Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭Revoker88

Headshot wrote: »
    I bought a xbox360 reluctantly but I really wanted to play GTA, some game but I cant ****ing bare using a console

Some money down the drain :(

Did you buy second hand? Xbox 360's going for very little on adverts now.

I have a xbox but cant justify paying €50 for a game now ive tasted pc prices:)

Ive heard the online is brilliant though if you can get on, im sure they'll have that sorted soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

EoinHef wrote: »
    Did you buy second hand? Xbox 360's going for very little on adverts now.

I have a xbox but cant justify paying €50 for a game now ive tasted pc prices:)

Ive heard the online is brilliant though if you can get on, im sure they'll have that sorted soon

Online is a lot of fun, but its so frustrating. Problem is not the game mechanics, but hardware its on. You spend 90% of the time on loading screens and disconects. It is a lot of fun when works, but it screams out for a proper PC treatment. Its like GTA online was supposed to be an PC free to play mmorpg, but then they decided to bundle that fecker in with gta 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,702 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

ya GTA loading times are ****ing ridiculous on the xbox360

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Headshot wrote: »
    ya GTA loading times are ****ing ridiculous on the xbox360

Thats why I got my tablet next to me when I play GTA online...

Agree lads, have to say its a little disappointing its not next gen. But in the interests of fairness rockstar have probably been developing that game for years, before they got word of next gen off sony or microsoft. Pity though, the scale they were aiming for is a nice stepforward, pity they have to try implement it on near 8 yr old technology!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

I have a recent build that I'm looking to slowly upgrade.

I have:

AMD A8-5600k
    Asrock FM2A75 Pro4-M
    8 Gb Rip Jaws PC3-12800U CL9
    Samsung 840 120GB
    Seagate Barracuda 2TB
    Corsair VS 350

Looking to upgrade the case. The cables keep rubbing on fans (i think) and I have to open it up and rearrange things. Cable management isn't really an option.

I'd consider an ATX (as long as the current mATX board can still be used) case with reasonable airflow (over-clocking isn't a priority in the medium term), better sound isolation and cable management. It doesn't have to offer a whole lot in terms of drive bays.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭raymix

Finding a perfect case is the biggest pain in the *** on a set budget. It also comes down to aesthetics and features like glass door, fan types and front panel USB 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Gehad_JoyRider

raymix wrote: »
    Finding a perfect case is the biggest pain in the *** on a set budget. It also comes down to aesthetics and features like glass door, fan types and front panel USB 3.0

not only that some are so frick ostentatious I like bitfenix stuff :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Agree lads, have to say its a little disappointing its not next gen. But in the interests of fairness rockstar have probably been developing that game for years, before they got word of next gen off sony or microsoft. Pity though, the scale they were aiming for is a nice stepforward, pity they have to try implement it on near 8 yr old technology!!!

I reckon they could still re-release on the new consoles. They wouldn't make an announcement too early as it would eat into current sales. Plus there'd be a bit of development. A lot of people would buy it again with the new upgrades.
    raymix wrote: »

Glass door? I don't know if I've ever seen a case with that. Link to example please? Or do you mean the side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭uberpixie

Monotype wrote: »
    Glass door? I don't know if I've ever seen a case with that. Link to example please? Or do you mean the side?

Prob means window kit....

You can get an entire case made of glass from In Win though....
    (which costs about a grand! :eek:)

http://www.inwin-style.com/pd_info.php?id=352

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardware/2013/09/04/in-win-to-launch-mirrored-glass-tou-case/1

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

BloodBath wrote: »

Nice, looks like someone's been busy cloning old Antec cases :p Said Antec case always went for 2-3 times that price, I suspect they'd be charging a lot more for it if it were on the shelf :p

Also, bear in mind its mATX and you'd have to open up all the vents if you wanted to actually game on it as all the fans are sealed away practically air-tight from the looks of it... :o

Well the front intake takes air from the side and bottom vents just behind the front panel like most silenced cases and exhausts them out the rear.

You wouldn't have to open the other vents unless you were adding fans to them. The ops build is an apu system for general use. He should be fine with the standard cooling. It's a great case for the price anyway.

Pixmania have the best price I've seen but it's not much more from other sellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭alex1997123

Should I include some screws when selling my HIS 7850? Currently in the box I have: The card itself, Crossfire bridge, Manual, Driver Disc and HIS ITurbo Disk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Should I include some screws when selling my HIS 7850? Currently in the box I have: The card itself, Crossfire bridge, Manual, Driver Disc and HIS ITurbo Disk.

I've never seen a card that comes with screws, they normally come as part of the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭alex1997123

tuxy wrote: »
    I've never seen a card that comes with screws, they normally come as part of the case.

Yeah, I was thinking that but just wanted to make sure.

Alright lads, lookin for some advice here on what to do about crossfire. I have a 7950 vapor x and have been thinkin about crossfire for awhile but have been hesitant with amd releaseing new cards.

From reading around on line the vapor x doent seem to be the best option for crossfire, the cooler is so big that the gap between the cards is tiny and overclocks seem hard to achieve because of temps with no room for the air to circulate.

After seeing the line up of new cards I dont think theres much point me looking at them, kinda be a sideways upgrade(r9 280 series anyway) so in light of the massive price drops on 7970's recently ive been thinkin would I be best off buying 2 7970's and selling the 7950? The asus one on overclockers is about the same price as the 7950 vapor x so was thinking that would represent better value? The direct cu cooler looks rather large aswell so would I be lookong at the same peoblem?

EDIT: The reason im looking at this upgrade is ive bought a Qnix ans while a single 7950 performs well in nearly everything ive thrown at it, it can maintain 60fps with a few settings set to high and no AA, im going to overclock the monitor to hopefully around 100hz and gonna need more juice for that for sure.

