Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone actually watch TV any more?

• 06-10-2013 3:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

I don't think I know anyone under the age of 50 that actually watches the telly any more. The options here aren't that great anyway, are they any different anywhere I suppose, we have RTE, saorview, Sky where half the channels are just repeats of the other half, with adverts every five minutes, which you pay a monthly fee to watch, and so on.

Most of the news I get from the internet, movies shows and entertainment are for the most part free and legally available online, most music even you can queue up a youtube playlist, maybe watching a match down the pub involves broadcast telly but that's it. A good collection of DVDs is better by far than most nights on the box.

So I say, the TV is dead! Long live the internet. And DVDs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

You have feck all friends op, if none of them under 50 watch tv.
    Don't know why some people get on their high horse about television. Most of the boxsets they illegally download were originally made for broadcast on it.
    What would you watch op, that hasn't already been shown on tv?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭chargerman

I use the internet quite a bit and find it great but use the TV more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I have younger-ish co-workers who watch sporting events on the TV.

But mostly it's all Netflix, DVDs, and other streaming media/downloads. I work in techy sort of job though, so I know there is some sample bias going on.

But yes - OP - you are 100% correct and the government realizes it too. Hence, we ditching the 'TV license' and will get charged a household 'media' fee.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

The best bit about the household fee is they said we must clearly be watching rte online, so we all have to be charged ha.

I never watch tv, don't have one but yes op most people still watch tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

Haven't watched terrestrial tv in over two years. Download everything & watch it on my timetable, not theirs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Spent a good year without it pretty much last year, youngster was away with college and it was something that we would do together in the evenings and as she wasn't there didn't bother for the most part. She's back home for the time being and one of the most enjoyable parts of the evening is sitting down after the day is done and catching something on the box before bed. It's almost a sociable thing now which is weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Don't know what alternate universe you live in OP. Most people still watch TV. Ever hear of freesat? I know a few 20 something students who watch online but apart from an odd iPlayer viewing of a missed programme it's TV all the way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

Why would anyone want to watch the ****e thats usually on TV ? If there's anything I really want to see ill stream it or download it. Without having to sit through 15 minutes of ads per hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

What would you watch op, that hasn't already been shown on tv?
    Well let me turn that on its head - what's on TV that I can't find without adverts and fiddling around from other sources, at a time that suits me?

I'm talking of course about broadcast TV stations not the physical screen, which is still useful for watching DVDs etc. If I had an overwhelming desire to watch Fair City I believe that's also available online.
    pharmaton wrote: »
    It's almost a sociable thing now which is weird.
    I think that's very interesting, I was reading lately about how old fashioned boardgames are making a huge comeback, maybe there's a social connection as the TV becomes less important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

The idea of rushing home to watch a show or something just doesn't compute with me anymore.

I try to read mostly now anyways. But when I do watch movies/TV series I'll watch them on Netflix. IF it's not on that then I'll download it via torrent. ;)

I don't like football so that eliminates any Live TV aspect really.

For news, I watch RTE news now online, as well as Al Jazeera and BBC World.

I'm also a fan of baseball, for which I have an MLB.tv subscription.

Sorted.

EDIT:

I did have the misfortune of having to sit through an episode of THIS recently. I think my brain went into a stupidity coma after the first minute.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

Yes I still watch TV fairly regularly but I also download shows when they air in the states so I don't have to wait for UK channels to air them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Shushhhh, I'm trying to watch the match.

See how many tune into Love/Hate tonight that will give you an idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I always watch my TV, the bastard keeps trying to make a run for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,695 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Why would anyone want to watch the ****e thats usually on TV ? If there's anything I really want to see ill stream it or download it. Without having to sit through 15 minutes of ads per hour

Sky Plus eliminates all that.
    I hardly ever watch anything at its original broadcast time anymore apart from live matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I have noticed that I tend to catch more shows online than on tv lately alright. Mainly that is for the lack of any ads and the fact that I can actually get them online faster than I can on the box. Also a lot of the stuff that I'd watch simply isn't available on the tv here (particularly sports)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Well let me turn that on its head - what's on TV that I can't find without adverts and fiddling around from other sources, at a time that suits me?

It wouldn't be online for you're convenience had it not been developed for tv first. Its the revenue streams from tv companies that keep the production companies in business.
    Game of Thrones wouldn't have gotten past the opening sequence had it not been for TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

I think that's very interesting, I was reading lately about how old fashioned boardgames are making a huge comeback, maybe there's a social connection as the TV becomes less important.
    we do that every now and again too, it's like the non technological back up when everything else goes blank, our bb connection (tv+ internet) went through a trying time over the summer and we turned to scrabble during the moments of darkness :)

It wouldn't be online for you're convenience had it not been developed for tv first. Its the revenue streams from tv companies that keep the production companies in business.
    Game of Thrones wouldn't have gotten past the opening sequence had it not been for TV.
    I'd say they're going to have to come up with a new model tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Not watching tv is the new cool but most of those who "don't" watch it will probably be watching RTÉ One tonight. Same way that even though people hate the Late Late Show, it still gets a massive thread on the Television board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I don't think I know anyone under the age of 50 that actually watches the telly any more. The options here aren't that great anyway, are they any different anywhere I suppose, we have RTE, saorview, Sky where half the channels are just repeats of the other half, with adverts every five minutes, which you pay a monthly fee to watch, and so on.

