Garda killers freed from prison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,067 ✭✭✭✭josip

We went to visit the graves of the 2 Gardai when we were in Knock on our annual trip that year. I can still remember being sad at the time that their children, some of whom would have been around my age, didn't have a daddy any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Free health care for starters
    I'll list a few for you so you understand....
    1 free food
    2 free electricity
    3 free heating
    4 free clothing
    5 free time
    6 lots and lots of activities and so on. I could list more but don't have any free time.....
    Free bumming...hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Sure we need space for people avoiding the TV licence fee for christ sake.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

there stuck in one building for decades, why is it that some people don't think that's punishement.

the men they murdered didn't get any life because of them , they are sub human scum and should be treated as that ie removed for the presence of the rest of us permanently.

Pearce McCauley, the filthy murdering cowardly sack of s&*t that executed garda Gerry McCabe only did ten and a half years. is that justice of the McCabe family or the people of limerick ? he should have been executed as should many unrepentant killers.
    the world is degrading more and more every day and we should be trying to stay ahead of the curve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

the men they murdered didn't get any life because of them , they are sub human scum and should be treated as that ie removed for the presence of the rest of us permanently.

Pearce McCauley, the filthy murdering cowardly sack of s&*t that executed garda Gerry McCabe only did ten and a half years. is that justice of the McCabe family or the people of limerick ? he should have been executed as should many unrepentant killers.
    the world is degrading more and more every day and we should be trying to stay ahead of the curve.

Pearse McCauley was only convicted of manslaughter and was probably not the person who fired the shots.
    That said I have non time for Garda Killers, but 30 years is a long time.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

30 years is a long time to spend in prison.

Think of how different the world is now compared to 30 years ago and suddenly getting out and having to adapt to all the changes even in things like roads. 30 years ago we had no motorways e.g.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Stheno wrote: »
    30 years is a long time to spend in prison.

Think of how different the world is now compared to 30 years ago and suddenly getting out and having to adapt to all the changes even in things like roads. 30 years ago we had no motorways e.g.

Jesus! And bicycle lanes too! How the fck will they cope?
    Shall we have a whip around for them & see can we help make their adjustment back a little easier?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Shall we have a whip around for them & see can we help make their adjustment back a little easier?
    Tut tut, very childish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Well, they will certainly be given a weekly cash payment (188), free accommodation and medical card and maybe a few other goodies. Not bad considering they should be left rot in a hole in the ground.

If you murder a Garda (or anyone) in complete cold blood you should never have freedom again.

He can eat steak, go to the cinema and sleep in a big comfy bed for the rest of his days and me and you and every other non Garda murdering person has the pleasure of paying for this. It actually makes me sick when you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

if whatever sentence they're given is served to the satisfaction of the authorities, then their release should be acceptable.
    they served their time, end of.
    whether they are a danger to society cannot be guessed. i'm sure many offenders leave prison and never reoffend. those that do, must take the punishment that's dished out.
    just because someone murders someone, i don't think locking them away until they die is the answer either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

There must be some deterrent to stop them pulling the trigger on a Garda etc. I don't know what that should be but in the current cases they have certainly spent over double the average time served for murder. The Government can always introduce legislation to raise the sentence to 50 years with the result that they do 40 and get remission then.

Pearse McCauley was only convicted of manslaughter and was probably not the person who fired the shots.
    That said I have non time for Garda Killers, but 30 years is a long time.

he took part in the killing . manslaughter suggests that it wasn't his intention to kill. he fired a ak47 into a car with two men in it.
    he should die in prison or be executed.
    just like these to pieces of dog dirt that the thread is about and any other person who kill un repentantly . by their own actions they proclaim they aren't part of the human race and are thus not entitled to the same human rights as everyone else.
    its an accepted factor in many cultures and countries and I always found it hard to understand why it isn't part of ours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

K-9 wrote: »
    The death penalty was abolished by referendum and the courts then treated them the same as other murderers.

Having said that, it takes a special type of scum to shoot unarmed Guards.

How is this different than shooting any other human?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

These men could be completely changed, remorseful people after three decades - I guess that would mean no opportunity to be outraged though.
    Free health care for starters
    I'll list a few for you so you understand....
    1 free food
    2 free electricity
    3 free heating
    4 free clothing
    5 free time
    6 lots and lots of activities and so on.
    But they're in prison.
    Hold on a second so your saying that's punishment for them well my heart bleeds as I can't find the smallest violin.
    No, they said if it's so wonderful why don't you join them. But you wouldn't, because you know it actually isn't wonderful in prison, despite you saying it's a holiday camp.
    Obviously these guys deserved to go to prison for a long time - nobody's disputing that.
    the world is degrading more and more every day
    No it isn't. Look up life in e.g. the 1700s.

These threads are gas for all the words put in people's mouths: "Oh my heart bleeds for them" - eh, nobody is saying that they feel sorry for them. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Nodin wrote: »
    ...they've nothing to do with Sinn Fein.

