Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All-Ireland Football Final Maigh Eo vs Baile Átha Cliath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,728 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Don't have time to reD through the thread..

Who won??

Football lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Draw
    Melodrama at its best ..jaysis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Dublin
    As a Mayo man I'm bitterly disappointed, Sam was there for the taking and to lose by a point at the end after all the wides and wasted possession is nothing short of galling. Fair play to the Dubs though, they found their rhythm in the second half and kept their concentration throughout. I was uneasy at half time as it reminded me of the Tyrone match in reverse, the dominant team in the first half being only a point up and not making the most of the purple patches. We needed the cushion for the inevitable Dublin fight back and we just didn't get it.

Serious question now need to be asked in Mayo about forwards and tactics, nothing seemed to go right for Horan at all yesterday, you need to have depth in the squad so that the team can weather a few injuries. It was obvious that early on in the second half Mayo were in the trouble but the bench just wasn't effective enough, in complete contrast to the Dubs whose strategy of emptying the bench early on has been well lauded all year.

Congrats to the Dubs and we'll see ye next year when the inevitable Mayo dethroning of the champions occurs ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Truman Burbank

walshb wrote: »
    That still doesn't explain it. He isn't the timekeeper. He knew a goal was needed. No leadership at all at a crucial leadership time. Unreal.

Mayo manager's decision to get him to go for the point. Explanation from The Horse's Mouth, RTE Radio 1 yesterday, just after 6ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭dats_right

Draw
    Mayo were on top for the first fifteen or twenty minutes but after that Dublin were dominant. All this talk that Mayo left it behind and all that is nonsense. Dublin were the better team and will also rue their three gilt edged goal chances and other misses. If Dublin had managed to remain injury free and have fifteen fit players on the park at the end the winning margin would have been greater. The fact is Mayo only managed to haul back in Dublin's lead because Dublin were carrying two passengers and about three others with knocks. About 1/3 of the Dubs team was effected with injuries to one extent or another and Mayo could still not capitalize on this advantage add in th favourable ref and it should be apparent that Mayo were actually lucky to get as close to Dublin as they did.

Mayo only scored once from play in the second half and were dependent on Joe McQuillan's whistle for most of their scores. Most of Dublin's scores came from play. The ref also gave Mayo at least one ridiculous free from which they scored and a couple of other borderline frees. If Mayo had won it would not have been deserved not would the better team have won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭gaffer91

bohsboy wrote: »
    Makes it all the sweeter. ;)

The Jacks are back. Again.

This kind of attitude by yourself and other Dubs baffles me. Do you really prefer winning because of cynical play and fouling as opposed to actually playing fantastic football like you did in the semi final?

Dublin's fouling at the end was shocking to watch but any team would have done it. That still doesn't mean you should take some sort of perverse pride in it.

Edit: also got a good laugh at Gavin complaining about the referee. A more cynical man than myself might think he's playing mind games with McQ and wants him to be in Dublin's pocket again should they get him next year, a la yesterday and more obviously the 2011 final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Give over your moaning. Typical response today with the 31 counties trying to pick holes in a fantastic Dublin display with a crocked team.
    It is true though, it's made so much sweeter when I read the expected rubbish that's thrown at the dubs to try and taint another glorious day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Draw
    I've read this thread all day and didn't contribute, but I feel a need to now.

I really can't believe how easy it is to fall out with people over this. Obviously I'm basing this on the social media side of things. My facebook news feed has caused me no end of trouble. As a Dublin supporter I thought I was being respectful by not going online last night and giving it an absolute lash! Tonight, after spending the day reading Boards, the hogan stand and GAA forums, I decided to express my feelings on my FB page. The reaction has been very eyeopening in terms of this famous 31 counties versus Dublin thing. I've had likes on posts from disgruntled Mayo supporters from so called FB friends from faraway places like ****ing Carlow! WTF! The minute I started expressing my opinion on the result tonight, it was obvious that so called FB friends from beyond the pale were making subtle but obvious contributions that were decidedly anti Dublin. In terms of the game itself, I don't care, but it does throw up a stark reminder of how some really have a huge hang up about Dublin in general.

