Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there an implied xenophobia towards Northerners in Irish society

• 25-09-2013 2:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭

Just a thought that I realised when chatting to my Dad about the GAA over the weekend. He touched on the hypocrisy in the acceptance of Dublin's 'cynical' tactics and the criticism of the vary same tactics from teams from Ulster by the media and the dreaded r word was mentioned.

Moving away from GAA there is the United Ireland question. The opinion of 'fcuk that, we don't want THEM in our country' has been uttered by a good few people and the term 'Nordie' has almost become a derogatory one.

So my question is, are people from Northern Ireland viewed as some kind of second class citizen by a sizable section of society in the 26 counties, and if so, why?

Maybe 'xenophobia' might be a better word than 'racism' to use in the title, if a helpful mod could kindly change the title it'd be much appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

I don't think they are viewed as second class, simply put a lot of people in this jurisdiction don't want a UI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

P_1 wrote: »
    Just a thought that I realised when chatting to my Dad about the GAA over the weekend. He touched on the hypocrisy in the acceptance of Dublin's 'cynical' tactics and the criticism of the vary same tactics from teams from Ulster by the media and the dreaded r word was mentioned.

What cynical tactics? Trying to hold onto a lead with 13 fit players in the last few minutes of a game is hardly up there with the 'puke football' of Tyrone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Think it's elastic to be honest, I see them as no different to Wexford or Kilkenny people as regards their Irishness, I tend to regard the Prods up there as 'Ulster Scots' yet still Irish, although even with them the likes of George Best, Eddie Irvine, James Nesbit exude a vibe that's comfortable with being regarded as Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

Are you trying to sneak a GAA thread into AH?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Not racism. For the love of god can people stop using the term racism when they don't know what it means,

Ps. (Am from Belfast) Guns, bombs, marches and riots tend to get on people's tits.

Problem a bit of sectarianism and dislike of the noisy neighbours at play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

FatherLen wrote: »
    Are you trying to sneak a GAA thread into AH?

No not at all, it was just an anecdote that got me thinking about the subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Once in a while a day like this comes along...
    First a Public Sector bashing thread, now a Norn Iron thread next has to be either Dole bashing or traveller thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Doesn't someone have to be of a difference race to bring in the term 'racism'?

Is the OP suggesting those from the north are of a difference race? Is that not in itself racist? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

How can it be racism if they are the same race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Are people from N Ireland a different race from people living on the rest of the island?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

I am pie wrote: »
    Not racism. For the love of god can people stop using the term racism when they don't know what it means,

Ps. (Am from Belfast) Guns, bombs, marches and riots tend to get on people's tits.

Problem a bit of sectarianism and dislike of the noisy neighbours at play.

Sorry, I forgot: Ulster Taytos are best Taytos & Ulster Fry is best Fry.

Bit of jealousy involved in the fried potato snack & breakfast gluttony department too...

o1s1n wrote: »
    Doesn't someone have to be of a difference race to bring in the term 'racism'?

Is the OP suggesting those from the north are of a difference race? Is that not in itself racist? :pac:

Ouch you got me there :pac: Racist is perhaps the wrong word alright, the closest thing I can possibly think of is the opinions some West Germans had towards their Eastern fellow-Germans back around the time the Wall went down. I'm sure there's probably some fancy German word for it but basically it means do some people in the 26 counties believe themselves to be somewhat 'better' than those from the 6 Counties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭Manassas61

People don't want more burden on the Irish state. What is wrong with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Why does it have to be labelled racism? Can't we just not like a certain group of people without labeling it in human rights BS terms. I don't particularly like NI people, at least the ones I encounter on a regular basis. Maybe the decent ones stay in NI and don't venture across the border much and so my opinion is clouded by the worst of the bunch I don't consider myself racist, I just don't like them just like I don't like nachos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Ouch you got me there :pac: Racist is perhaps the wrong word alright, the closest thing I can possibly think of is the opinions some West Germans had towards their Eastern fellow-Germans back around the time the Wall went down. I'm sure there's probably some fancy German word for it but basically it means do some people in the 26 counties believe themselves to be somewhat 'better' than those from the 6 Counties?

