leagues - Not played my Wild card yet either.

Think the reason Ive done so well is I've been 100% spot on with captains every week.

Im just wondering if you think there's any need to play my WC or should I sit on it?

team1_zpsb7652d1a.png

Without being harsh, your midfield is awful imo...

So many ways to improve it Ozil, Oscar, Barkley, Ramsey....

P.Walnuts wrote: »

100% agree

As I said, really wanna play the WC but that team has been good to me so far.

Gonna try and work a way to get Ozil and Oscar in

100% agree

As I said, really wanna play the WC but that team has been good to me so far.

You might not need to use your WC....

I'd keep Yaya and Morrison, get rid of the other 3, rest of your team is good IMO, maybe get rid of Lescott too...

Not sure a WC is worth it for only 4 players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

If you can do that without a point hit or with "just" a 4 pts hit, keep your WC ! If the winter is rough and games get postponed and/or if English clubs go far in the european competitions there'll be some DGWs where you'll have a lot more flexibility than a lot of us here!

I gained monthly prize and top 3 finish prize in my private leagues by getting huge scores in the end of season DGW these past 2 years.
    This year I played my WC early to benefit from the price rises and fix my team immediately. For the moment it paid off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭John83

jma wrote: »
    I don't think Lampard is even in form. I'd get rid of him regardless. Plus, he's due to drop in price. There doesn't seem to be too much doubt about Özil either.

Cheers for the heads up on Lampard's price. Hadn't noticed it.

Having thought about it I'm now torn between Michu and Oscar as his replacement. Just afraid of Michu being a rotation risk with the Europa League.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

How many points are you on??

Barring Paulinho there's not a lot wrong with it. Nani is good for a goal or assist when he gets a run of games and he's played quite regularly the last 2 weeks. Gerrard is always a goal threat but is a bit off form for Liverpool atm, still not awful. The other 2 are fine. Maybe switch Gerrard and Paulinho out but even only swapping Paulinho would be fine imo. Not a fan of Yaya myself but he's done the business so far. Paulinho to Ramsey and you can improve defense a bit and you're laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Liam O wrote: »
    Barring Paulinho there's not a lot wrong with it. Nani is good for a goal or assist when he gets a run of games and he's played quite regularly the last 2 weeks. Gerrard is always a goal threat but is a bit off form for Liverpool atm, still not awful. The other 2 are fine. Maybe switch Gerrard and Paulinho out but even only swapping Paulinho would be fine imo. Not a fan of Yaya myself but he's done the business so far. Paulinho to Ramsey and you can improve defense a bit and you're laughing.

I'd disagree quite strongly with this advice but each to their own, in my opinion Paulinho is a far greater goal threat than Gerrard except for penalties, I'm pretty sure that the stats would bear this out also, as well as that he's 2m cheaper so this allows a far greater investment in defence.

As regards the initial poster looking for advice I would say that defence and midfield are both very weak, the only players you have that I would want are Mignolet and Ravel Morrison. I'd be tempted to wildcard next week.

How many points are you on??

432 mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

432 mate

well then i have no further comments.... :P

You should keep on doing whatever it is you are doing, you're nearly 100 points ahead of me even though i would have picked holes in your midfield myself but the points speak for themselves!

Haven't managed to find my feet at all this season so far...:o

432 mate

You're kicking the pants off me as well (366), I'm surprised that someone without any of the top performing defenders or mid priced midfielders like Ramsey, Barcley or Brady is doing so well, that's what I put my lack of success to date down to!
    Keep doing what you're doing and pray it keeps working.

I'd still make sweeping changes to that team if it was mine:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

My Team lads
    Mignolet
    Coleman Vidic Terry
    Adnan Ramsey Barkley Michu
    Sturridge Giroud Rooney(c)
    subs Gerard Dawson S Taylor

Im on 445 points and have 2.8m in the kitty, Should i get rid of Gerard or upgrade Coleman to Baines. Any suggestions welcome

You're kicking the pants off me as well (366), I'm surprised that someone without any of the top performing defenders or mid priced midfielders like Ramsey, Barcley or Brady is doing so well, that's what I put my lack of success to date down to!
    Keep doing what you're doing and pray it keeps working.

I'd still make sweeping changes to that team if it was mine:pac::pac:

well then i have no further comments.... :P

You should keep on doing whatever it is you are doing, you're nearly 100 points ahead of me even though i would have picked holes in your midfield myself but the points speak for themselves!

Haven't managed to find my feet at all this season so far...:o

I had Benteke as captain a few times which gave me a decent haul, fluked Ramsay one week as captain but stupidly got rid soon after as I didn't think he'd sustain it!

Ill bag the transfer this week, use 2 next week to make my midfield better, but after that I think itll be time for the wildy! :D

OK, I propose a ban on people with people over 420 points looking for advice, it's like letting the class swot copy your homework:pac::mad::o

Jaysus that's bad advice, neither Nani or Gerrard have been consistent fantasy performers for quite while now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

OK, I propose a ban on people with people over 420 points looking for advice, it's like letting the class swot copy your homework:pac::mad::o

Phew !!! That's grand, I'm just on 419 :D. Hum... :o Well , my current dilemma is Zabaleta and Coleman situation... I'm starting to have doubts on their long term spot in my team. But I'm not too sure who to get in instead, Already have Terry and Dawson. A Southampton guy? But I already have Boruc... United? But they're crap at the moment... Arsenal? They concede all the time...

