Burton: Garda checkpoints on estates to weed out welfare cheats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

godwin wrote: »
    Can they do this? I mean what civil rights does a person have if they get stopped at a check points by welfare and the garda enquiring who they are and where they are going?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/burton-garda-checkpoints-on-estates-to-weed-out-welfare-cheats-29665728.html

There's always a bleeding heart liberalist to question such moves. Who cares if they can do it or not ;although they obviously can) There are too many fraudsters creaming it off the state and working at the same time. They should increase the powers of Gardai to allow them to enter workplaces/building sites and make enquiries from every single worker on site. It's people with your type attitude that have this country ruined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

A start would be giving PPS numbers to all Scrap Metal Merchants before you can sell to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭damalo

Scrapping those silly TV License adverts and diverting resources or other TV adverts warning people on social welfare fraud would be a good move. Seeing as SW fraud probably costs 150 / week per person, the return should be much higher than the TV license which yields 150 / year from subscribers

Its time the decks were cleared so the people who need the money the most get it. Not people jockeying those paying into SW via PAYE etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

It's a more well thought out response than the 'if you have nothing to hide' argument deserves.

I don't recall ever saying "if you have nothing to hide"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭PickledLime

Seeing as there's no massive sporting event around the corner to distract the masses, they've basically set the country squabbling with each other over this to distract from the fact they're grossly overpaid, inept crooks running the country.

I'd prefer to see a welfare cheat make off with my tax dollars than the scum that are supposed to be running the country.

Wrapping a rope around my neck and swinging from it is getting more attractive day by day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

It is those prepared to surrender their freedom that people fought and died to achieve that has the country ruined.

I honestly wonder if several of the usual posters in these threads have a data base of these that they just copy/paste saving them precious seconds that can be stored up for some serious moral outrage later in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

CJC999 wrote: »
    There's always a bleeding heart liberalist to question such moves. Who cares if they can do it or not ;although they obviously can) There are too many fraudsters creaming it off the state and working at the same time. They should increase the powers of Gardai to allow them to enter workplaces/building sites and make enquiries from every single worker on site. It's people with your type attitude that have this country ruined.

There are also too many people using illegal drugs. They should increase Garda powers to allow them to search every home on the island, it's people who live in homes that have this country ruined. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Seeing as there's no massive sporting event around the corner to distract the masses, they've basically set the country squabbling with each other over this to distract from the fact they're grossly overpaid, inept crooks running the country.

I'd prefer to see a welfare cheat make off with my tax dollars than the scum that are supposed to be running the country.

Wrapping a rope around my neck and swinging from it is getting more attractive day by day.

Don't do it because then the Bastards gave won.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

SpaceTime wrote: »
    1) Issue claimants with biometric ID cards and install finger print scanners in the post offices.
    You would be required to go down and 'swipe on' once every two weeks.

Weekly finger print scanning in PO's would actually do away with the need to sign on at all. It would also make it harder to be non-resident.

If children's allowance was linked to school attendance after the age of 5/6 it would prevent non-resident welfare payments leaving the country and provide a financial incentive to permissive parents for making their kids attend school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

Everyone hates fraud.

Cops and welfare do something about.

Everyone thinks fraud is Ok and cops are pigs for saving us money.
    Ejits.

This has been going on for years by the way. I have been stopped in checkpoints on two occasions .

Glad to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Phoenix wrote: »
    I plead the fifth mr officer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:pac:

Long drive from Dublin to America ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,253 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

CJC999 wrote: »

I'm as far from liberal as you could meet however, allowing garda access to building sites...cop on for fcuks sake.

How about the junkies who rob all around them or the people who take illegal drugs (plenty of middle class people there)...should we be allowing the garda to enter their homes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

brokenarms wrote: »
    Everyone hates fraud.

Cops and welfare do something about.

Everyone thinks fraud is Ok and cops are pigs for saving us money.
    Ejits.

This has been going on for years by the way. I have been stopped in checkpoints on two occasions .

Glad to see it.

I think the problem most people have with the idea is how it's being announced and rolled out by the DSP. The tone used by Burton seemed very generalised and kind of ham-fisted... speaking of how claimants will be identified and checked.