During Oktobrefest a few years ago a local girl said she called them West Poles. So how about ...errr....West Brits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

dd972 wrote: »
    Think it's elastic to be honest, I see them as no different to Wexford or Kilkenny people as regards their Irishness, I tend to regard the Prods up there as 'Ulster Scots' yet still Irish, although even with them the likes of George Best, Eddie Irvine, James Nesbit exude a vibe that's comfortable with being regarded as Irish.

Stopped reading after prods, I can't imagine you have anything intelligent to say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Winty wrote: »
    Stopped reading after prods, I can't imagine you have anything intelligent to say

Jeff Bridges killed off folk like you back in 98

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWdd6_ZxX8c

Have you also heard that there's people in NI who don't regard themselves as Irish btw ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

dd972 wrote: »

sweet jesus
    "The Prods" sounds like a fecking dodgy folk band

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

The people who use the term 'nordies' in a derogatory way are, as a rule, dim-witted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 Hankmarker

Not a big fan of Northern Ireland myself, I'd prefer it if we cut it off and pushed it across to England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Winty wrote: »

Bet you didn't.

wprathead wrote: »
    sweet jesus
    "The Prods" sounds like a fecking dodgy folk band

Prog rock band, shirely?

Prod - prog..

I'll get my coat.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I have no problem being called nordy. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm so xenophobic I don't even like people from the next village.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

I actually don't like Nordies...i dunno whether they always seem to be whinging or that they seem to be largely humorless and miserable.

And there seems to be an inordinate number of them on ads and television....that lipless bloke off the UPC ads is particularly annoying.

chopper6 wrote: »
    I actually don't like Nordies...i dunno whether they always seem to be whinging or that they seem to be largely humorless and miserable.

And there seems to be an inordinate number of them on ads and television....that lipless bloke off the UPC ads is particularly annoying.

Exhibit A. Dumb prejudice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Hankmarker wrote: »
    Not a big fan of Northern Ireland myself, I'd prefer it if we cut it off and pushed it across to England.

If I had a dollar for every time I heard that old chestnut. Most people, bar the uberpatriots in the UK don't want it, either.

I'd rather see the 6 counties independent of the Republic and the UK.

Whatever the majority of the people of NI want, really. I have nothing against people from the north, I have family still there :)

old hippy wrote: »
    If I had a dollar for every time I heard that old chestnut. Most people, bar the uberpatriots in the UK don't want it, either.

I'd rather see the 6 counties independent of the Republic and the UK.

Whatever the majority of the people of NI want, really. I have nothing against people from the north, I have family still there :)

Fair enough, maybe we can push them
    over to Iceland or set them adrift in the atlantic. Northern Irish people creep me out generally speaking, don't know if it's the annoying accent or something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

A lot of people feel they don't share as much commonality with those from Northern-Ireland. Its rather normal seeing as they live in a different country, spend a different currency, vote in different elections, etc. I think it's rather factually accurate to say there are more commonalities between a Kerry and Donegal man than a Kerry and Derry man. So from that point of view it's understandable.

The there's the fact that nationally as a country we voted that we could give up our constitutional hold on Northern-Ireland and allow the land to determine it's own direction thus accepting it as a part of the UK. So it's therefore understandable that people from Ireland are more likely to be fans of Irish (the country) teams than Northern Irish teams.

These aren't necessarily my beliefs nor do they preclude the fact that most if not all Northern Irish players are Irish citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

over to Iceland or set them adrift in the atlantic. Northern Irish people creep me out generally speaking, don't know if it's the annoying accent or something else.

Imagine you replaced Northern Irish with "black" in the above post. It wouldn't be long before you were banned...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I am pie wrote: »
    Sorry, I forgot: Ulster Taytos are best Taytos & Ulster Fry is best Fry.

Bit of jealousy involved in the fried potato snack & breakfast gluttony department too...

What's different about an Ulster brekkie anyway? I've always wanted to know since one was mentioned in that Seamus Heaney poem, but the subtle differences between that, an Irish, and English fry was never specified.

enda1 wrote: »
    Imagine you replaced Northern Irish with "black" in the above post. It wouldn't be long before you were banned...