As for the game. I live abroad so had to watch it in an Irish bar. Plenty of Dubs there and great atmosphere. No obvious Mayo supporters, which was a shame. But we did have a few country folk who decided that it was going to be an anti Dublin chant all the way. One lovely lady from Dublin in her jersey was told to "shut the **** up you Dublin ****er" by a real arsehole that funnily disappeared at the final whistle. We also had some London supporters in their jerseys screaming for Mayo. For a minority they made plenty of noise and insulted a lot of people. I relate all this as Ive noticed posts here about Dublin supporters in Croker that were off side in terms of being honourable winners.

The best one for me was the English guy who's father was from Achill. While passionate about Mayo, he hadn't a ****ing clue about how the game is played. Very funny. Every time a mayo player launched a kick downfield, he'd scream, "why did you do that". When Moran got on the end of one to score a goal, he screamed, "YEEEEEEESSSSSSS my son, I know why you did that." Brilliant.:D Even MAN UTD supporters were joining us once City did the damage and were genuinely amazed at the passion and pace of what we were watching.

Overall a poor game in technical terms and my heart genuinely went out to Mayo at the end. Its a real pity about the slow frees and added time, but herein is an example of how Mayo are a tad naieve. Dublin did what they had to do in the end and did it well. I cried my eyes out. Loved it! A bit hard watching from thousands of miles away, but a few of us got come on you boys in blue going and made sure that this morning we'd be all flat out with hangovers.

Thanks to Jim Gavin and all the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

gaffer91 wrote: »
    This kind of attitude by yourself and other Dubs baffles me. Do you really prefer winning because of cynical play and fouling as opposed to actually playing fantastic football like you did in the semi final?

Dublin's fouling at the end was shocking to watch but any team would have done it. That still doesn't mean you should take some sort of perverse pride in it.

Edit: also got a good laugh at Gavin complaining about the referee. A more cynical man than myself might think he's playing mind games with McQ and wants him to be in Dublin's pocket again should they get him next year, a la yesterday and more obviously the 2011 final.

What about Mayo Cynical fouling throughout the game, the holding back and dragging out of Dublin players off camera so they couldn't support the player in possession, is this ok because it wasn't caught on camera, and wasn't in the last 10 mins? It's being highlighted throughout the championship, but when the Dubs do it - the whole country goes mad at them.

What you think Mayo would have done if 2 points ahead with 5 minutes to go - knowing the history involved - would they have let Dublin play attacking football running through the defence, without taking the man down?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

Draw

how was the homecoming? good craic in the castlebar was it? looks like u got plenty of free chips for your shoulder and a good few sour grapes...better luck next year. roll on the treble.

Draw

how was the homecoming? good craic in the castlebar was it? looks like u got plenty of free chips for your shoulder and a good few sour grapes...better luck next year. roll on the treble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Miccoli

Mayo are mentally fragile , too many players hide on the big day but thats always the case with mayo. There great men for racking up big scores in connacht and hyping themselves up but they havent performed in a single final. Then the fans will give it the usual "better team for 60 mins" And the typical ref excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭robbiezero

dats_right wrote: »
    Mayo were on top for the first fifteen or twenty minutes but after that Dublin were dominant. All this talk that Mayo left it behind and all that is nonsense. Dublin were the better team and will also rue their three gilt edged goal chances and other misses. If Dublin had managed to remain injury free and have fifteen fit players on the park at the end the winning margin would have been greater. The fact is Mayo only managed to haul back in Dublin's lead because Dublin were carrying two passengers and about three others with knocks. About 1/3 of the Dubs team was effected with injuries to one extent or another and Mayo could still not capitalize on this advantage add in th favourable ref and it should be apparent that Mayo were actually lucky to get as close to Dublin as they did.

Mayo only scored once from play in the second half and were dependent on Joe McQuillan's whistle for most of their scores. Most of Dublin's scores came from play. The ref also gave Mayo at least one ridiculous free from which they scored and a couple of other borderline frees. If Mayo had won it would not have been deserved not would the better team have won.