Most of the news I get from the internet, movies shows and entertainment are for the most part free and legally available online, most music even you can queue up a youtube playlist, maybe watching a match down the pub involves broadcast telly but that's it. A good collection of DVDs is better by far than most nights on the box.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

I watch a few programs during the week and there all recorded on Sky Plus, which means when the house is empty I can watch in peace.

I like the Ice Road Truckers, Ice Pilots stuff like that, A lot of drama in them but good fun all the same.

Despise reality tv as in Big brother, jersey **** and the likes

Mythbusters is great craic :D

Arrow, The Americans, Revolution like them all.

Wouldn't usually just sit down and see what's on, id always know whats recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I think a big influence is people being annoyed at popular American shows taking so long to be shown on Irish and UK tv stations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I dont have a TV, but i do steal tv shows of the net, so i would never think im on a high horse or anything.I just never bring it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Rebel_Kn1ght

Apart from live sports I don't watch anything on RTE or any other channel. Not because I don't like them or anything it's just not convenient. I prefer to use Netflix and torrent everything in my own time. I used to have UPC in the bedroom but once i found netflix and torrent sites I just got rid of it. I don't have the patience for ads or the patience to wait a week for a new episode so just watch them in bulk on days off etc. People are watching a lot more tv, there just changing the ways in which they watch them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

No, I listen to my gramaphone instead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 mayotourism

that is why they are bring in the household broadcast fee and doing away with the television licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,491 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

P_1 wrote: »
    I think a big influence is people being annoyed at popular American shows taking so long to be shown on Irish and UK tv stations

thats the catch 22. People want to have the shows close to when they are on in America but then cant stand the breaks they have for hoildays and football

but people dont want to wait the 6 months from airing state side to get the show with out breaks between episodes

that is why they are bring in the household broadcast fee and doing away with the television licence.
    Never said I watched RTE news. ;) In fact I don't think I watch much of anything produced by the organisations that the monies are going to.

Maybe the future for TV shows is a kickstarter model, if GoT charged a dollar in advance per episode to each viewer, they'd have a hundred million in clear profit. Would you pay a tenner for an entire season? Seems like bargain to me.

This would also help clear out the hangers on and dead weight. Mind you I'm not sure where it would leave programming for people with no money, like kids' cartoons. I suppose their parents would pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Haven't watched TV in over 5 years, as in cable channels/RTE. Only got around to cancelling cable a few months back.

Watch mainly Netflix and FilmOn. Although FilmOn reminds me why I stopped watching TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I get very little chance to watch the flippin TV. The wife has that sorted out with the soaps.

But in fairness, I tend to watch a lot of films, rather than TV programs and I'm buggered if I'm going to sit through ads during a picture.

Have to say though, I'm surprised that the likes of 'Breaking Bad' hasn't really surfaced on terrestrial TV. The show is over and has enjoyed huge critical acclaim, but I can't recall it being put out on the usual channels.

I think the only thing that I am watching week to week on the tele is 'Peaky Blinders' and 'Love/Hate', with 'Question Time' and 'Newsnight' thrown in as well, but that's cos I can't see them online because of the stupid regional web nonsense.

Cannot stand 99% of the shite that gets put out.

'Come Dine with Me' ??? Fucking hell...who watches that kind of shit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Im 95% tinternet and 5% TV. Usually just watch turbochef or masterchef, whatever its called. Maybe a bit of F1 if its on and the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

But what I don't get is that with online viewing you have to KNOW what you want to watch before you watch it. I can't get my head around that. I mean when you flick through the channels you see "ah, nature documentary!" great.....now you mightn't have had anything in particular in mind to watch and then something like that pops up. Like wise with music. Sometimes I don't know what I want to listen to so I put on the radio and get a feast of randomly selected music to entertain me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Police Academy 2 was on late 2 nights ago. At the first ad break I went for a piss and paused it. Came back, got comfy and pressed play. Fast forward through the ads. There was a snobby couple and one went "Its no better than television". Police Academy 2 was made in 1986? Thats what the OP sounded like to me. Aren't I so superior because I dont watch TV any more.

Also had to laugh at the poster who said he/she reads all the time and then explained his/her point by embedding a youtube video into their post.

MonaPizza wrote: »
    But what I don't get is that with online viewing you have to KNOW what you want to watch before you watch it. I can't get my head around that. I mean when you flick through the channels you see "ah, nature documentary!" great.....now you mightn't have had anything in particular in mind to watch and then something like that pops up. Like wise with music. Sometimes I don't know what I want to listen to so I put on the radio and get a feast of randomly selected music to entertain me.

I used to live abroad in a foreign speaking country, so paying for a cable connection would have been a waste of time, so I downloaded everything and transferred it to the machine acting as my HTPC for the flat screen.

