If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

whelan1 wrote: »
    customs where stopping in an unmarked car a few miles from here yestersday, they went to local shop for lunch and nabbed a poor woman putting green diesel in her car.... 3000 euro fine :eek:
    I heard that they plan to change the system so that there is only one diesel and farmers can then claim back the VAT on it. Makes sense when you think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

It's not that cheap at the pump at the shop 105.9 cpl for green or kero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

eire23 wrote: »
    Ya nearly every breed is there although there might be a lot of a common breed and few of a rare breed. Its a good enough day out.

Are ya heading to ballinrobe tomorrow?

Ballinrobe is Saturday isn't it? Tomorrow Friday, heading to Galway for the Hill Farming Forum in the Clayton Hotel. Though I'd forgive it if it were anything else, still tired from yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

pakalasa wrote: »
    I heard that they plan to change the system so that there is only one diesel and farmers can then claim back the VAT on it. Makes sense when you think about it.

Totally unmanageable. What's to stop a farmer using diesel from his farm tank, to fill his car, jeep, wife's car, kids cars,.
    I believe that has been the stumbling block all along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭eire23

Ballinrobe is Saturday isn't it? Tomorrow Friday, heading to Galway for the Hill Farming Forum in the Clayton Hotel. Though I'd forgive it if it were anything else, still tired from yesterday.

Yer right, it is saturday. Dont need a ram this year but might go for the look.
    If ya hear anything of intrest tomorrow ya might report back on it!

Totally unmanageable. What's to stop a farmer using diesel from his farm tank, to fill his car, jeep, wife's car, kids cars,.
    :confused: Well what's stopping them doing just that at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

They could do it if they kept it green.
    Buy green diesel at road diesel price, then get refund.

Had a cow calved today was in heat every 3 weeks during the summer. Had a replacement tag ordered to bring her to mart. Got vet to handle her, she was in calf. Nice pbm heifer calf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

My local shop has the road diesel and the tractor diesel on the same pump. Mother was talking to the neighbour the other day and he never knew they were different diesel in the two pumps ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Some que in the tax office today I'd say the workers heads are fit to explode.if only common sense was used it would be so much easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

A few year ago I filled the work jeep to the gills with Agri diesel. And Like a fool I stood there in my innocence wondering why it was so cheap.
    Would have took a nice bit of explaining if I was stopped. One government dept persecuting the other :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

jersey101 wrote: »
    Mother was talking to the neighbour the other day and he never knew they were different diesel in the two pumps

Ye live beside Stevie Wonder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Muckit wrote: »
    Ye live beside Stevie Wonder?

not that i know of ha

was talking to shop owner there, said the customs have another local garage more or less shut down as customs set up up the road from it- only on a dry day, never when its raining-

was over in local pub there, arthurs day went down like a lead balloon:) 2 other people there and they where not drinking guinness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

whelan1 wrote: »
    was over in local pub there, arthurs day went down like a lead balloon:) 2 other people there and they where not drinking guinness

It's a joke. went in myself for one. Seemingly the publicans are the ones that have to foot the bill for any free pints, no free barrel laid on by the brewery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Some que in the tax office today I'd say the workers heads are fit to explode.if only common sense was used it would be so much easier.

queue started at 8.30 in Cavan on Tuesday morning. Doors opened at 9, 25 people waiting. Ticket machine not switched on till 9.30, was
    almost war , as people near to door started taking tickets while the 50 or so already waiting inside rushed back to the machine. by the time person number 3 left the counter, they were up to 102 .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Speed van has a great spot parked in the gate way on that corner on the good road, can't see it from either direction until on top of it.

Did ye hear the one about the ' travelling sales men' in Limerick. He got caught speeding on his white van by an unmarked white speed van.

The next time he saw it there again he got a copy of the licence plate of the camera van. He fixed it to his own van. He then drove up and down the road at speed so they send the notice to their own company. Took a bit of figuring out for the company to figure out what had happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

queue started at 8.30 in Cavan on Tuesday morning. Doors opened at 9, 25 people waiting. Ticket machine not switched on till 9.30, was
    almost war , as people near to door started taking tickets while the 50 or so already waiting inside rushed back to the machine. by the time person number 3 left the counter, they were up to 102 .

Mullingar lethal today know one chap waited 4 hours

you could sell tae and sandwiches ! Or get your ticket and go for the breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

Was flat out concreting during the week. Done 200m3 the other day. Done 53m3 yesterday. Had today booked off for ploughing and boss rang to see if I could work wed night. Hard to say no after getting today off. Was home at three this morning then up at 7 for ploughing. And all for s...e money. Any jobs out there. Anyone know much about work in London doing the new underground stations

Limousin bull 'Roundhill Saturn' (RHN) - anyone know who bought him at the Carwin Dispersal Clearance sale. Was it NCBC?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Dupont wrote: »
    Was flat out concreting during the week. Done 200m3 the other day. Done 53m3 yesterday. Had today booked off for ploughing and boss rang to see if I could work wed night. Hard to say no after getting today off. Was home at three this morning then up at 7 for ploughing. And all for s...e money. Any jobs out there. Anyone know much about work in London doing the new underground stations

A buddy of mine was the last year working nights at concrete in london but the last time I was talking to him he was heading to Jersey , he reckons better money was to got there and plenty of work . When he is around again Ill PM his number to you if you like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Work with a lady whose husband is in the building trade and had an old 1993 Mitzi L300 van that hadn't been on the road for about 6 years. He drove it down to the site where they were building a new house along a private lane. Never saw the road. He was using it as a material store and also as a gate to keep undesirables out. He had it on green and this would not be the case with this bloke usually, he is as straight as a die. Anyway, letter comes in the post €3000 fine. The customs dipped it when it was in use as a gate. I was sickened for him. He would be able to show receipts for white diesel for years back. It looks like he will have to pay it as even though it was off the road it is a road going vehicle apparently, despite the fact it is declared off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

well the ploughing is over. And back in the same place next year. I didn't hear 1 person giving out in the 3 days and talking to a few stands beside us they all were happy with business

On bob Charles question, to be honest you select a section on the form. How golden pages are financial and a lad selling mobility things is either I don't know. I will be querying this with NPA on Monday

To be honest, the NPA put on a great event, and its good they listened to all the complaints from last years event and all credit to the Gardaí and the head garda over the traffic plan who was a female.

We will be back next year, have decided already, take what you want of that :D:D:D. And the real boss will be trilled with comments :cool:

Work with a lady whose husband is in the building trade and had an old 1993 Mitzi L300 van that hadn't been on the road for about 6 years. He drove it down to the site where they were building a new house along a private lane. Never saw the road. He was using it as a material store and also as a gate to keep undesirables out. He had it on green and this would not be the case with this bloke usually, he is as straight as a die. Anyway, letter comes in the post €3000 fine. The customs dipped it when it was in use as a gate. I was sickened for him. He would be able to show receipts for white diesel for years back. It looks like he will have to pay it as even though it was off the road it is a road going vehicle apparently, despite the fact it is declared off the road.

Can the Customs enter private property to dip a vehicle? Does it not have to be on the road, or followed in off the road?

Had a neighbour dipped in his yard recently, he was and always is on white by the way, so they must be able to Iver. Now if they had dipped my neighbour on the other side......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Can the Customs enter private property to dip a vehicle? Does it not have to be on the road, or followed in off the road?

Id make a claim they damaged the van and counter claim for same and contact the guards about customs officals trespassing without permits

He is to see a solicitor early next week, U fortunate thing is that will end up probably near the cost of the fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭flat out !!

Spotted a neighbour (guard) on one of the junctions directing traffic into the ploughing at around 11 this morn, poor f**ker was still in same spot when we were leaving at 6 this evening.