I suppose a lot of things happened in the match that had you been told about them without knowing the result, you would have been very confident of Mayo winning.
    • Lee Keegan winning his battle hands down with Diarmaid Connolly.
    • Ciaran Kilkenny having a poor game, missing easy chances and being replaced.
    • Jack McCaffrey out of sorts and being replaced.
    • Mannion injured early on and replaced (although its likely O'Gara had far more influence than Mannion would have).
    • Dublin starting forwards other than Brogan scoring only 3 points.
    • Cluxton getting just the 2 points.
    • Dean Rock and McMenamin coming on and not scoring.
    • Dublin scoring 2-12 their lowest total in the championship and after hitting 3-18 vs Kerry.
    • Dublin finishing the game carrying a few injured unable to be replaced players.

Mayo will feel that with the above list, that if their attack had functioned any bit after the first 20 minutes, they really could have won that game. But no doubting the better team on the day and deserving winners, showing plenty of character to dig out a win in spite of all the above going wrong for them.
    Fair play to Dublin, while that was a poor All-Ireland, they have been great to watch all year, and the game v Kerry is one for the ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

Awful bad echo in here :)

Ace2007 wrote: »
    What about Mayo Cynical fouling throughout the game, the holding back and dragging out of Dublin players off camera so they couldn't support the player in possession, is this ok because it wasn't caught on camera, and wasn't in the last 10 mins? It's being highlighted throughout the championship, but when the Dubs do it - the whole country goes mad at them.

What you think Mayo would have done if 2 points ahead with 5 minutes to go - knowing the history involved - would they have let Dublin play attacking football running through the defence, without taking the man down?

I think you missed the part where I said I'd no particular problem with the fouling as any team would do it were they in Dublin's position, I just have a problem with Dublin fans taking pride in it.

I'm from Kerry.

Also is it to standard response from Dubs fans to meet any criticism of Dublin with accusations of "sour grapes" and "whingeing"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

I'm from Kerry.

Even better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭aveytare

Haha, he got you there, gaffer91.

aveytare wrote: »
    Haha, he got you there, gaffer91.

Alright I laughed I admit it!

I actually was for dublin though believe it or not as I always support whoever knocks kerry out. Must have been the only non-dub in the country shouting for them! I'm just offering a few criticisms of them which I think are worth mentioning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Draw
    Grandeeod wrote: »
    I really can't believe how easy it is to fall out with people over this. Obviously I'm basing this on the social media side of things. My facebook news feed has caused me no end of trouble. As a Dublin supporter I thought I was being respectful by not going online last night and giving it an absolute lash! Tonight, after spending the day reading Boards, the hogan stand and GAA forums, I decided to express my feelings on my FB page. The reaction has been very eyeopening in terms of this famous 31 counties versus Dublin thing. I've had likes on posts from disgruntled Mayo supporters from so called FB friends from faraway places like ****ing Carlow! WTF! The minute I started expressing my opinion on the result tonight, it was obvious that so called FB friends from beyond the pale were making subtle but obvious contributions that were decidedly anti Dublin. In terms of the game itself, I don't care, but it does throw up a stark reminder of how some really have a huge hang up about Dublin in general

In fairness you are right about the Anti Dublin , I live in Cavan and went out for pints all day . The pub I was in was a mixture of Cavan people and Dublin people and I had a great time . The day was going great but as the night wore alot of people started to get very very moody over Dublin winning . So at this stage we all decided to get some cans and head back to my house . As we where in getting a pizza a fella in a mayo jersey who is from Cavan started pushing one of my mates and threw a punch at another one . So we pinned him up against a wall and said for him to leave even his mates came in a grabbed a hold of him . He wouldn't leave so in the gaurds came around and had to arrest him . It was kind of sad and it just left us abit speechless . I would say 95 % of the people that where out last night congratulated us and said we deserved to win the All Ireland it was just a few select fools who went overboard about Dublin winning . It would remind you of the fact sport can bring out the worst in people even if they have no real attachment to a team . This post wasn't mean't to slate anyone from Cavan at all because like I said nearly of them congratulated us last night . It was just to highlight that some people who are not from Dublin really hate to see us win anything .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

My thoughts on the Final.

As a Dub, I was delighted with the result but I thought that our performance was more workmanlike rather than champagne stuff.

