Does anyone actually watch TV any more?

• 06-10-2013 04:01PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

I don't think I know anyone under the age of 50 that actually watches the telly any more. The options here aren't that great anyway, are they any different anywhere I suppose, we have RTE, saorview, Sky where half the channels are just repeats of the other half, with adverts every five minutes, which you pay a monthly fee to watch, and so on.

Most of the news I get from the internet, movies shows and entertainment are for the most part free and legally available online, most music even you can queue up a youtube playlist, maybe watching a match down the pub involves broadcast telly but that's it. A good collection of DVDs is better by far than most nights on the box.

So I say, the TV is dead! Long live the internet. And DVDs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

You have feck all friends op, if none of them under 50 watch tv.
    Don't know why some people get on their high horse about television. Most of the boxsets they illegally download were originally made for broadcast on it.
    What would you watch op, that hasn't already been shown on tv?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭chargerman

I use the internet quite a bit and find it great but use the TV more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I have younger-ish co-workers who watch sporting events on the TV.

But mostly it's all Netflix, DVDs, and other streaming media/downloads. I work in techy sort of job though, so I know there is some sample bias going on.

But yes - OP - you are 100% correct and the government realizes it too. Hence, we ditching the 'TV license' and will get charged a household 'media' fee.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

The best bit about the household fee is they said we must clearly be watching rte online, so we all have to be charged ha.

I never watch tv, don't have one but yes op most people still watch tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭OU812

Haven't watched terrestrial tv in over two years. Download everything & watch it on my timetable, not theirs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Spent a good year without it pretty much last year, youngster was away with college and it was something that we would do together in the evenings and as she wasn't there didn't bother for the most part. She's back home for the time being and one of the most enjoyable parts of the evening is sitting down after the day is done and catching something on the box before bed. It's almost a sociable thing now which is weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Don't know what alternate universe you live in OP. Most people still watch TV. Ever hear of freesat? I know a few 20 something students who watch online but apart from an odd iPlayer viewing of a missed programme it's TV all the way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

Why would anyone want to watch the ****e thats usually on TV ? If there's anything I really want to see ill stream it or download it. Without having to sit through 15 minutes of ads per hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

What would you watch op, that hasn't already been shown on tv?
    Well let me turn that on its head - what's on TV that I can't find without adverts and fiddling around from other sources, at a time that suits me?

I'm talking of course about broadcast TV stations not the physical screen, which is still useful for watching DVDs etc. If I had an overwhelming desire to watch Fair City I believe that's also available online.
    pharmaton wrote: »
    It's almost a sociable thing now which is weird.
    I think that's very interesting, I was reading lately about how old fashioned boardgames are making a huge comeback, maybe there's a social connection as the TV becomes less important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

The idea of rushing home to watch a show or something just doesn't compute with me anymore.

I try to read mostly now anyways. But when I do watch movies/TV series I'll watch them on Netflix. IF it's not on that then I'll download it via torrent. ;)

I don't like football so that eliminates any Live TV aspect really.

For news, I watch RTE news now online, as well as Al Jazeera and BBC World.

I'm also a fan of baseball, for which I have an MLB.tv subscription.

Sorted.

EDIT:

I did have the misfortune of having to sit through an episode of THIS recently. I think my brain went into a stupidity coma after the first minute.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

Yes I still watch TV fairly regularly but I also download shows when they air in the states so I don't have to wait for UK channels to air them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Shushhhh, I'm trying to watch the match.

See how many tune into Love/Hate tonight that will give you an idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I always watch my TV, the bastard keeps trying to make a run for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,241 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Why would anyone want to watch the ****e thats usually on TV ? If there's anything I really want to see ill stream it or download it. Without having to sit through 15 minutes of ads per hour

Sky Plus eliminates all that.
    I hardly ever watch anything at its original broadcast time anymore apart from live matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I have noticed that I tend to catch more shows online than on tv lately alright. Mainly that is for the lack of any ads and the fact that I can actually get them online faster than I can on the box. Also a lot of the stuff that I'd watch simply isn't available on the tv here (particularly sports)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Well let me turn that on its head - what's on TV that I can't find without adverts and fiddling around from other sources, at a time that suits me?

