If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Damo810 wrote: »
    Cazorla to start :D

1377979_613706572001674_100855436_n.jpg

Well done Clare, great game what's the story with the arsenal gob****es

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

stanflt wrote: »
    800 is all shes worth- i sold a few empties that were giving more at 400days in milk than she will at peak-
    was thinking the same

Never herd about 300 euro quad tax until today:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

hugo29 wrote: »

Honestly, don't know how we escaped so long without it popping up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

put a tow bar on it and then the tax is E102

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

uncle has a little DB and the tyre size is 14.9 r 28

He wants to pick up 2 secondhands. What sizes could I look out for?

No point getting new ones, he only feeds about 40 bales on an outfarm with it and old tyres are perished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

uncle has a little DB and the tyre size is 14.9 r 28

He wants to pick up 2 secondhands. What sizes could I look out for?

No point getting new ones, he only feeds about 40 bales on an outfarm with it and old tyres are perished

any idea of the rim width. 12.9 too narrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

whelan1 wrote: »

stunning looking heifer there. Would have to have very good figures for tgat price though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

any idea of the rim width. 12.9 too narrow?

not to sure :(, he called down an hour ago with the tyre size and said, get me 2 of them will ya :rolleyes:

Some difference to this time last year, stock panned out in the heat and sun today ,

See that poor woman was found in Dublin r.I.p and fair play to the dog for staying by her side and to d.I.d for helping the searches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Some difference to this time last year, stock panned out in the heat and sun today ,

too right, this day two years ago we were cutting wholecrop spring wheat that was only 30% dm, got the harvester buried in dry land. Dont think the sun shone down this way that year, as another guy rang me on the 10 of October to know if I was interested in more wholecrop. locally in either 10 or 11 there was spring wheat combined the 3rd of November :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Check out done deal. Search sheep . Cross breadman haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Liams coming home, I'm so hoarse I won't be able to talk for a week!! Ennis is bopping tonight, anyone want to the herding for me for the week? Yeeooowwww :D

tomorrow is the last day for spreading fertiliser, i assume most people are finished spreading was great to have the extra 2 weeks over last year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

tomorrow is the last day for spreading fertiliser, i assume most people are finished spreading was great to have the extra 2 weeks over last year

Shows that it really needs to be flexible. Conditions for spreading have been good so why not allow spreading. In an autum where leeching is a real fear then close it up. Farming by the calendar is no good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

bbam wrote: »
    Shows that it really needs to be flexible. Conditions for spreading have been good so why not allow spreading. In an autum where leeching is a real fear then close it up. Farming by the calendar is no good.

Hit from fert after 1st Sept dimishes quickly. I'd prefer if they extended the slurry and FYM to Dec so we could cost farm as we complete last grazing.
    As it is we will only get to cover 30% of farm with slurry closing 15 Oct and 60% with FYM as that's all we can have grazed by Nov 1st

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

when cork got the goal to equalise clare showed what they where made off, brilliant hurling

Only champions league and premiership to watch on the box for rest of the year. Paint drying on a foggy day, would be more exciting, compared to Croker yesterday.
    Serious fitness, skill and commitment from both sides. Hon the Banner.

delaval wrote: »
    Hit from fert after 1st Sept dimishes quickly. I'd prefer if they extended the slurry and FYM to Dec so we could cost farm as we complete last grazing.
    As it is we will only get to cover 30% of farm with slurry closing 15 Oct and 60% with FYM as that's all we can have grazed by Nov 1st

That's is but.
    You can't just put a static date on these things.

Only champions league and premiership to watch on the box for rest of the year. Paint drying on a foggy day, would be more exciting, compared to Croker yesterday.
    Serious fitness, skill and commitment from both sides. Hon the Banner.
    great day yesterday and even man united where beat:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Left out a quail from the freezer last night for dinner today, just went for it now and the goddammed cat has been at it!!!
    Cow and the blonde heifer are back on the farm now, going to go get a pic for ye :D

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Left out a quail from the freezer last night for dinner today,
    eeeeewwwwwwwwww

What's wrong with quail!:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Left out a quail from the freezer last night for dinner today, just went for it now and the goddammed cat has been at it!!!
    Cow and the blonde heifer are back on the farm now, going to go get a pic for ye :D

One quail ??? What kinda diet are you on , you would want at least three for a right dinner !

moy83 wrote: »
    One quail ??? What kinda diet are you on , you would want at least three for a right dinner !

That would be my starter moy :p

moy83 wrote: »

Maybe she meant starter

Local Garda station open today to facilitate signing off forms, got van signed off for the last few months,

Was going to do tractor for last 2 months as well, Garda said sign it off for year, no need to tax it, I like his style, must be from farming background:)

Father in law was telling me he had to get both tractors signed off for 4 and 6 years respectively ,

plenty ofthat going on

After watching the news. There are some sick people out there. God love those two girls in Athlone

Jesus I nearly got sick at the thought of it...
    Tis a job for some locals with pitchforks and slash-hooks...