Current fashion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I was never one for fashion. As a kid/teen I wore sportswear most of the time, was not in any way shape or form a "girly girl". Now I wear dresses pretty much all the time. I usually wear a particular shape dress, I have lots and lots of dresses in that shape. I have been wearing the same shaped dress for years, since I figured out it was what suited my shape! So that's my lot.

Until my body shape changes or I just get too old to wear tight fitting dresses, I'm unlikely to change! Sometimes fashion fits in with what I wear, but then it goes back out again and I'm still wearing the same stuff!

Dresses are great for people who know feck all about fashion - a whole outfit in one go! No messing.

I'd be the same. Either jeans and a top or dresses but dresses most of the time. Every woman looks great in a dress!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

Jeans and a shirt mostly, I don't care about trends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Nothing is shockable anymore.

You can have any hairstyle you like now & it doesn't cause comment.

Clothes the same.

There's a fair awld mix out there now.

Gone be the days that long hair on a man was a major takling point.

Having said that, 'all liberal an' all', If I see any of my kids gettin an eejit tattoo, Ill fookin slit their idiot throats!!:mad:

Yeh. That'll learn em. That'll learn em good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I reckon if I went to work with a green mohawk it would cause shock. Not just work - anywhere.

A tad harsh.

I reckon if I went to work with a green mohawk it would cause shock. Not just work - anywhere.

I bet you'd still be able to blame it on "womans problems". :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

anncoates wrote: »
    What's really depressing is when you're old enough to realize how much current fashion is a direct facsimile of the 80s.

The stuff looked fucking bad enough 30 years ago.

I think 90's fashion is emerging again now Moreso than 80's. 80's has been big for the past few years though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I think 90's fashion is emerging again now Moreso than 80's. 80's has been big for the past few years though.

Huzzah, my check flannel shirt collection won't have people staring at me as if I have 2 heads anymore so :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Last year I got a call for a job while I was sitting in the hairdressers having my hair cut, it was a sort of semi mullet/mohawk type of thing that was highlighted blonde on top and my natural dark brown around where it had been shaved. (I had it like that way before Miley Cyrus decided it was on trend) It probably sounds mank but anyway, I used to have to get it cut regularly. The job was a bit above my station at the time as I was used to working behind the scenes and would have been required to deal with the public. I was given a 24 hour window before I had to meet my employer in person for an interview and panicked.
    I ran to the chemist and bought a semi permanent blonde and dived into it when I got home. Never felt so uncomfortable in an interview in my life with my strawberry blonde/ginger hash crop.

I got the job however and after a couple of weeks once I realised my co workers and boss were ok, I went and got the sides buzzed down to the roots again. Some of my customers loved it, my co workers said it suited me and that I shouldn't have worried so much about it. I won't be tempted to change it to accommodate the job market again anytime soon. They'll either hire me for who I am, or they won't.

(just to be clear, I was a dispensing assistant in a chemist and I worked in the area of health administration in general and I'm well into my 30's too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Jeans t shirts and hoodies are what I wear during the week and a shirt and jeans if going out.

Don't know if anyone noticed that TK MAXX ad "respect your money" but I don't think I've ever seen anyone dressed like those guys.

Looking back at old school photos where we were all wearing woolly jumpers and duffel coats and didn't know any different at the time, doubt any kid these days would be seen in the clothes we wore at that age.

Dresses are great for people who know feck all about fashion - a whole outfit in one go! No messing.
    An entire outfit? No shoes and accessories to go with? A dress is fine in summer, in winter requires a bit of thought if you don't want to suffer the cold, so that might be a pair of leggings or tights and mmmm..what shoes will I wear with these. Will I bother with the cardigan? maybe a sweater.. no..no..I'll just wear the long jacket and if I'm indoors I'll just bear the heat with it on.
    But wait, the neck is exposed, a scarf might do..but which one works best with this colour?! Damn it, I'll just wear a little tee underneath and that nice shiney necklace will pick up where there's nothing else exposed.

I have one dress and it's not really a dress, it's a suit and jacket without legs and I only wear it when duty calls. Jeans are everyones friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

You know you're not as young as you used to be when you think 'I wonder how comfortable these are' before trying on a new item of clothing.

You know you're comfortable in your old age when you think, "I can just push these saggy bits about" before trying on clothes.

Why cant we all just go back to jeans and t-shirts ?

The first thing I do of a morning. No word of a lie. Is I look down and ask "im a covered".

And that pretty much sums up my fashion sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'd like a return to the old days (30s, 40s in particular) when women dressed classy not slutty and men wore suits and trilbys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Pretty much dress like Larry David,if Larry David did his clothes shopping in charity shops.

Polish lads get all the good stuff though,crafty beggars!

pharmaton wrote: »
    An entire outfit? No shoes and accessories to go with? A dress is fine in summer, in winter requires a bit of thought if you don't want to suffer the cold, so that might be a pair of leggings or tights and mmmm..what shoes will I wear with these. Will I bother with the cardigan? maybe a sweater.. no..no..I'll just wear the long jacket and if I'm indoors I'll just bear the heat with it on.
    But wait, the neck is exposed, a scarf might do..but which one works best with this colour?! Damn it, I'll just wear a little tee underneath and that nice shiney necklace will pick up where there's nothing else exposed.

I have one dress and it's not really a dress, it's a suit and jacket without legs and I only wear it when duty calls. Jeans are everyones friend.

Oh I don't accessorise :pac:

If I wear jeans I need to find a top to go with them and shoes are more difficult with jeans for me. Just way more thought is needed for jeans.

