Geordie bouncer bodyslams man, caught on camera

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Did you enjoy your time on the doors?.

I'm at it 20yrs +/- and love it, I'm still getting the same buzz from it after all these years.. And for the amount of bad pricks we meet the majority of genuinely good people I meet more than make up for the bad.

I'm 47yrs old now and still loving it, once or twice I've tried to retire but I can't get away from the craic and buzz.

Loved it (worked temple bar a lot and dare say we know each other) started off doing it for the money but ended up just doing it for the laugh. People think you fight every night and are shocked to realise that most nights are long, slow and boring (a good thing imo) with the odd night going tits up and having to earn the €€€

The bouncer in the clip is also a trained fighter, MMA I believe but I don't know if he has a background in anything else (most do).. If he truely wanted to be violent and f*ck up this guys night I'm absolutely positive he'd have hardly broke a sweat doing it, I've said it earlier I think he acted with a lot of restraint and done very well.. His mate on the other hand, he failed his buddy and let an altercation escalate to this point ~ he's the one I'd be chatting to.

I fail to see how that manoeuvre was one of restraint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

bumper234 wrote: »
    Loved it (worked temple bar a lot and dare say we know each other) started off doing it for the money but ended up just doing it for the laugh. People think you fight every night and are shocked to realise that most nights are long, slow and boring (a good thing imo) with the odd night going tits up and having to earn the €€€

We probably did cross paths, I've worked Fitzsimmons (late 90's to 200), The Bridge Bar (2000-2003) and Darkey Kellys (2005-2009) and the place I'm in presently but I've worked outside of Templebar in Swords (The Lamb, The Star and Wrights), Leixlip (Rock-a-fellas, Ozone and Highway 66) and Hanlons on Hanlons corner so I've been a bit of a traveler over the years.

its gas what people thing.. I love it when you've just been fighting, or helped someone who has been assaulted etc etc and a punter comes to the door when its all sorted and says "I love this place, never any trouble here" :)

AdamD wrote: »
    I fail to see how that manoeuvre was one of restraint.

I really don't care.

We probably did cross paths, I've worked Fitzsimmons (late 90's to 200), The Bridge Bar (2000-2003) and Darkey Kellys (2005-2009) and the place I'm in presently but I've worked outside of Templebar in Swords (The Lamb, The Star and Wrights), Leixlip (Rock-a-fellas, Ozone and Highway 66) and Hanlons on Hanlons corner so I've been a bit of a traveler over the years.

its gas what people thing.. I love it when you've just been fighting, or helped someone who has been assaulted etc etc and a punter comes to the door when its all sorted and says "I love this place, never any trouble here" :)

Auld dub, Farringtons, All sports cafe bobs and many others even worked in the bridge (where you there with Billy, Justin, jean?) Yeah or end of the night someone says "jaysus was quiet tonight easy money huh? grand quiet night for ya" because they didn't see 20 muppets you had to turn away every hour.

even worked in the bridge (where you there with Billy, Justin, jean?)

The South African lads... We defo crossed paths, do you have any facebook contact with Justin or Jean?.. I've looked for both without success.

They were great lads, we'd the craic on that door.

Memories...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

best bit at the end "no need for that like" hahaha

The South African lads... We defo crossed paths, do you have any facebook contact with Justin or Jean?.. I've looked for both without success.

They were great lads, we'd the craic on that door.

Justin back in SA but Jean is still around i have his number somewhere i'll dig it out. You would also know Scottish Tommy as well :)

I've eddied the above post with a photo of us back in the day.. I know Tommy too, last time I seen him was TV getting the piss ripped out of him.

I can't remember the name of the show, and sort of Candid Camera on RTE.

I've eddied the above post with a photo of us back in the day.. I know Tommy too, last time I seen him was TV getting the piss ripped out of him.

I can't remember the name of the show, and sort of Candid Camera on RTE.

Yeah jake stevens show or some5hing. tommy is back in scotland now. Jaysus Chris is there too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭truebluesac

If thats you 2nd from right ya know me too i worked temple bar for years trained in total fitness and worked in swords with chuck for years

Good ol' Chuck, is he still up in The Harp?.

Last time I seen him he was looking the worse for his years on the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

:D it's nice there is a happy ending to this thread ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

Can't believe people on here defending the bouncer. The bouncers job should be to restrain - not to punish. If you are prone to losing your temper and wanting to "teach someone a lesson", then you shouldn't be a bouncer. Fair enough the guy was being a drunken idiot, but it's still no excuse for that, at the hands of a bouncer. And from the look of that video, the bouncer lashed out first. His mate was hanging about there, so why didn't he intervene and help to restrain the guy. It's almost like he knew he wanted to release some aggression so was happy to use that guy as a punch bag. Completely unprofessional on both bouncers part, and he should definitely be up for assault - just because he is wearing a uniform doesn't change that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

I wonder, if this guy had have attacked some random guy on the street and there had have been a similar beatdown applied then how different the attitude of people would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Irlandczyk

Wise up. This is exactly the type of prick that picks on the rest of us when we are out with friends or walking home alone or separated from our friends. He approached the bouncer acting like a big man and got put back in his place.

As for your comment about the guards/police - wise up, have you seen the deterrants the courts dish out. A body slam will make him think before the next time.

Wise up. He may well be that type of prick... then again he may not be. Either way, I still don't appreciate seeing him having his head split open on the ground by some overzealous brute of a bouncer. Your reply has absolutely nothing to do with the joy seen in YouTube comment sections, internet warriors and people happy to see other people badly injured.

Wise up. That bodyslam could possibly have resulted in that man not thinking ever again; be it from being left in a vegetative state, or dead. People have suffered brain damage from things a lot less severe than this, and it's a fate I wouldn't wish upon anyone.

Wise up. Much as I appreciate that you are entitled to your own opinion, it could have done without the condescension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

SV wrote: »
    I wonder, if this guy had have attacked some random guy on the street and there had have been a similar beatdown applied then how different the attitude of people would be.

That "body slam" to the pavement was the difference between appropriate restraint, and disproportionate force. The bouncers cack handed effort could've killed the guy, absolutely unnecessary, and to walk away while the guy lay on the ground like that with a "that'll teach him", complete disregard for anyone but his own ego tbh.

Czarcasm wrote: »
    That "body slam" to the pavement was the difference between appropriate restraint, and disproportionate force. The bouncers cack handed effort could've killed the guy, absolutely unnecessary, and to walk away like that with a "that'll teach him", complete disregard for anyone but his own ego tbh.

I don't disagree with you there.

I just find it funny that people would be cheering on the bouncer if he wasn't a bouncer, and just some innocent passerby that got attacked.
    People in AH seem to have some kind of thing against Bouncers.

That "body slam" to the pavement was the difference between appropriate restraint, and disproportionate force. The bouncers cack handed effort could've killed the guy, absolutely unnecessary, and to walk away while the guy lay on the ground like that with a "that'll teach him", complete disregard for anyone but his own ego tbh.

Possibly one of the most annoying things about that video is the complete lack of care given to the man by the bouncer, as you say. Even if such a manoeuvre was appropriate, not at least calling for the police or an ambulance and making sure the guy was not seriously injured or worse really pisses me off. He just walks away with that hard-man "that'll teach him" swagger. Hate that macho crap.

Edit:

I just find it funny that people would be cheering on the bouncer if he wasn't a bouncer, and just some innocent passerby that got attacked.

Personally disagree, really. If that man were not a bouncer, it would be my opinion that it was just two scummers wrestling and boxing on a drunken night out. It may even become the next "Ahh, leave ir ouu'" video...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

There was a second bouncer there, they should have tag teamed him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

exactly, the police are treating this for what it is, an asalt by a little piece of vermin who wanted to play the big man, well hopefully with a bit of look this little piece of vermin will be failing to play the big man in prison

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I have to be honest whenever these type threads come up I usually avoid them because it is indeed the same shìte talk about security staff and how they're all a bunch of this, that and the others, and I've always defended security staff because apart from one or two bad eggs with egos about themselves, the majority of security staff are professional about their job.

That's why I find some of the attitudes displayed by experienced security staff in this thread dismaying, because there's no way they should see what that hot headed thug did as justifiable, no matter the amount of provocation. Their job requires that they remain professional, not sink to the same level as the idiot. It gives the impression to the public that their mistrust of security staff is justified.

I did it for a couple of years myself, and I dealt with my fair share of patrons who couldn't behave themselves. I gave it up when this happened -

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/criminal-who-ordered-bouncers-murder-a-decade-ago-arrested-29069471.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Makikomi, if you worked in Swords you must know Chuck Norris the bouncer. Genuinely thought he was Chuck Norris when I first saw him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭20Cent

Bouncer needs to cut down on the steroids. Could have killed that guy.

20Cent wrote: »
    Bouncer needs to cut down on the steroids. Could have killed that guy.

Where is your evidence of steroid abuse?

Mentality towards steroids is "Is he bigger than me? He's bigger than me. Steroids."

Sensationalise it to make you point :rolleyes:. I have seen nothing that says his head was split open:

I never sensationalised it to make my point. I didn't read what happened to the man, the article merely says that the police were looking to get in touch with him to ascertain what condition he is in now. To me, that slam looked like it was well out of order and was potentially far worse than the reality turns out to have been.

I too am glad that man hadn't the opportunity to assault somebody else that night, it still doesn't justify an act that could potentially kill a person. Very unprofessional by the bouncers no matter how you look at it, and frankly, the Police are looking for this bouncer now, so I'd assume they agree with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭20Cent

Lifting another man in the air and smashing his head into concrete. Steroids cause rage and aggression. All those meathead guys use them.

Y'know, considering the subject matter and the amount of posts in this thread I definitely thought the silliest posts had already been posted.
    Turns out you just popped in and proved me wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

That's a good bit unfair towards people who train hard.

Plenty of people are can be fairly big without steroids.