Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cab using ebay to sell proceeds of crime

• 08-10-2013 9:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭

The Criminal Assets Bureau is auctioning a watch on eBay.

The Ladies Rolex was seized last year from a Limerick crime figure - who bought it for his partner as a gift.

CAB said that it is treating the sale as an experiment - and if its successful it could be the first of many such auctions.

Bidding for the watch starts at €6,000 - and all proceeds will go to the Department of Finance.

The seller's name is 'Proceedsofcrimeact1996' and it currently has no feedback.

news link

Ebay link

So Whats next for sale on ebay?? ESB, BORD GAIS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Cab? Surely you mean the cab driver???

Btw, we call them taxis around here buddy, you're in Ireland now . :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Shame they didn't put it on adverts......Offer €1 can collect tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Anyone feel it would be patriotic to run the bidding as high as possible :)

vickers209 wrote: »

The Ladies Rolex was seized last year from a Limerick crime figure - who bought it for his partner as a gift.

CAB said that it is treating the sale as an experiment - and if its successful it could be the first of many such auctions.

Bidding for the watch starts at €6,000 - and all proceeds will go to the Department of Finance.

Wouldnt it be nice if a Homeless Charity, or A Victim Support group got some money from these type of sale's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭ShaneMc2012

If it works I have to say its a good idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Typical govt rip-off. It's worth 2k, max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Has to go on adverts...

Swap for anything in my ads.

Offer €25 can collect tomorrow.

How much to post to gorey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,588 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I offer a packet of Tayto and can collect today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,028 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Nice watch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

mfceiling wrote: »
    Has to go on adverts...

Swap for anything in my ads.

Offer €25 can collect tomorrow.

How much to post to gorey.

Pretty much sums up why I gave up attempting to sell anything on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

If they raise any money it goes to the DoF? Give it to someone who feckin needs and will values the money

homeless shelters could provide a lot of extra meals with 6grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Overpriced piece of shite. We have traveller neighbours who fixed up an old farmhouse and turned it into.. well... you'd have to see it.
    They got f#ckin massive waterford crystal chandeliers hanging from the (low) ceiling, (with price tags still attached) big crystal vases on the mantelpiece, nine 46" tv screens throughout the place, massive kitchen tiled with marble floor tiles, (and piles of clothes everywhere), two life sized bronze statues, and they have a f#ckin CANNON on the lawn, (heaps of scrap in the yard also).
    I bet they would love a ladies Rolex watch, because people who want a Rolex watch have more money than sense, or taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Taking the piss? €6k watch on e-bay? Whos idea was that?

Jayzus wept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Will be great when they start selling cars on Donedeal.

"Bit of blood staining in the boot but otherwise mint".

hansfrei wrote: »
    Taking the piss? €6k watch on e-bay? Whos idea was that?

Jayzus wept.
    You'd be amazed, people sell 20k watches on ebay. Just in this case, it's overpriced. It's not worth that, my missus told me, and she is a bit of a gen on stuff like that. It's what she deals in. :)

Johro wrote: »
    Overpriced piece of shite. We have traveller neighbours who fixed up an old farmhouse and turned it into.. well... you'd have to see it.
    They got f#ckin massive waterford crystal chandeliers hanging from the (low) ceiling, (with price tags still attached)

Price tags still attached :) Hilarious

wazky wrote: »
    Will be great when they start selling cars on Donedeal.

"Bit of blood staining in the boot but otherwise mint".

and in my head as i read that, your name was wakzy. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

That's optimistic. The ad would actually be infested with illiterate c×nts offering to swap a clapped out Gakaxy S3 for it.

anncoates wrote: »
    That's optimistic. The ad would actually be infested with illiterate c×nts offering to swap a clapped out Gakaxy S3 for it.
    And then the cab would forget they listed it and never reply..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Surely the next item auctioned by CAB should be Fianna Fail. I mean how many times throughout there history have they soldout themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭In Exile

6k starting price for a watch. And the cheap f*ckers still add on a 30 quid postage charge

In Exile wrote: »
    6k starting price for a watch. And the cheap f*ckers still add on a 30 quid postage charge
    It's at 6100.00. My efforts to talk it down aren't working... shyte...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

In Exile wrote: »

Here's one at over a million and they want €15 postage.

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/President-FRANKLIN-DELANO-ROOSEVELTs-Personal-18K-Gold-Repeater-Pocket-Watch-/281119447763?pt=Pocket_Watches&hash=item4174065ad3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Going up, 6800...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

7100 now

I hear there is free penalty points with every purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭WeHaveToGoBack

Is it safe to assume this is mainly all people taking the piss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It's a trick. Say someone buys it for 10k they will then have Revenue chasing after them to find out where the 10k came from. They're all a shower of cu nts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I thought ebay had died a bit at this stage, just large shops and the likes selling on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

kowloon wrote: »
    I thought ebay had died a bit at this stage, just large shops and the likes selling on it.

There are still individual sellers but not as many as years ago but yeah it's been ruined by resellers who buy bulk rap from Asia and sell it on over here. Searching takes forever as you need to keep refining the search to whittle out the resellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Jake1 wrote: »
    Wouldnt it be nice if a Homeless Charity, or A Victim Support group got some money from these type of sale's.

no, it wouldn't. the CAB and/or Revenue should be doing this a lot more as a tertiatry income stream.

I hope they consider it successful and continue to do it with everything siezed that's not otherwise used.

It says you cannot return the item. Does that not contravene some consumer trading law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

I find eBay is useless and extra-ordinarily time consuming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

news link

Ebay link

So Whats next for sale on ebay?? ESB, BORD GAIS

Ah wont even bother bidding, whoever they confiscated it from will be out in a couple of days, and they'll just buy it back...... And so it goes on and on and on and on blah blah blah:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

An Interesting Idea.

May reduce the debt in the country... eventually...

Either that or the watch sits in the confiscated room.

Good Idea for once. Hope it works out well.

It says you cannot return the item. Does that not contravene some consumer trading law?

Nope. This would count as a private sale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

not a single picture of the actual watch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭GorillaRising

*No swaps*.

Swap ya a pair of Beats headphones. Mint condition. 6 months old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Nothing says romance like the thought of presenting your OH with a watch purchased on eBay which was confiscated from a murdering, drug dealing gang from Limerick.....

And nothing will say scorn like the look on her face when she finds out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Nothing says romance like the thought of presenting your OH with a watch purchased on eBay which was confiscated from a murdering, drug dealing gang from Limerick.....

And nothing will say scorn like the look on her face when she finds out.
    Especially if it's already engraved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Dangel4x4

They can put in whatever disclaimers they want - doesn't mean they're legal or enforceable.
    Nemeses wrote: »
    Nope. This would count as a private sale.

How so? Why is proceedsofcrimeact1996 registered as a business seller on eBay if that's the case?
    We are unable to offer “Buy it Now” options on any of our items unless stated

This should read: "We are unable to offer “Buy it Now” options on any of our items as we do not wish buyers to be able to return items as is their right under Distance Selling Regulations."

The government should stick to selling stuff the old-fashioned way using a carbon-based life-form (an auctioneer to you and me) as it's clear once again they're at least 20 years behind the curve when it comes to the online world.

Didn't spot it was a business account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Dangel4x4

Nemeses wrote: »
    Didn't spot it was a business account.

So to correct your original "nope", if the item turned out to be faulty or otherwise not as described a consumer would have protection under the Sale of Goods and Supply of Services Act, 1980 and possibly the Consumer Protection Act 2007. The seller's "no returns" policy wouldn't hold much water.

In any event, if I was in the market for a used Rolex from an ebay seller with no feedback history, I'd ensure I paid using a credit card (or through Paypal using credit card funding). At least then, in the event of the watch being a dud or a fake, I could get my credit card company to do a chargeback on the seller or Paypal :eek:

http://www.consumerhelp.ie/chargeback

https://www.paypal.com/ie/webapps/mpp/security/sell-chargebackfaq ----> "Please note that certain laws and credit card issuer policies provide that buyers may have chargeback rights for merchandise that is not delivered or is defective, even if your policy indicates that all sales are final and that you do not allow returns."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

A bit of a back story would make it a more interesting auction.

This could be a great way for criminals to launder some money :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

The ebay link seems to be gone now, I assume the watch was sold ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

The ebay link seems to be gone now, I assume the watch was sold ?

Nope still for sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭vickers209

Just had a look at the bidding history someone put a bid in for €24000:eek: but retracted the bid then
    Bid retraction and cancellation history
    Bidder Action Date of bid and retraction
    Member Id: y***a ( 0 ) Cancelled: EUR 7,200.00
    Bid:09-Oct-13 00:36:50 BST
    Cancelled: 09-Oct-13 01:37:43 BST

Member Id: n***r ( 21Feedback score is 10 to 49) Retracted: EUR 24,000.00
    Bid:09-Oct-13 19:40:29 BST
    Retracted: 09-Oct-13 19:42:19 BST

How much would the watch be worth new?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

How could you buy from that seller - They have no positive feedback .

Remember if something sounds too good to be true ......................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,028 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Just had a look at the bidding history someone put a bid in for €24000:eek: but retracted the bid then

How much would the watch be worth new?

I'm sure I read/heard somewhere that it was bought new for €9000.