I wear a lot of the same dresses in summer and in winter, but in winter I wear tights and a long sleeve black top/body suit under them. I've had the same pair of boots for years that I get heeled and toed and that's what I wear in winter or I also have a pair of ugg biker boots which I wear if I want to be in flats. One summer I bought a pair of really really pretty sandals in Clarks but they were a kind of a bronze colour so for about two years I only bought dresses to go with them because they were comfy and I didn't want to think much about wearing something else. Then I found a pair of them online in silver and so I could buy different coloured dresses again! That was a very exciting time :pac:

Yeh dresses are much much easier for me than jeans. As well as anything, I find dresses make me look curvy, where jeans just make me look fat. I've a tiny waste but hips and boobs so it's hard to get jeans to fit properly :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Been wearing jeans, black t-shirts/sweatshirts/hoodies, steel toe boots & leather jackets since the 70's, still have the same Mascot leather motorcycle jacket.

The only thing that's changed is my waist-line & my hair/beard has gone grey :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

I'd like a return to the old days (30s, 40s in particular) when women dressed classy not slutty and men wore suits and trilbys.

I like classic fashion myself. Think Audrey Hepburn or Lucille Ball type of clothing.

Yes, I would love if everyone went around looking like that. I've just been listening to Dean Martin maybe that's why :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I don't particularly like current fashion, for anything halfway decent that'll actually suit me, I either have to buy my clothes in London, or somewhere expensive like All Saints. though finding a pretty awesome All Saints dress for cheap in TK maxx is fantastic :D

personally, I'd hate 30's or 40's style.. some of my friends can pull it off and suits them, but definitely not for me! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

You don't really have a choice but to be somewhat "fashionable" when that's all that's in the shops.

I started wearing skinny jeans only cos I couldn't buy anything else.

I like them now, though.

Thats the worst about these trends, once they catch on they take up the bulk of the stuff on sale. Which is great if you're into it but its getting harder and harder to find regular stuff I'd be used to. Even online you search "jeans" and you'll get 20 pages of pretty boy twigs modelling every color of skin tight chino under the sun before you get to anything remotely wearable for an average person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

In the fashion industry they call this layering. I think. The gist of it is to wear all of the clothes at the same time

Like this?

Oh I don't accessorise :pac:

If I wear jeans I need to find a top to go with them and shoes are more difficult with jeans for me. Just way more thought is needed for jeans.

I wear a lot of the same dresses in summer and in winter, but in winter I wear tights and a long sleeve black top/body suit under them. I've had the same pair of boots for years that I get heeled and toed and that's what I wear in winter or I also have a pair of ugg biker boots which I wear if I want to be in flats. One summer I bought a pair of really really pretty sandals in Clarks but they were a kind of a bronze colour so for about two years I only bought dresses to go with them because they were comfy and I didn't want to think much about wearing something else. Then I found a pair of them online in silver and so I could buy different coloured dresses again! That was a very exciting time :pac:

Yeh dresses are much much easier for me than jeans. As well as anything, I find dresses make me look curvy, where jeans just make me look fat. I've a tiny waste but hips and boobs so it's hard to get jeans to fit properly :/
    I don't doubt they look great and are very flattering on you but for me it's just not practical, even sandals while comfy and walkable in are out unless it summer because I don't drive and have to walk everywhere means I wear flats all the time. I also can't walk in heels, I have an emergency pair of slingbacks when the suit comes out and a pair of ankle boots with a step heel that get dusted off occasionally but that's about it. I lived in cons for years but wear a comfy pair sketchers when doing most of the mundane stuff.

The younger loves her dresses and skirts and she's got the hang of looking well down, it's just that every morning it takes her an hour to do the dressing part even with clothes picked out the night before so if we've got to get somewhere fast and she hasn't at least and hours notice we just won't make it! I can be showered and dressed and ready to go in 30. I pulls my hair out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I thank the lord every day that I'm a dude and don't have to worry at all about what I wear. Shopping for men's clothes is so easy!

Thats the worst about these trends, once they catch on they take up the bulk of the stuff on sale. Which is great if you're into it but its getting harder and harder to find regular stuff I'd be used to. Even online you search "jeans" and you'll get 20 pages of pretty boy twigs modelling every color of skin tight chino under the sun before you get to anything remotely wearable for an average person.

Yeah. I sometimes go into the lad's section of shops or pass through it and the clothes are usually that metrosexual hipster look. If you're into that style, you're fairly fooked.

I thank the lord every day that I'm a dude and don't have to worry at all about what I wear. Shopping for men's clothes is so easy!

It's not exactly a worry for most women either, tbh. I just get on with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I won't be tempted to change it to accommodate the job market again anytime soon. They'll either hire me for who I am, or they won't.
    Well that would be the ideal but it's not the reality. You were lucky with that employer or maybe your hair wasn't as OTT to them as you thought it might be.
    I wouldn't be keeping my hair blue or green just to make a point to a prospective employer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Wear suits.

Only suits.

Even to bed.

Well that would be the ideal but it's not the reality. You were lucky with that employer or maybe your hair wasn't as OTT to them as you thought it might be.
    I wouldn't be keeping my hair blue or green just to make a point to a prospective employer.

blue or green hair wouldn't suit my eye colour though so it's not one I'd choose to wear personally. The other way does so it happens to work for me. I also found that I was more inclined to get work when my hair was slightly "different" than when it was just a regular crop job of one solid colour. I've a few theories on why that might be though but ultimately it was seen as a positive, which is why I wouldn't be inclined to chop and change to suit someone elses ideals. (people see you as more outgoing, fun loving, possible risk taker, stand out from the crowd kind of individual and adventurous, courageous but over all friendly and down to earth, all a plus for my most recent employers) Put it this way, they'll either love it or hate it but they won't forget it.