Also I have this psu, would it be enough to crossfire 7970's:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B008O0RUVU/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?qid=1381660755&sr=8-3&pi=AC_SX110_SY165

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭uberpixie

The asus one on overclockers is about the same price as the 7950 vapor x so was thinking that would represent better value? The direct cu cooler looks rather large aswell so would I be lookong at the same peoblem?

Yes, same problem, the ASUS card takes up x3 slots with the cooler.
    Would you consider holding on and seeing the prices for a R9-290X or see if Nvidia will drop the price on a 780?
    One card will always be less heat/noise/driver hassle....

The cheapest 7970/R9-280X I have seen so far are around the €270-280 mark, you will be spending close to €600, If I was going to blow that much I would go for a single card. If I was going dual cards I would go SLI and get Nvidia cards, they still have better driver/hardware support for dual card gaming.

PSU I would assume you would get away with, I would personally fell a bit more comfortable with a 850W, with a 750W will prob do.

EDIT: you could always try pick up a 7950 with a lower profile cooler and mout that above your VapourX card.

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/3gb-msi-radeon-hd-7970-twin-frozr-iii-oc-boost-edition-5500mhz-gddr5-28nm-gpu-1000mhz-2048-cores

Ye i would rather go with one card setup for the reasons you stated but the one card for 1440p puts me in the area of the 780/Titan and maybe the 290x if it performs similar to the 2 nvidia cards. Relistically the Titan would not be for me when a 780 offers similar performance for a lot less,in games anyway so that just leaves 2,780 and 290x(assuming its similarly priced and similar performance).

The problem with this is in the benches ive seen the 780 lags behind crossfire of say 7950's in frames per second.
    I guess my worry is i spend a whole lot of money buying a single card and find out its not enough!!

I do appreciate i would avoid the issues associated with dual card setups though drivers,heat etc etc

The reason i havent been looking at nvidia cards for sli was just the 2gb vram on the cards that would be in my price range could handicap me in newer titles,was thinking the 3gb on the amd cards would be better for 1440p.

Just saw your edit,was thinking about that aswell. Weirdly the 7950 prices seem to be sticking around the €250 mark even though 7970's can be got now for similar prices!

Thats whats making me hesitate,the fact id be paying the same for a 7950 as it would cost me to get a 7970:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Dual 7970 Platinums for £222 is disgustingly good. Those cards will laugh at 1300mhz core, which will crush a 770.

Gumbi wrote: »
    Dual 7970 Platinums for £222 is disgustingly good. Those cards will laugh at 1300mhz core, which will crush a 770.

Would those clocks be achievable on air in crossfire though? If they were id definitely be takin that route.

Also not sure if my psu would be strong enough for them, is there a big jump up in power consumption from a 7950 to a 7970?

Would those clocks be achievable on air in crossfire though? If they were id definitely be takin that route.

Also not sure if my psu would be strong enough for them, is there a big jump up in power consumption from a 7950 to a 7970?

I can't really say. If you had great airflow, then maybe. You can get 1300 plus on air, so maybe aim for 1200 in Crossfire? You can probably do that on stock as they come clocked at 1100mhz already,. You might have some more headroom on that too.

No big jump in power consumption between a 7950 and 7970. 2 7970s in CF on an overclocked Intel system will draw about 550 watts under load (I'm going off 2 7950s using 500 watts under load). So 650 watts MINIMUM with a good PSU, ideally 700 watts or higher and you should be fine. 750 watts would be ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

If they pull 550W, then a good 500W PSU will be the minimum, factoring in efficiency. (550W from the wall vs. ~480W through the PSU itself)

Well I have a corsair hx750w 80+ gold psu so should be covered there then.
    Cheers.

Last thing id be a bit worried about is spacing, is normal spacing enough for these cards? Think the cooler is rather large, ive got an asrock extreme 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I'm holding off on a Titan based build right now because I want to get a look at the R290X benchmarks and pricing. Anyone got any intel on how the R290X is shaping up?

Why would you want a Titan? Unless running many monitors a 780 is a waaaay better choice. As it stands, we honestly don't know on the 290x. It seems to be pricced very similarly to the 780, while beating it by ~10% in most games. It has 4GB of VRAM which makes it perfect for a multi-monitor setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

Yeah, in 95% of cases, the Titan is absolutely horrible value. I'd wait for the 290X at least.

The easiest and cheapest option would be to just add a second 7950. I don't think there will be any issue using them in crossfire if the case airflow is good. You could always grab a slimmer dual slot card for the top card as uber pixie said.

There's no point going from a 7950 to a 7970.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Gehad_JoyRider

Saw this one here

that any good?

edit : no itss a 280 fml

BloodBath wrote: »
    The easiest and cheapest option would be to just add a second 7950. I don't think there will be any issue using them in crossfire if the case airflow is good. You could always grab a slimmer dual slot card for the top card as uber pixie said.

There's no point going from a 7950 to a 7970.

After mulling it over for the day and checking benchmarks and what not your right really. I know you've said it a few times the difference is only 5-10% so for the extra cost not worth it.

When you see 7970's going for that money it does get tempting though:(

Speaking of getting a second card of a different brand, would a blower style fan be better for the top card? As in pumps the heat out the back insted of back into the case? Thinkin the HIS ones going for cheap on ocuk
    Im fairly positive the vapor x will be fine as the bottom card.

The voltage is 1.240 at load on the vapor x no matter what clocks I have so I reckon I may be able to undervolt it a little, it does 1150/1500 at that voltage so doubt ill get that overclock in crossfire so may be able to reduce the voltage and mildly overclock it to help with temps

Is there any issues with two different brand cards?