If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

whelan1 wrote: »
    yup, dead handy when used right:D

Ya hated them at first, find them very handy now. Pity about the price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

maxxuumman wrote: »
    Ya hated them at first, find them very handy now. Pity about the price
    yup was:eek::eek: at price, think it was 15 euro for an inch to 3/4 joiner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

what do ye farmers think of how well boards.ie has done,:eek:

they have more money than the average farmers account:pac:

https://www.duedil.com/company/IE319114/boards-ie-limited

you'd have to fatten a fair few bullocks or milk a heap of cows to do this well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

or you put it the net amount through after vat and claim capital allowance each year. 100% tax relief as self employed:rolleyes:

woops, you would need to be using it just for the business purpose. ie dropping the letters to the post box
    How about if you got a mountain bike for cycling around the land checking the cattle ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

sold few stores today.. best lad was E1400 for 550kg yellow char out black lim cow april 2012.. happy enough, 1290 for 540 bb x CH, colour wasn't on his side, 1265 for a 560kg red limo.. hard to beat the yellow or white hairy charolais as always!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Anyone know what time the multi breed sheep sale is on in blessington tomo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

dipping tomorrow, just the thought of it is makin me depressed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    There was 2 of them:P

I was rock climbing at Dun Shean head and a wave came in and washed me off the platform I was climbing on. Got fairly bashed around and ended up hanging from one leg about 20 meters away from where I had been.
    Bloody lucky I was washed back in! Had about 7/8 kg of equipment on my harness too:eek:
    Free trip in a helicopter and was black and blue for quite some time.

always the drama queen :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

always the drama queen :D

drama queen me arse, I was asked what happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

quadboy wrote: »
    dipping tomorrow, just the thought of it is makin me depressed

Are you sure that your depression has nothing to do with kovu moving in with two lads???

oh no you didn't :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Ya but its a bit of a joke in one way cos the bike shops are charging crazy prices often double for the scheme.

You need to in to a reputable bike shop , not one that started selling bikes when the scheme came in. Check prices on Wiggle.com and chainreactioncycles to get a ball park figure.

drama queen me arse, I was asked what happened!
    *Sigh*

Stop it! All of ye stop picking on me.
    *Sigh*

Thank you.

Stop it! All of ye stop picking on me.

*slowly shakes head*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭C0N0R

What a right prick of a morning, had a cow down In the milkers first thing, gave her a couple of bags and had to give her a hand up with the hip lifters, away now but not to steady on the feet I'd say I could be lifting her again.

Then had to calve a monster of a bull calf whose front legs were pointing back, got him out then cow went down, so gave her a couple of bags still not up but I'm not overly surprised about that.

Just in having the breakfast now hopefully all will have sorted itself by the time I'm finished. To top it all off had a mates leaving do last nite, so wasn't in the leaba to long either. Luckily enough I only had a few pints so heads grand. Roll on the end of calving, only 15 to go.

*slowly shakes head*

What have I done ????!

never back down kovu. they smell blood now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Funny the way government policy shapes the way we think.

When else did you see two threads running on taxing tractors ;)

Was in mart last week and you could hear plenty of talk about taxing tractors and jeeps and ways to dodge the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

It'I be 'back to basics.' Bye bye quads and big trailers behind jeeps. Green diesel and €102 tax all the way. I can see a CPC coming in for jeeps and trailers, real money spinner that one

Muckit wrote: »
    It'I be 'back to basics.' Bye bye quads and big trailers behind jeeps. Green diesel and €102 tax all the way. I can see a CPC coming in for jeeps and trailers, real money spinner that one

I see safety training days being run how long before these come more about money spinners rather than safety

Just came across a box full of CDs that I packed away years ago. Most of the music was from 2000 to 2004. I got a sudden case of where did them years go and man I'm getting old.
    I feel a crisis coming on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Just came across a box full of CDs that I packed away years ago. Most of the music was from 2000 to 2004. I got a sudden case of where did them years go and man I'm getting old.

Give us a few examples of the quality chooons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Hit me baby one more time:D
    loads of songs by red hot chill peppers
    Coldplay and Oasis were still banging them out

Heard on the radio today that born slippy is released 18yrs:eek: - Drive boy, dog boy, --- like WTF:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Hit me baby one more time:D
    loads of songs by red hot chill peppers
    Coldplay and Oasis were still banging them out

Heard on the radio today that born slippy is released 18yrs:eek: - Drive boy, dog boy, --- like WTF:D

19. '94 AFAIK.

Oasis are talking about some sort a reunion tour with the original line-up that's how old we're getting. F'n reunion tours. That's supposed to be for bands from the 60's not some crowd you went to see playing what feels like last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

wasnt milking this morning, woke up and looked over at clock on oh side of bed thought it said 7.20 was giving out as machine should have been on, got downstairs and realised it was 5.20:cool: clock up stairs was on 24 hours and said 17.20... so i got to go back to bed:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

whelan1 wrote: »
    wasnt milking this morning, woke up and looked over at clock on oh side of bed thought it said 7.20 was giving out as machine should have been on, got downstairs and realised it was 5.20:cool: clock up stairs was on 24 hours and said 17.20... so i got to go back to bed:D

Even on your morning off your still up early .
    I do be the same .....except for a Sunday when I've been out on the Sat .!.
    When the body is used to getting up at a certain time , its hard not to

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Even on your morning off your still up early .
    I do be the same .....except for a Sunday when I've been out on the Sat .!.
    When the body is used to getting up at a certain time , its hard not to

Yeah I know the feeling, on leave at the mo but still wake up at 0530 every morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Yeah I know the feeling, on leave at the mo but still wake up at 0530 every morning

have you your wellies scrubbed and polished for the day??

C0N0R wrote: »
    Give us a few examples of the quality chooons!

Ah most of them are dance music compilations, also got some oasis, Andrew wk, prodigy, rammstein, faithless, green day and can't remember the rest