Don't get me started on those Africans, I'd push them over to South America.

It's you.

"Black" automatically means "African" does it?

It's you.

It ain't me son, many share my dislike of Northern Irish folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭JessePinkman

Any person from Derry,Antrim,Down etc are as Irish as anyone from down south,Regards "Nordie" being used as discriminatory,I would view it in the same way as you would slag a Dub for being a Jackeen or how i would be a cluchie..Tis only a bit of craic

"Black" automatically means "African" does it?

You're one of those I see. Carry on.

Don't call me "son". And do many share your dislike of black people as well?

You're one of those I see. Carry on.

Answer the question before you vanish, I dare you.

You're one of those rational people I see. Carry on.

FYP;)

Don't call me "son". And do many share your dislike of black people as well?

Your racist views abhor me, we're all the same underneath, don't judge someone by their skin colour, princess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

As a 'nordie' in Dublin I've never had any trouble or ill-feeling towards me during my six years here. I find a lot of Irish people, like myself, couldn't really care less about what's happening in NI and just watch on with a sense of bemusement.

Always remember going in to Quinn's in Drumcondra during my first few months here and asking if they could put the NI world cup qualifier on one of the smaller TVs in the corner for me to watch, while Ireland were being shown on the big screens - and a few well liquored, hardened looking Dubs gave me a nod from across the bar and said "enjoy, if anyone gives you trouble we'll sort them out". Heroes.

ah sure if many share it, there must be some validity in it right? right?*

*answer: wrong

What's different about an Ulster brekkie anyway? I've always wanted to know since one was mentioned in that Seamus Heaney poem, but the subtle differences between that, an Irish, and English fry was never specified.

It's the farls that make the difference isn't it?

Your racist views abhor me, we're all the same underneath, don't judge someone by their skin colour, princess.

So you can't answer the question, then? Just here for the troll?

Why even bother? :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

Moving away from GAA there is the United Ireland question. The opinion of 'fcuk that, we don't want THEM in our country' has been uttered by a good few people and the term 'Nordie' has almost become a derogatory one.

So my question is, are people from Northern Ireland viewed as some kind of second class citizen by a sizable section of society in the 26 counties, and if so, why?

Maybe 'xenophobia' might be a better word than 'racism' to use in the title, if a helpful mod could kindly change the title it'd be much appreciated

While some while have some sympathy to those of the Republican cause, in the past, many people here, even those who had some sympathy simply despise these Republicans who attempted to high jack our flag and bomb INNOCENT people in Enniskillen, Manchester and London. (I mean civilians and not army personnel), all under our name. They have even , albeit unauthorised and against their own rules, have killed members of our Army and Gardaí. Some of these men have abused their position and tolerance from their locals by acting the bully boy with locals with the usual crap like "do you know who I am?" Think Robert McCartney

Then you have the other shower of toe rags, the loyalists. The less said about those parasites the better.

Now, how the hell did racism get into a discussion about the hypocrisy of cynical tactics? Joe Brolly gave out about it. And he teared into Sean Cavanagh. Others were just hypocrites. Ulster football is known to be a bit dire, to the eyes of the old school footballers who want fast ball up to the forwards and where defenders were defenders . Nothing to do with where they are from, really. If racism was referred to, then those people are idiots. Pure and simple

Many Ulster people on both sides of the divide are chippy shower of bastards , always whinging and always playing the victim. We have no intention of pandering to any of these groups, we have enough with revisionists downplaying our country's birth. It would be more trouble than it is worth

Frankly, people in the North, even as far as Letterkenny, have more in common with Glasgow than they have with Dublin

wprathead wrote: »
    ah sure if many share it, there must be some validity in it right? right?*

*answer: wrong

News flash sunshine, likes and dislikes are subjective. Each and every persons likes and dislikes are valid, in a civilised society people are entitled to them, grow up.

You're certainly entitled to hold your ugly views but don't act all surprised when you get challenged on them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

The people who use the term 'nordies' in a derogatory way are, as a rule, dim-witted.

It is no different to people from the country being called Culchies or Dubliners being called Jackeens or those who look to Britain as West Brits.

Which rule by the way? Where can one find this rule?