Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there an implied xenophobia towards Northerners in Irish society

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I am pie wrote: »
    Sorry, I forgot: Ulster Taytos are best Taytos & Ulster Fry is best Fry.

Bit of jealousy involved in the fried potato snack & breakfast gluttony department too...

What's different about an Ulster brekkie anyway? I've always wanted to know since one was mentioned in that Seamus Heaney poem, but the subtle differences between that, an Irish, and English fry was never specified.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 Hankmarker

enda1 wrote: »
    Imagine you replaced Northern Irish with "black" in the above post. It wouldn't be long before you were banned...

Don't get me started on those Africans, I'd push them over to South America.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Hankmarker wrote: »
    Fair enough, maybe we can push them
    over to Iceland or set them adrift in the atlantic. Northern Irish people creep me out generally speaking, don't know if it's the annoying accent or something else.

It's you.

"Black" automatically means "African" does it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,081 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

old hippy wrote: »
    It's you.

It ain't me son, many share my dislike of Northern Irish folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭JessePinkman

Any person from Derry,Antrim,Down etc are as Irish as anyone from down south,Regards "Nordie" being used as discriminatory,I would view it in the same way as you would slag a Dub for being a Jackeen or how i would be a cluchie..Tis only a bit of craic

"Black" automatically means "African" does it?

You're one of those I see. Carry on.

Don't call me "son". And do many share your dislike of black people as well?

You're one of those I see. Carry on.

Answer the question before you vanish, I dare you.

You're one of those rational people I see. Carry on.

FYP;)

Don't call me "son". And do many share your dislike of black people as well?

Your racist views abhor me, we're all the same underneath, don't judge someone by their skin colour, princess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,213 ✭✭✭maximoose

As a 'nordie' in Dublin I've never had any trouble or ill-feeling towards me during my six years here. I find a lot of Irish people, like myself, couldn't really care less about what's happening in NI and just watch on with a sense of bemusement.

Always remember going in to Quinn's in Drumcondra during my first few months here and asking if they could put the NI world cup qualifier on one of the smaller TVs in the corner for me to watch, while Ireland were being shown on the big screens - and a few well liquored, hardened looking Dubs gave me a nod from across the bar and said "enjoy, if anyone gives you trouble we'll sort them out". Heroes.

ah sure if many share it, there must be some validity in it right? right?*

*answer: wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

What's different about an Ulster brekkie anyway? I've always wanted to know since one was mentioned in that Seamus Heaney poem, but the subtle differences between that, an Irish, and English fry was never specified.

It's the farls that make the difference isn't it?

Your racist views abhor me, we're all the same underneath, don't judge someone by their skin colour, princess.

So you can't answer the question, then? Just here for the troll?

Why even bother? :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

P_1 wrote: »
    Just a thought that I realised when chatting to my Dad about the GAA over the weekend. He touched on the hypocrisy in the acceptance of Dublin's 'cynical' tactics and the criticism of the vary same tactics from teams from Ulster by the media and the dreaded r word was mentioned.

Moving away from GAA there is the United Ireland question. The opinion of 'fcuk that, we don't want THEM in our country' has been uttered by a good few people and the term 'Nordie' has almost become a derogatory one.

So my question is, are people from Northern Ireland viewed as some kind of second class citizen by a sizable section of society in the 26 counties, and if so, why?

Maybe 'xenophobia' might be a better word than 'racism' to use in the title, if a helpful mod could kindly change the title it'd be much appreciated

While some while have some sympathy to those of the Republican cause, in the past, many people here, even those who had some sympathy simply despise these Republicans who attempted to high jack our flag and bomb INNOCENT people in Enniskillen, Manchester and London. (I mean civilians and not army personnel), all under our name. They have even , albeit unauthorised and against their own rules, have killed members of our Army and Gardaí. Some of these men have abused their position and tolerance from their locals by acting the bully boy with locals with the usual crap like "do you know who I am?" Think Robert McCartney

Then you have the other shower of toe rags, the loyalists. The less said about those parasites the better.

Now, how the hell did racism get into a discussion about the hypocrisy of cynical tactics? Joe Brolly gave out about it. And he teared into Sean Cavanagh. Others were just hypocrites. Ulster football is known to be a bit dire, to the eyes of the old school footballers who want fast ball up to the forwards and where defenders were defenders . Nothing to do with where they are from, really. If racism was referred to, then those people are idiots. Pure and simple

Many Ulster people on both sides of the divide are chippy shower of bastards , always whinging and always playing the victim. We have no intention of pandering to any of these groups, we have enough with revisionists downplaying our country's birth. It would be more trouble than it is worth

Frankly, people in the North, even as far as Letterkenny, have more in common with Glasgow than they have with Dublin

wprathead wrote: »
    ah sure if many share it, there must be some validity in it right? right?*

*answer: wrong

News flash sunshine, likes and dislikes are subjective. Each and every persons likes and dislikes are valid, in a civilised society people are entitled to them, grow up.

You're certainly entitled to hold your ugly views but don't act all surprised when you get challenged on them.

The people who use the term 'nordies' in a derogatory way are, as a rule, dim-witted.

It is no different to people from the country being called Culchies or Dubliners being called Jackeens or those who look to Britain as West Brits.

Which rule by the way? Where can one find this rule?

It is no different to people from the country being called Culchies or Dubliners being called Jackeens or those who look to Britain as West Brits.

The evidence is all over boards.

What?

What?

The rule, man. The rule :D

Where does it come from, who wrote it , who approved of it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Exhibit A. Dumb prejudice.

No...Honesty.

Exhibit B. Pretending to be PC to collect thanks.

chopper6 wrote: »
    No...Honesty.

don't worry, no one is doubting you were being honest

chopper6 wrote: »
    No...Honesty.

Nothing pc about pointing out prejudice. Love these kind of threads, the haters being exposed for what they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

What's different about an Ulster brekkie anyway?

The Ulster fry includes fired potato bread and soda bread. That's what my Ma used to make for us as wee'uns anyway (pronounced 'waynes').

Yep. Although I'd put the West Brit in a different category.

Have you ever known a sweeping derogatory prejudice about hundreds of thousands of people not to be dim-witted 'as a rule'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,213 ✭✭✭maximoose

The Ulster fry includes fried potato bread and soda bread. That's what my Ma used to make for us as wee'uns anyway (pronounced 'waynes').

And they make it complete!

Woodstock in Phibsborough do fried taty bread and soda with their breakfasts, recommended!

The Ulster fry includes fired potato bread and soda bread. That's what my Ma used to make for us as wee'uns anyway (pronounced 'waynes').

Yep. Although I'd put the West Brit in a different category.

Have you ever known a sweeping derogatory prejudice about hundreds of thousands of people not to be dim-witted 'as a rule'?

I see nothing wrong with using the nordie. You use it when you refer to people from the 6 counties and sometimes (to wind them up) on Donegal , Cavan and Monaghan folk (bye lord they get very touchy about referring the area as "the north", geographical terms) . Any ho, that is hardly a sweeping statement , it is accurate.

Ye seem to be a sensitive bunch of mongs. PC brigade , eh?