Season 4, Episode 1 - 30 Days Without an Accident [Spoilers]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Augmerson wrote: »
    Darryl brought an animal back that he hunted, and Millhouse thanked him for it. Is there a link then that Millhouse got sick from eating?

Could be from the blood, was Milhouse not butchering the boar Daryl brought back? Then shook Daryl's hand.

Could it be TB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,889 ✭✭✭✭briany

As someone else already said rigor mortis is just one stage of decomposition, reading up on it it appears a dead body reaches peak rigor (stiffness) 12 hours after death after which it dissipates. As for them not starving, their digestive system is dead so they don't have the ability to process/derive any nourishment or energy from organic matter so one can only assume their appetite is down to muscle memory being thatthe only parts of the brain still functioning are likely the ones that control the most basic stuff like motor function and hunger.

Maybe you're just supposing, for argument's sake, but you do see people around the Internet quite seriously postulating on how zombies 'work'. I don't see why as their function is not to be realistic but to provide an existential threat. If your central nervous system rots away, you cannot move. If you don't have a working circulatory system transferring blood and oxygen to the muscles, you cannot move. If you don't eat, you don't have any energy and you cannot move. Everything we know about biology/physics tells us that the Hollywood vision of the flesh eating zombie, horribly decomposed but somehow still walking and biting better than ever is an impossible fantasy and that's exactly all it need be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

briany wrote: »
    Maybe you're just supposing, for argument's sake, but you do see people around the Internet quite seriously postulating on how zombies 'work'. I don't see why as their function is not to be realistic but to provide an existential threat. If your central nervous system rots away, you cannot move. If you don't have a working circulatory system transferring blood and oxygen to the muscles, you cannot move. If you don't eat, you don't have any energy and you cannot move. Everything we know about biology/physics tells us that the Hollywood vision of the flesh eating zombie, horribly decomposed but somehow still walking and biting better than ever is an impossible fantasy and that's exactly all it need be.

Dont forget that they can bite cleanly through denim!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Thought the scene in the supermarket was done poorly. The effects looked cheap.

And it was a bit daft really. I mean surely if the roof was that shoddy then the walkers would have fell through long before they arrived in the supermarket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Thought the scene in the supermarket was done poorly. The effects looked cheap.

And it was a bit daft really. I mean surely if the roof was that shoddy then the walkers would have fell through long before they arrived in the supermarket.

I think the idea was that D'angelo 'Stooky' Barksdale knocking over the wine shelf was meant to have drawn the zombies to the area of the roof already weakened by the crashed helicopter. Which would have been fine if they didn't then have them raining down from every corner of the supermarket weakened roof or not as the plot demanded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Could the new guy have anything to do with Millhouse? He was a medic in the army, the woman was suspicious of him and didn't want to bring him on the run and you don't really get a feel for who he is. He was the last person they had close ups of before they showed Millhouse. Something they will develop or just my overactive imagination?

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Could the new guy have anything to do with Millhouse? He was a medic in the army, the woman was suspicious of him and didn't want to bring him on the run and you don't really get a feel for who he is. He was the last person they had close ups of before they showed Millhouse. Something they will develop or just my overactive imagination?

They clearly have plans for Stooky but based on his eying up of the booze shelf in the supermarket it has more to do with his alcoholism then infecting Simpson characters for kicks, that moment at the end was him contemplating his demons imo, the fact that it precedes Millhouse shower scene is coincidental.

I really hope they don't make him an alcho. It's been 18mths-2 years and no way could anyone survive that long if they had drink problems. You would be lucky to survive one day on your own if you were drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Thought it was a great start. Obviously we're meant to think that the virus might be mutating and affecting the pig (Whether it is or not I presume we'll find out next episode). It would make it very interesting if it mutated to infect animals. Would make survival even more difficult (So long as they don't have zombie pigs).

Thought the raining zombies was brilliant but that kid hanging with Daryl couldn't have been more of a redshirt if he beamed down with Kirk and Spock on his last mission after just getting engaged to his girl.

Apparently Ruth Negga's supposed to be appearing on it this season.

Actually, now that I think about the term Zombie, have they actually referred to them as zombies? I can't remember

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Two characters from the comic books are going to be coming in soon, apparently one is a
    scientist or something, so I'm thinking that there will be a bigger story with this infection/sickness and we might find out how it occured

I really hope they don't make him an alcho. It's been 18mths-2 years and no way could anyone survive that long if they had drink problems. You would be lucky to survive one day on your own if you were drunk.
    He came from Woodbury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Its because we've the depressed Bob and Walker Patrick in the cell block together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Really enjoyed that opener. Love how there is a larger community of people now and that there are plenty of badasses around now. The group was too small in the past two years with only Rick & Daryl as the two you count on to kick ass. The show feels more solid with this new, larger group. I like the renovations too, shows that they are actually building a life in the prison.

One thing that particularly piqued my interest was that guy who played D'Angelo in The Wire. He's a wild card. New to the group, seems to have some alcohol problem or some other disturbing issues. They seemed to focus a bit on him having some sort of internal struggle with himself. Will be interesting to see where that leads.

I really enjoyed the whole shop scene. Realistic? No, but it was fun to watch zombies raining from above and getting taken out in increasingly gross ways :) It was quite tense too cause you knew someone had to die but I quite liked all the characters we'd been introduced too, something that the show hasn't ever achieved before IMO. Yer man was the obvious red shirt though and I liked how the girl (even before the group went out) kept herself emotionally detached. It's just how the world is now.

