Just wonder if anyone cares anymore....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 988 ✭✭✭deadeye187

krudler wrote: »
    I live near the Regional hospital in Limerick, see it every time I pass it. There's no smoking on the grounds so everyone goes out to the wall near the roundabout and lights up. Best one ever was a fat guy with an oxygen tank beside him smoking, saw him when I was going in for an x-ray once, fcking moron.

Jesus the amount of people outside there sometimes is shocking!.....

Not that I really care but loads of pregnant women always smoking outside at the lights!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Last time I checked we paid the same per capita for the HSE as the NHS. We're not far paying enough.

I am tired of the low tax bad service excuse. I am paying 52% tax marginal on a moderate enough income. It's actually blaming the victims. If you say people are not paying enough tax then the 80 y/o on the trolley is partly responsible even though he worked all his life and aid up to 65% in the 80's. You see, that wasn't enough.

We also doubled or tripled spending in the boom on health. The problem is the people running the HSE and not just the minister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Everyone wants world class services but nobody wants to pay.

I can't understand why we don't just look at another similarly sized country/population and clone it.

We pay a fortune for our health services. Our health budget is huge in relative terms.

The problem is that the back office administration is completely overstaffed and overpaid, its a bureaucratic mess. For the HSE to function, lots of people with zero value add roles need to be fired and the salary savings redirected to front line services. Its as simple as that.
    You would not believe the dossing and absenteeism that goes on in the HSE. Unbelievable stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Gaillimh1976

Stheno wrote: »
    THere is fundamental reform needed in our HSE.

I believe its partly due to unions, partly due to an unwillingness to change

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Gaillimh1976

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    This makes me sad.

Anyone care to re-write the above with someone who comes in with the same problems ... Except this time has a VHI card in her hand?

Sadly it makes no difference. My dad was amublanced in, has full medical insurance (the obscenely expensive type) and was still left on a trolley for over 20 hours

Ended up in ICU for several weeks due to mis-diagnosis, but that's a whole other thread which i might get around to once he recovers fully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭laserlad2010

That bit about GP's, giving an IV anything, made me laugh...I have been to my GP many many times for things that they could have easily treated...they have become too accustomed to easily passing the book onto the hospitals I think

You , may disagree but the standard of GP in ireland is a lot better than NZ. All it takes is some funding. The younger GPs would jump at the chance to do IVs... obviously started in hospital but there are loads of infections that could be managed as an outoatient.

The problem is that noone is willig to risk a loss for a few years to get long term return. And whilst closing a major hosptal is bad news politicallt and for healthcare, closing a vital mental health facility does not have the same highly visible backlash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I was in the arse of Thailand, on an island called Koh Lanta, which has tourist resorts along the coast but local Thai people living throughout the rest of the island. I was out on a scooter for the day with my girlfriend and lost control on a steep incline, the front of the bike kicked up in the air and she came off the rear, landing on her back.

She was in a lot of pain and naturally I was terrified that I had broken her back. Loads of locals stopped to help but naturally they didn't speak any English so I just made sure nobody moved her while some of them pulled out their phones and eventually help arrived in the form of a rather scruffy local ambulance. They took her into the back and headed off to hospital on the other side of the island, but there was no room for me.

I took the scooter back to our accommodation, and the father of the owner gave me a lift to the hospital. It was about 40 minutes since she had gotten into the ambulance by the time I arrived at this rather meager looking, though not quite dilapidated hospital on the other side of the island. Fearing the worst, I rushed inside to find that, in that 40 minutes, she had already been seen by a doctor, had an X-Ray, got the results back and was in the process of being prescribed drugs.

She was fine, thanks God, it was just muscle inflammation and nothing that a couple of days of pain and anti-inflammatories wouldn't solve.

40 minutes, at a cost of 40 euros for an ambulance, X-Ray and drugs. The health service on an island in Thailand was better, by quite a long way, than ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭kevmy85

Never understood this either.

It's like we're a nation of artists. We admire other nations' great works, but we couldn't possibly just trace and copy. No, we have to do it 'our way' and be original about it. Why???

Why can we not just look at the swedish or spanish or dutch models and say RIGHT that works, everyone stop what you're doing, this is the plan from now on? Maybe this is naive, I genuinely don't understand why this is not possible.

