If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Id make a claim they damaged the van and counter claim for same and contact the guards about customs officals trespassing without permits
    Customs have the right to walk in anywhere they want seemingly. I suppose otherwise no one would let them into their yard!

Dropped by earlier but you were with a lad you might get some business off so left well enough alone. Might see you next year;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Customs have almost limitless power,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

dharn wrote: »
    Customs have almost limitless power,

Fcuking dipsticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 FT7

Work with a lady whose husband is in the building trade and had an old 1993 Mitzi L300 van that hadn't been on the road for about 6 years. He drove it down to the site where they were building a new house along a private lane. Never saw the road. He was using it as a material store and also as a gate to keep undesirables out. He had it on green and this would not be the case with this bloke usually, he is as straight as a die. Anyway, letter comes in the post €3000 fine. The customs dipped it when it was in use as a gate. I was sickened for him. He would be able to show receipts for white diesel for years back. It looks like he will have to pay it as even though it was off the road it is a road going vehicle apparently, despite the fact it is declared off the road.

a local lad was stopped quite near home and was on green, this was a good few years ago and on the spot fine was less if you paid up there and then

he told the customs personell to follow him home and he would get a cheque

his father had a cattle truck parked in the yard, ... you can guess the rest :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

FT7 wrote: »
    a local lad was stopped quite near home and was on green, this was a good few years ago and on the spot fine was less if you paid up there and then

his father had a cattle truck parked in the yard, ... you can guess the rest :D:D

Jaaaayysussssss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

FT7 wrote: »

Sh1t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Won't be long now till chit chat 3. :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Ballinrobe is Saturday isn't it? Tomorrow Friday, heading to Galway for the Hill Farming Forum in the Clayton Hotel. Though I'd forgive it if it were anything else, still tired from yesterday.
    I got a IFA text today saying it was changed to the ard ri hotel in TUAM AT 2oc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

How long will that last with the long evenings well on the way and nothing worth watching on the box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

How long will that last with the long evenings well on the way and nothing worth watching on the box.

Goin on this one........ About 7 months!

Well Fcuk me. I managed to post the pic I was trying earlier.
    Off to pic thread now..... :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Bizzum wrote: »
    Won't be long now till chit chat 3. :-)
    Well whelan1, you've to come up with a cracker of a post to start it off:D:D

(no pressure;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭valtra2

Spotted a neighbour (guard) on one of the junctions directing traffic into the ploughing at around 11 this morn, poor f**ker was still in same spot when we were leaving at 6 this evening.
    ah god bless him 11 to 6, such long hours how does he do it:D

valtra2 wrote: »
    standing around for that length of time on a road aint that easy lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

standing around for that length of time on a road aint that easy lad

Its harder than a hard days work, have done 14 hour days in Dublin doing traffic management.

It's great getting into the bed and not having to set that bloodly alarm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Work with a lady whose husband is in the building trade and had an old 1993 Mitzi L300 van that hadn't been on the road for about 6 years. He drove it down to the site where they were building a new house along a private lane. Never saw the road. He was using it as a material store and also as a gate to keep undesirables out. He had it on green and this would not be the case with this bloke usually, he is as straight as a die. Anyway, letter comes in the post €3000 fine. The customs dipped it when it was in use as a gate. I was sickened for him. He would be able to show receipts for white diesel for years back. It looks like he will have to pay it as even though it was off the road it is a road going vehicle apparently, despite the fact it is declared off the road.

Can the Customs enter private property to dip a vehicle? Does it not have to be on the road, or followed in off the road?

yes they can, law is completely on their side. I had them in here a few years ago. Was dipped recently at local garage which I taught was unfair on the garage owner and if it was me I would have had serious words with them over it. Fine dip outside the garage on the road but not customers on a commercial premises

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I agree, its easier than spending the day walking around like a spare prick looking for animals that have gone on walk about, I need them for killing in the morning so had to keep looking. Located 2 miles away by neighbor an hour ago. Can wait for the leaba but have to wait for a truck to come with grub first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

are any of ye on good intenet connections
    i ordered fiber today should have it in few weeks

30 down 8 up is the best i can get

savage pic

5VhyXE.jpg

Was there naughto, singapore amazing place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

Was there naughto, singapore amazing place
    it that u in the pool beside whelen

https://db.tt/Szrx0Ftp days numbered

naughto wrote: »
    it that u in the pool beside whelen

That would be telling, kovu might be upset

Ha brave man going down that road :D

Esp if the wife found out :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Kovu is just upset at being up at 5am!
    And that photo is NOPE NOPE NOPE for me. Still have my fear of water!

(for those that don't know, I was washed off a cliff in Dingle)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

have you accommadation sorted for next week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

what does he do if he needs the loo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan1 wrote: »
    have you accommadation sorted for next week?

Not yet :(
    And I'm not going to yours!:p I'd be up at 4am prob!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

rancher wrote: »
    I got a IFA text today saying it was changed to the ard ri hotel in TUAM AT 2oc

Since I paid my membership I stopped getting texts, though saying that I got one about a county exec meeting Monday night :confused: I must ring them up and get it sorted, something gone wrong along the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

whelan1 wrote: »
    what does he do if he needs the loo?

Plenty of hedges along the way in!

To be fair, we got to where the Gardai were well before 7.30, and it was the same ones there when we left. That's a long slog of a day stood in the one spot for anyone, cop or not.