Ill bag the transfer this week, use 2 next week to make my midfield better, but after that I think itll be time for the wildy! biggrin.png
    Why? If you make 2 adjustments to your midfield next week (e.g. Ozil and Oscar for Gerrard and Nani I'd assume), you'd need to change two defenders (e.g. get a Southampton one for Chester) to have a very competitive team. Unless several of your players get injured I feel you'd play it just for the sake of playing it which would be a waste. You're on a glorious position without having used it and your team is looking good. There's no rush.

Jaysus that's bad advice, neither Nani or Gerrard have been consistent fantasy performers for quite while now...

I don't see how it's bad advice. Last time Nani was first choice for a season he was the top player in the game. Put in some great crosses in the last game that an on form strikeforce would have put away. If he gets a run of games now then he'll do well and is playing for a top team. Gerrard from a deep position did well last season in FF and is on penalties and most FKs. Not sure how your comment makes sense considering one hasn't played consistently in quite a while and one hasn't been that bad for quite a while and is still probably the 3rd best attacking option on his team and right now their most likely midfielder to score or assist. But go on...

Edit: looking at the team the only 2 players I'd regard as bad given other options are Lescott and Paulinho. After that and especially with that strikeforce it's certainly not a team I'd consider wildcarding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I'm languishing way back on 347 but I'm actually pretty happy with my team right now. Hangeland and Kos as I've said are my priorities to swap for a Swan and Clyne. Might bring a Chelsea defender in a few weeks when Clyne's fixtures turn to dirt. I have 2.8 in the bank.

I'm currently -4 going into the week having done Redmond to Ravel and Brady to AJ (I'll regret that most likely) so Clyne will come in next week for Kos assuming nothing happens in the meantime (a big assumption I know). I don't need to get rid of Hangeland yet and especially for a second hit but the option is there with Swansea's great fixtures.

2efl5l4.jpg

I don't see how it's bad advice. Last time Nani was first choice for a season he was the top player in the game. Put in some great crosses in the last game that an on form strikeforce would have put away. If he gets a run of games now then he'll do well and is playing for a top team. Gerrard from a deep position did well last season in FF and is on penalties and most FKs. Not sure how your comment makes sense considering one hasn't played consistently in quite a while and one hasn't been that bad for quite a while and is still probably the 3rd best attacking option on his team and right now their most likely midfielder to score or assist. But go on...

I don't think I really need to explain myself, you're doing it for me :pac:

Gerrard may be an ok option, but there are better. Nani is a hail mary, pure and simple.

I don't think I really need to explain myself, you're doing it for me :pac:

Gerrard may be an ok option, but there are better. Nani is a hail mary, pure and simple.

Nani just signed a new 5 year deal so Moyes obviously sees him as a big part of his plans. Gerrard right now is the best Liverpool midfielder and they have nice fixtures. Having players off top 5 or 6 teams is better than having lower table players, especially in attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I've bolded where I think the issues are. I agree with what you're saying but this is a game about what's going to happen not what happened in the past. There are a lot of "ifs" there and circumstantial evidence. If Nani were to have a run of games consistently then he'd be a fantastic option but there's been no real evidence to suggest that. He's still going to be played in rotation with Valencia and Young and AJ to lesser extent. At his price he's a luxury that many can't afford to take a chance on.

Gerrard gained a lot of points last season but there were better options in his price-range last season, which was the year of the midfielder. This year he's done very little with Studge and now Suarez claiming the spoils. He'll be good for Penalties etc but you'll want more than that for 9.0 when you look at the other options.

Nani just signed a new 5 year deal so Moyes obviously sees him as a big part of his plans. Gerrard right now is the best Liverpool midfielder and they have nice fixtures. Having players off top 5 or 6 teams is better than having lower table players, especially in attack.
    I've bolded where I think the issues are. I agree with what you're saying but this is a game about what's going to happen not what happened in the past. There are a lot of "ifs" there and circumstantial evidence. If Nani were to have a run of games consistently then he'd be a fantastic option but there's been no real evidence to suggest that. He's still going to be played in rotation with Valencia and Young and AJ to lesser extent. At his price he's a luxury that many can't afford to take a chance on.

Gerrard gained a lot of points last season but there were better options in his price-range last season, which was the year of the midfielder. This year he's done very little with Studge and now Suarez claiming the spoils. He'll be good for Penalties etc but you'll want more than that for 9.0 when you look at the other options.

Cheers, you saved me typing up something very similar

I think Nani will be pretty much 1st choice winger now. There may be some rotation but after what has happened so far I can't imagine too many lineups with both Valencia and Young in them. Nani can play both sides so I imagine he'll get the lions share of minutes. Once I have subs to come in for him I'm happy enough to have him. See how it goes this weekend anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭culline

What are people's thoughts on bringing in Schurrle? Risky decision or worth the risk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Brendan Rodgers today confirmed Glen Johnson, Joe Allen and Aly Cissokho will be fit for Newcastle but Coutinho is not fit enough yet

Johnson worth risking this weekend? Do people think he'll start?

culline wrote: »
    What are people's thoughts on bringing in Schurrle? Risky decision or worth the risk?

Was thinking it myself but with them playing City next week might hold off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,355 ✭✭✭G1032

kevthegaff wrote: »
    My Team lads
    Mignolet
    Coleman Vidic Terry
    Adnan Ramsey Barkley Michu
    Sturridge Giroud Rooney(c)
    subs Gerard Dawson S Taylor

Im on 445 points and have 2.8m in the kitty, Should i get rid of Gerard or upgrade Coleman to Baines. Any suggestions welcome

I hate you...!!!:)
    Have a forward 7 myself of Michu, Oscar, Ozil, Brady, Suarez, Sturridge and Lukaku and I've the the grand total of 337 points and am in 970,000th place.
    You don't need advice from me anyway