This government is apparently going to copy the Dutch model. You can pick any number of models. Implementing them competently is another matter.
    We spent out health fund bailing out the banks and the euro debt. We had the money and the finiances to put something good into place, we wasted it.
    Last time I checked we paid the same per capita for the HSE as the NHS. We're not far paying enough.
    I think the health fund that could have made a difference was blown in Charlie McGreevy's budgets. Giveaways for a popular vote rather than investing in a reliable health system. It was too late by the time the banks went bust.

True. It would have been so much easier to fire/get rid off/pay off the useless suits that laserlad2010 describes during the good times. The time for reform should always be during the good times. Funnily enough it's the time least reform ever happens. We just threw money at the issue. Another of the many reasons why FF/PDs should truly be ashamed of themselves.

To implement new systems would cost more for a few years and after that costs would decrease to current levels with a much better functioning system. We were giving more than enough money to the health service to sort it out from 03-08 but there was never any reform done.
    Stheno wrote: »
    THere is fundamental reform needed in our HSE.

Why is it that many years after the Health Boards were abolished, we still have localised "boards/regions" rather than centralised administration of the systems?

Why is it that we have no end to end system in place so that once I go for an x ray, my doctor gets emailed the analysi.s via a patient management system?

I believe its partly due to unions, partly due to an unwillingness to change, and sheer inefficiency.

I still remember the HR manager in the HSE and their infamous comment about there being a couple of thousand too many staff in HR.

Wtf type of organisation full stop needs a couple of thousand HR staff? I doubt even IBM or HP or the likes have that?

Agreed. If you look at the level of service being supplied currently is it better, worse or the same than it was 5 years ago? I reckon its about the same. With about a third less of a budget. This showed the huge inefficiencies in the system. I think we really do have the best opportunity that we will ever have to fix the system over the next 5 - 10 years. I hope its grasped.

While I'm not sure I have the confidence in James Reilly to do it I have more confidence in him than I had in Brian Cowen or Micheal Martin who just wanted to get in and out without doing anything or getting any blame. Purely driven by personal political ambition. James Reilly has the brief he got into politics for, he knows he'll never be Taoiseach or leader of FG. The only way he gets to have a good legacy is to reform and fix the health service, or at the very least, institute it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 121 ✭✭Mark Twain

Too many people working in the health service that have no business being there. Need more medical professionals and less admins and suits. And need less of the beards from the unions going on about 'der woorkin class members' while contributing to this fiasco.

Whole thing is riddled with vested interests, deliberate inefficiencies and knowledge silos.

It never suits a bureaucrat to make sweeping changes to a bureaucracy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

For every consultant in the NHS, they have 3 admin/hr/finance staff, for every consultant in the HSE, we have 6.2 admin/hr/finance staff.

Its pretty clear, we need a major clearout of these parasites but they are heavily protected under contracts our thick ****ing useless governments have signed us up to.

I really despair at the level of governance in this country sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

€120 billion to run the NHS population 63.7 million

€13 billion to run the HSE population 4.5 million

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

€120 billion to run the NHS population 63.7 million

€13 billion to run the HSE population 4.5 million

Are you sure that's correct? I was under the understanding it was closer to 17-18 billion currently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Jarrod

I recently worked on a ward in an acute hospital in Dublin where over 20% of the patients were deemed 'medically fit for discharge'. Other than dispensing medications, nothing was being done for these patients and there was absolutely no need for them to be in an acute hospital. They were all waiting for nursing home beds or for Home Care packages to be put in place.

Another interesting phenomenon I've noticed in hospitals here is patients who are admitted with 'Acopia'. Essentially, families can't look after their relative anymore so they end up in A+E. Don't get me wrong, I'm not having a go at these relatives, I'm sure most people don't take that decision lightly but it's not the place for someone who isn't ill.

As Laserlad pointed out, the cost of having someone in a hospital bed is many multiples of a NH bed, yet shortsightedness results in people just being left waiting in hospitals they don't need to be in.

OP, hope your father in law gets well soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I think the 2 tier system is a big part of the problem. If you can pay you get seen very quickly, ie I'm waiting almost 2 years for an MRI as a public patient, my Dad, on the other hand, who has private medical insurance seems to be referred for 1 every time he sees his consultant. Usually when he sees his consultant he'll get a phone call the same day to give him the time and date for his MRI.