I did think that Mayo came out all guns blazing for the first 20 minutes and I suspected that this would take it's toll on them later during the game.
    But fair play to Mayo they stuck at the task and were only a point away at the very end.

Anyone else think that the ref favoured Mayo? Some of his decisions were very bad in the first half and the early part of the second half.
    Granted we did get decisions toward the end of the game too.

Draw
    Also is it to standard response from Dubs fans to meet any criticism of Dublin with accusations of "sour grapes" and "whingeing"?

that's exactly what it is. you are whingeing about a very valid decision a ref made in a final 2 years ago. it's not just sour grapes and whingeing...it's pathetic is what it is.

Yet the Dublin manager can come out whining about refs even when they've won comfortably! Talk about a double standard. Like I said earlier it is so easy to wave away bad reffing and call sour grapes when you've benefitted from the bad decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Les Ferdinand

mickeyk wrote: »
    Yet the Dublin manager can come out whining about refs even when they've won comfortably! Talk about a double standard. Like I said earlier it is so easy to wave away bad reffing and call sour grapes when you've benefitted from the bad decisions.

Dublin won comfortably? They won by 1 point. How is that winning comfortably?
    In relation to Jim Gavin, he merely answered a question in relation to the referee. He stated a fact that Mayo had 30+ free kicks while Dublin had something like 12.
    With the so call cynicism from the 'dirty Dubs' They played the last 10 mins with 13 players and the vast majority of frees were given away by forwards. Dublin played over 420 minutes of football this year. The overwhelming majority of that was played with attacking flair that was a joy to watch. Yet on here people or focusing solely on the last 10 minutes of a final. I just don't get it.

Dublin won comfortably? They won by 1 point. How is that winning comfortably?
    In relation to Jim Gavin, he merely answered a question in relation to the referee. He stated a fact that Mayo had 30+ free kicks while Dublin had something like 12.
    With the so call cynicism from the 'dirty Dubs' They played the last 10 mins with 13 players and the vast majority of frees were given away by forwards. Dublin played over 420 minutes of football this year. The overwhelming majority of that was played with attacking flair that was a joy to watch. Yet on here people or focusing solely on the last 10 minutes of a final. I just don't get it.

I've no issue with the way Dublin played, they played to win and I never criticized the fouling. It was more comfortable than 1 point, mayo were never going to win that match. Mayo got more frees because they were fouled on the ball a lot more, although people have alluded to a lot of off the ball stuff by mayo. Ref was poor generally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Draw
    I've no issue with the way Dublin played, they played to win and I never criticized the fouling. It was more comfortable than 1 point, mayo were never going to win that match. Mayo got more frees because they were fouled on the ball a lot more, although people have alluded to a lot of off the ball stuff by mayo. Ref was poor generally.
    I agree with this, other then the statement that McQuillan was poor.

In a tough physical match, he marshalled the game very well and though mistakes were made, he didn't get any major decisions wrong IMO. He has no slow-mo instant replay to rely on.

Don't get me wrong i'm not McQuillans biggest fan, especially after 2011 (the BJK incident was a foul btw, but some of the earlier stuff really hurt us IMO), but I have to say despite the foul count against Dublin and the issue with the time at the end, he was fair to both sides.

Very rare that you can feel that way in the modern game, especially after a 1 point Win/Defeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Les Ferdinand

I was at the game and for the first 30 mins every single time Cluxton put the ball down for a kick out, every Mayo player grabbed a Dublin jersey to stop them moving. Not once was it picked up. Very cynical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Draw
    Hi lads, Anybody in McHale Park last night, not trying to **** stir but rumours abound that the Chairman of the Mayo county board compared the US capturing Bin Laden to Mayo winning Sam, It will happen one day
    If true he'll live to regret it me thinks

Draw

Gavin whining? I'd imagine he's quite content with a league championship, Leinster championship and an All Ireland in his first year. You are mixing up whining and castigating...winners don't whine, losers do. Gavin, as I have said again and is castigating the ref and making a point in order to correct.

Dublin benefiting poor refereeing decisions and bringing up 2011 is pathetic and has no place in this discussion, most of all because it was the correct decision by the referee, the Kerry footballers playing the game seem to think so too so have a word with them about it if you dont accept it.