Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I can't believe I forgot that, golden moment right there :pac: Sure I seen her drag racing a daewoo lanos down parnell street today :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Stheno wrote: »
    I like Cordners in particular, and the peculiar Jack something shop close by.

What be this market? I may be free this Friday, just after payday :D

Jack Kiernans just down from the McDonalds Post Office :D

If you're around, it's the opposite side of St Marys church in the car park. If you know where the library/solstice or mercy is you'll see it from there.

Often have stalls with clothes, shoes, plants, tools, electronic stuff as well as fresh fruit and veg. We often get fruit and veg from the different stalls :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Scortho wrote: »
    I'd say you'd get a couple of hundred for it in considering its in such good condition.

Id like it at that price tbh.
    Would look perfectly out of place with the fleet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Don't sell it to him, he'll only stick a cummins in it.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Don't sell it to him, he'll only stick a cummins in it.

Haha I was only joking IRL earlier about buying a beetle and fitting a cummins engine in the engine bay and back seats :P

No this one would be a novelty value item.

Genuinely interested btw.

Ichisaq wrote: »
    Haha I was only joking IRL earlier about buying a beetle and fitting a cummins engine in the engine bay and back seats :P

No this one would be a novelty value item.

Genuinely interested btw.

DO IT! And straight pipe the hell out of it. Hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Id like it at that price tbh.
    Would look perfectly out of place with the fleet!

GTF I said it first and I love original odd shyte :D

Well there ya go, lad. Start a bidding war. :p

Can i start the bidding at 50?

I got 50 sdgoirehgiuhgfnhghcwjfcnowef 100!

Can i start the bidding at 50?

I got 50 sdgoirehgiuhgfnhghcwjfcnowef 100!

[storage hunters]
    350 brrrrrrrrrrraaaappppppppppp [/storage hunters]

[storage hunters]
    350 brrrrrrrrrrraaaappppppppppp [/storage hunters]

I can understand most accents, I can even translate the devil tribe speak that is navanese :pac:

But auctioneers....not a hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

any one have any experience cancelling one car on Eflow and put another car on a few days later?

Yeah, my experience was I couldnt do it online and had to call them.
    A bit pointless if you ask me, dont know why I can't just log in and change over the details!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Yeah, my experience was I couldnt do it online and had to call them.
    A bit pointless if you ask me, dont know why I can't just log in and change over the details!

Thanks, I have changed over car before, but in that case I had the other car reg straight away, this time I wont have the new reg until Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Kinda stuck on what to do with the car next, anyone have any suggestions for it?
    1017713_608446105852753_1316810532_n.jpg

IMAG0150_1_1.jpg

German plates :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Scratch the sh!t out of it and start again :D

Seriously though, you could start Gtechniq on the windows or paint.

What do you do to squeeze power out of BM's without going FI?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

What do you do to squeeze power out of BM's without going FI?

They have VANOS which is similar to Honda's VTEC system AFAIK. I doubt the likes of induction kits etc. would have much of an effect.

So controllers to open it earlier? A switch to solid lifters?
    I know exhaust should usually be left alone, which is a disappointment. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Did you replace the tyre with the bulge in it yet? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Seriously though, you could start Gtechniq on the windows or paint.

I'd recommend not putting paint on the windows, usually you need to see out of them :pac:

Lookin' well though baiiii! :)

My yoke passed its NCTay last week too, wahey :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

I went to change the brake pads. So lifted and supported the car. Got the caliper off and in the process of removing the pad. The brake cylinder shot it's load. I had a spare caliper so used that.

Then when putting caliper back on I managed to ring the thread on a guide bolt. At this stage I just said fk it and start the other side. So in the middle of removing the wheel bolts I manage to fk up the lock nut (mcgaurd fkr). So fkd now fk'itty fkr fkk. Shíteeee buzzzzz. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Spent the day hammering a volvo 340 in a field, Oh Christ its some craic :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Hal1 wrote: »
    So in the middle of removing the wheel bolts I manage to fk up the lock nut (mcgaurd fkr). So fkd now fk'itty fkr fkk. Shíteeee buzzzzz. :mad:

I hate them locknuts. One of the first things I did when I got the focus was get rid of them just got normal nuts. Although the locknuts were dodgy on my car I think when the previous owner got tyres they put on the lock nuts with an air gun and that just ruins them. Still if you get a puncture lock nuts are not something you want to be messing with on the side of the trying to change the wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Well my car's a little bit ill. A making a squeaking noise coming from the front of the engine bay. I think its a pulley, tensioner but which one...I just don't know.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Yes you need to call them, cancel the sub on that licence place, keep the account, then add the new car when you have it.
    Well my car's a little bit ill. A making a squeaking noise coming from the front of the engine bay. I think its a pulley, tensioner but which one...I just don't know.

My car is misbehaving and squeaking on uneven roads, something is wrong in the front suspension

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Yes you need to call them, cancel the sub on that licence place, keep the account, then add the new car when you have it.

My car is misbehaving and squeaking on uneven roads, something is wrong in the front suspension

If you plan on keeping it you should look into polybushing it....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Scortho wrote: »
    If you plan on keeping it you should look into polybushing it....

Has rear polybushes which is where they are most recommended.

This noise is a more deeper suspension problem, not steering rack but in between that and bushes.

I think anyways

Feckin alfas :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

Has rear polybushes which is where they are most recommended.

Feckin alfas :D

I was just about to say the very same.....