Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

OSI wrote: »
    And another misfire on the GTI.. >:(

Pretty sure its the coilpack this time. Pain in the arse driving from Wicklow to North Dublin on 3 cylinders.

Didn't VW do a recall on those for your type of GTI?

They did. I'll ring them on Monday but I'm expecting a typical Volkswagen Ireland answer of "¿Que?". They're €40 on micksgarage so not too fussed.

They won't.I know someone who only got it done there within the past year.His is a 06 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Am I wrong in saying that driving something on three cylinders for a prolonged time can finish the cat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,595 ✭✭✭tossy

I don't think so,i think most modern cars cut the fuel/spark to that cylinder when a missfire is detected so you are not sending unburnt fuel into the exhaust system. I of course stand to be corrected on this.

Just I remember with my focus my cat went with the same problem. Finished it in a day like.
    I would presume the golf would be a better yolk though in fairness :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

YbFocus wrote: »
    Am I wrong in saying that driving something on three cylinders for a prolonged time can finish the cat?
    Yep, you're right - that's how I killed my cat earlier this year - all what I had left was an empty can. ;)

I remember when mine went they cost the same as gold back then. got sick with the price of it!
    Hope that's not the case here though.

Praying for you anyway man :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

So do I. I have a feeling tossy is right though, I noticed the range to empty jumped massively after it started acting up, and I was talking it ridiculously easy before hand as I was up the mountains with a bike strapped to the back.

The fear of trying to direct a recovery truck over the phone was immense. Thankfully though it wasn't as bad as I feared and the car kept going and I got it home.
    Direct a tow truck? Sure crack open google maps on your phone and give him the co-ordinates. Any tow trucker worth his salt will have a GPS at the very least! Glad you made it home anyhow.

Picking up new car tomorrow. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Well bumface to the radiator, blew up again! I may buy a new rad so.... Also ran out of petril but at 7.3 mpg avg thats expected :pac:

On another note, no better way to do an Italian tune up than in a V6 Alfa :D cured it too! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Does anyone know whats going to happen in regards the RF100 form for Taxing a new vehicle? which was the original purpose of the form. Will it just be replaced with the same form without the off the road declaration?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Does anyone know whats going to happen in regards the RF100 form for Taxing a new vehicle? which was the original purpose of the form. Will it just be replaced with the same form without the off the road declaration?

Think so?

I told the OH that for our anniversary he was getting a MEGA valet inside and out for his car, he was delighted, was something he'd been thinking about but hadn't had a chance to check out.

How cool is that :D

And even cooler he has no idea he is getting a surprise as well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Stheno wrote: »
    And even cooler he has no idea he is getting a surprise as well :D

Well don't keep us in the dark!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

dgt wrote: »
    Well bumface to the radiator, blew up again! I may buy a new rad so.... Also ran out of petril but at 7.3 mpg avg thats expected :pac:

On another note, no better way to do an Italian tune up than in a V6 Alfa :D cured it too! :)

Petrol, Alfa... You finally get the 166 moving?

CianRyan wrote: »
    Petrol, Alfa... You finally get the 166 moving?

Nah that has a third of a tank full of petril, it drives fine and starts on the button :p

Something bigger, there's a link to it in one of my posts this week and no one twigged hahahahahaha ;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Well don't keep us in the dark!

Jaysus, he's getting a fancy watch that I've posted about before and a nice dinner out that I've not posted about.

In todays tales of shame, I was driving to Howth in the gtv, and a micra overtook me :(

Jaysus, he's getting a fancy watch that I've posted about before and a nice dinner out that I've not posted about.

In todays tales of shame, I was driving to Howth in the gtv, and a micra overtook me :(

We're here to listen and talk

That is truly shameful :(

We're here to listen and talk

That is truly shameful :(

They were speeding though :) In a 60 zone! (KM)

I had the self satisfaction of knowing that in a 120 km/h zone, I'd leave them in a pile of dust :D

Whatcha think of the surprise present? I'm getting a lifejacket and knee pads, romantic he is not!

I feel your pain. Pulling away from a Fiesta one night my gear linkage exploded. Overtaken by a snotty pizzafaced teeny bopper in a wheezing Fiesta at full chat. Humiliating

They were speeding though :) In a 60 zone! (KM)

I had the self satisfaction of knowing that in a 120 km/h zone, I'd leave them in a pile of dust :D

Whatcha think of the surprise present? I'm getting a lifejacket and knee pads, romantic he is not!

Ah well then :) you're alright, surprise present sounds good to me! I'd love a monocle and a bubble pipe for my birthday, most men aren't very romantic :pac:

A breakfast roll is considered romantic to us :p

This is what is so wrong with the younger generation :(

I took my OH for breakfast last week (he's incredibly spoiled)

His breakfast was:

3 rashers
    2 sausages
    2 eggs
    Black and white pudding
    Beans
    Hash browns
    Tomato
    Toast and butter

Now that's a proper breakfast, I'd the same :)

My breakfast consists of 4 fish fingers and a waffle fried in olive oil. I detest cereals!

This is what is so wrong with the younger generation :(

I took my OH for breakfast last week (he's incredibly spoiled)

His breakfast was:

3 rashers
    2 sausages
    2 eggs
    Black and white pudding
    Beans
    Hash browns
    Tomato
    Toast and butter

Now that's a proper breakfast, I'd the same :)

I could tell you a few rosemantic things ive done that would make the notebook look like a horror, buuuuut I'll save it for another time :P

Oddly enough I don't do breakfast, I'm a strange one, most people need breakfast to function in the morning and so on, if they have no food they're not very productive and so on, I'm like that if I have breakfast :pac:

I could tell you a few rosemantic things ive done that would make the notebook look like a horror, buuuuut I'll save it for another time :P

Oddly enough I don't do breakfast, I'm a strange one, most people need breakfast to function in the morning and so on, if they have no food they're not very productive and so on, I'm like that if I have breakfast :pac:

I cannot abide breakfast unless it is after one in the afternoon

MY most rosemantic thing I ever did imo (OH is still trying to think) was his first birthday together. He got a clue for every thing we did, from a facial to lunch to shopping to dinner to the theater.

The most romantic thing was that I listened to Ireland winning the grand slam in rugby on the radio en route to the theatre.

he's still fecking thinking of it.

edit : he's decided it was our first holiday together in Donegal, nothing rosemantic about that imo.

I cannot abide breakfast unless it is after one in the afternoon

MY most rosemantic thing I ever did imo (OH is still trying to think) was his first birthday together. He got a clue for every thing we did, from a facial to lunch to shopping to dinner to the theater.

The most romantic thing was that I listened to Ireland winning the grand slam in rugby on the radio en route to the theatre.

he's still fecking thinking of it.

edit : he's decided it was our first holiday together in Donegal, nothing rosemantic about that imo.

That does sound nice :) I can't think of any off the top of my head now

It was great fun, I'm thinking of repeating it next year for him :)

Still chuffed to bits that his anniversary gift of the car valet is something he really wants, how cool is that!

It was great fun, I'm thinking of repeating it next year for him :)

Still chuffed to bits that his anniversary gift of the car valet is something he really wants, how cool is that!

I could use an interior valet! my cars seen better days :(

You need leather :pac:

dgt wrote: »
    You need leather :pac:

I want it!, I'd love to get my door cards and seats done, in white, or cream or something, y'know that whole black and white game going on