Have you ever gone a day without food?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Yeah usually when I'm going through a bad bout of depression I just don't feel like or bother eating,last time during the summer I lost over a stone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

ElizaT33 wrote: »
    That's sad - why?

Ha ha! Thank you but it's not so bad. Have been on the dole since 2009 through college (graduated in June!) because of the recession, so after rent etc. you have very little left to run with. A large bill or new pair of runners can just totally wipe out the food budget for the week.

Can't complain though as I have received an education through the hardship. In other countries I would be out dying on the streets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

Yep, food poisoning will ruin your appetite for days. I remember at one point thinking "I never ever ever want to eat again if this is what food can cause", but obviously that view changed pretty quickly :rolleyes:

Other than that I can sometimes go several days without eating when I get really depressed, usually unwittingly. When that happens family will tend to notice that I haven't eaten for a while before I'll notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I have actually on occasion. I'm one of those people that if I don't eat or think about food I don't really get hungry (doesn't work all the time) so if I'm stuck in working hard I can actually go a whole day without food.
    I just substitute with fags and coffee/tea/water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Let me see. The longest I've went without eating was ... I think probably about 18 days or so.

But regularly go a day or 2 without eating. Sometime I just don't feel the need to eat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Absolutely zero food, I'd say about 4 or 5 days, with every minute of it a struggle and hallucinogenic towards the end. Ah the good aul world of eating disorders, the craic I had... :confused:

These days I would be a bit Nazi-ish about getting regular meals because of my past, but the odd time I find I can go entire days just...not hungry. I'll go 12 - 15 hours and be like, 'oh hold on, food'...

Everyone's body is different really. The aul staple 3-square-meals or 6-mini-meals doesn't suit everyone all the time. 24 hours without food isn't all that long really and can be good to give your digestive system a bit of a rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭peewee_44

Apart from sickness no. I just can't I turn into an evil witch without food

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

I went 4 days on a pill binge.

Yeah right.

Cool story bro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Candie wrote: »
    Lost about 10 lbs in as many days, mostly in tears :(

Could you have at least cried into a kettle or into the bath or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Didn't eat for 5 days when I had double pneumonia, I was too sick to move, let alone eat!

Didn't eat for 4 days after a break up two years ago.

I'll not eat for a day here and there, if I'm not hungry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

New diet fad, go out with someone, fall in love, break up. Lose weight instantly!!

Fcuk your weight watchers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Did Lipotrim a couple of years ago. Only shakes for 2 months. Lost nearly 4 stone but wold never do it again, screws with your metabolism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Yes, and that'd be dayS - from being an emotional wreck after someone close to me died a few years ago...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭TheBellJar

Those 11cent packs of noodles they used to have in Tesco saved me during my college years.

(although I may have been better off starving!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

36 hour fasts as part of a weight loss programme.

8pm Saturday til 8am Monday. Liquids still allowed.

Was hard first few goes but got the hang of it. Paid off very handsomely and helped a lot with my weight loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Lad Of Banter

fasted for 24 hours before a medical once and am fairly sure I have gone on the lash for a day with no food taken :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

plenty, but most of them due to hangovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I've done 3 - 5 day fasts before. Mind gets really clear, just don't look at, smell, or even think about food

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yep, regularly enough too. At least once a month, but usually more than once a month.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'd forgotten about all the people that regularly fast. I've often forgotten to eat during the day because of work and end up having my dinner at 10 o'clock at night. My problem is I can be like that during the working week and then binge at the weekend.

I lost a power of weight on yolks too, when I started taking them at 20 I was 21 stone, a year or two later I was 13, I had wasted away though, I was still overweight. When I stopped taking them though my weight went back up to 16 stone. not in the least bit healthy.

Same happened when my father died, I don't remember it too well but I mustn't have been eating because I lost a load of weight again.

I've never been in the position where I can't get food if I needed it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Candie wrote: »
    Yeah, I forgot I had one of those episodes too. Lost about 10 lbs in as many days, mostly in tears :(
    It's a fecking great diet. Some people eat more when heartbroken. I used to get through days on just water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

It's a fecking great diet. Some people eat more when heartbroken. I used to get through days on just water.

No it's not and it's downright dangerous starving yourself to "lose" weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Moneymaker wrote: »
    No it's not and it's downright dangerous starving yourself to "lose" weight.
    Oh it's not good for you obviously but if you physically can't eat it makes losing weight really easy, which is quite the confidence boost after a break-up. :pac:

anncoates wrote: »
    Could you have at least cried into a kettle or into the bath or something?

I cried into a pitcher, then sold my tears on Ebay by the champagne glass. They were snapped up by an dark genius who was hell-bent on taking over the world and who believed he was made stronger by the suffering of the heartbroken.

I believe his name was Dr. Evil.

He paid me one million dollars.

I'm an environmentalist, I waste nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Yes, it's not uncommon for me to go a day or two without eating anything. I have stomach problems, nausea etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

college haha...when fags and cans are prioritised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Sir_Badshot

Was flat broke and homeless in Aus years ago and starved for a week.

A horrible experience that everyone in the west should have to do once in their lives. Opened my eyes to the reality of hunger. It actually hurts like fuk.

Once I got food I could not eat as my stomach had shrunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

I went two days last week with no food! Only coffee. It was only when my mother asked about food that I remembered I hadn't eaten in over two days :o

I could very easily forget to eat :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I often go 2 or 3 days without food, sometimes 4, due to lack of appetite. I'd only have liquids, usually water or milk. I eventually force myself to eat because I know it's not healthy, especially because I cycle to work. I've never noticed any weight loss but then again, I don't tend to weigh myself.