Flippin hell it was like a full time job. Making sure you had downloaded recent stuff, having something fresh to watch etc. Considering I was spending my days in front of shells and browsers, it could get quite irritating when you're just in from work. Now, I come in, flop on my armchair, Six One news is starting around the same time as I get home, and there is no admin involved. If theres nothing on I check out the On Demand options, then I hook up the hard drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

I don't know if anyone else replied like this......

I live in the middle of nowhere, at least 1 mile from the nearest Eircom broadband connection. I have to depend on 3s NBS crap connection to the net - with its "Massive 40GB usage allowance" there is no way I could watch proper tv on the internet and still use it for day to day work.

Doc - you are either living in an urban area or else semi-rural that still has proper broadband.

I depend on a second hand FTA Sky box for my tv. Don't have RTE yet cos saving up to get a Saorview box and ariel (or if I get hold of a wee bit extra money, a Saorview enabled tv).

I would love to have proper BB - I'd be able to keep up to date with what's being watched and talked about but unfortunately Eircom, in their infinite wisdom, have decided that my area of at least 50 houses isn't economically viable.

Long live Free To Air tv (and including Saorview when I get it :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Mooby

Rarely watch tv these days, it's all internet/downloads.

Mooby wrote: »
    Rarely watch tv these days, it's all internet/downloads.

So you dont watch the physical television machine any more, but you do watch what will forever be called TV shows right?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I don't own a TV. I have a large PC monitor and a Nexus tablet that I do all my watching on. There's not a single thing that makes me miss having a TV subscription.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

syklops wrote: »
    So you dont watch the physical television machine any more, but you do watch what will forever be called TV shows right?

Mr pedantic to the rescue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Mooby

syklops wrote: »

Yes, but not regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Look in TV Guide, spot a tv show or film worth watching, download torrent within half an hour and (for most things) finish watching it, ad-free, before it even airs.

In the time you waste (time that is never to be returned), vegging through a home-makeover program or other cheaply churned out garbage, you could instead research and start downloading a handful of good quality TV shows on IMDB, that there are entire seasons of, which you won't have the time to finish watching for months.

Fair enough leaving the TV on if it's just background noise for you, but sitting down and voluntarily assaulting your brain, with some of the crap that's on TV (ads in particular...), is actually something I believe is harmful:
    How many negative social stereotypes in the population, get picked up off of dross on TV and in ads? (not to mention how news/political reporting, helps shape peoples views in a biased way) No matter how smart you are at picking it out, it will affect you, through repetition.

Pick out what's worth watching, and download it instead (if it's on TV you have access to anyway, or is going to be, it's fair game really).

It's well past time the TV networks who put out actual good quality shows, properly distributed them online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

It's funny when some people think that the behaviour of their social circle is representative of society as a whole. "Sure I don't know anybody who watches TV anymore", "God, people still buy CDs?", "Newspapers, what are they?"

Believe it or not, despite the onslaught of digital media, there are still many people out there who have not yet moved to these formats and why should they if they're happy as they are?

Not that I watch that much TV myself but I find it a little juvenile when people derive some sense of superiority from the fact they consume their media via a laptop screen rather than a TV screen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

Only ever watch sports on TV really, apart from the odd thing on maybe a Friday/Saturday/Sunday if I'm not out like Graham Norton. While I only watch sport on TV, I watch a lot of sport so I do get a bit of use out of it.

Anything else, I watch on my own schedule, either through downloading or some streaming platform such as Netflix.

I watch a LOT of shows, and I cannot watch them with ads of any sort - it annoys me too much. Also, the fact that we get things about 10 years after they are aired in America doesn't help my enthusiasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Dean0088 wrote: »

I did have the misfortune of having to sit through an episode of THIS recently. I think my brain went into a stupidity coma after the first minute.

Did you HAVE to post that? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I dumped the tv in a skip maybe six or seven years ago because of the adverts every 5 minutes, so no tv here. I just watch what i like on the net without the adverts happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

D1stant wrote: »
    Did you HAVE to post that? :mad:

My sister watches it :(

I use the tv for Internet downloads at most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

I dont mind paying for a service but when that service inflicts ads on you every 10 mins, its they that should be paying you. (a double whammy for them, getting paid twice) Hence I haven't watched tv in 3 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I still watch tv,and listen to the radio,and use the internet.
    Don't see a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

Never said I watched RTE news. ;) In fact I don't think I watch much of anything produced by the organisations that the monies are going to.

Maybe the future for TV shows is a kickstarter model, if GoT charged a dollar in advance per episode to each viewer, they'd have a hundred million in clear profit. Would you pay a tenner for an entire season? Seems like bargain to me.

This would also help clear out the hangers on and dead weight. Mind you I'm not sure where it would leave programming for people with no money, like kids' cartoons. I suppose their parents would pay for it.
    Truth is some people don't whatnot pay anything for any broadcast ever. I don't agree with the licence fee but a model where everyone pays for every episode probably won't work. Netflix probably has the best model at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I never watch TV but still have to pay over €215 a year for the privilege of maybe watching it some day :rolleyes: