Ever lived abroad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

Lived in Dubai for a year and a bit.. Twas great but getting a little messy when I left getting a bit too Europeanised. And while it is fantastic and great for making money it is a bit of a shock when you come back and realise tisnt all sunshine and lollipops..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Spent a year between Thailand and Australia and had a fantastic time, but ultimately was happy to come home. I still love travelling and seeing new places and cultures, but I don't think I'd settle down anywhere other than Ireland. For all its flaws, it's home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

jimgoose wrote: »
    Aye, and so say all of us. Those Rastas can go an' sh!te, but - their spoo has way too much fleem.

And they eat it fresh, the animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Lived in a town in The Netherlands for a few months. Crap food, odd but friendly people, great transport system and a very... comfortable place, though that could have been just the town I lived in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

I've lived in some right backwards shítholes.

Indonesia, Nigeria, Ireland...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I love these threads were everyone can bang on about how wonderful and worldly they are!

I did a fair bit of banging on when I was a broad so I did. Jaysus I was a real goer! ;)

Lived in London for a year, didn't like it at all and couldn't wait to move back. Have no desire to live anywhere but Ireland again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Bungarra

Three years now... I miss my family! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I love these threads were everyone can bang on about how wonderful and worldly they are!

Sure thing, Brazil / NZ.

But...every 6 minutes a person emigrates, so it's hardly something of an anomaly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

WindSock wrote: »
    Sure thing, Brazil / NZ.

But...every 6 minutes a person emigrates, so it's hardly something of an anomaly.

is that like when Bono clicks his fingers? :confused:

Muise... wrote: »
    is that like when Bono clicks his fingers? :confused:

No no, I think a child dies when he gets the clap or something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Sure thing, Brazil / NZ.

I'm actually named after a bikini brand :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Eileen Down

I've been living abroad for the last eight years and have not been back to Ireland for almost four years to the day. My friend said to me recently; "Hey James Joyce, go fecking home !".

I'm actually named after a bikini brand :(

Oh as if conservative Catholic Brazilians and Proddie Kiwis would even wear bikinis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

You'd think that lad would give each country a bit longer, I mean he'd hardly get a flavour of the place in six minutes, barely out of the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Kind of, I commuted to London for 6 months back in 2008/2009, flying back every weekend to see the missus and kids.

Would have moved the family over there if I could have but circumstances prevent it.

MadsL wrote: »
    You'd think that lad would give each country a bit longer, I mean he'd hardly get a flavour of the place in six minutes, barely out of the airport.

I blame the country's swinging-door policy :mad:
    The chap must have gotten stuck in it or something. Probably built by those no good Irish during the boom years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Lived in Australia for 8 months. Didn't like it so came home and love the country even more than I did leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I lived in Amsterdam for a couple of years, dunno why i ever came back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I lived in Amsterdam for a couple of years, dunno why i ever came back.

I am living in Amsterdam now, don't know why I ever left Ireland.

I have been an expat since I was three, and I have never felt as out of place as I do here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

London for from 1999-2004.

Far too busy a city for my liking,much better looking women though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I lived in Canada and the UK. 3 years out of Ireland in all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Two years in NZ. Made some really lovely friends whom I still talk to, and really miss. Loved NZ, I was in a smallish town though (think Bray) so no bright lights of Auckland for me. It's very similar to Ireland in ways, but there are enough cultural/lifestyle/food differences so that you know you're 'out furrin' , but not so different that it's a complete culture shock. Loved Milo!!

Been to Australia on holidays/passing through to NZ as I have family there, and while it's a fantastic country in many ways, I found it a bit too hot for me. I honestly don't think I could manage it long term, as I'm as pale as can be and not a fan of the sun bating down on me.

Also did the obligatory J1 in The Shtates many moons ago. The first time I ever tasted Ben and Jerry's ice cream. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I've lived in Qatar for the past 14 months. It's hot. Lived in the UK for two years for university too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Lived between Kuwait and Iraq for almost two years. Worked for the Americans and lived on their bases.

Best time of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Lad Of Banter

Where in NZ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Germany for 3 years and greece for a year.
    loved it :D

I will be kicking my kids out the door to get traveling as soon as they are old enough ( or have enough cop on !! )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Ten years in england and now almost twenty in USA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

1 year in canada, 4 in the UK, 1 in the US and 4 months in france. Never tempted to stay in any of them, like it here too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

England, Germany, Israel, Switzerland, Malta.