The vast vast majority of those on the Dole don't want to be on it, and a huge amount of them feel bad enough already being out of a job and seeing themselves as a drain on others. Now they need to worry about being stopped and having their details checked by a civil servant with no real authority, and their actions and intentions drawn into question on any given day.

I'm not on the dole thankfully, but I'd seriously have to think twice about ever claiming it here if I were to lose my job, and I've worked and paid taxes since I left school. There's a real sense of hatred shown towards people on the dole in general, by a large portion of society, media, politicians etc. They're almost seen and frequently spoken about as if they're second class citizens.

You have to ask yourself why Burton needed to announce this in such a grandstanding way. It sounded almost designed to appease the masses, a purely political move and all it does is promulgate the notion that the gulf between classes needs to be sustained for politics to 'work' in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Industrial/business estates, not housing
    They do it already, my lads get stopped every now and then and asked for ID, pps numbers etc. Sucks to be you if you are on the fiddle. Doesn't bother me one bit, hopefully it will weed out some of the cowboys and black market types who undercut the ones actually paying what they are supposed to. Good stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

You have to ask yourself why Burton needed to announce this in such a grandstanding way. It sounded almost designed to appease the masses, a purely political move and all it does is promulgate the notion that the gulf between classes needs to be sustained for politics to 'work' in this country.
    Clever move by a labour minister who's view is supposed to be classless :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

What a way to announce what's been happening for the last 3 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

I've noticed activity in housing estates not too far from the Airport but I thought they were checking for foreign reg vehicles. There seems to be so many UK/Polish reg's parked there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

What would happen if you pulled over to the side of the road put a 'Closed' sign up on the window and covered yourself in a blanket for the rest of the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Gatling wrote: »
    What a way to announce what's been happening for the last 3 years

Hasn't been though. The suitcase people still arrive in this town at half eight on a Tuesday. I don't see the police or the social welfare asking any of them anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

say for argument sake you are stopped what if you refuse to give your name. what can they charge you with?

hansfrei wrote: »
    Hasn't been though. The suitcase people still arrive in this town at half eight on a Tuesday. I don't see the police or the social welfare asking any of them anything.

Its been in operation for three years ,

Its now going county wide

hansfrei wrote: »

But But it's only people in council houses that cheat on the dole .. that's what they tell me on here. Mr 100k a year and wife still get child allowance for kids and other stuff .. sure she could be on the dole as well.

But But it's only people in council houses that cheat on the dole .. that's what they tell me on here. Mr 100k a year and wife still get child allowance for kids.

Children's allowance is a universal payment all mammy's get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

say for argument sake you are stopped what if you refuse to give your name. what can they charge you with?

obstruction of justice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

I think the problem most people have with the idea is how it's being announced and rolled out by the DSP. The tone used by Burton seemed very generalised and kind of ham-fisted... speaking of how claimants will be identified and checked.

The vast vast majority of those on the Dole don't want to be on it, and a huge amount of them feel bad enough already being out of a job and seeing themselves as a drain on others. Now they need to worry about being stopped and having their details checked by a civil servant with no real authority, and their actions and intentions drawn into question on any given day.

I'm not on the dole thankfully, but I'd seriously have to think twice about ever claiming it here if I were to lose my job, and I've worked and paid taxes since I left school. There's a real sense of hatred shown towards people on the dole in general, by a large portion of society, media, politicians etc. They're almost seen and frequently spoken about as if they're second class citizens.

How people on the dole feel about does not matter. People are crying out to fix the major welfare problems.
    Among many is fraud . Earning a weeks wage and then claiming the brew while going home to a rent free home.
    Its sick. It has to stop. People that are doing it are no good to Ireland and should feck off to some other country. Good riddance to them as well. They are not the type that will ever benefit us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Nothing afaik.. you wouldn't end up in court over it alone anyway, but they can arrest you until they've established who you are. Which is really just a waste of everyone's time!

Gatling wrote: »
    Children's allowance is a universal payment all mammy's get it

That was meant for people that need it. Not to give to people that earn tons of money. Means testing this would save a ton of cash