If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Pirhannas, are classed as little fishes:cool: Beware;)

Blob fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

hugo29 wrote: »
    is one woman not enough for you:D why you need a pair and kilkenny women at that;)

Are those hogan birds still on the go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

Down at the motor tax office, f**kin' cruel....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

does anyone know how the bike to work scheme works? you can buy a bike up to 1000 euro and end up paying about 50% of that amount thru your wages, is that right??

I got a bike 5 year ago through it. So you spend a grand and it costs ya €520, taken outta the wages a tenner a week.
    You can spend anything you like on the bike, but only the first €1000 is entered into the scheme. It lasts 5 years, so I can go again if I like now.

It's a great scheme.

I think I'll head off for a while, on an adventure of sorts, where I can't get internet access. Sounds like a plan :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭flat out !!

Bizzum wrote: »
    I got a bike 5 year ago through it. So you spend a grand and it costs ya €520, taken outta the wages a tenner a week.
    You can spend anything you like on the bike, but only the first €1000 is entered into the scheme. It lasts 5 years, so I can go again if I like now.

It's a great scheme.

Does it work for the self employed?

I don't think so. But don't take my word for it I went through work, so I wouldn't be best to advise ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I think so. You submit the details and receipts to your accountant with all other tax receipts and get the appropriate amount deducted from tax bill afaik. Lakill will probably be able to say if I am right or wrong.

On the subject of buying a bike, (before I head off to use mine!) : Spend all the money you can on the bike instead of some on the bike and some on the gear, you'll pick up gear ad ya go along.
    If it's a mountain bike, and anyone would like a recommendation, I like lapierre , cycle superstore in tallagh carry them. Good compromise between bang for your buck and quality components. Bargain hard on the purchase price too. Just cos it's through a scheme doesn't matter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Just back from an open day for a parlour down in wicklow of an old neighbour of mine. Jaysus was unbelievable had every thing you could put in the parlour in it. Cows had pedometers and they were all recorded on a computer system. Had drafting for cows, cluster removers, autowasher, Dont think ill be going that fancy when i start at mine next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I think so. You submit the details and receipts to your accountant with all other tax receipts and get the appropriate amount deducted from tax bill afaik. Lakill will probably be able to say if I am right or wrong.

or you put it the net amount through after vat and claim capital allowance each year. 100% tax relief as self employed:rolleyes:

woops, you would need to be using it just for the business purpose. ie dropping the letters to the post box

heard of a lad who has a relation who sells bikes and mowers etc.

This lad and his wife and both his parents bought a bike each off the relation through the bike scheme. Went to collect the 4 bikes and decided he would bring a ride on mower to the value of €4000.

Half price ride on. That's not made up, I seen his "bike" . As he says he normally only goes for a spin on a dry evening from march to October for about 40minutes once a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

A lad in the pub told us he was going down to a new neighbour, young widow to cut the lawn. One lad asked 'a ride on?' Yer man relied no I'm cutting the lawn!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

heard of a lad who has a relation who sells bikes and mowers etc.

This lad and his wife and both his parents bought a bike each off the relation through the bike scheme. Went to collect the 4 bikes and decided he would bring a ride on mower to the value of €4000.

Half price ride on. That's not made up, I seen his "bike" . As he says he normally only goes for a spin on a dry evening from march to October for about 40minutes once a week.
    The lad in the chainsaw shop told me a similar storey , he got three bikes through the scheme and sold them for a rideon aswell

moy83 wrote: »
    The lad in the chainsaw shop told me a similar storey , he got three bikes through the scheme and sold them for a rideon aswell

This lad is based in Roscommon who now has the petrol powered "bike" with grass bag. Cant say to much;)

Whats the price of a heifer (Brfr x Lim) bucket feed and about 18 months old. There on the 400kg mark, and nice shape to them for the breeding that's in them. € 1.80?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Whats the price of a heifer (Brfr x Lim) bucket feed and about 18 months old. There on the 400kg mark, and nice shape to them for the breeding that's in them. € 1.80?

Maybe a bit less depending on the mart and if she has any bit of class.. non CH cattle are suffering and plain stock even worse..
    Maybe the arrival of payments will lift things a little..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Bizzum wrote: »

It's a great scheme.
    Ya but its a bit of a joke in one way cos the bike shops are charging crazy prices often double for the scheme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Ya but its a bit of a joke in one way cos the bike shops are charging crazy prices often double for the scheme.

Like the grant aided slatted sheds

bbam wrote: »
    Maybe a bit less depending on the mart and if she has any bit of class.. non CH cattle are suffering and plain stock even worse..
    Maybe the arrival of payments will lift things a little..

That's just what I was thinking. I might go to delvin for a look later.

Best mart around is Carnaross or ball-a-duff I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

jersey101 wrote: »
    Just back from an open day for a parlour down in wicklow of an old neighbour of mine. Jaysus was unbelievable had every thing you could put in the parlour in it. Cows had pedometers and they were all recorded on a computer system. Had drafting for cows, cluster removers, autowasher, Dont think ill be going that fancy when i start at mine next year.
    Going building a new parlour or doing up the existing one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

What is the fu5hing story with the new philmac water fitting. An absolute balls as far as I'm concerned. I can't stop the fu5kers frim leaking. I never had any problems with the old ones. :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

quadboy wrote: »
    Going building a new parlour or doing up the existing one?

have the parlour built for near 10 year now but milking in it with a 6 unit :0 going to put in 12units next year all going well

What is the fu5hing story with the new philmac water fitting. An absolute balls as far as I'm concerned. I can't stop the fu5kers frim leaking. I never had any problems with the old ones. :-(

my cousin use to ref with with south coast sales who sell philmac.

But he is with IPL now so im using there fittings :D.

But used a philmac fitting few weeks ago and sent it back to the hardware

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

That's just what I was thinking. I might go to delvin for a look later.

Best mart around is Carnaross or ball-a-duff I suppose
    sure if ya travel that far you can call in for tae, the kettle is on. drop me a text ill be in the yard :)

OH wount fecking go and im feeling mega lazy. It could be an evening of arsing about. Im told im an expert at it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

OH wount fecking go and im feeling mega lazy. It could be an evening of arsing about. Im told im an expert at it :D
    well im sure you aint talking about me :D it must have been your partner in crime that said that about ya (not my fault if i agreed with her)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Don't open the nut off them completely unless you have to. Slacken it and push in the pipe into the fitting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Don't open the nut off them completely unless you have to. Slacken it and push in the pipe into the fitting.
    yup, dead handy when used right:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

you weren't too upset about it when the Belgian lad was around lol

There was 2 of them:P
    Can't say I've heard that one, do tell?

I was rock climbing at Dun Shean head and a wave came in and washed me off the platform I was climbing on. Got fairly bashed around and ended up hanging from one leg about 20 meters away from where I had been.
    Bloody lucky I was washed back in! Had about 7/8 kg of equipment on my harness too:eek:
    Free trip in a helicopter and was black and blue for quite some time.

Got sorted with a house too! Living with 2 lads that I work with.