Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there an implied xenophobia towards Northerners in Irish society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,081 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I see nothing wrong with using the nordie. You use it when you refer to people from the 6 counties and sometimes (to wind them up) on Donegal , Cavan and Monaghan folk (bye lord they get very touchy about referring the area as "the north", geographical terms) . Any ho, that is hardly a sweeping statement , it is accurate.

Ye seem to be a sensitive bunch of mongs. PC brigade , eh?

wow:rolleyes:

• Administrators Posts: 55,148 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Nothing will suck every drop of moisture from your mouth like a soda farl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

chopper6 wrote: »
    Exhibit B. Pretending to be PC to collect thanks.

I'm pretending nothing. I stand by my views on things and feel no desire to conform to some imaginary PC dictum.

All to often we hear cries of 'My free speech and right to hold opinions people don't like is being denied me by the (mythical) PC Brigade'.

You have no right to free speech and if you have opinions people don't like expect to have them challenged.

S'all in the game yo.
    awec wrote: »

Makes the tae all the nicer though.
    I see nothing wrong with using the nordie.

Neither do I if it's used as a term of affection.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

I'm pretending nothing. I stand by my views on things and feel no desire to conform to some imaginary PC dictum.

All to often we hear cries of 'My free speech and right to hold opinions people don't like is being denied me by the (mythical) PC Brigade'.

You have no right to free speech and if you have opinions people don't like expect to have them challenged.

S'all in the game yo.

Neither do I if it's used as an term of affection.

Free Speech as in the right not to be censored. You are challenging the comment, you ain't censoring it. You are exercising your right to do so.

The poster and everyone else has the right to ignore you and you have the right to ignore them. Carry on with your crusade.

Oh you silly hunt

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

old hippy wrote: »
    Nothing pc about pointing out prejudice. Love these kind of threads, the haters being exposed for what they are.

Don't hate anybody..i did say however that i largely disliked nordies and gave my reasons for that.

Anybody who pretends to be free from prejudice is a liar..it's the same all over the world,man will always hate man.

You demonstrated your intolerance straight away just then...you leapt in with "prejudice" and "haters"...you felt the need to pigeonhole me based on a couple of sentences i uttered on a discussion board.

As for me being "exposed" isnt this a bit smug of you? You're obviously content to sit at your PC dishing out ladlefulls of social justice whilst congratulating yourself on your enlightenment.

As i said...my honesty versus PC platitudes to collect thanks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

The Ulster Fry has to be the most dsgusting crap ever put on a plate. Jesus, - why would you take soda bread and bathe it in cooking oil instead of like, using a toaster as the rest of humanity does. Also, - potatoes or that sick-in-a-bap you call potato "bread" have no place in a breakfast. Fcuk sake....

chopper6 wrote: »
    Don't hate anybody..i did say however that i largely disliked nordies and gave my reasons for that.

Anybody who pretends to be free from prejudice is a liar..it's the same all over the world,man will always hate man.

You demonstrated your intolerance straight away just then...you leapt in with "prejudice" and "haters"...you felt the need to pigeonhole me based on a couple of sentences i uttered on a discussion board.

As for me being "exposed" isnt this a bit smug of you? You're obviously content to sit at your PC dishing out ladlefulls of social justice whilst congratulating yourself on your enlightenment.

As i said...my honesty versus PC platitudes to collect thanks...

He only wishes you could give him a hand with the self enlightenment. boom boom. Damn pointless hippies, ruining the fun for everyone else

So you like exposing yourself , eh? Filthy mind that Hippy dude

Free Speech as in the right not to be censored.

So you think you should be able to libel people, incite people to violence, organise riots and then have a get-out-of-jail-free 'free speech' defence? See there's no such thing as an absolute RTFS.
    The poster and everyone else has the right to ignore you and you have the right to ignore them. Carry on with your crusade.

Oh I'm fine with being ignored sweetie.

Run along now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,081 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

johnr1 wrote: »
    The Ulster Fry has to be the most dsgusting crap ever put on a plate. Jesus, - why would you take soda bread and bathe it in cooking oil instead of like, using a toaster as the rest of humanity does. Also, - potatoes or that sick-in-a-bap you call potato "bread" have no place in a breakfast. Fcuk sake....

Fried potatoes are fecking SAVAGE with a breakfast

So you think you should be able to libel people

No.

Who is being libelled in this thread? What was said? Is there any truth in the Statement? Was it an honest opinion based on something, like experience?

Did the victim have a chance to reply and rebut the matter?

Or are you just waffling on?
    incite people to violence, organise riots and then have a get-out-of-jail-free 'free speech' defence? See there's no such thing as an absolute RTFS.

