Cab using ebay to sell proceeds of crime

• 08-10-2013 10:47PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭

The Criminal Assets Bureau is auctioning a watch on eBay.

The Ladies Rolex was seized last year from a Limerick crime figure - who bought it for his partner as a gift.

CAB said that it is treating the sale as an experiment - and if its successful it could be the first of many such auctions.

Bidding for the watch starts at €6,000 - and all proceeds will go to the Department of Finance.

The seller's name is 'Proceedsofcrimeact1996' and it currently has no feedback.

news link

Ebay link

So Whats next for sale on ebay?? ESB, BORD GAIS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Cab? Surely you mean the cab driver???

Btw, we call them taxis around here buddy, you're in Ireland now . :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Shame they didn't put it on adverts......Offer €1 can collect tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Anyone feel it would be patriotic to run the bidding as high as possible :)

vickers209 wrote: »
    The Criminal Assets Bureau is auctioning a watch on eBay.

The Ladies Rolex was seized last year from a Limerick crime figure - who bought it for his partner as a gift.

CAB said that it is treating the sale as an experiment - and if its successful it could be the first of many such auctions.

Bidding for the watch starts at €6,000 - and all proceeds will go to the Department of Finance.

The seller's name is 'Proceedsofcrimeact1996' and it currently has no feedback.

Wouldnt it be nice if a Homeless Charity, or A Victim Support group got some money from these type of sale's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭ShaneMc2012

If it works I have to say its a good idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Typical govt rip-off. It's worth 2k, max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Has to go on adverts...

Swap for anything in my ads.

Offer €25 can collect tomorrow.

How much to post to gorey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I offer a packet of Tayto and can collect today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Nice watch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

mfceiling wrote: »
    Has to go on adverts...

Swap for anything in my ads.

Offer €25 can collect tomorrow.

How much to post to gorey.

Pretty much sums up why I gave up attempting to sell anything on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

If they raise any money it goes to the DoF? Give it to someone who feckin needs and will values the money

homeless shelters could provide a lot of extra meals with 6grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Overpriced piece of shite. We have traveller neighbours who fixed up an old farmhouse and turned it into.. well... you'd have to see it.
    They got f#ckin massive waterford crystal chandeliers hanging from the (low) ceiling, (with price tags still attached) big crystal vases on the mantelpiece, nine 46" tv screens throughout the place, massive kitchen tiled with marble floor tiles, (and piles of clothes everywhere), two life sized bronze statues, and they have a f#ckin CANNON on the lawn, (heaps of scrap in the yard also).
    I bet they would love a ladies Rolex watch, because people who want a Rolex watch have more money than sense, or taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Taking the piss? €6k watch on e-bay? Whos idea was that?

Jayzus wept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Will be great when they start selling cars on Donedeal.

"Bit of blood staining in the boot but otherwise mint".

hansfrei wrote: »
    Taking the piss? €6k watch on e-bay? Whos idea was that?

Jayzus wept.
    You'd be amazed, people sell 20k watches on ebay. Just in this case, it's overpriced. It's not worth that, my missus told me, and she is a bit of a gen on stuff like that. It's what she deals in. :)

Johro wrote: »
    Overpriced piece of shite. We have traveller neighbours who fixed up an old farmhouse and turned it into.. well... you'd have to see it.
    They got f#ckin massive waterford crystal chandeliers hanging from the (low) ceiling, (with price tags still attached)

Price tags still attached :) Hilarious

wazky wrote: »
    Will be great when they start selling cars on Donedeal.

"Bit of blood staining in the boot but otherwise mint".

and in my head as i read that, your name was wakzy. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

That's optimistic. The ad would actually be infested with illiterate c×nts offering to swap a clapped out Gakaxy S3 for it.

anncoates wrote: »
    That's optimistic. The ad would actually be infested with illiterate c×nts offering to swap a clapped out Gakaxy S3 for it.
    And then the cab would forget they listed it and never reply..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Surely the next item auctioned by CAB should be Fianna Fail. I mean how many times throughout there history have they soldout themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭In Exile

6k starting price for a watch. And the cheap f*ckers still add on a 30 quid postage charge

In Exile wrote: »
    6k starting price for a watch. And the cheap f*ckers still add on a 30 quid postage charge
    It's at 6100.00. My efforts to talk it down aren't working... shyte...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

In Exile wrote: »

Here's one at over a million and they want €15 postage.

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/President-FRANKLIN-DELANO-ROOSEVELTs-Personal-18K-Gold-Repeater-Pocket-Watch-/281119447763?pt=Pocket_Watches&hash=item4174065ad3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Going up, 6800...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

7100 now

I hear there is free penalty points with every purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭WeHaveToGoBack

Is it safe to assume this is mainly all people taking the piss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It's a trick. Say someone buys it for 10k they will then have Revenue chasing after them to find out where the 10k came from. They're all a shower of cu nts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I thought ebay had died a bit at this stage, just large shops and the likes selling on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

kowloon wrote: »
    I thought ebay had died a bit at this stage, just large shops and the likes selling on it.

There are still individual sellers but not as many as years ago but yeah it's been ruined by resellers who buy bulk rap from Asia and sell it on over here. Searching takes forever as you need to keep refining the search to whittle out the resellers.