Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever lived abroad?

• 07-10-2013 1:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭

& if you did, how did you find it?

I did the mandatory year of drinking in Australia before coming home then doing a two year stint in New Zealand, which I absolutley loved. Still ask myself to this day, wtf was I thinking to come back?

You?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

I've lived in Cork for 4 years.
    Does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Does that count?

Yes. Hope you got your shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Lad Of Banter

Does that count?
    depends where you're from, is Cork considered abroad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Rosier

Living abroad now.. in Ireland..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I was in Santa Ponsa for four nights once.

So, no, never been abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Does that count?

Extradited?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

i have heard its full of foreigners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,596 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I live abroad 2-3 times a year for a period of 1-2 weeks each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

I lived and worked in India for a year. The weather was stinkin hot*, the chilli-spiked food tried to burn me from the inside out and the water half killed me with its various pathogens. Good times!

* To put it in context, it was 47 degrees celcius the day I left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Am currently living as a broad, abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Philm_12

I went out with abroad - does that count?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

Spent a couple of months studying the religions of Central and Near-Eastern Asia. Wonderful to live amongst the natives and see how their beliefs and traditions emerged from the embers of even more ancient religions such as Zoroastrianism. Even a debate on the gnostic traditions that Bahá'í accepts as being moralistically valid have had a profound influence on my spiritualism.

Travel really does broaden the mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Only in little stints of less than a year. One cold morning I tuned the radio to RTÉ 1 and listened to the weather forecast. I got a peculiar sense that I had sunk underwater and could never surface again. Might have been homesickness, which is weird, because one look at the horizon here and I get wanderlust.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Been living in London the past 14 years, retiring in Japan within the next 14 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

i lived up in belfast for some time, but i didnt get on with the locals because they didnt like my fleg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

Already living abroad. Wouldn't move back as the education, health, public transport, environmental, job market, cost of living is much better here. Not to mention my missus!

I do miss Lyons, Barry's and the odd bag of Tayto though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Lived in Germany for 8 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I lived as a broad for a year in the 90's.

I was just out of college, I was experimenting.

It was fun at the time but I probably wouldn't go back to it. I found the tights very itchy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I love these threads were everyone can bang on about how wonderful and worldly they are!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I love these threads were everyone can bang on about how wonderful and worldly they are!

To counter that, there's still plenty who have lived abroad and not had their minds broadened...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I have lived in Canada the U.S illegally for a while and Australia. Ireland is still my favorite tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Spent a year in the US travelling around. Then spent 8 years working in Dubai, only came back as we had our first born out there and believed Dubai was not the place to bring up a child. Very settled here now and kids love it but once they go to college we are gone again, somewhere new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

I was abroad in the back field the other evening, didn't like it. wet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Was born and raised in Malaysia for 11 years before I moved to Ireland - been living in Ireland for hell of a lot longer since! :pac:

I might end up moving again to the US or Germany eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Have spent 13-14 years living abroad.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

& if you did, how did you find it?

I did the mandatory year of drinking in Australia before coming home then doing a two year stint in New Zealand, which I absolutley loved. Still ask myself to this day, wtf was I thinking to come back?

You?

Yeah, I also ask myself why the hell you came back??? I mean Ireland is grand and all, but...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Two and a half years in Belfast if that counts, not getting into that debate!

Currently in the middle of a year long stint in Belgium.

It's grand but I'm a bit of a home bird.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Spent a couple of months studying the religions of Central and Near-Eastern Asia. Wonderful to live amongst the natives and see how their beliefs and traditions emerged from the embers of even more ancient religions such as Zoroastrianism. Even a debate on the gnostic traditions that Bahá'í accepts as being moralistically valid have had a profound influence on my spiritualism.

Travel really does broaden the mind.

Aye, and so say all of us. Those Rastas can go an' sh!te, but - their spoo has way too much fleem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Would have liked to gone further afield to live for an extended period of time. I spent 2 summers in Germany followed by an Erasmus year, which I loved - it was just after reunification, so enjoyed being part of the history that was developing at the time.

Lived in the UK for 5 years when I graduated - Shropshire (which was miserable) and London (which I loved and met my wife there).

Oink wrote: »
    Yeah, I also ask myself why the hell you came back??? I mean Ireland is grand and all, but...?

NZ is so isolated and socially it's the most boring country I've ever been to, so I wouldn't blame him. They're like the strict Scottish Presbyterians of the Southern Hemisphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Lived in Dubai for a year and a bit.. Twas great but getting a little messy when I left getting a bit too Europeanised. And while it is fantastic and great for making money it is a bit of a shock when you come back and realise tisnt all sunshine and lollipops..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Spent a year between Thailand and Australia and had a fantastic time, but ultimately was happy to come home. I still love travelling and seeing new places and cultures, but I don't think I'd settle down anywhere other than Ireland. For all its flaws, it's home.

jimgoose wrote: »
    Aye, and so say all of us. Those Rastas can go an' sh!te, but - their spoo has way too much fleem.

And they eat it fresh, the animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Lived in a town in The Netherlands for a few months. Crap food, odd but friendly people, great transport system and a very... comfortable place, though that could have been just the town I lived in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

I've lived in some right backwards shítholes.

Indonesia, Nigeria, Ireland...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I did a fair bit of banging on when I was a broad so I did. Jaysus I was a real goer! ;)

Lived in London for a year, didn't like it at all and couldn't wait to move back. Have no desire to live anywhere but Ireland again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Bungarra

Three years now... I miss my family! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Sure thing, Brazil / NZ.

But...every 6 minutes a person emigrates, so it's hardly something of an anomaly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

WindSock wrote: »
    Sure thing, Brazil / NZ.

But...every 6 minutes a person emigrates, so it's hardly something of an anomaly.

is that like when Bono clicks his fingers? :confused:

Muise... wrote: »
    is that like when Bono clicks his fingers? :confused:

No no, I think a child dies when he gets the clap or something.

Sure thing, Brazil / NZ.

I'm actually named after a bikini brand :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Eileen Down

I've been living abroad for the last eight years and have not been back to Ireland for almost four years to the day. My friend said to me recently; "Hey James Joyce, go fecking home !".

I'm actually named after a bikini brand :(

Oh as if conservative Catholic Brazilians and Proddie Kiwis would even wear bikinis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

You'd think that lad would give each country a bit longer, I mean he'd hardly get a flavour of the place in six minutes, barely out of the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Kind of, I commuted to London for 6 months back in 2008/2009, flying back every weekend to see the missus and kids.

Would have moved the family over there if I could have but circumstances prevent it.

MadsL wrote: »
    You'd think that lad would give each country a bit longer, I mean he'd hardly get a flavour of the place in six minutes, barely out of the airport.

I blame the country's swinging-door policy :mad:
    The chap must have gotten stuck in it or something. Probably built by those no good Irish during the boom years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Lived in Australia for 8 months. Didn't like it so came home and love the country even more than I did leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I lived in Amsterdam for a couple of years, dunno why i ever came back.

I am living in Amsterdam now, don't know why I ever left Ireland.

I have been an expat since I was three, and I have never felt as out of place as I do here.