Maybe I missed this, but where was that suggested on this thread? As you know that example is a limit to Freedom of speech

Oh I'm fine with being ignored sweetie.

Super duper
    Run along now.

Just answer the above question about the libelling . It would be nice to disprove the idea that you were being an hysterical spoofer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Painted Pony

P_1 wrote: »
    Moving away from GAA there is the United Ireland question. The opinion of 'fcuk that, we don't want THEM in our country' has been uttered by a good few people
    Certainly there are many, me included, who think a united Ireland, as least in the short term would be disastrous for both North and South. That does not quite equate to not “wanting THEM in our country”.

What we don’t want is the intra-community hostility that is still evident up there. And that’s hardly surprising! The folk of NI (really? Can we not say “nordie” any more?) would rather not have that either if they could be rid of it.
    So my question is, are people from Northern Ireland viewed as some kind of second class citizen by a sizable section of society in the 26 counties, and if so, why?
    See this “26 counties” thing isn’t exactly an aphrodisiac for us! If you are going to refer to our state using a term that was traditionally used by those who wished to convey that they did not recognise the state (and all the associated trappings: puppet governments, West-Brit press etc.) then surprisingly enough, some of us will have a bit less love to give you as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

As you know that example is a limit to Freedom of speech

Give that man a cream bun. There are limits to free speech, thus, the 'free' part of the term 'free speech' is essentially redundant. I was helping you understand this.
    It would be nice to disprove the idea that you were being an hysterical spoofer

This sentence makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

I think in my age group (mid 20's and below) there is an implied xenophobia. Many people down here view people from the North as being from a different planet totally no matter what community they belong to.

Everyone wants to bury their heads and forget about the issues up North, so they just classify it as totally alien to them. The first thing people think of when you mention the North are the troubles, not the great people from both sides of the communal divide and the rich albeit harrowing at times history.

Because of the utter bastardization of it's history, geography and politics by some left wing groups, if you appear interested, knowledgable or otherwise intrigued/concerned by issues up North, you are automatically seen to be a zealot for 'the cause'.

It's a shame.

On a further note, apart from Rockall, I have a funny feeling that the British don't want Northern Ireland anymore...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

What's different about an Ulster brekkie anyway? I've always wanted to know since one was mentioned in that Seamus Heaney poem, but the subtle differences between that, an Irish, and English fry was never specified.

Farls and potatoe bread. Superior egg yoke soakage.....

......also the dry humourless bacon and the loyalist sausages that we eat, with little union jack flags on and everything.

Seriously.

You sir, are a fool with no discernible sense of taste, decency or respect for your own long suffering stomach.

Apply more tea to mouth.

Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

You just reminded me, it's been awhile since I had an oul Ulster fry and you just can't beat it.

You just can't handle it! :P

Nordies are reared on that sort of nosh.

Makes the tae all the nicer though.

Always have to bring some soda farls back down whenever I head up home.

Bakery ones are the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

I am pie wrote: »
    You sir, are a fool with no discernible sense of taste, decency or respect for your own long suffering stomach.

Yes, yes of course...lard, grease and pg tips tea are jyst the epitome of taste :D
    You just reminded me, it's been awhile since I had an oul Ulster fry and you just can't beat it.

If you aspire to be as overweight as possible, yes.

Whatever you nordies think is great about the place, for your own sake, don't talk about your food. It jyst embarrases you.

Yes, yes of course...lard, grease and pg tips tea are jyst the epitome of taste :D

If you aspire to be as overweight as possible, yes.

Whatever you nordies think is great about the place, for your own sake, don't talk about your food. It jyst embarrases you.

A pastie bap and a tin of Harp.

It's a cuisine. You need a cultured palette to appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

To be fair, this stuff is fairly epic!

A pastie bap and a tin of Harp.

It's a cuisine. You need a cultured palette to appreciate it.

He'll never understand, let him be. He's a dead loss. Poor fella.

I miss pasties. :(

When I first moved down here I went in to the chipper and asked for a pastie supper - girl looked at me like I had two heads. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Pardon my ignorance but what in the name of Paddy Jackson is a pastie supper?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pastie

A supper = with chips.

Sausage supper = sausage and chips
    Fish supper = fish and chips
    Cowboy supper = sausage, chips and beans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

So steak and chips is known as a steak supper to ye heathens then :pac:

No, it only works in the chipper (which is instead called a chippy). :)

So steak and chips is known as a steak supper to ye heathens then :pac:

Ah now, steak and chips is steak and chips. A curry chip is a curry chip and a gravy chip is....a gravy chip.

Pasties, I tend to think you are generally better off not getting to close to the detail of what actually goes into one. The tastiest ones have a pink hue to them. Victoria Hotspot in Carrickfergus (about the only reason to set foot in the place) is the finest version I have tasted.