True, but pesky little details like that dont matter to those with an axe to grind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Because once they pull the trigger on a guard and they know they can get away with it, its open season on ordinary folk. hence the rise and rise of thuggery and shootings. Cops need to be feared, instead they are a laughing stock for the scum.

And as for prison being a holiday camp, come off it, its a f88king learning institution better than any college, once they graduate they are out on the streets with more street smart skills than they went in with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Oakboy

the outrage journos, firstly that see people spending time in jail somehow as no punishment at all, gilligan in jail for 13 years is no justice to them apparently, or these guys in jail for 30 years. then they ignore the point of remission, i think it pretty important that if you are going to spend decades in jail that theres an incentive to behave while they are in there.

Such horsecock. Good behaviour is what is expected. You get 40 years you do 40 years, simple as that. The "incentive" should be time added on for bad behaviour

" These men could be completely changed, remorseful people after three decades - I guess that would mean no opportunity to be outraged though"

so what? how does that help the family's of the victims . there is a point where jail isn't about rehabilitation its about society's vengeance on those who attack it. there are many people who do not deserve to have human rights and these to and many other murders are included.

"No it isn't. Look up life in e.g. the 1700s."

err correct me if im wrong but what would have happened to men who executed law keepers in the 1700s ? they would have been hung at the cross roads as a threat to others and as a comfort to those who depend on police to protect them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

John Gilligan, and two men convicted of killing Garda released from prison within 2 daysd of budget... timing anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

so what? how does that help the family's of the victims . there is a point where jail isn't about rehabilitation its about society's vengeance on those who attack it. there are many people who do not deserve to have human rights and these to and many other murders are included.
    I know, but people are saying they're still likely to pose a danger to society, whereas it might not be the case at all.
    err correct me if im wrong but what would have happened to men who executed law keepers in the 1700s ? they would have been hung at the cross roads as a threat to others and as a comfort to those who depend on police to protect them.
    But life was very brutal even to good people - it was a much more violent time.

I know, but people are saying they're still likely to pose a danger to society, whereas it might not be the case at all.

But life was very brutal even to good people - it was a much more violent time.

safer for me and for you and for every one else if we never give him the chance to pose that danger

I assume you read the news ? murder rape beatings all sorts of violent crime, there was a piece of human thrash in court today for pepper spraying a panto full of children there are regular occurrences of old folks being beaten and robbed,
    if it gets much more violent im gona have to start wearing Kevlar out to the pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I assume you read the news ? murder rape beatings all sorts of violent crime, there was a piece of human thrash in court today for pepper spraying a panto full of children there are regular occurrences of old folks being beaten and robbed,

...none of which contradicts the fact it was generally more violent in the past than it is now.
    if it gets much more violent im gona have to start wearing Kevlar out to the pub

Hysterical nonsense.

...none of which contradicts the fact it was generally more violent in the past than it is now.

Hysterical nonsense.

there was less or no firearms less people less government less to fight about

hysterical nonsense ?

today if these sacks of human waste shot at a cop at least he would be wearing a vest or is that nonsense too ? then again it wouldn't have made a difference seeing as one of the gardai was shot in the back of the head as he lay already bleeding on the ground .

there was less or no firearms less people less government less to fight about .

Yep. You're right. When there was "less Government" there was no violence. And sure how would people kill each other without pistols and rifles and the like?
    http://www.nytimes.com/1994/10/23/us/historical-study-of-homicide-and-cities-surprises-the-experts.html

today if these sacks of human waste shot at a cop at least he would be wearing a vest or is that nonsense too ? then again it wouldn't have made a difference seeing as one of the gardai was shot in the back of the head as he lay already bleeding on the ground .

What's the Gardaí got to do with you wearing Kevlar to the pub?

so are we moving slowly forward or not at all then? or are we just restricting the misdeeds of those in authority while ignoring the behaviour of every one else .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭flynnlives

These guys shot dead two unarmed Gardai and injured two more. They showed no remorse then and never have.
    They should have gotten life with no parole.

so are we moving slowly forward or not at all then?.

Obviously we are.
    or are we just restricting the misdeeds of those in authority while ignoring the behaviour of every one else .

I have no clue what that's supposed to refer to.....

Yep. You're right. When there was "less Government" there was no violence. And sure how would people kill each other without pistols and rifles and the like?
    http://www.nytimes.com/1994/10/23/us/historical-study-of-homicide-and-cities-surprises-the-experts.html

What's the Gardaí got to do with you wearing Kevlar to the pub?

so violence is an unchangeable part of human behaviour so shall we accept it and absolve all persons who use it......

sure your right theres plenty lads after getting shot in the head wearing Kevlar in pubs in Dublin isn't there,

Obviously we are.

I have no clue what that's supposed to refer to.....

replying to femme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Thought it was obvious. Do you see no distinction between shooting a civilian and an unarmed Garda?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.