Also it's time for the government to get realistic, wealthy pensioners should not be getting free anything. Anyone applying for a social welfare benefit or medical card or travel pass is subject to a means test. Pensioners are given free travel and medical card as well as a state pension regardless of how much they have in savings. Frankly if they have a large private pension and or are wealthy enough to pay for themselves they should be paying for themselves. But given the power of the grey vote I won't be expecting that kind of realism from any government any time soon:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

bureaucracy

bureaucracy

bureaucracy

bureaucracy

bureaucracy

bureaucracy

bureaucracy

It's at a HSE near you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

Its not that much different in the north.

I was up there over the summer and developed a rather large kidney stone. I was given a panadol and told to wait for 6 hours. I passed out with the pain and dropped to the floor out cold. I was given a wheel chair and waited another 2 hours before being admitted for 7 days.

I think governments everywhere are just as bad with running A&E departments.

The staff really do care. They are just run badly and understaffed . (from what I see)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

You answered your own question.

You dont pay a fiver in Finalnd to be treated in A&E - you pay a hell of a lot more in taxes, but you mention this to the Irish taxpayer...? Nah!

Unfortauntely, necessities like mortgages and second cars are more important than the luxaries like health it would seem.
    A country like Finland has a functioning public transport system, this country doesn't. Bad planning due to FF handing the country over to their cowboy friends means a huge commute for thousands. ie 2 cars.
    I lived in Denmark, a country also with very high taxes but you could see what you were getting for your taxes as it wasn't a dysfunctional country like Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    What also is happening is people on medical cards clogging up A&E after the pubs close for some silly reason like a graze from falling whilst drunk .
    People would be seen quicker if people used some cop on before going to A&E and not be going there for some trivial reason just because they are on the medical card.

If it'd trivial, people should be charged the EXACT cost for A&E, the bed, the nurse, the doc etc

If you called for an ambulance and didn't need it, Charge again.

People going to emergencies when a local doc appt would have been suitable. (We all know someone who does this).
    They should be charged.

__
    But on thread, there's only two ways to get better health care, increase tax that goes straight to health care, (because in all fairness what we pay atm to it, gets spent in treatment VERY quickly) or increase private hospitals and clinics.
    I know many people who don't have VHI, not because they can't afford it, but because, currently, in many areas, there's no point to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭mountai

I think the 2 tier system is a big part of the problem. If you can pay you get seen very quickly, ie I'm waiting almost 2 years for an MRI as a public patient, my Dad, on the other hand, who has private medical insurance seems to be referred for 1 every time he sees his consultant. Usually when he sees his consultant he'll get a phone call the same day to give him the time and date for his MRI.

Also it's time for the government to get realistic, wealthy pensioners should not be getting free anything. Anyone applying for a social welfare benefit or medical card or travel pass is subject to a means test. Pensioners are given free travel and medical card as well as a state pension regardless of how much they have in savings. Frankly if they have a large private pension and or are wealthy enough to pay for themselves they should be paying for themselves. But given the power of the grey vote I won't be expecting that kind of realism from any government any time soon:mad:

Yeah lets take everything from the pensioners. The fact that they contributed a huge portion of their earnings (56% not too long ago) should count for nothing. Why dont you look to the real cause of the problem. Its well documented that the Health system is a joke in this country. Too many "Suits" on inflated salaries. Consultants on contracts that are 50% higher than the Germans. Whinging Nurses, who deem emptying bed pans "Beneath them". Doctors , who cant even bother to wash their hands, spreading further infections. God be with the good old days , when "Matron" would make these idiots piss in their pants with a scowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I think the 2 tier system is a big part of the problem. If you can pay you get seen very quickly, ie I'm waiting almost 2 years for an MRI as a public patient, my Dad, on the other hand, who has private medical insurance seems to be referred for 1 every time he sees his consultant. Usually when he sees his consultant he'll get a phone call the same:

Do you bug them?
    I mean called them weekly/daily. Make it out that it's bad you and you NEED to have the cause found?

I've been seen within a few months on med.card. I nag my doctor, I nag the hospital. Works well.
    If they feel it's not that big a deal, they'll keep pushing you back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 305 ✭✭Jimminy Mc Fukhead

Is a trolley a bed on wheels. Or is it like a shopping trolley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

You dont pay a fiver in Finalnd to be treated in A&E - you pay a hell of a lot more in taxes, but you mention this to the Irish taxpayer...? Nah!

While I agree with you and myself would gladly pay higher taxes for better services like health, the problem with that model is not just that a lot of people are selfish but they are used to a model where taxes are misused or squandered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Fukhead wrote:

The former.

We spent out health fund bailing out the banks and the euro debt. We had the money and the finiances to put something good into place, we wasted it.

I would be of the opinion that we spent the money bailing out the banks so that we could borrow 20billion per annum to fund our health service, amongst other things. Unless you're trying to say that our health service pre-2008 was perfect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Look at the front of every hospital.
    CUH - no smokers.
    Mercy Hospital Cork - no smokers.
    This is Ireland it happens.
    "Nobody who is not unwell is going to get a hospital bed" and that's the best you can do? Come on, man - you gotta back stuff up instead of throwing out kneejerk sh1t.

There is a shortage of hospital beds because there aren't enough for all the unwell people, not because people who aren't ill are getting them for the craic.

Like another poster says, IMO it would appear the problem is largely caused by the HSE administration mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Jarrod

CUH - no smokers.
    Mercy Hospital Cork - no smokers.

"Nobody who is not unwell is going to get a hospital bed" and that's the best you can do? Come on, man - you gotta back stuff up instead of throwing out kneejerk sh1t.

There is a shortage of hospital beds because there aren't enough for all the unwell people, not because people who aren't ill are getting them for the craic.

Like another poster says, IMO it would appear the problem is largely caused by the HSE administration mess.

See my previous post for examples of people in hospital beds who don't need to be. 'Acopia' does not require a hospital bed and yet I've seen patients admitted with 'Acopia' as a diagnosis. I'll admit it's not an everyday occurence but it does happen.

Also, there are large numbers of people in hospital beds that don't need them but that's not to say they didn't at one time need them. Discharging patients from hospitals can be a very, very long process in Irish hospitals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

mountai wrote: »
    Yeah lets take everything from the pensioners. The fact that they contributed a huge portion of their earnings (56% not too long ago) should count for nothing. Why dont you look to the real cause of the problem. Its well documented that the Health system is a joke in this country. Too many "Suits" on inflated salaries. Consultants on contracts that are 50% higher than the Germans. Whinging Nurses, who deem emptying bed pans "Beneath them". Doctors , who cant even bother to wash their hands, spreading further infections. God be with the good old days , when "Matron" would make these idiots piss in their pants with a scowl.
    I said WEALTHY pensioners. Frankly I don't care how much they contributed, if they're wealthy and can afford to pay their own way they should do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭mountai

I said WEALTHY pensioners. Frankly I don't care how much they contributed, if they're wealthy and can afford to pay their own way they should do so.

"Wealthy" pensioners can, and do, use the private system. Why not address the REAL cause , as outlined further down in my post.??? And you WILL care , should the day come, when a bandit government , decide to raid YOUR savings, provided of course you have any!!!!!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,946 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

It's a narrow bed on wheels.

Not as comfortable as a bed either, as I found out during my 48hour stay on one recently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 moe_duffy

Red Pepper wrote: »
    We pay a fortune for our health services. Our health budget is huge in relative terms.

The problem is that the back office administration is completely overstaffed and overpaid, its a bureaucratic mess. For the HSE to function, lots of people with zero value add roles need to be fired and the salary savings redirected to front line services. Its as simple as that.
    You would not believe the dossing and absenteeism that goes on in the HSE. Unbelievable stuff.

health professionals are also paid a hell of a lot more than in other European countries of equal wealth to us , nurses ( excluding those nurses who joined in the past five years ) , consultants and especially GP,s and don't say GP,s are private sector , they are completely sheltered from competition , their fees have not come down at all in the past six years because their is not enough of them out there , numbers practicing are capped though they deny this

their needs to be huge reforms , for example , GP,s in many European countries and Australia , perform X rays in their surgerys , gp,s in Ireland do little more than arrange further examantions at hospitals and handing out prescriptions , their expensed bar paying staff ( which all business has ) spread to little beyond buying lousy magazines for the waiting room once every five years , force GP,s to carry ouT more and it will remove the clog from ER