It wouldn't be online for you're convenience had it not been developed for tv first. Its the revenue streams from tv companies that keep the production companies in business.
    Game of Thrones wouldn't have gotten past the opening sequence had it not been for TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

I think that's very interesting, I was reading lately about how old fashioned boardgames are making a huge comeback, maybe there's a social connection as the TV becomes less important.
    we do that every now and again too, it's like the non technological back up when everything else goes blank, our bb connection (tv+ internet) went through a trying time over the summer and we turned to scrabble during the moments of darkness :)

It wouldn't be online for you're convenience had it not been developed for tv first. Its the revenue streams from tv companies that keep the production companies in business.
    Game of Thrones wouldn't have gotten past the opening sequence had it not been for TV.
    I'd say they're going to have to come up with a new model tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Not watching tv is the new cool but most of those who "don't" watch it will probably be watching RTÉ One tonight. Same way that even though people hate the Late Late Show, it still gets a massive thread on the Television board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I don't think I know anyone under the age of 50 that actually watches the telly any more. The options here aren't that great anyway, are they any different anywhere I suppose, we have RTE, saorview, Sky where half the channels are just repeats of the other half, with adverts every five minutes, which you pay a monthly fee to watch, and so on.

Most of the news I get from the internet, movies shows and entertainment are for the most part free and legally available online, most music even you can queue up a youtube playlist, maybe watching a match down the pub involves broadcast telly but that's it. A good collection of DVDs is better by far than most nights on the box.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

I watch a few programs during the week and there all recorded on Sky Plus, which means when the house is empty I can watch in peace.

I like the Ice Road Truckers, Ice Pilots stuff like that, A lot of drama in them but good fun all the same.

Despise reality tv as in Big brother, jersey **** and the likes

Mythbusters is great craic :D

Arrow, The Americans, Revolution like them all.

Wouldn't usually just sit down and see what's on, id always know whats recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I think a big influence is people being annoyed at popular American shows taking so long to be shown on Irish and UK tv stations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I dont have a TV, but i do steal tv shows of the net, so i would never think im on a high horse or anything.I just never bring it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Rebel_Kn1ght

Apart from live sports I don't watch anything on RTE or any other channel. Not because I don't like them or anything it's just not convenient. I prefer to use Netflix and torrent everything in my own time. I used to have UPC in the bedroom but once i found netflix and torrent sites I just got rid of it. I don't have the patience for ads or the patience to wait a week for a new episode so just watch them in bulk on days off etc. People are watching a lot more tv, there just changing the ways in which they watch them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

No, I listen to my gramaphone instead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 mayotourism

that is why they are bring in the household broadcast fee and doing away with the television licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

P_1 wrote: »
    I think a big influence is people being annoyed at popular American shows taking so long to be shown on Irish and UK tv stations

thats the catch 22. People want to have the shows close to when they are on in America but then cant stand the breaks they have for hoildays and football

but people dont want to wait the 6 months from airing state side to get the show with out breaks between episodes

that is why they are bring in the household broadcast fee and doing away with the television licence.
    Never said I watched RTE news. ;) In fact I don't think I watch much of anything produced by the organisations that the monies are going to.

Maybe the future for TV shows is a kickstarter model, if GoT charged a dollar in advance per episode to each viewer, they'd have a hundred million in clear profit. Would you pay a tenner for an entire season? Seems like bargain to me.

This would also help clear out the hangers on and dead weight. Mind you I'm not sure where it would leave programming for people with no money, like kids' cartoons. I suppose their parents would pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Haven't watched TV in over 5 years, as in cable channels/RTE. Only got around to cancelling cable a few months back.

Watch mainly Netflix and FilmOn. Although FilmOn reminds me why I stopped watching TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,966 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I get very little chance to watch the flippin TV. The wife has that sorted out with the soaps.

But in fairness, I tend to watch a lot of films, rather than TV programs and I'm buggered if I'm going to sit through ads during a picture.

Have to say though, I'm surprised that the likes of 'Breaking Bad' hasn't really surfaced on terrestrial TV. The show is over and has enjoyed huge critical acclaim, but I can't recall it being put out on the usual channels.

I think the only thing that I am watching week to week on the tele is 'Peaky Blinders' and 'Love/Hate', with 'Question Time' and 'Newsnight' thrown in as well, but that's cos I can't see them online because of the stupid regional web nonsense.

Cannot stand 99% of the shite that gets put out.

'Come Dine with Me' ??? Fucking hell...who watches that kind of shit?