If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Walked the ground today with my dad. Looks like we'll have to make more bales.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

1chippy wrote: »
    I'm up here arseing about Donegal. Managed a full year of marriage. It mightn't last much longer though if she doesn't hurry up and get ready. I'm bloody starving

Happy anniversary chippy :-) were celebrating our first here aswell. Have a great night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Autumn calving started here, YLG bull off a DEU cow 7 days early, both grand out thank god, calf would have made a smashing heifer but once all healthy can't complain. RDU (in calf to AXN) and FLT (incalf to DGY) heifers springing up nicely due in 10 and 19 days respectively but wouldn't be surprised to see em earlier, gestation lengths are shortening consistently with bulls these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Omg jedward delilah . I'm off to bed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Muckit wrote: »
    Having a few yummy pints now. Ballinasloe is the place to be tonight if your a horse or cattle man :-)

Was there today for a few hours. My 3 year old kept saying "look at the lovely dresses on those girls" every time we passed a group of traveller girls dressed in their luminous clothes. At one stage she shouted out "look, that girl has no dress on" to one that was scantaly clad. :D

Thought it was poor enough though. It was country fair day which in the past was supposed to bring the local country people into the town. There weren't any local stalls other than the substance misuse stall. Heard that the shops in the town were told that if they wanted to put a food or market stall outside the door of their shop then they would have to pay big bucks. Thought it was a bit much of an ask when they already pay rates. Most of the stalls were selling cheap chinese junk!

Not many horses sold either. I'd say if a man wanted a horse and went in there early on monday morning he'd have a good choice out of the abandoned ones ;)

Nights are the best there from what I remember years ago. Plenty of craic there toningt I'd imagine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Have a machine in at the moment pulling/stacking large furze.. Great days work done... The clay was so dry it was falling from the roots lovely and he stacking them ready for burning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Farmers talking rugby, Jaysus

Was out at a local GAA match down the road this evening, didn't have to listen to too many gob****e's telling me about how they can't get tenets for the apartment in Spain, was instead listening to gob****es taking about the budget. Stopped for a pint on the way home. Didn't even know the lads from D4 were taking on the boys from C4. If I have hear another person drone about BOD and gatland I think I'll punch them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Happy anniversary chippy :-) were celebrating our first here aswell. Have a great night
    I thought it was you alright that was the same time. We're in a posh spot here and the only other couple that seemed normal are on there's too. There's no farmers they must of all went to ballinasloe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

grazeaway wrote: »
    Farmers talking rugby, Jaysus

What's even unusual nevermind to say worthy of comment about farmers talking rugby. There was at least 2 farmers and the son of one Teagasc advisor playing in that game tonight. Plenty of rural GAA teams would have less of an agri presence. My GAA club is playing a county final next week, rural club and I think there's one farmer starting and one other on the panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

are they all your friends and family out with you's in ballinasloe for the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Having a few yummy pints now. Ballinasloe is the place to be tonight if your a horse or cattle man :-)

Is the Palm club still on the go down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Many points down headin for top shelf now !!finally got i ovet on lunster ?!!glad of reliefmker in morning!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

I'm looking at a Matbro Telerame - Late 90's I think; anyone have one of these knocking about? Will be used for stacking and throwing out bales and shifting manure mostly + any other minor lift and shift jobs that come up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Sorry to hear that redzer.

May your uncle rest in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Breakfast date with a Brazilian this morning......sorry lads :cool:

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    man or woman?

whelan1 wrote: »
    man or woman?

Male. Killing floor supervisor:pac:

Must be a shortage of women up this way!

Oh of course, after insulting the woman they were all willing to show that men do a better job :rolleyes:

I can now clear a gate in a record number of seconds though:P

All I hear in my dreams is ....red cow green cow....green...green...red cow.....green....green cow...
    whats a red cow or a green cow?

whelan1 wrote: »
    whats a red cow or a green cow?

Age, green cow is less than 6 years old.
    Straight green is prime.

Male. Killing floor supervisor:pac:

Must be a shortage of women up this way!

now thats what I call a job description to put the fear into anyone, at least you didn't say he is managing the boning hall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Lastin

hope it goes well for you, my wife says its very painful and would not ever have it done.

Lastin wrote: »
    hope it goes well for you, my wife says its very painful and would not ever have it done.

....... I did not think that sentence through before I typed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Lastin

Don't mind me I am only being a smart ar5e enjoy your date:)

does it feel any different having a breakfast with a brazilian, IMO Vajazzeled is the way to go ;):D

I wonder how my google hits I will be responsible for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

....... I did not think that sentence through before I typed it.

Yeah ye did but you just decided f' it let's see what happens.:D:D

does it feel any different having a breakfast with a brazilian, IMO Vajazzeled is the way to go ;):D

I wonder how my google hits I will be responsible for

Kovu was quiet for a week but she certainly came back with a clinger of a post. And bob, I never knew you were that educated in women's "style". Or else your a tallagh-fornia fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭satstheway

Anyone ever tighten rubbers up to the 2nd rib on clusters?
    Any benefits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Kovu was quiet for a week but she certainly came back with a clinger of a post. And bob, I never knew you were that educated in women's "style". Or else your a tallagh-fornia fan

I saw it on tallafornia . Im embarrassed to say I watched it but which of the three women would ye prefer lads ?

give me the english version any day, kwuality viewing

satstheway wrote: »
    Anyone ever tighten rubbers up to the 2nd rib on clusters?
    Any benefits

I remember doing when we use to be milking. I think it was done after about 3 months, but not fully sure