Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Current fashion.

• 11-10-2013 9:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭

I was never a very fashion conscious person but I'm lost with the current trends. Turned up jeans, skinny multi colored jeans and christmas lookin jumpers with fully buttoned shirt underneath, every woman I see is wearing skin tight leggings that leaves nothing but the color of the unnoticeable thong to the imagination. Sounds good in theory but it didnt seem to stop with nice arses and what has been seen cant be unseen :(

Why cant we all just go back to jeans and t-shirts ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

I've taken the giant leap from jeans and t-shirts to jeans t-shirts and woolly jumpers. baby steps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Jeans, t shirts and cons is what I wear most days, cant bate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

What's really depressing is when you're old enough to realize how much current fashion is a direct facsimile of the 80s.

The stuff looked fucking bad enough 30 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Jimmy Kimmel pretty much summed up fashion (be it the runway or fashion trends for me)

And yes, the best response has to be the dude with green hair and the black girl. What a douchebag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

I feel like a 12 year old version of myself, or a boy when I wear jeans and tshirts :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

I'm so glad I've always been a fashion reject!

It means not trying to fit in with the fugly clothes everywhere at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

An oul pair of Wranglers and a check shirt sure, not out of place when bailing or out on the town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

pharmaton wrote: »
    I've taken the giant leap from jeans and t-shirts to jeans t-shirts and woolly jumpers. baby steps.

I'm still fighting the urge to wear old man jumpers. But a spell of cold weather could be my undoing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,680 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I know nowt about fashion and do not keep up with any trends but I happened to see a young guy in a boy band on the XFactor last week, wearing (from memory) a tropical type shirt, shorts with socks and brown leather shoes.

If thats how the young 'uns dress, I'm glad I'm old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

The older I get the higher the waistband, my kishka knows no bounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Is it just my impression or are there a lot of guys in their 20s dressing and quaffing their hair like Justin Bieber? Creeps me out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

humbert wrote: »
    Is it just my impression or are there a lot of guys in their 20s dressing and quaffing their hair like Justin Bieber? Creeps me out.

Most popular hair do I can see is shaved sides and neatly combed over on top. The old short back and sides with spiked fringe seems to be a 30+ thing now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

anncoates wrote: »
    What's really depressing is when you're old enough to realize how much current fashion is a direct facsimile of the 80s.

Eh, sorry to make you feel even older but the Grunge look is well and truly in. Was wandering around Zara yesterday and saw all the same clothes I wore at that age (gypsy skirts, lumberjack shirts, red and black stripey jumpers, t-shirts with Nirvana on them, slip dresses with long cardigans over them, hairy coats, Doc Martiny-looking shoes).

I felt well fooking old I tell ye.

I'm still fighting the urge to wear old man jumpers. But a spell of cold weather could be my undoing.
    oversized, overwashed and over a t-shirt, that's my motto.
    In the fashion industry they call this layering. I think. The gist of it is to wear all of the clothes at the same time, I approve of this approach as I tend to like being warm when I get dressed.

(a soft grey jumper is my favourite kind of comfort)

I don't keep up with fashion, jean and tee-shirts all the way for me, however my niece was telling me that A and F is our and Pink by Victoria's secret is in.

Surely all clothing adheres to some fashion. There is a lady in my hometown that makes her own clothes from carpet pieces. She wears trousers that some fancy fecker designer would cream their pantaloons to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

You know you're not as young as you used to be when you think 'I wonder how comfortable these are' before trying on a new item of clothing.

Surely all clothing adheres to some fashion.

This.

Even if you were to look at a picture of somebody in jeans, t-shirt and trainers from any time in the last 50 years, you'd pretty much guess the decade.

Unless you consciously source original retro clothes, you are a'ways part of a broader sweep of history than you ever realize.

Even when I see photos of myself as a teenager now, despite thinking I was really alternative and distinctive and really trying to look alternative, you'd put me in the 80s in an instant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

Surely all clothing adheres to some fashion. There is a lady in my hometown that makes her own clothes from carpet pieces. She wears trousers that some fancy fecker designer would cream their pantaloons to.

Brings a whole new meaning to carpet burn! Sounds painful. :eek:

Mince Pie wrote: »
    Brings a whole new meaning to carpet burn! Sounds painful. :eek:

Bizarre as it is she is a happy lady.

You don't really have a choice but to be somewhat "fashionable" when that's all that's in the shops.

I started wearing skinny jeans only cos I couldn't buy anything else.

I like them now, though.

Has to be shag joke in there somewhere....

Eh, sorry to make you feel even older but the Grunge look is well and truly in. Was wandering around Zara yesterday and saw all the same clothes I wore at that age (gypsy skirts, lumberjack shirts, red and black stripey jumpers, t-shirts with Nirvana on them, slip dresses with long cardigans over them, hairy coats, Doc Martiny-looking shoes).

I felt well fooking old I tell ye.

Weirdly enough, I always detested that look back in the day for guys as in I wouldn't ever wear it myself but I always thought it suited women and looked OK.

Has to be shag joke in there somewhere....

Shag pile would be the last thought in your head if you saw this lady.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Imagine how easy life is for women in Saudi Arabia in terms of fashion ( I know they are second class citizens eg they cant vote, drive, go anywhere without a male sponsor etc). But when they wake up in the morning they have the choice of a black abaya or a black abaya.

Bill maher nails it in this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rgUT5HAT8JI

I was never one for fashion. As a kid/teen I wore sportswear most of the time, was not in any way shape or form a "girly girl". Now I wear dresses pretty much all the time. I usually wear a particular shape dress, I have lots and lots of dresses in that shape. I have been wearing the same shaped dress for years, since I figured out it was what suited my shape! So that's my lot.

Until my body shape changes or I just get too old to wear tight fitting dresses, I'm unlikely to change! Sometimes fashion fits in with what I wear, but then it goes back out again and I'm still wearing the same stuff!

Dresses are great for people who know feck all about fashion - a whole outfit in one go! No messing.

I was never one for fashion. As a kid/teen I wore sportswear most of the time, was not in any way shape or form a "girly girl". Now I wear dresses pretty much all the time. I usually wear a particular shape dress, I have lots and lots of dresses in that shape. I have been wearing the same shaped dress for years, since I figured out it was what suited my shape! So that's my lot.

Until my body shape changes or I just get too old to wear tight fitting dresses, I'm unlikely to change! Sometimes fashion fits in with what I wear, but then it goes back out again and I'm still wearing the same stuff!

Dresses are great for people who know feck all about fashion - a whole outfit in one go! No messing.

I got as far as the second sentence and thought Mel C?

I feel the same about my grizzly bear onesies.

I got as far as the second sentence and thought Mel C?

I wanted to be baby spice by the time I was 16 though :P
    (Still do :o)
    I feel the same about my grizzly bear onesies.

Onesies are awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Most popular hair do I can see is shaved sides and neatly combed over on top. The old short back and sides with spiked fringe seems to be a 30+ thing now.
    Yes, this. But meticulously styled and groomed and with skinny jeans. They almost look photoshopped in real life.

I'd be the same. Either jeans and a top or dresses but dresses most of the time. Every woman looks great in a dress!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

Jeans and a shirt mostly, I don't care about trends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Nothing is shockable anymore.

You can have any hairstyle you like now & it doesn't cause comment.

Clothes the same.

There's a fair awld mix out there now.

Gone be the days that long hair on a man was a major takling point.

Having said that, 'all liberal an' all', If I see any of my kids gettin an eejit tattoo, Ill fookin slit their idiot throats!!:mad:

Yeh. That'll learn em. That'll learn em good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I reckon if I went to work with a green mohawk it would cause shock. Not just work - anywhere.

A tad harsh.

I reckon if I went to work with a green mohawk it would cause shock. Not just work - anywhere.

I bet you'd still be able to blame it on "womans problems". :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I think 90's fashion is emerging again now Moreso than 80's. 80's has been big for the past few years though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I think 90's fashion is emerging again now Moreso than 80's. 80's has been big for the past few years though.

Huzzah, my check flannel shirt collection won't have people staring at me as if I have 2 heads anymore so :pac:

Last year I got a call for a job while I was sitting in the hairdressers having my hair cut, it was a sort of semi mullet/mohawk type of thing that was highlighted blonde on top and my natural dark brown around where it had been shaved. (I had it like that way before Miley Cyrus decided it was on trend) It probably sounds mank but anyway, I used to have to get it cut regularly. The job was a bit above my station at the time as I was used to working behind the scenes and would have been required to deal with the public. I was given a 24 hour window before I had to meet my employer in person for an interview and panicked.
    I ran to the chemist and bought a semi permanent blonde and dived into it when I got home. Never felt so uncomfortable in an interview in my life with my strawberry blonde/ginger hash crop.

I got the job however and after a couple of weeks once I realised my co workers and boss were ok, I went and got the sides buzzed down to the roots again. Some of my customers loved it, my co workers said it suited me and that I shouldn't have worried so much about it. I won't be tempted to change it to accommodate the job market again anytime soon. They'll either hire me for who I am, or they won't.

(just to be clear, I was a dispensing assistant in a chemist and I worked in the area of health administration in general and I'm well into my 30's too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Jeans t shirts and hoodies are what I wear during the week and a shirt and jeans if going out.

Don't know if anyone noticed that TK MAXX ad "respect your money" but I don't think I've ever seen anyone dressed like those guys.

Looking back at old school photos where we were all wearing woolly jumpers and duffel coats and didn't know any different at the time, doubt any kid these days would be seen in the clothes we wore at that age.

An entire outfit? No shoes and accessories to go with? A dress is fine in summer, in winter requires a bit of thought if you don't want to suffer the cold, so that might be a pair of leggings or tights and mmmm..what shoes will I wear with these. Will I bother with the cardigan? maybe a sweater.. no..no..I'll just wear the long jacket and if I'm indoors I'll just bear the heat with it on.
    But wait, the neck is exposed, a scarf might do..but which one works best with this colour?! Damn it, I'll just wear a little tee underneath and that nice shiney necklace will pick up where there's nothing else exposed.

I have one dress and it's not really a dress, it's a suit and jacket without legs and I only wear it when duty calls. Jeans are everyones friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

You know you're not as young as you used to be when you think 'I wonder how comfortable these are' before trying on a new item of clothing.

You know you're comfortable in your old age when you think, "I can just push these saggy bits about" before trying on clothes.

The first thing I do of a morning. No word of a lie. Is I look down and ask "im a covered".

And that pretty much sums up my fashion sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'd like a return to the old days (30s, 40s in particular) when women dressed classy not slutty and men wore suits and trilbys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Pretty much dress like Larry David,if Larry David did his clothes shopping in charity shops.

Polish lads get all the good stuff though,crafty beggars!

pharmaton wrote: »
    An entire outfit? No shoes and accessories to go with? A dress is fine in summer, in winter requires a bit of thought if you don't want to suffer the cold, so that might be a pair of leggings or tights and mmmm..what shoes will I wear with these. Will I bother with the cardigan? maybe a sweater.. no..no..I'll just wear the long jacket and if I'm indoors I'll just bear the heat with it on.
    But wait, the neck is exposed, a scarf might do..but which one works best with this colour?! Damn it, I'll just wear a little tee underneath and that nice shiney necklace will pick up where there's nothing else exposed.

I have one dress and it's not really a dress, it's a suit and jacket without legs and I only wear it when duty calls. Jeans are everyones friend.

Oh I don't accessorise :pac:

If I wear jeans I need to find a top to go with them and shoes are more difficult with jeans for me. Just way more thought is needed for jeans.

I wear a lot of the same dresses in summer and in winter, but in winter I wear tights and a long sleeve black top/body suit under them. I've had the same pair of boots for years that I get heeled and toed and that's what I wear in winter or I also have a pair of ugg biker boots which I wear if I want to be in flats. One summer I bought a pair of really really pretty sandals in Clarks but they were a kind of a bronze colour so for about two years I only bought dresses to go with them because they were comfy and I didn't want to think much about wearing something else. Then I found a pair of them online in silver and so I could buy different coloured dresses again! That was a very exciting time :pac:

Yeh dresses are much much easier for me than jeans. As well as anything, I find dresses make me look curvy, where jeans just make me look fat. I've a tiny waste but hips and boobs so it's hard to get jeans to fit properly :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Been wearing jeans, black t-shirts/sweatshirts/hoodies, steel toe boots & leather jackets since the 70's, still have the same Mascot leather motorcycle jacket.

The only thing that's changed is my waist-line & my hair/beard has gone grey :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

I'd like a return to the old days (30s, 40s in particular) when women dressed classy not slutty and men wore suits and trilbys.

I like classic fashion myself. Think Audrey Hepburn or Lucille Ball type of clothing.

Yes, I would love if everyone went around looking like that. I've just been listening to Dean Martin maybe that's why :pac: