Are we in danger of becoming the biggest dry sh*tes in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Agricola wrote: »
    No problem with people having fun. As long as they do so in a safe and orderly manner consistent with best practice. ;)

You're not clenching, I can tell!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Canadian LCBOs (the only places that are allowed operate as off-licences) have to close at 6pm on Sundays, 9pm other days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Yeah, what were they thinking banning smoking. Sure whats wrong with making non smokers and kids inhale fumes for a few hours in a public place! Never did anyone any harm!

Ah Id leave flat racing alone but yeah ban the grand national and others like it. We really should be able to enjoy ourselves without having to watch horses be put down on front of us.
    I like boxing but Id consider mandatory headgear for professionals. Pro rugby should bring in some form of height, weight restrictions and change scrummaging rules to make the game safer, hurling is probably ok. Probably.

Nothing like a run around a leafy suburb. Good clean harmless fun. The nanny state (done right) is a force for good. People need to be protected from their own astonishing stupidity, even if they don't like it.
    I object to anyone interfering with my astonishing stupidity. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

humanji wrote: »
    I thought those were festivals that were sponsored by drinks companies?

They would be sponsored in the same way that Diageo sponsors Arthurs day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

ruthloss wrote: »
    Yeah, what were they thinking banning smoking. Sure whats wrong with making non smokers and kids inhale fumes for a few hours in a public place! Never did anyone any harm!

Ah Id leave flat racing alone but yeah ban the grand national and others like it. We really should be able to enjoy ourselves without having to watch horses be put down on front of us.
    I like boxing but Id consider mandatory headgear for professionals. Pro rugby should bring in some form of height, weight restrictions and change scrummaging rules to make the game safer, hurling is probably ok. Probably.

Nothing like a run around a leafy suburb. Good clean harmless fun. The nanny state (done right) is a force for good. People need to be protected from their own astonishing stupidity, even if they don't like it.
    I object to anyone interfering with my astonishing stupidity. :rolleyes:

Objection noted but over ruled, due to your astonishing stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

ruthloss wrote: »

Objection noted but over ruled, due to your astonishing stupidity.

Baa Dum Tish!!!!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

A lot of those things you mention are hardly exciting. When I see someone throwing a cigarette butt out of their car window I don't think "he must be the life and soul of the party".

Ireland has gotten more disgusting looking since the smoking ban. Hordes of people standing around outside pubs flicking cigarette butts onto the ground. There's a pub here where someone just sweeps the cigarette butts into the road. There are hundreds of them against the path. I think the smoking ban should have been done the opposite way around; ban smoking outside but let people smoke in pubs to their hearts content. Either that or just ban it completely.

Also I would be in favour of banning any 'sport' that relies on using animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

wilson10 wrote: »
    And what about the carbon tax.
    Is the money raised spent on reducing our carbon footprint and if so how?

Yeah, but we are the biggest polluting country in the world, well thats what i read on some government survey, so we have to do something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

No we are not. Biggest dry ****es in the world...severe overreaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Yeah, but we are the biggest polluting country in the world, well thats what i read on some government survey, so we have to do something.

I would LOVE to see that backed up with some figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Alright. Which illiterate braying ass in the Gummint came up with that one?? :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

wexie wrote: »
    I would LOVE to see that backed up with some figures

no, no, no, just believe me:

1.Ireland
    2.American
    3.China

and so on and so forth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Chinese government survey was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Friend Computer

jester77 wrote: »
    Ireland has it backways.

Here in Germany the bars can stay open all night, you can get a 6 pack of beer for in the shop at any time for under €3, you can smoke in the bars, they have vending machines on nearly every street corner selling cigarettes and a pack costs less than €5.

And you know what.... the country is not falling apart or full of raging red eyed alcoholics. Last time I looked, Germany was actually doing ok for itself.

It's time Ireland followed the approach of the Mutterland.

Do people drink responsibly in Germany because the bars are open all night or are the bars open all night because people can drink responsibly?

I'd say it's the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Theres no German translation for "few cans, be grand"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭schmanga

why do you think there are such restrictions in ireland surrounding alcohol? do you think stereotypes come from thin air? if we cannot be left to manage ourselves then we must be constricted in case we harm ourselves or others......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Do people drink responsibly in Germany because the bars are open all night or are the bars open all night because people can drink responsibly?

I'd say it's the latter.

It's totally different here, you can go out and do stuff you need to do during the day, come home in the evening, head out for dinner around 10 and hit the bars after. All in the knowledge that you are not under time constraints or pressure. This is not possible in Ireland and people end up throwing down too much drink in too short of a time due to the early closing time.

If there were no time constraints in Ireland then peoples drinking habits would change.

jester77 wrote: »
    If there were no time constraints in Ireland then peoples drinking habits would change.

Not necessarily always for the better though.**

**Even so, agree with your point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Finton90 wrote: »
    With talks about Ireland introducing a sugar tax, do you think that we are going a bit far with this whole nanny state crap. The following sums us up really.

Ridiculously early closing times for pubs.
    Trying to ban drinks advertising in sports.
    Plain packaged fags
    Talks about trying to ban people from smoking in their own private cars (absolute rubbish)
    can't buy drink in a shop after 10 o'clock (why I'm an adult for feck sake)
    Not to forget we invented the the original smoking ban.

Whats next ban bookies and horse and greyhound racing because there cruel to animals. oh and ban boxing and rugby and hurling because there a bit rough and barbaric and actually lets just ban the craic altogether and all go to work by day and for a run around the leafy suburbs or the gym in evenings like good little citizens.

Everything in moderation I say.:)

Don't move to Saudi Arabia so, all that stuff is illegal there. The Department for the Prevention of Vice and Promotion of Virtue would be after you right quick.

Or try Myanmar, 15 years in jail for having a modem without a licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Ireland used to be fun.

Now with my in your face Irish surname, I won't get asked if I like to party and do I have 8 brothers and sisters, but am I a puritanical repressed goodie two shoes descended from infantilising prudes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Careful...the PC brigade are watching.......

Now with my in your face Irish surname

Fontaine ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

wexie wrote: »
    Fontaine ?

Oh yes I use my real name on the Internet. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

That's a french as fuck surname!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Finton90 wrote: »
    With talks about Ireland introducing a sugar tax, do you think that we are going a bit far with this whole nanny state crap. The following sums us up really.

Ridiculously early closing times for pubs.
    Trying to ban drinks advertising in sports.
    Plain packaged fags
    Talks about trying to ban people from smoking in their own private cars (absolute rubbish)
    can't buy drink in a shop after 10 o'clock (why I'm an adult for feck sake)
    Not to forget we invented the the original smoking ban.

Whats next ban bookies and horse and greyhound racing because there cruel to animals.

OP, are you a heavy drinker, smoker and gambler?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

GrumPy wrote: »

I hope he is, sounds fun :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Sadly, this seems to reflect the will of the average Irishman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Finton90

GrumPy wrote: »

AS I explained in a previous post im not. well not yet anyway:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

ColeTrain wrote: »
    I agree OP, I'd like to see less intervention from the state but it ain't happening. The older conservatives are well organised in this country. If they're not ringing Joe Duffy then they are circling wagons at the local tidy town meeting.
    Give it twenty years and we might see some change.

Im sure someone said that 20 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Smokers. The biggest bunch of whingers ever.

Boo-hoo, I have to smoke outside.

They used to be outlaws, cool kids, heroes. Now they're just babies.

Bah!