Rick's walk was well done too. Quite high in the tension stakes, constantly thinking it might be a trap. It was well played out despite the OTT Irish accent (I don't get how they can cast a girl from Tipp and get her to put THAT accent on instead of just using her own accent... I imagine she was told to "add more leprechaun to the accent").

The next episode is set up nicely too, I just hope they don't decimate the group so soon.

He came from Woodbury
    But he only joined them a week ago? Is he a plant from teh psycho?

There was a website that did pretty good and funny episode reviews, can someone post it please ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,957 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

How good is it we don't have to watch Andrea every week! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Bob is not a former Woodbury resident no

LOSTfan57 wrote: »
    Bob is not a former Woodbury resident no

this must be comic knowledge, because it wasn't established either way in the episode, was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

It wasnt a bad opener as such and it kept my attention with all the new prison features, the new people (Carl sadly seems to have shaken off his potentially hard character to become another typical kid), and the life they now live. Very interesting ending there, has the virus now taken affect from within somehow and is killing people that way, I also noticed the big deal they made of Daryl shaking hands with the kid.

The supermarket scene was also very impressive, nice special effects. The zombies seem to be very different looking in the new season more aggressive and with half their faces gone, but that could just be a filler to make up for lack of plot time will tell. Did anyone else think the Irish woman was a walker. I did, for her entire time on screen. Some walkers looked better than her!

Where did the pigs come from? Not one mention of surviving wildstock in 2 seasons and all of a sudden there are horses and pigs providing food for the camp, a bit out of nowhere with no explanation plus we could do without the happy families bit from the new people and the tweens. I hope they move from the prison soon as that ship really has sailed- setting the entire season 4 in the prison would be it for me, I would have to give up. I know it makes sense to stay there, it being so secure and all but it makes for a very boring season of tv..

this must be comic knowledge, because it wasn't established either way in the episode, was it?

The episode takes place at least a month (30 days with no incident) or possibly more since the woodites moved in and it's made clear through Carol and Daryls conversation that he and rick have been picking up strays on supply runs ever since that. Stooky's insistence that he make himself useful and go on a supply said new guy to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Very interesting ending there, has the virus now taken affect from within somehow and is killing people that way,

Is it not just that Millhouse died of something else and turned quickly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Maybe the animals came from Woodbury?

Is it not just that Millhouse died of something else and turned quickly?

It could be a new virus or a new strain of the old virus that turns people into walkers after death. Or it could be just bad hygiene - Daryl hadn't washed his hands, shook hands with Millhouse, Millhouse gets ill. Possibly from Salmonella or E-Coli?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭titchy

The episode takes place at least a month (30 days with no incident) or possibly more since the woodites moved in and it's made clear through Carol and Daryls conversation that he and rick have been picking up strays on supply runs ever since that. Stooky's insistence that he make himself useful and go on a supply said new guy to me.

He said he wanted to go on the run to 'earn his keep' as he had been fed and sheltered for a week and hadn't given anything back.
    I'm fairly sure Sasha commented on the fact that when Rick picked him up he was on his own, thats why she was reluctant to let him go on the run.
    She was questioning if he could work as part of a team?
    Then someone (cant remember who) said he should go because he's an army medic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Augmerson wrote: »
    It could be a new virus or a new strain of the old virus that turns people into walkers after death. Or it could be just bad hygiene - Daryl hadn't washed his hands, shook hands with Millhouse, Millhouse gets ill. Possibly from Salmonella or E-Coli?

I just didn't see anything to lead me to believe it was a new strain of the old virus. People die, they turn. Millhouse died, he turned. In this world of rotting flesh disease would be rampant, ordinary disease I mean.

I thought it was more about illustrating how you have to have a constant watchman in this new world because sometimes people die unexpectedly when everyone else is asleep. I imagine the next episode will cut to Millhouse killing or trying to kill someone.

But maybe there is a new strain of virus. I'd like that.

I just didn't see anything to lead me to believe it was a new strain of the old virus. People die, they turn. Millhouse died, he turned. In this world of rotting flesh disease would be rampant, ordinary disease I mean.

I thought it was more about illustrating how you have to have a constant watchman in this new world because sometimes people die unexpectedly when everyone else is asleep. I imagine the next episode will cut to Millhouse killing or trying to kill someone.

But maybe there is a new strain of virus. I'd like that.

There is something more to it, like I'm not throwing away your idea, but the Pig being sick, the wild Boar being sick. That virus that everybody freaked out about in 2012 or 2011, Bird Flu, because it could jump from animals to people. Now maybe it's not a totally new virus but it could be that animals have picked up our virus and have thus become a whole new factory for this virus and it's become better or stronger? I dunno, just theories.

Agree with you - they do need people on constant watch. You could die of a stroke or heart attack and come back, anywhere, anytime. Never safe as long as you are with people sadly.

Fence Guy

Theeyeshaveit_zps1b5124f4.jpg

Millhouse
    Millhouse_zpsc0e8e197.jpg

Fence Guy is definitely fresh compared to the other zombies. You could argue that Millhouses' eyes are not bleeding and the fall could have broken his nose hence all the blood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

Herschel is a vet. Pity for the pig that the writers forgot that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,493 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Just on the virus..Kirkman said what it is in an interview. It's here if you care to know;

http://www.vulture.com/2013/10/robert-kirkman-and-greg-nicotero-the-walking-dead-premiere-interview.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Dandelion6

Just watched it now on Fox. Supermarket scene was eerily similar to the scenes from the Nairobi shopping mall attack shown on RTÉ News tonight. And the walkers falling down on them was like Sharknado (Walkernado?).

I also thought the Irish woman looked like a walker, my first thought was that the virus had mutated so people are now turning while still alive and able to speak!