Burton: Garda checkpoints on estates to weed out welfare cheats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

But But it's only people in council houses that cheat on the dole .. that's what they tell me on here. Mr 100k a year and wife still get child allowance for kids and other stuff .. sure she could be on the dole as well.

Don't mind what the indigenous population do with their dole. Have a huge problem with people catching cheap flights here to grab some handy cash before returning home.

If people have worked here and are entitled to a payment then they should stay like the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

That was meant for people that need it. Not to give to people that earn tons of money. Means testing this would save a ton of cash

But its nothing to do with fraud ,

In this day and age its stupid but not fraud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

brokenarms wrote: »
    How people on the dole feel about does not matter. People are crying out to fix the major welfare problems.
    Among many is fraud . Earning a weeks wage and then claiming the brew while going home to a rent free home.
    Its sick. It has to stop. People that are doing it are no good to Ireland and should feck off to some other country. Good riddance to them as well. They are not the type that will ever benefit us.

What about all them so called bankrupt developers bankers that sign all there stuff to there wife. and claim they have no money ? is that not Fraud as well ?

Gatling wrote: »
    But its nothing to do with fraud ,

In this day and age its stupid but not fraud

Never mentioned fraud there. was pointing out savings could be made before wasting money on something that probably is more of an urban myth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Hitchens wrote: »
    obstruction of justice

Only if you lie. If you are obliged to identify yourself to a Garda and refuse you can be arrested and held untill your identity can be established.

Then why not setup outside the airport or ferry ? not outside housing estates.

Never mentioned fraud there. was pointing out savings could be made before wasting money on something that probably is more of an urban myth.

The thread is about fraud ,

You would make saving alright can't see it happening anytime soon no political party would attempt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

there are far worse threats to the State than a few lads doing a bit of painting or whatever............the priorities here are all wrong

Hitchens wrote: »
    there are far worse threats to the State than a few lads doing a bit of painting or whatever............the priorities here are all wrong

Wait till they start stopping lone parents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

So Burton is now using the Garda to investigate the Black Economy?
    Is that not the job of the Revenue Commissioners?
    The Gardai should be on the streets, estates, nighttime trouble-spots and making the roads safe. It is bad enough to see hundreds of them protecting the Dail while many people cannot find one when in trouble in our towns and cities.

So Burton is now using the Garda to investigate the Black Economy?
    Is that not the job of the Revenue Commissioners?
    The Gardai should be on the streets, estates, nighttime trouble-spots and making the roads safe. It is bad enough to see hundreds of them protecting the Dail while many people cannot find one when in trouble in our towns and cities.

You have the right to protest .. as long as i don't have to see you and you don't affect me getting home sorry back to the place i rent in Dublin as I'm doing important work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Lack of funds equals lack of Gardai.
    Lack of taxes equals lack of funds.
    Lack of businesses equals lack of taxes.
    Unfair competition from uninsured people closes legit businesses.
    And if they're uninsured, not paying taxes, it's not a huge leap to think they'll be claiming welfare, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Valetta wrote: »
    Proper order.

If you've nothing to hide you've nothing to fear and will be on your way in no time.

Far too many people scamming the system for my liking, and we're all paying for it.

Would you ever fúck off, I aint done nothing but i dont to be stopped for walking down the street. This is Ireland not Nazi Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭sparksfly

Bambi wrote: »
    its threads like this that make you realise how the brits managed to overlord this country for so long

Pity they still don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

How people on the dole feel about does not matter. People are crying out to fix the major welfare problems.
    Among many is fraud . Earning a weeks wage and then claiming the brew while going home to a rent free home.
    Its sick. It has to stop. People that are doing it are no good to Ireland and should feck off to some other country. Good riddance to them as well. They are not the type that will ever benefit us.

Have you ever tried directing your venom towards those who made the problems ie polititions and bankers.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

sparksfly wrote: »
    Pity they still don't.

The Germans took over.

Maudi wrote: »

Was some neck when they said the Irish people went mad with borrowing.. yes personal debt is quite high but it's the developers/bankers and all them that brought the system down not the normal guy with a a cc debt. Bankers should never have given a guy working in MacDonald's a 200k mortgage either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

sparksfly wrote: »
    Pity they still don't.

We lanced that puss filled boil long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

What about all them so called bankrupt developers bankers that sign all there stuff to there wife. and claim they have no money ? is that not Fraud as well ?
    Maudi wrote: »

Yes. Its terrible. Its sneaky, and they managed to get away with it.

Scumbags all of them. Worse than the scumbags doing the double.

Its not Venom. I just dont like to see pr1cks milking the money I pay in tax . Bankers , welfare cheat alike

You will probably find this would be a country wide opinion of the working folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Why do so many people assume that everyone on the dole gets a free house. I am on it, can I get one?

SW fraud has to be dealt with. People who do not cheat the system have to take cuts to supplement these féckers and hard working taxpayers are funding it. People would have more time for people on SW if they knew only those truly needy were on it!

Though I cannot see how stopping people leaving estates will get too many people caught. Especially if the person in the car has kids school age with them at 9 in the morning. Not to mention it will delay actually working people.

Glad to see there will be an attempt to sort welfare tourism too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Proper order.

If you've nothing to hide you've nothing to fear

I really hate this bullcrap saying...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Proper order.

If you've nothing to hide you've nothing to fear

Show me your genitals....... your genitalia!

I really hate this bullcrap saying...

Indeed, even if you have nothing to hide, it is still a balls being asked where you are going and what are you doing. Even if all you are doing is going to the corner shop to get the paper, surely that is only your own business.

Why don't they start going into businesses and demanding to check the PPS no. registered to the payroll off either the managers or the staff themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

You and I have the right to free movement and passage

"Any person (note: including a Garda) who, without lawful authority or reasonable excuse, wilfully prevents or interrupts the free passage of any person or vehicle in any public place is committing an offence under Section 9 of the CRIMINAL JUSTICE (PUBLIC ORDER) ACT, 1994”.

"Other people in the vehicle are not obliged by any provision of the Road Traffic Acts to give any information at all about themselves"

Check this out and know your rights:
    http://www.indymedia.ie/article/82108?comment_order=asc&userlanguage=ga

Just because others break the law doesn't mean they have the right to harass everyone

You and I have the right to free movement and passage

"Any person (note: including a Garda) who, without lawful authority or reasonable excuse, wilfully prevents or interrupts the free passage of any person or vehicle in any public place is committing an offence under Section 9 of the CRIMINAL JUSTICE (PUBLIC ORDER) ACT, 1994

Just because others break the law doesn't mean they have the right to harass everyone

Was wondering when we would get an indymedia Savior's of all scum quote,

Read the thread there been stopped for a specific reason

Plain and simple

that's saying then they know who they are so why they stopping everyone ? surly just call to the offenders house then ? or just cut there dole off and let them re apply

Plain and simple

But not everyone is being unlawful, don't get me wrong I want these people caught, but a mom rushing to school with 3 kids, or a tesco worker who is 5 minutes late to start a shift, why should they be stopped? As I said, it should take place in business settings. Go to the shop, be allowed to request PPS's and verify they are not on the dole. Seems a lot simpler than relying on honesty from the dishonest as they go down the road.